Military Review

Lethal miniature guided weapon - Hatchet precision bombshell

7
In mid-April, the SAS 2012 exhibition of the Naval League of the USA, organized by the Naval League of the USA, featured a mini-precision 2012-mm aerial hatchet for UAVs. Initially, the creation of this miniature bombs was planned for the Predator drone. However, it can be used on virtually any drone, as well as from airplanes and helicopters. For example, the “Hellfire” guide on which the 60-kilogram rocket is suspended may carry around the 49 “Hatchet”. The weight of one mini bombs from the company "Alliant Techsystems" 24 kilogram. This is quite a significant achievement because the closest competitor from Raytheon is 1.81 kilogram.

Equipping a miniature bombs (JDAM complex) includes:
- laser homing from "Elbit";
- GPS receiver;
- inertial guidance system.

Lethal miniature guided weapon - Hatchet precision bombshell


According to the developers, this high precision aerial bomb will be as efficient as possible for use in urban environments and for the destruction of unarmored objects. The accuracy of the bombs will allow to destroy the target in a particular room without serious damage to the neighboring living quarters. So the use of the Hatchet mini bombs to arm the RQ-7 Shadow drone turns it into a real mini bomber that can last for a long time, is in the air and when receiving a command to use its weapons.

In Afghanistan and Iraq, the aircraft of the United States and NATO units did not fly into the sky for more than one hour. The exception is the RQ-7B Shadow drone. In addition, not all aircraft can conduct a better overview of the terrain than unmanned aviation systems (ALS). However, at that time, drones had neither weapons nor the ability to issue laser target designation. In the best case, the operator RQ-7B Shadow, upon detection of a target, provided a location for working on it for artillery or helicopters.



Now, for drones develop new types of weapons, guidance systems and navigation systems. The US military has overcome various barriers to combat use of drone-class lower than the MQ-1 Predator. For a long time, the development of weapons of drones, stood in one place. The US Department of War, finally decided and decided to arm almost all the drones available in service. Discussions are already underway on various options for armed UAS, which during special operations can not only perform reconnaissance functions, but also perform purely combat missions. Now the efforts of the American military are aimed at increasing the armed ALS from several hundred to several thousand.

The US military industry began to create various types of weapons and ammunition, pending the promulgation of requirements for RQ-7 Shadow drones or less class. After installing the X-Rum-2002 Predators drone of the Lockheed Martin AGM-1 Hellfires air-to-surface missile in 114, the military department begins implementing weapons integration programs for various BAS systems. In particular, the programs are talking about ammunition (such as a bomb or a rocket). For use on board the drone of small arms, UAS is not yet ripe.

But recently, the smallest of the existing AGM-114 rockets with a 49 mass in kilograms exceeds the maximum payload of the RQ-7B BAS on 10 kilograms, and for its use it was necessary to remove some of the installed equipment, and the drone was becoming almost blind. In 2004, work begins on the creation of high-precision ammunition specifically for the BAS class type RQ-7 and below. In the spring of 2010, the army's Aviation and Missile Command make a request to search for a new type of precision weapons weighing less than 11.3 kilograms for UAS weapons. These new precision-guided munitions were planned to be mounted on UAVs of the “RQ-7” type, along with an optical sensor and a laser designator.



For several months, MBDA demonstrated an extended range of small aerial bombs (SABER) at Farnborough. This family of small ammunition weighing from 4.5 to 13.6 kilogram. "SABER" were the first ammunition that was created in the framework of the search for military weapons to equip Shadow type drones.

In August 2010, Raytheon demonstrated small tactical ammunition. They had a length of 61 centimeter, diameter 10 centimeters and weight 5.9 kilogram with GPS receiver, inertial navigation system and laser guided semi-active performance.

ATK is also starting a game on the market for small precision-guided munitions. In April, 2012 presented the 60 mm “Hatchet” 1.81 kilogram. It has two sets of three fins (aerodynamic surfaces), tail guided, and the system controlling them. A virtual use of several Hatchets to defeat mobile air defense systems was demonstrated.



But the plans of the American military have changed again. The armament of the “RQ-7” used in the units of the Marine Corps has been postponed. Although the plans of the Marine Corps Command, announced in December 2011 of the year, are known about receiving ammunition for UAS through 12 months after signing the contract for their production. This is a completely logical step for the US Marine Corps. According to reports, the RQ-7 patrol drones detect many targets, and caused by armed aircraft do not have time to arrive and attack targets - the identified targets either disappear or quickly leave the detection area. Despite urgent requests from commanders of marine units stationed in Afghanistan to receive ammunition for UAS, the proposal to manufacture (contract) with any manufacturer of such ammunition has not yet been issued (not signed) by the command of the US MP. Informed sources say that this is primarily due to the problems of compliance with international treaties on the armament of small UAS.



And even though the MQ-1 Predator was armed without any problems back in the 2002 year, now the RQ-7 armament can be pulled to violate the treaty on the elimination of medium and short-range missiles (INF). In the meantime, there is a discussion of the BASi weapons problem solving, the industry expects that competitions for the development of high-precision small ammunition for unmanned aircraft systems will begin in the near future. At this time, research has begun on the program "LMAMS" - flying miniature air systems of ammunition. The USAF has already allocated almost 10 million dollars for the development of the program. Possible deliveries are planned after testing, roughly after 2013.

Information sources:
http://mport.bigmir.net/war/1518920-Novejshaja-raketa-ubijca-pomestitsja-v-karman
http://www.flightglobal.com/news/articles/auvsi-mini-munitions-get-big-for-small-uas-360353/
Author:
7 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Tirpitz
    Tirpitz 21 May 2012 09: 42
    +3
    Mmmm yes. How far they have come forward from the whole world. The experience of using a UAV is enormous. To catch up and catch up ... It's sad.
    1. Gamdlislyam
      Gamdlislyam 21 May 2012 13: 45
      +2
      UAVs are good against countries with backward armed forces and weak or no air defense. With the availability of electronic warfare (electronic warfare), all this turns into expensive toys. Live example of Libya and Yugoslavia.
      In Libya, after NATO aviation destroyed the main means of air defense, began to use shock UAVs. And this despite the fact that air defense systems were in Libya 60-70-ies.
      In Yugoslavia, these precision bombs, when using electronic warfare equipment, flew from targets to several tens of kilometers, and some even flew to Bulgaria.
      1. Kyrgyz
        Kyrgyz 21 May 2012 21: 24
        +2
        Quote: Gamdlislyam
        UAVs are good against countries with backward armed forces and weak or no air defense. With the availability of electronic warfare (electronic warfare), all this turns into expensive toys. Live example of Libya and Yugoslavia.

        a lot of electronic warfare funds on the march, block posts and ambushes, including in places of temporary warehouses and parking lots of equipment? a good thing against any opponent that has something to hide
  2. atos_kin
    atos_kin 21 May 2012 10: 54
    +2
    The next evolutionary stage: air-to-air missiles, unmanned aerial combat, battering rams, etc.
  3. borisst64
    borisst64 21 May 2012 12: 56
    +3
    Small does not mean inefficient!
  4. 755962
    755962 21 May 2012 13: 23
    +1
    Soon there will be 2 in 1. And the scout and the percussion. The pace however. In addition, there is a tendency to miniaturization, and therefore to reduce costs.
  5. sergey261180
    sergey261180 21 May 2012 21: 04
    +2
    Ah yes amers, ah yes sons of bitches!
  6. Very smart
    Very smart 21 May 2012 23: 55
    0
    The article is good, timely.
    The idea is correct - with the modern development of microelectronics there are no fundamental problems. The point is the implementation, bringing to mass production. And here we have problems. As with drones. We can do everything, but only in one copy. And so that the developer is nearby. Everything works and is the best in the world. And also issues of corruption are superimposed during the implementation of the state defense order. In general, the thing is a pipe.
  7. Scorpio 83
    Scorpio 83 27 May 2012 20: 26
    0
    I wonder how they use these bombs in cities))) bombing apartments))) hearing about their American precision hit I do not envy the neighbors of the enemies of the state! bully

Смертельное миниатюрное управляемое оружие – высокоточная авиабомба «Hatchet»

В середине апреля 2012 года на организованной «Naval League of the USA» выставке SAS 2012 была представлена высокоточная мини 60-мм авиабомба «Hatchet» для БПЛА. Первоначально, создание данной миниатюрной авиабомбы было запланировано для беспилотника «Predator». Однако он может быть использован практически на любом беспилотнике, а также с самолетов и вертолетов. Например, направляющая «Hellfire» на которую подвешивают 49-ти килограммовую ракету, может нести около 24 «Hatchet». Вес одной мини авиабомбы от компании «Alliant Techsystems»1.81 килограмм. Это достаточно значительное достижение ведь ближайший конкурент от «Raytheon» весит 5.9 килограмм.

Оснащение миниатюрной авиабомбы (комплекс JDAM) включает в себя:
- лазерную ГСН от «Elbit»;
- приемник GPS;
- система инерциального наведения.


Смертельное миниатюрное управляемое оружие – высокоточная авиабомба «Hatchet»


По заявлениям разработчиков данная авиабомба высокой точности будет максимально эффективной для применения в городских условиях и уничтожении небронированных объектов. Точность авиабомбы позволит уничтожить цель в конкретной комнате без серьезного ущерба соседних жилых помещений. Так использование мини авиабомб «Hatchet» для вооружения беспилотника RQ-7 Shadow превращает его в настоящий мини бомбардировщик, который может продолжительное время, находится в воздухе и при получении команды применить свое вооружение.

В Афганистане и Ираке летательные аппараты Соединенных Штатов и подразделений НАТО не поднимались в небо более чем на один час. Исключение – беспилотник RQ-7B Shadow . К тому же не все самолеты могут провести более лучший обзор местности, чем беспилотные авиационные системы (БАС). Однако на то время беспилотники не имели ни вооружения, ни возможности выдачи лазерного целеуказания. В лучшем случае, оператор RQ-7B Shadow при обнаружении цели выдавал местоположение для работы по ней для артиллерии или вертолетов.

Смертельное миниатюрное управляемое оружие – высокоточная авиабомба «Hatchet»


Сейчас, для беспилотников разрабатывают новые виды вооружения, систем наведения и систем навигации. Американскими военными были преодолены различные барьеры для боевого применения беспилотников классом ниже, чем тот же MQ-1 Predator. Долгое время разработка вооружения беспилотников, стояла на одном месте. Военное ведомство США, наконец-то определилось и решило вооружить практически все беспилотники имеющиеся на вооружении. Уже идут обсуждения различных вариантов вооруженных БАС, которые на спецоперациях смогут не только выполнять разведывательные функции, но и выполнять чисто боевые задачи. Сейчас усилия американских военных направлены на увеличение вооруженных БАС от нескольких сотен до нескольких тысяч.

Военная промышленность США стала создавать различные виды вооружения и боеприпасов в ожидании обнародования требований к беспилотников типа RQ-7 Shadow или классом меньше. После установки в 2002 году на беспилотник «RQ-1 Predators» ракеты «Lockheed Martin AGM-114 Hellfires» класса «воздух-поверхность», военное ведомство начинает реализацию программ по интеграции вооружения на различные созданные БАС. В частности речь в программах идет о боеприпасах (типа авиабомба или ракета). Для применения с борта беспилотника стрелкового вооружения, БАС еще не созрели.

Но недавнего времени самая малая из имеющихся ракет «AGM-114» с массой в 49 килограмм, превышает максимальную полезную нагрузку БАС «RQ-7B» на 10 килограмм, а для ее использования требовалось снять некоторое установленное оборудование, и беспилотник становился практически слепым. В 2004 году начинаются работы по созданию высокоточных боеприпасов специально для БАС классом типа RQ-7 и ниже. Весной 2010 года «army's Aviation» и «Missile Command» делают запрос на поиск нового вида высокоточного вооружения весом менее 11.3 килограмма для вооружения БАС. Эти новые высокоточные боеприпасы планировалось устанавливать на беспилотниках типа «RQ-7» вместе с оптическим датчиком и лазерным целеуказателем.

Смертельное миниатюрное управляемое оружие – высокоточная авиабомба «Hatchet»


В течение нескольких месяцев MBDA демонстрировала на Фарнборо расширенный диапазон небольших авиабомб (SABER). Это семейство малых боеприпасов весом от 4.5 до 13.6 килограмм. «SABER» стали первыми боеприпасами, которые были созданы в рамках поиска военными вооружения для оснащения беспилотников типа «Shadow».

В августе 2010 года компания «Raytheon» продемонстрировала малые тактические боеприпасы. Они имели длину 61 сантиметр, диаметр 10 сантиметров и вес 5.9 килограмм с приемником GPS, инерциальной навигационной системой и лазерным наведением полуактивного исполнения.

Компания «ATK» так же начинает игру на рынке малых высокоточных боеприпасов. В апреле 2012 она представила свою разработку 60-мм «Hatchet» массой 1.81 килограмм. Он имеет два набора по три плавника (аэродинамические поверхности), хвостовые управляемые, и управляющую ими систему. Было продемонстрировано виртуальное применение нескольких «Hatchet» для поражения мобильных ЗРК.

Смертельное миниатюрное управляемое оружие – высокоточная авиабомба «Hatchet»


Но планы американских военных снова изменились. Вооружение «RQ-7» использующихся в подразделениях морской пехоты отложено. Хотя и известны планы командования морской пехоты, озвученные в декабре 2011 года, о получении боеприпасов для БАС через 12 месяцев после подписания контракта на их производство. Это полностью логичных шаг для морской пехоты США. По имеющимся данным, патрульные беспилотники RQ-7 обнаруживают множество целей, и вызванные вооруженные летательные аппараты не успевают прибыть и атаковать цели - выявленные цели или исчезают или быстро уходят из района обнаружения. Не смотря на срочные запросы командиров подразделений морской пехоты находящихся в Афганистане на получение боеприпасов для БАС, предложение на производство (контракт) с каким-либо производителем подобных боеприпасов до сих пор не выпущено (не подписан) командованием МП США. Информированные источники говорят, что это в первую очередь связано с проблемами соблюдения международных договоров по вооружению малых БАС.

Смертельное миниатюрное управляемое оружие – высокоточная авиабомба «Hatchet»


И хоть MQ-1 Predator вооружили без проблем еще в 2002 году, то сейчас вооружение RQ-7 может потянуть на нарушение договора ликвидации ракет средней и меньшей дальности (РСМД). А пока идет обсуждение вооружения БАСи решения проблем, промышленность ожидает, что в ближайшее время начнутся конкурсы на разработку высокоточного малого боеприпаса для беспилотных авиационных систем. на данное время, начаты исследования по программе «LMAMS» - летающих миниатюрных воздушных систем боеприпасов. ВВС США уже выделили на разработку программы почти 10 миллионов долларов. Возможные поставки планируются после испытаний, ориентировочно после 2013 года.

Источники информации:
http://mport.bigmir.net/war/1518920-Novejshaja-raketa-ubijca-pomestitsja-v-karman
http://www.flightglobal.com/news/articles/auvsi-mini-munitions-get-big-for-small-uas-360353/
Автор: Роман Джерелейко


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. Tirpitz 21 мая 2012 09:42
    Мммм да. Насколько далеко они ушли вперед от всего мира. Опыт использования бпла колоссальный. Догпнять и доганять... Печально.
    Tirpitz
    1. Гамдлислям 21 мая 2012 13:45
      БПЛА хороши против стран с отсталыми вооруженными силами и слабой ПВО или при её отсутствии. При наличии средств РЭБ (радиоэлектронной борьбы) всё это превращается в дорогостоящие игрушки. Живой примерь Ливия и Югославия.
      В Ливии, после того как авиация НАТО уничтожили основные средства ПВО, стали применять ударные БПЛА . И это при том, что средства ПВО были в Ливии 60-70-х годов.
      В Югославии эти высокоточные авиабомбы, при применении средств РЭБ, улетали от целей до нескольких десятков километров, а некоторые даже до Болгарии долетели.
      1. киргиз 21 мая 2012 21:24
        Цитата: Гамдлислям
        БПЛА хороши против стран с отсталыми вооруженными силами и слабой ПВО или при её отсутствии. При наличии средств РЭБ (радиоэлектронной борьбы) всё это превращается в дорогостоящие игрушки. Живой примерь Ливия и Югославия.

        много средств РЭБ на марше, блок постах и засадах, в т.ч в местах временных складов и стоянок техники? хорошая штука против любого противни ка которому есть что прятать
  2. atos_kin 21 мая 2012 10:54
    Следующий эволюционный этап: ракеты "воздух-воздух", беспилотные воздушные бои, тараны и т.п.
  3. borisst64 21 мая 2012 12:56
    Мелкое не значит неэффективное!
    borisst64
  4. 755962 21 мая 2012 13:23
    Скоро будет 2 в 1.И разведчик и ударный .Темпы однако.К тому же тенденция к миниатюризации ,а следовательно к уменьшению затрат.
    755962
  5. sergey261180 21 мая 2012 21:04
    Ай-да амеры, ай-да сукины сыны!
    sergey261180
  6. Шибко умный 21 мая 2012 23:55
    Статья хорошая, своевременная.
    Идея правильная - при современном развитии микроэлектроники принципиальных проблем нет. Дело в реализации, доведении до серийного производства. А вот тут у нас проблемы. Как и с беспилотниками. Все можем, но только в одном экземпляре. И чтоб разработчик был рядом. Все работает и лучше всех в мире. А еще накладываются вопросы коррупции при реализации ГОЗ. В общем дело - труба.
  7. Скорпион 83 27 мая 2012 20:26
    интересно как они применять эти бомбы в городах))) бомбя по квартирам))) слыша о их американской точности попадания не завидую я соседям врагов государства! bully
    Скорпион 83

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня