Military Review

China leased the deepwater port of Hambantota in Sri Lanka

20
Sri Lanka officially leased 99 deep-sea port Hambantota on its south coast to China for a period of XNUMX. bmpd With reference to the website of the National Research Institute of World Economy and International Relations named after EM Primakov.


China leased the deepwater port of Hambantota in Sri Lanka


“This deal, under certain conditions, can seriously and permanently change the balance of power in the Indian Ocean and cause a political crisis in Sri Lanka. The Sri Lani authorities are aware of this risk, but, in fact, have no choice: the state owes China a total of about $ 8 billion, ”the article says.

Construction of the port of Hambantota began in January 2008. Since Sri Lanka’s relations with potential western lenders were extremely tense at that time (the Srilanian authorities were suspected of committing war crimes and violating civil liberties during operations against the separatist Tigers of Tamil Elima liberation), Rajapaksa turned to China for help.

Beijing provided the necessary funds. “However, contrary to the expectations of the Srilani authorities, the project turned out to be unprofitable: the merchant ships preferred to enter the nearby port of Colombo, the economic center and largest city of the country, which has a developed infrastructure,” the author notes.

In order to compensate for the losses incurred and at least partially repay the loan, the government offered Chinese firms with state participation to buy out the 80% of the port’s shares and lease it. This decision has caused both indignation in India and unrest inside the country.



"The united opposition politicians, the union of port workers, fearing mass layoffs due to the prospect of importing Chinese labor, and peasants living in the neighboring areas of the port who are dissatisfied with the plans of the government for the forced redemption of land and houses, significantly reduced the share transferred to the Chinese side of the port shares. In addition, the final agreement specifically stipulated the unconditional sovereignty of Sri Lanka over the territory of the port leased by China and indicated that the PRC has no right to create a military base there, ”the article says.

In India, they are anxiously watching the growth of Chinese investment in Sri Lanka, fearing that the country's increased dependence on Beijing will lead to the loss of New Delhi's political influence. The Indian authorities have traditionally perceived Sri Lanka as a country under the influence of India, and are very wary of the increasing influence of any other power in Sri Lanka, especially China.
Photos used:
newsfirst.lk
20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Herculesic
    Herculesic 21 December 2017 13: 42 New
    +2
    The Chinese are killing two birds with one stone - and the port also received free rubies and sapphires, all the more so of a very high class, almost etholonic, so terribly expensive. In Ceylon, placers of natural corundum are actually spread all over the island!
    1. siberalt
      siberalt 21 December 2017 13: 55 New
      +6
      China has already leased Africa. No one noticed. belay And then some kind of Ceylon port. laughing
      1. Going
        Going 21 December 2017 14: 11 New
        +4
        Yes, by quiet glanders Africa came under China.
        1. Overlock
          Overlock 21 December 2017 15: 40 New
          +2
          PRC direct investments in African countries increased from $ 500 million in 2003 to almost $ 15 billion in 2012, and already in 2013 loans for the development of sub-Saharan Africa’s infrastructure reached $ 20 billion
    2. To be or not to be
      To be or not to be 21 December 2017 14: 04 New
      +1
      There are more rabbits and they are the size of an American bison!
    3. 79807420129
      79807420129 21 December 2017 14: 12 New
      +4
      So China dealt a heavy blow to India. This is the third hare.
      Quote: Herkulesich
      The Chinese are killing two birds with one stone - and the port got free rubies and sapphires,
      hi
  2. Lelek
    Lelek 21 December 2017 13: 45 New
    +4
    Under certain conditions, this deal could seriously and permanently change the balance of power in the Indian Ocean and cause a political crisis in Sri Lanka. Srilan authorities are aware of this risk, but essentially have no choice: the state owes China a total of about $ 8 billion

    Creeping expansion of China more than once "surprise" the world. The Chinese are good students and US tactics they obviously liked. And India has nothing to cry - they slapped. We also need to take this into account in the Far East.
  3. Egorovich
    Egorovich 21 December 2017 13: 50 New
    +3
    Money rules the world, who prevented the Indians from making the same deal with Sri Lanka? They themselves are to blame, and the Chinese are acting in their own style.
    1. fizteh
      fizteh 21 December 2017 18: 47 New
      +1
      I agree! Silence without undue ambition and investment is the result! Igdus will chew on their national hostility on their own. Clever cross-eyed all the same !!!
  4. Altona
    Altona 21 December 2017 13: 55 New
    +1
    Quote: Herkulesich
    The Chinese are killing two birds with one stone - and the port also received free rubies and sapphires, all the more so of a very high class, almost etholonic, so terribly expensive. In Ceylon, placers of natural corundum are actually spread all over the island!

    ----------------------------
    I actually thought about a military base and a strong supply point. What kind of corundums are there? They have long been 100% pure grown any size.
    If we think about corundums, then we must master Namibia because of diamonds and Colombia because of the purest emeralds. laughing
    1. Herculesic
      Herculesic 21 December 2017 14: 11 New
      +2
      There is a huge difference between synthetic and natural corundums both in price and in molecular composition. What is grown from the point of view of chemistry and mineralology is only beautiful glass-imitation! They are to natural stones oh how far! And the diamonds are the best on the planet Yakutsk! !!! hi
  5. Rusland
    Rusland 21 December 2017 13: 55 New
    +8
    And Vaska listens and eats.
  6. Alexey RA
    Alexey RA 21 December 2017 15: 21 New
    +1
    I understand that for the Indians the situation is about the same as it would be for us if Ukraine would have leased Sevastopol to NATO somewhere in 2013.
  7. Overlock
    Overlock 21 December 2017 15: 38 New
    +1
    Well done, the Chinese. They work for a prospect, without looking back, boldly go forward. The economy is growing, ships are being built, China is expanding
    1. RUSS
      RUSS 22 December 2017 19: 38 New
      0
      Quote: Overlock
      well done, chinese

      India indirectly participated in the civil war in Sri Lanka supporting Tamil Hindus in the war against Buddhist signals. Therefore, let there be distant Chinese in their home port than the Indians' neighbors who previously supported Tamil terrorists.
  8. komvap
    komvap 21 December 2017 15: 39 New
    +3
    Silly Chinese do not have the greatest geo-strategy at the head - they don’t have to write off $ 8 billion, and ordinary Chinese announce a tricky multi-port.
    1. RUSS
      RUSS 22 December 2017 19: 32 New
      0
      Quote: komvap
      Silly Chinese do not have the greatest geo-strategy at the head - they don’t have to write off $ 8 billion, and ordinary Chinese announce a tricky multi-port.

      good
  9. NF68
    NF68 21 December 2017 16: 05 New
    +2
    One can only guess what the Chinese will achieve over the years through 40-50.
  10. Observer2014
    Observer2014 21 December 2017 18: 13 New
    +6
    the state owed China a total of about $ 8 billion, "the article said.
    Chu. Ours would forgive.
  11. APASUS
    APASUS 21 December 2017 21: 05 New
    0
    the final agreement specifically emphasized the unconditional sovereignty of Sri Lanka over the territory of the port leased by China and indicated that the PRC has no right to establish a military base there

    I think it’s not evening yet ............

Китай взял в аренду глубоководный порт Хамбантота на Шри-Ланке

Шри-Ланка официально передала Китаю в аренду сроком на 99 лет глубоководный порт Хамбантота на своем южном побережье, сообщает bmpd со ссылкой на сайт Национального исследовательского института мировой экономики и международных отношений имени Е.М. Примакова.

Китай взял в аренду глубоководный порт Хамбантота на Шри-Ланке


«Эта сделка при определенных условиях может серьезно и надолго изменить баланс сил в Индийском океане и вызвать политический кризис на Шри-Ланке. Шриланскийские власти осознают этот риск, но, по сути, не имеют выбора: государство задолжало Китаю в общей сложности около $ 8 млрд», говорится в статье.


Строительство порта Хамбантота началось в январе 2008 года. Поскольку отношения Шри-Ланки с потенциальными кредиторами из числа западных стран на тот момент были крайне напряженными (шриланскийские власти подозревались в том, что они санкционировали совершение военных преступлений и нарушение гражданских свобод во время операций против сепаратистской группировки «Тигры освобождения Тамил-Илама»), Раджапакса обратился за помощью к Китаю.

Пекин предоставил необходимые средства. «Однако, вопреки ожиданиям шриланскийских властей, проект оказался убыточным: торговые суда предпочитали заходить в расположенный неподалеку порт Коломбо – экономического центра и крупнейшего города страны, обладающего развитой инфраструктурой», отмечает автор.

Чтобы компенсировать понесенные убытки и хотя бы частично выплатить кредит, правительство предложило китайским фирмам с государственным участием выкупить 80% акций порта и взять его в аренду. Это решение вызвало как недовольство Индии, так и волнения внутри страны.



«Объединившиеся оппозиционные политики, профсоюз портовых рабочих, опасающийся массовых увольнений в связи с перспективой завоза китайской рабочей силы, и проживающие в соседних с портом районах крестьяне, недовольные планами правительства по принудительному выкупу земельных участков и домов, вынудили правительство пересмотреть условия сделки, существенно уменьшив долю передаваемых китайской стороне акций порта. Кроме того, в итоговом соглашении был особо оговорен безусловный суверенитет Шри-Ланки над территорией арендованного Китаем порта и указано, что КНР не имеет права создавать там военную базу», – говорится в материале.

В Индии с беспокойством следят за ростом китайских инвестиций в Шри-Ланку, опасаясь, что усилившаяся зависимость страны от Пекина приведет к утрате политического влияния Нью-Дели. Индийские власти традиционно воспринимают Шри-Ланку как страну, находящуюся в сфере влияния Индии, и крайне настороженно воспринимают усиление влияния на Шри-Ланке любой другой державы, особенно Китая.
Использованы фотографии:
newsfirst.lk
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

20 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Геркулесыч Офлайн
    Геркулесыч (Витальевич) 21 декабря 2017 13:42
    +2
    Китайцы убивают двух зайцев -и порт получили и халявные рубины и сапфиры, тем более очень высокого класса, почти этолонные, поэтому страшно дорогие. На Цейлоне россыпи природных корундов распростронены реально по всему острову!
    1. сибиралт Офлайн
      сибиралт (Олег) 21 декабря 2017 13:55
      +6
      Китай уже Африку в аренду взял. Никто и не заметил. belay А тут какой то цейлонский порт. laughing
      1. Идущий Офлайн
        Идущий (Виктор) 21 декабря 2017 14:11
        +4
        Да , тихим сапом Африка попала под Китай.
        1. Оверлок Офлайн
          Оверлок (Сергей) 21 декабря 2017 15:40
          +2
          Прямые инвестиции КНР в африканские страны увеличились с $500 млн в 2003 году до почти $15 млрд в 2012 году, а уже в 2013-м займы для развития инфраструктуры стран Африки южнее Сахары достигли $20 млрд
    2. To be or not to be Офлайн
      To be or not to be 21 декабря 2017 14:04
      +1
      Тут зайцев больше и размером они с американского бизона!
    3. 79807420129 Офлайн
      79807420129 (Влад.) 21 декабря 2017 14:12
      +4
      Так Китай нанес сильный удар по Индии.Это третий заяц.
      Цитата: Геркулесыч
      Китайцы убивают двух зайцев -и порт получили и халявные рубины и сапфиры,
      hi
  2. Лелёк Офлайн
    Лелёк (Лев) 21 декабря 2017 13:45
    +4
    Эта сделка при определенных условиях может серьезно и надолго изменить баланс сил в Индийском океане и вызвать политический кризис на Шри-Ланке. Шриланскийские власти осознают этот риск, но, по сути, не имеют выбора: государство задолжало Китаю в общей сложности около $ 8 млрд

    Ползучая экспансия Китая ещё не однажды "удивит" мир. Китайцы хорошие ученики и тактика США им пришлась явно по-вкусу. А Индии нечего плакаться - прошляпили. Нам тоже нужно это учесть на Дальнем Востоке.
  3. Egorovich Офлайн
    Egorovich (Александр Румянцев) 21 декабря 2017 13:50
    +3
    Деньги правят миром, кто индусам мешал заключить такую же сделку со Шри-Ланкой? Сами виноваты, а китайцы действуют в своем стиле.
    1. физтех Офлайн
      физтех (Вячеслав) 21 декабря 2017 18:47
      +1
      Согласен! Тишина без излишних амбиций и при вложении средств - вот и результат! Игдусы будут жевать свою национальную вражду сами у себя. Умные косоглазые все-таки!!!
  4. Altona Офлайн
    Altona (Евгений) 21 декабря 2017 13:55
    +1
    Цитата: Геркулесыч
    Китайцы убивают двух зайцев -и порт получили и халявные рубины и сапфиры, тем более очень высокого класса, почти этолонные, поэтому страшно дорогие. На Цейлоне россыпи природных корундов распростронены реально по всему острову!

    ----------------------------
    Я вообще-то подумал про военную базу и опорный пункт снабжения. Какие там нафиг корунды? Их давно 100% чистые выращивают любых размеров.
    Если думать о корундах, то надо овладеть Намибией из-за алмазов и Колумбией из-за чистейших изумрудов. laughing
    1. Геркулесыч Офлайн
      Геркулесыч (Витальевич) 21 декабря 2017 14:11
      +2
      Между синтетическими и природными корундами гигантская разница как в цене, так и в молекулярном составе. То что выращивают с точки зрения химии, и минералологии лишь красивые стекла -имитации! Им до природных камней ох как далеко! А алмазы лучшие на планете Якутские! !!! hi
  5. Rusland Онлайн
    Rusland (Rusland) 21 декабря 2017 13:55
    +8
    А Васька слушает и ест.
  6. Alexey RA Офлайн
    Alexey RA (Алексей) 21 декабря 2017 15:21
    +1
    Я так понимаю, что для индусов ситуация примерно такая же, как была бы для нас, если бы Украина где-нибудь в 2013 г. сдала бы в аренду НАТО Севастополь.
  7. Оверлок Офлайн
    Оверлок (Сергей) 21 декабря 2017 15:38
    +1
    молодцы, китайцы. На перспепктиву работают, не оглядываясь назад смело идут вперед. Экономика растет, корабли строятся, Китай расширяется
    1. РУСС Офлайн
      РУСС (Максим) 22 декабря 2017 19:38
      0
      Цитата: Оверлок
      молодцы, китайцы

      Индия косвенно участвовала в гражданской войне на Шри Ланке поддерживая индуистов тамилов в войне против сигналов буддистов. Поэтому пусть будут далёкие китайце в родном порту ,чем соседи индийцы поддерживающие ранее террористов тамилов.
  8. komvap Офлайн
    komvap (Валентин) 21 декабря 2017 15:39
    +3
    У глупых китайцев нет во главе величайшего геостратега - нет чтобы 8 млрд$ списать , а простым китайцам объявить о хитрой многоходовочке.
    1. РУСС Офлайн
      РУСС (Максим) 22 декабря 2017 19:32
      0
      Цитата: komvap
      У глупых китайцев нет во главе величайшего геостратега - нет чтобы 8 млрд$ списать , а простым китайцам объявить о хитрой многоходовочке.

      good
  9. NF68 Офлайн
    NF68 (Николай.) 21 декабря 2017 16:05
    +2
    Остаётся только гадать чего добьются китайцы лет этак через 40-50.
  10. Наблюдатель2014 (Сергей) 21 декабря 2017 18:13
    +6
    государство задолжало Китаю в общей сложности около $ 8 млрд», говорится в статье.
    Тю.Наши простили бы.
  11. APASUS Онлайн
    APASUS (Pavo) 21 декабря 2017 21:05
    0
    в итоговом соглашении был особо оговорен безусловный суверенитет Шри-Ланки над территорией арендованного Китаем порта и указано, что КНР не имеет права создавать там военную базу

    Думаю еще не вечер............
Картина дня