According to TARDEC, the US Army should rethink the doctrine to reduce the weight of technology.

20

If the army is serious about losing the weight of its armored vehicles, then it should seriously reconsider how it works and not depend so much on materials science, said Paul Rogers, director of the American Automobile and Armored Research Center TARDEC.

“If you really want the weight of the machine not to affect its qualities in a destructive way, materials science is only one aspect, but we really need to carefully review our doctrine, our CONOPS (concept of operations), and our dependence on other technological means,” said Rogers during the Winter Symposium of the US Army 22 February 2013.

The weight of the machine has increased significantly, as commanders seek to protect their troops from the main types of threats, such as improvised explosive devices, which were lying on the roads in Iraq and Afghanistan. After such an increase in weight, the leadership of the army began to complain about the loss of speed on the battlefield.

Rogers explained that, to reduce this weight, too much hope is placed on the science of materials. Even if a major breakthrough in materials science happens, Rogers said, the army will be able to count on a decrease in mass. tank just about six tons over the next 30 years.

However, if the army is ready to take some risk and rethink its approach to work, it will be able to reduce the weight of equipment.

“If you really want to get a platform weighing up to 20 tons, remove the soldier from it completely and allow the autonomous system to be used,” said Rodgers.

After the soldiers left Afghanistan after the 12 years of war, Rogers said, it was time for the army to explore some of the risks associated with the weight of the vehicles. Rogers said he is interested in working with the US Army Training and Doctrine Office to review how the army exploits its armored vehicles.

It's time for the army to see the car as a member of the team, said Rogers. Soldiers must be able to use their vehicles for real-time data collection and analysis. Machines should be better connected to unmanned aerial vehicles to gather information about the environment.

Heidi Shyu, head of army purchases, focused on better synchronizing the army’s scientific and technological efforts to deliver better equipment to the battlefield as quickly as possible. Rogers said she made the TARDEC look five years ahead. He said that she helped to understand the future of technology and help them explore the risks.

“I think the time is right to take the risk. The farther the planning horizon, the better we can do it,” said Rodgers.
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +15
    26 February 2013 11: 28
    About that article, and did not enter.
    The best way to reduce losses for our stars and stripes "friends" is to stop climbing into all holes with your democracy!
    Advice is free if cho, I'm not greedy wink
    1. w.ebdo.g
      +7
      26 February 2013 12: 10
      Oh yeah! let them make a remotely controlled tank!)))
      UAVs are intercepted to land, but the tank is intercepted ... and what will the amers do with it ????
      Can you imagine firing 60 tons of steel at a speed of 70 km?
      it's a creepy thing ...

      let's, amers, have more telecontrol, lower your fat asses into comfortable office chairs ...
      and for our programmers - a lot of money, technology and knowledge to form real shock cyber squad hackers)))
      boys in real life will play in World of Tanks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      it will be fun!))))))

      1. Larus
        +1
        26 February 2013 15: 51
        By the way, in our country, or rather in the USSR, there were experiments using such tanks.
        1. 0
          26 February 2013 16: 23
          remove the soldier from it completely and allow the use of an autonomous system

          Well, here we are, the game "Tanchiki" is only in the real world. The boys will sit in an armchair at the computer and operate autonomous tanks ... After this, all murders by today's drones will seem like paradise.
  2. buga1979
    0
    26 February 2013 11: 29
    robots are coming))
    1. Nevsky
      0
      26 February 2013 13: 34
      Well, yes, even terminator robots will find you in Sartir!

  3. +2
    26 February 2013 11: 30
    Give "Abrams" from composite materials !!!
    1. predator.3
      0
      26 February 2013 14: 01
      Quote: KrSk
      Give "Abrams" from composite materials !!!


      Made of aluminum and plastic ?! wassat
      1. 0
        28 February 2013 13: 27
        Made of plastic aluminum ...
  4. 0
    26 February 2013 11: 34
    Once my teacher taught tactics, defense is considered to have been broken when the soldier’s eggs hovered over the enemy’s trench ... And the Americans are again stepping on the same rake as always, waging war on bombings, cars, computers ...
    If they reconsider their concepts, then this will cause an avalanche-like reaction ... For example, Israeli tank troops will fall ... For the moment, the tanks were brought in, they crawled and that’s all .. And in the version that is proposed, this is already really Russian cars ...
    1. Hunter thomson
      +3
      26 February 2013 11: 43
      What do Israeli armored forces have to do with American games? Israel has its own concept, its own requirements for technology, its own limited theater of operations. Is Israel worried about logistics problems when invading the Philippines?
      1. +1
        26 February 2013 11: 49
        Quote: Hunter Thomson
        What is the relation of armored forces of Israel to the games of the Americans
        The most direct ... They are built exactly on the same model ... Israeli tanks are not able to independently travel long distances and are transported on trailers. Moreover, Israeli tanks have huge armor protection and additional equipment ...
        So if you carefully read what I wrote you should understand what I meant ...
  5. Drappier
    +5
    26 February 2013 11: 35
    The weight of the nation would be better worried laughing
  6. Kaa
    +1
    26 February 2013 11: 35
    All clear. Land battleships are over - you give battle transformers sent by e-mail and reproducing on photocopiers, preferably with artificial intelligence chips. The diagnosis - in childhood, they revised the Terminator and, most likely, they smoked something uphill ... lol
  7. +3
    26 February 2013 11: 40
    Yes, they went, better let the weight of the external reduce for a long time .... 17 trillion ....
  8. Roomata
    +4
    26 February 2013 12: 30
    meanwhile, Russia is developing the world's first shock reconnaissance ethereal paper plane, skillfully thrown by the hand of an experienced soldier, it leads the enemy into perplexity
    thousands of abandoned aircraft clutter the enemy’s position
    resulting in discomfort and focal fires from abandoned cigarette butts
    places of fires are fixed thereby displaying the accumulation of the enemy
    1. Bubo
      0
      26 February 2013 13: 08
      Excellent plus. Laughing out loud laughing
  9. +8
    26 February 2013 14: 06
    Are Americans worried about the excessive weight of military vehicles ?, this is alarming because, apparently, they have set as their next goal a region where bridges are thoughtless for the weight of their equipment ... It's time to start making conclusions.
    1. Cpa
      0
      26 February 2013 15: 12
      A wonderful comment. I’ll add more under the mud and steppes of Central Asia.
  10. +1
    26 February 2013 15: 29
    Pavel. Thanks to the "invaders" from the USSR, all the roads in the Fergana Valley (which the Yankes are interested in) are practically asphalted to the detriment of our Slavic and Kazakh hinterlands. It seems that the conversation is about sand ...
    Without information from satellites, all their praised equipment will not work. 75% of the on-board electronics have not been tested in real conditions.
    I repeat, but for every American novelty there is always a Russian hacker.
    1. Cpa
      0
      26 February 2013 17: 06
      You are right, Nikolai, in any case we are talking about difficult terrain.
  11. basis
    +1
    26 February 2013 15: 35
    they have all the large equipment. The first time I saw Bradley danced for dancing with pleasure -MENA grenade launcher, just a super target. I hope our new projects will not be full of heights ...
  12. georg737577
    0
    27 February 2013 02: 49
    The approach expressed in the article is absolutely correct. The current level of technology development makes the "biological" vehicle crew the "weak link". All designers of armored vehicles proceed primarily from the presence of the "human factor", hence the dimensions, proportions, etc. Tank - "drone" will be much more efficient and technologically "optimal", albeit much more expensive ... As for the possibility of "interception of control" - the designers of combat vehicles-robots will definitely follow the path of giving the vehicle maximum autonomy on the battlefield, up to the absence or severe limitation of the very possibility of remote control. And this is not a fantasy, but a question for the next 10-15 years ...
  13. +1
    27 February 2013 04: 01
    Yeah, and such a tank, of course, will itself track and evaluate the tactical situation, recognize civilians, military, friends, strangers, etc. To know he will pass through this or that locality, the parameters of all obstacles, when to use which means of destruction and so on. In general, think for yourself. Full artificial intelligence.
    And then he will get tired of all this and he will go for a ride on the seashore for his pleasure.
    IMHO of course, but any radio signal can be, if not intercepted, then at least jammed or jammed with interference, which makes remote control at least ineffective. And a full-fledged AI that takes into account all aspects and situations in battle is still a fantasy of the distant days.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned), Kirill Budanov (included to the Rosfinmonitoring list of terrorists and extremists)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev Lev; Ponomarev Ilya; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; Mikhail Kasyanov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

По мнению TARDEC армия США должна переосмыслить доктрину, чтобы снизить вес техники

По мнению TARDEC армия США должна переосмыслить доктрину, чтобы снизить вес техники

Если армия серьезно о желает снизить вес своей бронетехники, то она должна серьезно пересмотреть то, как она работает и не зависеть так сильно от материаловедения, сказал Пол Роджерс, директор американского автобронетанкового научно-исследовательского центра TARDEC.

"Если вы действительно хотите, чтобы вес машины не сказался на ее качествах разрушительным образом, материаловедение является только одним из аспектов, но мы действительно должны тщательно пересмотреть нашу доктрину, наш КОНОПС (концепция операций), и нашу зависимость от других технологических средств", сказал Роджерс во время проведения Зимнего симпозиума армии США 22 февраля 2013 года.

Вес машины значительно увеличился, так как командиры стремятся к защите своих войск от основных видов угроз, таких как самодельные взрывные устройства, которые валялись на дорогах в Ираке и Афганистане. После такого повышения веса руководство армии начало жаловаться на потерю скорости на поле боя.


Роджерс объяснил, что для уменьшения этого веса слишком большие надежды возлагаются на науку о материалах. Даже если и случится крупный прорыв в материаловедении, сказал Роджерс, армия сможет рассчитывать на снижение массы танка всего приблизительно на шесть тонн в течение ближайших 30 лет.

Однако, если армия будет готова пойти на некоторый риск и переосмыслить свой подход к работе, это сможет сократить вес техники.

"Если вы действительно хотите получить платформу массой до 20 тонн, удалите солдата из нее полностью и позвольте использовать автономную систему", сказал Роджерс.

После того, как солдаты уходят из Афганистана после 12 лет войны, сказал Роджерс, пришло время армии изучить некоторые риски, связанные с весом машин. Роджерс сказал, что он заинтересован в работе с Управлением армии США по обучению и доктрине, чтобы пересмотреть то, как армия эксплуатирует свою бронетехнику.

Пришло время для армии, чтобы рассмотреть машину как члена команды, сказал Роджерс. Солдаты должны быть в состоянии использовать свои машины для сбора данных в реальном времени, а также проводить с их помощью анализ. Машины должны быть лучше связаны с беспилотными летательными аппаратами для сбора информации об окружающей обстановке.

Хайди Шай (Heidi Shyu), руководитель армейских закупок, была сосредоточена на том, чтобы лучше синхронизировать научные и технологические усилия армии по поставке лучшего оборудования на поле боя как можно быстрее. Роджерс сказал, что она заставила TARDEC заглянуть на пять лет вперед. Он сказал, что она помогла понять будущее технологий и поможет им изучить риски.

"Я думаю, что настало время, чтобы взять на себя риск. Чем дальше горизонт планирования, тем лучше мы можем сделать это", сказал Роджерс.
Первоисточник: http://www.army-guide.com


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 20
  1. Mikhado 26 февраля 2013 11:28
    Обо что статья, так и не въехал.
    Лучшее средство снизить потери для наших звездно-полосатых "друзей" - перестать лезть во все дыры со своей демократией!
    Совет бесплатный, если чо, я не жадный wink
    1. w.ebdo.g 26 февраля 2013 12:10
      О да! пускай сделают управляемый дистанционно танк!)))
      БПЛА перехватывают чтобы посадить, а вот танк перехватят... и что амеры будут делать с ним????
      вы вообще представляете себе стреляющие 60 тонн стали на скорости 70 км?
      это жуткая штука...

      давайте, амеры, побольше телеуправления, опустите свои жирные задницы в удобные стулья офисов...
      а нашим программистам - побольше денег, техники и знаний для формирования настоящих ударных киберотрядов-хакеров)))
      пацаны в реале сыграют в World of Tanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      вот будет весело!))))))

      w.ebdo.g
      1. Larus 26 февраля 2013 15:51
        Кстати у нас в стране,а точнее в СССР были опыты с использованием таких танков.
        Larus
        1. crazyrom 26 февраля 2013 16:23
          удалите солдата из нее полностью и позвольте использовать автономную систему

          Ну вот и докатились, игра "Танчики" только в реальном мире. Будут мальчишки сидеть в кресле за компьютером и управлять автономными танчиками... После такого все убийства сегодняшними беспилотниками покажутся раем.
  2. buga1979 26 февраля 2013 11:29
    роботы идут))
    buga1979
    1. Невский 26 февраля 2013 13:34
      Ну да, найдут даже в сартире тебя роботы терминаторы!

      Невский
  3. KrSk 26 февраля 2013 11:30
    Даёш " абрамс" из композитных материалов!!!
    1. predator.3 26 февраля 2013 14:01
      Цитата: KrSk
      Даёш " абрамс" из композитных материалов!!!


      Из алюминия и из пластмассы ?! wassat
      predator.3
      1. KrSk 28 февраля 2013 13:27
        Из пластмассового аллюминия...
  4. domokl 26 февраля 2013 11:34
    Когда то мой препод по тактике говорил-оборона считается прорванной тогда,когда яйца солдата зависли над окопом противника...А американцы опять наступают на те же грабли что и всегда-вести войну бомбежками,машинами,компами...
    Если они пересмотрят свои концепции,то это вызовет лавинообразную реакцию...Посыпятся ,к примеру,танковые войска Израиля...Га данный момент танки подвезли,они проползли и всё..А в варианте который предлагается это уже реально российские машины...
    1. Хантер Томсон 26 февраля 2013 11:43
      Какое отношение бронетанковые войска Израиля имеют к играм американцев? У Израиля своя концепция, свои требования к технике, свой ограниченный театр военных действий. Израиль что, озабочен проблемами логистике при вторжении на Филиппины?
      Хантер Томсон
      1. domokl 26 февраля 2013 11:49
        Цитата: Хантер Томсон
        Какое отношение бронетанковые войска Израиля имеют к играм американцев
        Самое прямое..Они построены точно по тому же образцу...Израильские танки не способны самостоятельно передвигаться на большие расстояния и перевозятся на трейлерах.При этом израильские танки обладают огромной бронезащитой и дополнительными средствами...
        Так что ,если вы внимательно прочли то,что я написал вам должно быть понятно что я имел ввиду...
  5. Drapper 26 февраля 2013 11:35
    О весе нации побеспокоились бы лучше laughing
    Drapper
  6. Каа 26 февраля 2013 11:35
    Все понятно. Сухопутные линкоры закончились - даешь боевые трансформеры, пересылаемые по e-mail и плодящиеся на ксероксах, желательно с чипами искусственного интеллекта. Диагноз - в детстве пересмотрели Терминатора и, скорее всего, чего-то курнули забористого... lol
  7. саша 19871987 26 февраля 2013 11:40
    да пошли они,лучше пускай вес внешнего долго снижают.... 17 триллионов....
  8. Roomata 26 февраля 2013 12:30
    тем временем в России разрабатывается первый в мире ударно разведывательный бесплотный бумажный самолёт умело брошенный рукой опытного солдаты он вводит противника в недоумение
    тысячи брошенных самолётиков захламляют позиции неприятеля
    что приводит к дискомфорту и очаговым пожарам от брошенных окурков
    места пожаров фиксируются тем самым отображая места скопления неприятеля
    Roomata
    1. Бубон 26 февраля 2013 13:08
      Отлично плюсую. Ржу не могу laughing
      Бубон
  9. Bosk 26 февраля 2013 14:06
    Американцев беспокоит излишний вес боевых машин?,это настораживает потому как судя по всему они наметили следующей целью регион где мосты недуманы под вес их техники... Пора начинать делать выводы.
    1. КПА 26 февраля 2013 15:12
      Замечательный комментарий.Добавлю еще под грязи и степи Средней Азии.
  10. knn54 26 февраля 2013 15:29
    Павел.Благодаря"оккупантам" из СССР все дороги в Ферганской долине(которая интересует янкесов) практически заасфальтированы в ущерб нашим славянским да и казахским глубинкам.Похоже,что разговор идет о песках...
    Без информации со спутников вся их хваленная техника работать не будет.75% бортовой электроники не испытывалась в реальных условиях.
    Повторюсь,но на каждую американскую новинку всегда найдется русский хакер.
    1. КПА 26 февраля 2013 17:06
      Вы правы,Николай,в любом случае речь идет о труднопроходимой местности.
  11. bazis 26 февраля 2013 15:35
    у них вся техника крупная. Я первый раз бредли увидел за плясял от удоволствия -МЕЧА гранатометчика, просто супер мишень. Надеюсь наши новые проекты не будут пестрить высотой...
    bazis
  12. georg737577 27 февраля 2013 02:49
    Высказанный в статье подход - абсолютно правильный. Современный уровень развития технологий делает именно "биологический" экипаж машины "слабым звеном". Все конструкторы бронетехники исходят в первую очередь из наличия "человеческого фактора" ;отсюда и габариты, пропорции и т.д. Танк - "беспилотник" будет намного эффективнее и технологически "оптимальнее" , хоть и значительно дороже... Что касается возможности " перехвата управления" - конструкторы боевых машин-роботов однозначно пойдут по пути придания машине максимальной автономности на поле боя, вплоть до отсутствия или сильного ограничения самой возможности дистанционного контроля. И это не фантастика, а вопрос ближайших 10 - 15 лет...
    georg737577
  13. Izar 27 февраля 2013 04:01
    Угу, и такой танк конечно будет сам отслеживать и оценивать тактическую обстановку , распознавать гражданских, военных, своих, чужих и тд. Знать проедет он по той или иной местности, параметры всех препятствий, когда какие средства поражения применять и прочее. В общем думать сам. Полный искусственный интеллект.
    А потом ему все это надоест и он поедет покататься в свое удовольствие по берегу моря.
    ИМХО конечно, но любой радиосигнал можно если и не перехватить, то как минимум заглушить или забить помехами, из-за чего дистанционное управление станет как минимум неэффективным. А полноценный ИИ, который бы учитывал все аспекты и ситуации в бою - это пока фантастика далеких дней.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня