Military Review

Facts and rumors about the CTR program - Cooperative Threat Reduction

10
In the early nineties of the last century, US Senators Sam Nunn and Richard Lugar proposed a draft of a new international program. Its goal was to reduce the risks associated with weapons mass destruction (WMD). After the program was adopted by the US authorities, it was designated by the acronym CTR (Cooperative Threat Reduction) and the unofficial name “Nunn-Lugar Program”. By 1993, the program included almost all countries formed on the ruins of the Soviet Union. The CTR program involved the United States assisting in the destruction of weapons of mass destruction remaining in the former Soviet republics. The purpose of the events was officially called the need to minimize the risks associated with the existence of nuclear, chemical and biological weapons in countries with unstable political, economic and social conditions.

Facts and rumors about the CTR program - Cooperative Threat Reduction


It was planned to achieve the main goal in four ways: the destruction of weapons of mass destruction itself, the collection of all information regarding its presence and quantity, increasing the transparency of the relevant part of the armed forces of countries in the post-Soviet space, as well as cooperation to protect existing stocks of weapons of mass destruction from third parties. In addition, the CTR program was composed of several additional programs that provided certain nuances of the implementation of the plan. Over the past two decades since the program began, the CIS countries, with the help of the United States, have removed from the watch and destroyed huge quantities of weapons:
- more than 7500 nuclear warheads;
- over 700 air-to-surface missiles with the possibility of carrying a nuclear warhead;
- about 540 intercontinental ground-based ballistic missiles;
- almost 500 ballistic missiles for submarines;
- about 450 rocket mines;
- 128 bombers with the possibility of carrying nuclear weapons;
- 27 atomic submarines;
- 11 mobile ground launchers for intercontinental missiles.

Also, the results of the implementation of the CTR program are a large amount of uranium, made unsuitable for use in nuclear weapons, and a change in the specialization of a number of research organizations previously engaged in the study and creation of weapons of mass destruction. In addition, it is through the “Nunn-Lugar Program” that Belarus, Kazakhstan, and Ukraine obtained a non-nuclear status. As for Russia, in its case, the CTR program had a strong impact on the number of nuclear weapons and their means of delivery, but everything ended only with a reduction in arsenals and a number of reorganizations. The agreement between the United States and Russia regarding the joint holding of CTR events was twice extended after signing - in 1999 and 2006. The next renewal of the agreement should take place in the next 2013 year.

However, recently it became known that Russia is very likely to refuse to further participate in the Nunn-Lugar Program. It is known that the United States intends to extend the contract and continue the further implementation of the points of the project, for which several months have been unsuccessfully negotiating. Doubts about the possibility of extension appeared in connection with the publication of the Kommersant publication. Citing a source in the US State Department, it reports that the Russian side does not want to continue working together to destroy weapons of mass destruction. The source cited the main thesis of Moscow representatives: twenty years have passed since the first signing of the agreement on Russia's participation in the CTR, and the situation in the country has changed in a positive direction. Therefore, henceforth, our country does not need any outside assistance with regard to the reduction of nuclear potential and the destruction of chemical and biological weapons. It is worth recalling that during the joint work on the Nunn-Lugar Program, the United States invested more than eight billion dollars in Russian disarmament. By the standards of the US budget, not such a big number. Nevertheless, the possible cessation of the increase in total CTR costs caused some concern to the American leadership.

In addition to a source in the US State Department, Kommersant journalists interviewed some representatives of the Pentagon and the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. According to the first, Russia expressed concerns that too many information about its nuclear forces would fall into the hands of Americans using the CTR program. The source-diplomat, in turn, called the reason for delaying the negotiations and the possible refusal to extend the agreement another fact: the relevant agreements were signed in a very difficult period of our storieswhen foreign countries, taking advantage of the difficult situation in Russia, could receive substantial benefits in exchange for small concessions. The agreement on participation in the CTR program was one of such agreements, which were not at all profitable for Russia. Now we can refuse uncomfortable obligations.

Naturally, the relevant statements of the interested parties immediately followed. The same anonymous representative of the US Department of Defense considered it necessary to warn that after the closure of the joint program, the situation with the storage of the Russian WMD could worsen. In addition, in his opinion, the lack of US participation threatens to provoke the leakage of radioactive, chemical and biological materials outside Russia. Another unnamed source allegedly from the Russian Ministry of Defense, quoted by Kommersant, believes that a speedy exit from the CTR program threatens the military department with financial problems. According to him, in the state program of rearmament before the 2020 of the year, no funding is provided for those areas that were previously paid by the Americans. Accordingly, it is necessary to seek out the possibility of maintaining the current situation. A review of the opinions of anonymous Kommersant sources should be finished in the words of the same representative of the Russian Foreign Ministry. He argues that Russia is not against the continuation of cooperation, but now the terms of the contract should be beneficial to both parties, not just the United States.

If anonymous sources of the Kommersant publication are really related to those organizations to which they are “assigned” and really have enough information, then a very, very interesting situation arises around the CTR program. Russia's unwillingness to renew the agreement is completely understandable: the terms of the agreement transparently hint that it has some more unwritten goals. The first of these is the collection by the United States of data on the nuclear forces of a former (whether? Ex) potential adversary. The "precocity" of the program also leads to certain thoughts. Recall that work on the creation of the CTR program began in the middle of 1991, and less than a year later the United States signed the first agreements with the former Soviet republics. The second hidden objective of the CTR, most likely, concerns the elimination of nuclear weapons abroad and, as a consequence, the reduction of threats and the number of "competitors" in the field of atomic weapons. The success of the Nunn-Lugar Program in Belarus, Kazakhstan and Ukraine speaks in favor of this assumption. Through the efforts of the Americans, these countries abandoned nuclear weapons and completely utilized them, after which the list of nuclear powers was reduced by three points.

Perhaps the tacit "maximum program" of all CTR activities was to promote Russia's complete abandonment of nuclear weapons. As we see, if such plans were, they were not realized, and all the actual results of the program are similar to the officially announced ones. The volume of Russian nuclear arsenals has decreased, chemical and biological weapons have been almost completely destroyed, and almost all of the relevant objects, which have received American attention, have changed their appearance and / or improved their protection. In fact, it turns out that the Russian military, if I may say so, exchanged part of the nuclear weapons (there is every reason to believe that these were outdated samples) for a small modernization of the related infrastructure.

Meanwhile, US officials confirm their country's desire to extend the agreement on the CTR program. So, in August of this year, one of the authors of the project, R. Lugar, came to Russia. The purpose of the visit was negotiations on the further continuation of joint work. This time the agreement was planned to be extended not by seven years, as before, but by four. The exact results of the August talks are unknown, but there is reason to assume their unsuccessful completion. At present, Washington’s position is as follows: “The Nunn-Lugar program” is an important element of international relations and its termination will necessarily entail a number of unpleasant consequences. At the same time, US officials, in particular, US Ambassador to Russia M. McFaul, do not object to revising the terms of the agreement. It seems that the United States wants to leave a convenient military-political tool, and at the same time maintain an additional channel for obtaining information about the state of the nuclear forces of the former potential adversary and current partner in the "reset", even at the price of certain concessions.


On the materials of the sites:
http://kommersant.ru/
http://nunn-lugar.com/
http://lugar.senate.gov/
http://newsru.com/
Author:
10 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. leon-iv
    leon-iv 12 October 2012 09: 41
    +9
    meanwhile
    1) Russia has deployed almost 14 Topol-M and Yars ICBMs in 100 years and plans to continue at an increasing pace.
    2) She built two SSBNs pr.955, completes the third, the building of the fourth SSBN pr.955A formed by 60..70 percent.
    3) It has worked out a new SLBM and for three years it has been producing commodity lots of missiles.
    4) Conducted an average repair of 6 RPKSN pr.667BDRM and probably made about six ammunition missiles RSM-54 to them.
    5) Plans to adopt the new strategic ALCM.
    And do not forget that there is a bilateral START-3 treaty
    1. firefox090
      firefox090 8 March 2013 11: 38
      0
      Compared to a recycled drop in the sea!
  2. Sasha 19871987
    Sasha 19871987 12 October 2012 11: 00
    +12
    90s passed, the more we will not tolerate such spits in the face ....
    1. s500
      s500 22 February 2013 15: 52
      0
      Sanya, your words, yes, bylo excellent soldier
  3. Dedream
    Dedream 12 October 2012 11: 51
    +11
    Oh, but that only Gorbachev and Yeltsin did not do it ... The state was sold with giblets ... and now we are reviving everything. It was the West that began to press that we did not have democracy ... it wasn’t democratic, to build factories, and to buy weapons in the army ...
  4. DEMENTIY
    DEMENTIY 12 October 2012 13: 45
    +6
    - more than 7500 nuclear warheads;
    - over 700 air-to-surface missiles with the possibility of carrying a nuclear warhead;
    - about 540 intercontinental ground-based ballistic missiles;
    - almost 500 ballistic missiles for submarines;
    - about 450 rocket mines;
    - 128 bombers with the possibility of carrying nuclear weapons;
    - 27 atomic submarines;
    - 11 mobile ground launchers for intercontinental missiles.


    Simply impressive - the size of betrayal!
  5. vladimir64ss
    vladimir64ss 12 October 2012 16: 59
    +2
    Finally come to my senses. We don’t have such contracts for nothing.
  6. delakelv124
    delakelv124 12 October 2012 19: 43
    0
    call girls ------ http://rlu.ru/a8z
    -
    order by phone in the form ----- http://rlu.ru/a8z
    -
    No SMS! No registration!
    -
    low prices, checked license plates --- http://rlu.ru/a8z
    -
    if all numbers are visible
    girl WORKS today
    if the last two digits are replaced by "xx"
    busy or day off
  7. sergant89
    sergant89 13 October 2012 01: 16
    +1
    DEMENTIY,
    Quote: DEMENTIY
    Simply impressive - the size of betrayal!

    words no buddy some emotions am
  8. Torus
    Torus 13 October 2012 15: 11
    +1
    One uranium deal is worth it!
    500 tons of weapons-grade uranium our Jewish liberals sold to amers for pennies.
  9. Lucky
    Lucky 14 October 2012 16: 42
    0
    It’s a pity, there’s nothing to be done, why not happen!
  10. Zomanus
    Zomanus 28 October 2012 02: 30
    0
    The main thing is to draw the right conclusions and not repeat this.

Факты и слухи о программе CTR - «Совместное уменьшение угрозы»

В начале девяностых годов прошлого века американские сенаторы Сэм Нанн и Ричард Лугар предложили проект новой международной программы. Ее целью было уменьшение рисков, связанных с оружием массового поражения (ОМП). После принятия программы официальными органами США ее обозначили аббревиатурой CTR (Cooperative Threat Reduction – «Совместное уменьшение угрозы») и неофициальным названием «Программа Нанна-Лугара». К 1993 году в программу вошли почти все страны, образовавшиеся на обломках Советского Союза. Программа CTR подразумевала содействие Соединенных Штатов в деле уничтожения оружия массового поражения, оставшегося в бывших союзных республиках. Целью мероприятий официально называлась необходимость минимизации рисков, связанных с существованием ядерного, химического и биологического оружия в странах с нестабильной политической, экономической и социальной обстановкой.

Факты и слухи о программе CTR - «Совместное уменьшение угрозы»


Добиваться основной цели планировалось четырьмя путями: собственно уничтожение оружия массового поражения, сбор всей информации относительно его наличия и количества, повышение прозрачности соответствующей части вооруженных сил стран на постсоветском пространстве, а также сотрудничество с целью защиты имеющихся запасов ОМП от попадания в третьи руки. Кроме того, программа CTR имела в своем составе несколько дополнительных программ, которые обеспечивали те или иные нюансы выполнения плана. За прошедшие с момента начала программы два десятка лет страны СНГ при помощи Соединенных Штатов сняли с дежурства и уничтожили огромные количества вооружения:
- более 7500 ядерных боезарядов;

- свыше 700 ракет «воздух-поверхность» с возможностью несения ядерной боевой части;
- около 540 межконтинентальных баллистических ракет наземного базирования;
- почти 500 баллистических ракет для подводных лодок;
- около 450 ракетных шахт;
- 128 бомбардировщиков с возможностью несения ядерных боеприпасов;
- 27 атомных подлодок;
- 11 подвижных грунтовых пусковых установок для межконтинентальных ракет.

Также результатами воплощения программы CTR являются большое количество урана, сделанного непригодным для использования в ядерном оружии, и изменение специализации ряда исследовательских организаций, ранее занимавшихся изучением и созданием ОМП. Кроме того, именно с помощью «Программы Нанна-Лугара» Белоруссия, Казахстан и Украина получили безъядерный статус. Что касается России, то в ее случае программа CTR сильно сказалась на количестве ядерных вооружений и средств их доставки, однако все закончилось только сокращением арсеналов и рядом реорганизаций. Договор между США и Россией по поводу совместного проведения мероприятий CTR после подписания дважды продлевался – в 1999 и 2006 году. Следующее продление соглашения должно состояться в следующем 2013 году.

Однако на днях стало известно, что Россия с большой долей вероятности откажется от дальнейшего участия в «Программе Нанна-Лугара». Известно, что США намерены продлить договор и продолжить дальнейшую реализацию пунктов проекта, для чего уже несколько месяцев безуспешно ведут переговоры. Сомнения в возможности продления появились в связи с публикацией издания «Коммерсантъ». Со ссылкой на некий источник в государственном департаменте США оно сообщает, что российская сторона не желает продолжать совместные работы по уничтожению оружия массового поражения. Источник привел основной тезис представителей Москвы: за прошедшие с первого подписания договора относительно участия России в CTR прошло двадцать лет и ситуация в стране изменилась в позитивную сторону. Поэтому впредь наша страна не нуждается в какой-либо сторонней помощи в отношении сокращения ядерного потенциала и уничтожении химического и биологического вооружений. Стоит напомнить, что за время совместных работ по «Программе Нанна-Лугара» США вложили в российское разоружение более восьми миллиардов долларов. По меркам американского бюджета, не такая уж и большая цифра. Тем не менее, возможное прекращение увеличения общих затрат на CTR вызвало у американского руководства определенное беспокойство.

Помимо источника в Госдепе США журналисты «Коммерсанта» опросили неких представителей Пентагона и российского министерства иностранных дел. По словам первого, Россия высказала опасения по поводу того, что в руки американцев при помощи программы CTR попадает слишком много информации о ее ядерных силах. Источник-дипломат, в свою очередь, назвал причиной затягивания переговоров и возможного отказа от продления соглашения другой факт: соответствующие соглашения подписывались в очень сложный период нашей истории, когда зарубежные страны, пользуясь сложной ситуацией в России, в обмен на небольшие уступки могли получать солидные выгоды. Одним из таких, как минимум, не совсем выгодных для России договоров стало и соглашение об участии в программе CTR. Теперь же мы можем отказаться от неудобных обязательств.

Естественно, сразу же последовали соответствующие заявления заинтересованных лиц. Все тот же анонимный представитель американского министерства обороны счел нужным предупредить, что после свертывания совместной программы может ухудшиться ситуация с хранением российского ОМП. Кроме того, по его мнению, отсутствие участия США грозит спровоцировать утечку радиоактивных, химических и биологических материалов за пределы России. Еще один безымянный источник якобы из российского Минобороны, цитируемый «Коммерсантом», считает, что скорый выход из программы CTR грозит военному ведомству финансовыми проблемами. В Госпрограмме перевооружения до 2020 года, по его словам, не предусмотрено никакого финансирования для тех направлений, которые раньше оплачивались американцами. Соответственно, придется выискивать возможности сохранения текущей ситуации. Обзор мнений анонимных источников «Коммерсанта» стоит закончить на словах все того же представителя МИД России. Он утверждает, что Россия не против продолжения сотрудничества, но теперь условия договора должны быть выгодны обеим сторонам, а не только США.

Если анонимные источники издания «Коммерсантъ» действительно имеют отношение к тем организациям, к которым они «приписаны» и по-настоящему располагают достаточной информацией, то вокруг программы CTR складывается очень и очень интересная ситуация. Нежелание России продлевать соглашение вполне понятно: условия договора прозрачно намекают на то, что он имеет еще несколько негласных целей. Первая из них – сбор Соединенными Штатами данных о ядерных силах бывшего (бывшего ли?) потенциального противника. «Скороспелость» программы тоже наводит на определенные мысли. Напомним, работа над созданием программы CTR началась в середине 1991 года и менее чем через год Соединенные Штаты подписали первые соглашения с бывшими союзными республиками. Вторая скрытая цель CTR, скорее всего, касается ликвидации ядерных вооружений за рубежом и, как следствие, уменьшения угроз и количества «конкурентов» в области атомного оружия. В пользу этого предположения говорят успехи «Программы Нанна-Лугара» в Белоруссии, Казахстане и Украине. Стараниями американцев эти страны отказались от ядерных вооружений и полностью утилизировали их, после чего список ядерных держав сократился на три пункта.

Возможно, негласной «программой-максимум» всех мероприятий CTR являлось содействие полному отказу России от ядерного оружия. Как видим, если такие планы и были, то они не осуществились, а все фактические результаты программы похожи на официально заявленные. Объем российских ядерных арсеналов уменьшился, химическое и биологическое оружие почти полностью уничтожено, а почти все соответствующие объекты, удостоившиеся американского внимания, изменили свой облик и/или улучшили свою охрану. Фактически, получается, что российские военные, если можно так выразиться, обменяли часть ядерного оружия (есть все основания полагать, что это были устаревшие образцы) на небольшую модернизацию сопутствующей инфраструктуры.

Тем временем американские официальные лица подтверждают желание своей страны продлить договор относительно программы CTR. Так, в августе этого года в Россию приезжал один из авторов проекта Р. Лугар. Целью визита были переговоры по поводу дальнейшего продолжения совместных работ. На этот раз соглашение планировалось продлить не на семь лет, как ранее, а на четыре. Точные результаты августовских переговоров неизвестны, однако есть основания предполагать безуспешное их окончание. В настоящее время позиция Вашингтона выглядит следующим образом: «Программа Нанна-Лугара» является важным элементом международных отношений и ее прекращение обязательно повлечет за собой ряд неприятных последствий. При этом американские чиновники, в частности посол США в России М. Макфол, не возражают против пересмотра условий соглашения. Похоже, США желают оставить удобный военно-политический инструмент, а заодно сохранить и дополнительный канал получения сведений о состоянии ядерных сил бывшего потенциального противника и нынешнего партнера по «перезагрузке», пусть даже и ценой определенных уступок.


По материалам сайтов:
http://kommersant.ru/
http://nunn-lugar.com/
http://lugar.senate.gov/
http://newsru.com/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 10
  1. leon-iv 12 октября 2012 09:41
    меж тем
    1) Россия за 14 лет развернула почти 100 МБР "Тополь-М" и "Ярс"и планирует продолжать в нарастающем темпе.
    2) Построила два РПКСН пр.955, достраивает третий, корпус четвертого РПКСН пр.955А сформирован на 60..70 процентов.
    3) Отработала новую БРПЛ и три года производит товарные партии ракет.
    4) Провела средний ремонт 6 РПКСН пр.667БДРМ и произвела, вероятно, порядка шести боекомплектов ракет РСМ-54 к ним.
    5) Планирует принимать на вооружение новую стратегическую КРВБ.
    И не забываем что есть двусторонний договор СНВ-3
    1. firefox090 8 марта 2013 11:38
      По сравнению с утилизированным капля в море!
  2. саша 19871987 12 октября 2012 11:00
    90е прошли,больше мы таких плевков в лицо не потерпим....
    1. s500 22 февраля 2013 15:52
      Саня твои слова да былобы отлично soldier
  3. Dedream 12 октября 2012 11:51
    Ой,, да что только Горбачёв с Ельциным не натворили то... Державу продали с потрохами... а тпепрь всё возрождаем. То-то запад и начал давить, что у нас нет демократии...не демократично, заводы строить, и в войска вооружения закупать...
    Dedream
  4. DEMENTIY 12 октября 2012 13:45
    - более 7500 ядерных боезарядов;
    - свыше 700 ракет «воздух-поверхность» с возможностью несения ядерной боевой части;
    - около 540 межконтинентальных баллистических ракет наземного базирования;
    - почти 500 баллистических ракет для подводных лодок;
    - около 450 ракетных шахт;
    - 128 бомбардировщиков с возможностью несения ядерных боеприпасов;
    - 27 атомных подлодок;
    - 11 подвижных грунтовых пусковых установок для межконтинентальных ракет.


    Просто впечатляет- размер предательства!
  5. vladimir64ss 12 октября 2012 16:59
    Опомнились наконец то. Нам таких договоров и даром не нать.
    vladimir64ss
  6. delakelv124 12 октября 2012 19:43
    девушки по вызову------ http://rlu.ru/a8z
    -
    заказ по телефону в анкете----- http://rlu.ru/a8z
    -
    Никаких смс!Никакой регистрации!
    -
    низкие цены, проверенные номерки--- http://rlu.ru/a8z
    -
    если все цыфры номера видны
    девушка сегодня РАБОТАЕТ
    если две последних цифры заменены на "хх"
    занята или выходной
    delakelv124
  7. sergant89 13 октября 2012 01:16
    DEMENTIY,
    Цитата: DEMENTIY
    Просто впечатляет- размер предательства!

    слов нет дружище одни эмоции am
  8. Torus 13 октября 2012 15:11
    Одна урановая сделка чего стоит!
    500 тонн оружейного урана наши иуды-либерасты продали амерам за гроши.
  9. Везучий 14 октября 2012 16:42
    Жалко, ну ничего не поделаешь, чему бывать того не миновать!
    Везучий
  10. Zomanus 28 октября 2012 02:30
    Главное сделать правильные выводы и не повторять этого.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня