Military Review

74-year-old former defense minister detained in Azerbaijan

18
An operation was conducted in Azerbaijan to detain the former Minister of Defense Rahim Gaziyev. Reports about it "Voice of America" with reference to the relatives of the ex-minister. It is alleged that, for the time being, 74-year-old Gaziyev is being held in custody in the detention center of the 17 police station of the Narimanov district. The reasons for the detention of the former state official of Azerbaijan are not reported.


Ragim Gaziev headed the Ministry of Defense of Azerbaijan in the period of the formation of Azerbaijani independence: 1992-1993 years. In 1990, he was an active participant in anti-Soviet speeches in Baku. In the summer of 1990, Gaziev was arrested and sent to Moscow, where he spent several days in a Lefortovo prison. After he was released from custody in connection with his election in the Azerbaijan SSR to the local council of deputies. The criminal case against him was then closed.

In March, 1992, Acting President of the Republic, Yakub Mamedov Gaziev was appointed Minister of Defense of Azerbaijan. At the same time, Gaziev did not have a higher military education. The main argument for the appointment was the fact that in 1988, he was one of the first members of the so-called Popular Front of Azerbaijan, distinguished by radical nationalism. The lack of military experience of the Minister of Defense led to a series of defeats for Azerbaijani troops in Nagorno-Karabakh.

After Gaziev’s resignation in 1993, he was again arrested, accused of surrendering Shusha and high treason. In 1994, he fled to Russia. And in Baku, the court in absentia sentenced Gaziev to the highest measure.

74-year-old former defense minister detained in Azerbaijan


Two years after Gaziev’s flight to Moscow, the GP of the Russian Federation adopted a decision on his extradition. In Azerbaijan, the death sentence against the ex-minister was replaced with life imprisonment. In March 2005, Gaziyev was released again - after pardon, under pressure from European human rights defenders and PACE.

It is not known whether Rahim Gaziyev was detained in the same criminal case or the reason lies in his other sins against Azerbaijan.
Photos used:
times.am
18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Herculesic
    Herculesic 26 December 2017 13: 47 New
    +1
    And that this is a hunt for objectionable, or a reduction of old accounts? I hope that someone from Azerbaijan is on the site and will give more information!
    1. PAM
      PAM 26 December 2017 14: 22 New
      +1
      and what to worry about, one freak in freedom is less
    2. Lekxnumx
      Lekxnumx 26 December 2017 14: 26 New
      +4
      Most likely he decided to return to politics, and they reminded him thickly that you had not spent your whole life in prison.
      Surrendering to Shusha almost without a fight costs a lot. To surrender to Shusha you need to be an outrageous idiot, you just have to look at the map and location of the city to agree with this.
      It’s just a fortress city that gave the outcome of the war. A Jew by nationality, the hero Az-n tanker with his crew refused to leave the city and died defending, as did 200-300 other comrades who stood to the end. The rest simply obeyed the order of the treacherous order
      1. Viktor.N.Aleksandrov.
        Viktor.N.Aleksandrov. 26 December 2017 14: 43 New
        +6
        Yes, Shusha is a natural fortress. From the mountain the whole Stepanakert is in full view. (Was there in 1990). To surrender such a position without a serious battle is a crime that deserves to be shot!
        1. the finish
          the finish 27 December 2017 21: 46 New
          +1
          Arkady Ter-Tadevosyan major general. In Afghanistan he was nicknamed "Mountain Fox" recognizing his skill in the mountain war. In Artsakh, he was nicknamed the “Commando” for a special special training technique.
          In 1992 - Arkady Ter-Tadevosyan develops and conducts a brilliant operation to liberate Shushi (May 8-9). The plan of storming the Shushi fortress (codenamed Operation Wedding in the Mountains), developed by Arkady Ter-Tadevosyan in the strictest secrecy, became the crown of his military biography and the first large-scale action carried out under the leadership of the unified Headquarters of Defense of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic. On May 9, 1992, Armenian military units, to the amazement of holding the height of the enemy (Khattab later admitted this in his interviews), took possession of the main stronghold of the enemy in Nagorno-Karabakh. It was from the heights of Shushi that the constant shelling of the NKR capital, Stepanakert, was carried out. Thanks to the commanding talent of Arkady Ter-Tadevosyan and the potential of the Artsakh Defense Army and the Main Staff of the SSA, the Shusha operation was carried out with minimal losses.
      2. Equalized
        Equalized 26 December 2017 15: 10 New
        +2
        Normal practice in 90x. Mayhem, everywhere betrayal and sales.
        In Abkhazia, we also had many such cases. Shevardnadze proudly withdrew heavy weapons from the republic, and then he was sitting in Sokhumi when he was stormed by the Abkhazians, and there was nothing left to defend. Barely bare feet.
      3. vatrpas
        vatrpas 26 December 2017 18: 14 New
        +1
        Rahim Gaziev recently criticized I.A. in Baku. Brave man, one thing to do abroad is another thing to do in Baku. He gave an interview to channel 13, in Azerbaijani, and this interview on YouTube.
    3. Lekxnumx
      Lekxnumx 26 December 2017 14: 43 New
      0
      What can we expect from people like the Gazievs? First, he was anti-Russian as part of the national front. Thanks to this, the collective farmer began to manage the army as Minister of Defense, then made friends with Grachev decided that the pro-Russian Mutallibov should be in power. For this, Huseynov should be surrendered. he withdrew his troops and went on a march to Baku for the sake of power. The then leader of the nat front, the president escaped from Baku as the nationalists Gaziyev turned out to be cowards. The pro-Russian Mutalibov came to power, who was overthrown and also fled to Russia. managed and especially the army which consisted of fragmented only formed units and self-defense battalions. Here and the whole layout in short
      1. Herculesic
        Herculesic 26 December 2017 14: 45 New
        +1
        Thanks for the information! hi
    4. 79807420129
      79807420129 26 December 2017 14: 49 New
      +4
      Their problems, let them do what they want with him, only earlier it was necessary when
      . In 1990, he was an active participant in anti-Soviet protests in Baku. In the summer of 1990, Gaziev was arrested and sent to Moscow, where he spent several days in Lefortovo prison. After was released from custody

      Many then such figures were released, then a lot of blood was shed. yes
  2. The black
    The black 26 December 2017 13: 48 New
    +2
    I read his biography. ... In general, his fate does not interest me personally at all ....
  3. novel66
    novel66 26 December 2017 13: 49 New
    +4
    how much foam then surfaced! still pops up.
    1. 210ox
      210ox 26 December 2017 14: 13 New
      +1
      Tagged shook and died this tina up ..
      Quote: novel xnumx
      how much foam then surfaced! still pops up.
  4. Sergey53
    Sergey53 26 December 2017 13: 50 New
    0
    A participant in those events told how he fought, became disappointed, and left for Russia. They came from the top, were forced to sign documents for allegedly received and spent ammunition. We are in the trench, and they are killing money.
    1. dog breeder
      dog breeder 26 December 2017 14: 37 New
      +1
      This is in any conflict and with any side of this conflict. "To whom is war, to whom is mother dear!"
  5. Dr. Barmaley
    Dr. Barmaley 26 December 2017 13: 52 New
    +1
    A typical "revolutionary" of the collapse of the USSR.
  6. Cxnumx
    Cxnumx 26 December 2017 13: 55 New
    +1
    In the summer of 1990, Gaziev was arrested and sent to Moscow, where he spent several days in Lefortovo prison. After he was released from custody in connection with the election in the Azerbaijan SSR to the local council of deputies. The criminal case against him was then closed.

    After the resignation of Gaziev in 1993, he was again arrested after being accused of surrendering Shushi and high treason. In 1994, he fled to Russia.

    it’s as if Yatsenyuk ran away to us))) is simply a Karasavets)) but, in principle, do not care what will be done to him.
  7. FLOOD
    FLOOD 27 December 2017 09: 23 New
    0
    What is the name of the political claims of a person who has spent all his life in a mathematics textbook and decided in an instant that this is enough to command a new type of army? Is it worth remembering all this today? Yes, it’s worth it, because everyone knows that history loves to repeat itself. And there's nothing to be done about it. And the point is not that in circumstances similar to those that took place 0 years ago on the streets of Baku, political rags such as the new gaziev ones may again arise. The trouble is not in them, but in ourselves, blindly believing that they are the same selfless, most loyal, true heroes who will lead us into the battle for our native lands. Heroism is manifested in battle, and not in rallies. Fate was pleased to give each of the leaders of the Front the opportunity to become a hero of Karabakh. There was not one among them who would take this chance by voluntarily appearing at the recruiting station. As thousands of nameless Azerbaijani heroes did in the summer of 1941. And do not puzzle over the natural question of why this happened. “You want to send us to fight in Karabakh to get rid of political opponents!” - that’s what the Front leaders said then. What is surprising that when it came time to surrender to Shusha to get to the coveted power, they did it without hesitation!

В Азербайджане задержан 74-летний бывший министр обороны страны

В Азербайджане проведена операция по задержанию бывшего министра обороны страны Рагима Газиева. Об этом сообщает «Голос Америки» со ссылкой на родственников экс-министра. Утверждается, что на данный момент 74-летний Газиев содержится под стражей в изоляторе 17-го отделения полиции Наримановского района. О причинах задержания бывшего госчиновника Азербайджана не сообщается.

Рагим Газиев возглавлял министерство обороны Азербайджана в период становления азербайджанской независимости: 1992-1993 годы. В 1990 году он являлся активным участником антисоветских выступления в Баку. Летом 1990-го Газиев был арестован и отправлен в Москву, где несколько дней провёл в Лефортовской тюрьме. После был отпущен из-под стражи в связи с избранием в Азербайджанской ССР в местный совет депутатов. Уголовное дело в его отношении тогда закрыли.

В марте 1992 года исполняющим обязанности президента республики Якубом Мамедовым Газиев был назначен министром обороны Азербайджана. При этом Газиев не имел высшего военного образования. В качестве основного аргумента для назначения послужило то, что в 1988 году он входил в первый состав так называемого Народного фронта Азербайджана, отличавшегося радикальным национализмом. Отсутствие военного опыта у министра обороны привело к серии поражений азербайджанских войск в Нагорном Карабахе.


После отставки Газиева в 1993 году он снова попал под арест, будучи обвинённым в сдаче Шуши и государственной измене. В 1994 году бежал в Россию. А в Баку суд заочного приговорил Газиева к высшей мере.

В Азербайджане задержан 74-летний бывший министр обороны страны


Через два года после бегства Газиева в Москву ГП РФ приняла постановление о его экстрадиции. В Азербайджане смертный приговор в отношении экс-министра заменили на пожизненное заключение. В марте 2005 года Газиева снова выпустили на свободу - после помилования под нажимом европейских правозащитников и ПАСЕ.

Нет данных о том, произведено ли очередное задержание Рагима Газиева по тому же уголовному делу или причина заключается в иных его прегрешениях перед Азербайджаном.
Использованы фотографии:
times.am
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

18 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Геркулесыч Офлайн
    Геркулесыч 26 декабря 2017 13:47
    +1
    И что это -охота на неугодных , или сведение старых счетов? Надеюсь, что кто-то из Азербайджана на сайте есть, и даст побольше информации!
    1. ПАМ Офлайн
      ПАМ 26 декабря 2017 14:22
      +1
      а что переживать, одним уродом на свободе меньше
    2. Lek38 Офлайн
      Lek38 26 декабря 2017 14:26
      +4
      Скорее всего решил вернутся к политике ,а ему толсто напомнили что ты не отсидел весь свой пожизненный .
      Сдать Шушу почти без боя это многого стоит .Чтобы сдать Шушу нужно быть запредельный идиотом ,стоить только посмотреть карту и расположение города чтобы согласиться с этим .
      Это просто город крепость отдав который решился исход войны .Еврей по национальности герой Аз-на танкист со своим экипажем отказался покидать город и погиб обороняя, как и 200-300 других товарищей которые стояли до конца .Остальные просто послушались приказа предательского приказа
      1. Viktor.N.Aleksandrov. Офлайн
        Viktor.N.Aleksandrov. 26 декабря 2017 14:43
        +6
        Да, Шуша- это природная крепость. С горы весь Степанакерт как на ладони. (Был там в 1990 г.). Сдать такую позицию без серьезного боя - это преступление, которое заслуживает расстрела!
        1. финиш Офлайн
          финиш 27 декабря 2017 21:46
          +1
          Аркадий Тер-Тадевосян генерал-майор.В Афганистане его прозвали «Горный Лис» признавая его мастерство в горной войне. В Арцахе за особую методику спецподготовки его прозвали «Коммандос».
          В 1992 - Аркадий Тер-Тадевосян разрабатывает и проводит блестящую операцию по освобождению Шуши (8-9 мая). Разработанный Аркадием Тер-Тадевосяном в обстановке строжайшей секретности план штурма крепости Шуши (кодовое название операции “Свадьба в горах”) стал венцом его военной биографии и первым крупномасштабным действием, осуществленным под руководством единого Штаба обороны Нагорно-Карабахской Республики. 9 мая 1992 г. армянские воинские части, к изумлению державшего высоту врага (Хаттаб позже признается в этом в своих интервью), овладели главной цитаделью противника в Нагорном Карабахе. Именно с высот Шуши и велся постоянный обстрел столицы НКР — Степанакерта. Благодаря командирскому таланту Аркадия Тер-Тадевосяна и потенциалу Армии обороны Арцаха и Главного штаба ССА Шушинскую операцию удалось выполнить с минимальными потерями.
      2. Equalized Офлайн
        Equalized 26 декабря 2017 15:10
        +2
        Нормальная практика в 90х. Беспредел, везде предательство и продажи.
        У нас в Абхазии тоже таких случаев много было. Шеварднадзе с гордостью вывел тяжелое вооружение из республики, а сам потом сидел в Сохуми когда его штурмовали Абхазы, а обороняться уже нечем было. Еле-еле ноги унес.
      3. vatrpas Офлайн
        vatrpas 26 декабря 2017 18:14
        +1
        Рагим Газиев недавно в Баку критиковал И.А . Смелый человек, одно дела это делать за границей другое дело это делать в Баку. Интервью дал каналу 13, на азербайджанском и это интервью в ютубе.
    3. Lek38 Офлайн
      Lek38 26 декабря 2017 14:43
      0
      Что можно ожидать от людей вроде Газиевых ?Сначала был антироссийским в составе национального фронта .Благодаря этому колхозник стал управлять армией став министром обороны , потом подружился с Грачёвым решил что пусть у власти будут пророссийкий Муталлибов .Для этого нужно сдать пару городов в это же время Гусейнов вывел свои войска и пошёл походом на Баку ради власти .Тогдашний лидер нац фронта президент сбежал из Баку как и Газиев националисты оказались трусами .К власти пришёл пророссийский Муталибов которого свергнули и тоже сбежал в Россию.Итог все кому не лень бежали в Россию страной никто не управлял а тем более армией которая состояла из раздробленных только сформированных частей и батальонов самообороны .Вот и весь расклад если коротко
      1. Геркулесыч Офлайн
        Геркулесыч 26 декабря 2017 14:45
        +1
        Спасибо за информацию! hi
    4. 79807420129 Офлайн
      79807420129 26 декабря 2017 14:49
      +4
      Их проблемы,пусть с ним делают,что хотят,только вот раньше надо было,когда
      . В 1990 году он являлся активным участником антисоветских выступления в Баку. Летом 1990-го Газиев был арестован и отправлен в Москву, где несколько дней провёл в Лефортовской тюрьме. После был отпущен из-под стражи

      Много тогда таких деятелей отпускали,потом много крови пролилось. yes
  2. Чёрный Офлайн
    Чёрный 26 декабря 2017 13:48
    +2
    Прочитал его биографию. ...В общем его судьба меня лично , вообще никак не интересует....
  3. роман66 Офлайн
    роман66 26 декабря 2017 13:49
    +4
    сколько же пены тогда всплыло! до сих пор аукается.
    1. 210окв Офлайн
      210окв 26 декабря 2017 14:13
      +1
      Меченный взболтал и померла эта тина наверх..
      Цитата: роман66
      сколько же пены тогда всплыло! до сих пор аукается.
  4. Sergey53 Офлайн
    Sergey53 26 декабря 2017 13:50
    0
    Участник тех событий рассказал как воевал, разочаровался и уехал в РФ. Приезжали с верхов , заставляли подписывать документы на якобы полученные и израсходованные боеприпасы.Говорит мы в окопе, а они деньги заколачивают.
    1. собаковод Офлайн
      собаковод 26 декабря 2017 14:37
      +1
      Это в любом конфликте и с любой стороной этого конфликта. "Кому война, кому мать родна!"
  5. Доктор Бармалей 26 декабря 2017 13:52
    +1
    Типовой "революционер" эпохи распада СССР.
  6. К0щей Офлайн
    К0щей 26 декабря 2017 13:55
    +1
    Летом 1990-го Газиев был арестован и отправлен в Москву, где несколько дней провёл в Лефортовской тюрьме. После был отпущен из-под стражи в связи с избранием в Азербайджанской ССР в местный совет депутатов. Уголовное дело в его отношении тогда закрыли.

    После отставки Газиева в 1993 году он снова попал под арест, будучи обвинённым в сдаче Шуши и государственной измене. В 1994 году бежал в Россию.

    это как если бы Яценюк к нам сбежал))) просто карасавец)) но в принципе плевать, что с ним сделают.
  7. TUFAN Офлайн
    TUFAN 27 декабря 2017 09:23
    0
    Как же называть политические претензии человека, всю свою жизнь листавшего учебник математики и в один миг решившего, что этого достаточно, чтобы командовать армией нового типа? Стоит ли вспоминать сегодня обо всем этом? Да, стоит, потому как всем хорошо известно – история любит повторяться. И с этим ничего не поделаешь. И дело не в том, что в обстоятельствах подобных тем, которые имели место З0 лет назад на улицах Баку, вновь может возникнуть политическое отрепье типа новых газиевых. Беда не в них, а в нас самих, слепо поверивших, что они-то и есть те самые самоотверженные, самые верные, истинные герои, которые поведут нас в бой за родные земли.Героизм проявляется в бою, а не на митинговых ристалищах. Судьбе угодно было именно каждому из вождей Фронта дать возможность стать героем Карабаха. Не нашлось среди них ни одного, кто воспользовался бы этим шансом, добровольно явившись на призывной пункт. Как это делали тысячи безымянных героев-азербайджанцев летом 1941 года. И не надо ломать голову над естественным вопросом, почему все так произошло. «Вы хотите отправить нас воевать в Карабах, чтобы избавиться от политических противников!» - вот что говорили тогда вожди Фронта. Что же удивляться тому, что когда пришло время сдать Шушу, чтобы добраться до вожделенной власти, они не задумываясь сделали это!