Military Review

21 May - Day of the Military Translator

19
The profession of a military translator is perhaps one of the most ancient military professions. Its relevance and importance is due to the obvious fact that the absolute majority of wars in the world stories It was conducted between nations speaking different languages. In Russia, the profession of a military translator (interpreter - interpreter; dragoman - ambassadorial translator, oriental languages) is known almost from the beginning of the formation of a centralized Russian state - since the Byzantine campaigns of the Slavs.


A separate service, professionally engaged in the translation of foreign languages, appeared in Russia in the XVI century. In 1549, the Ambassadorial Department was established under the command of Ivan Viskovaty, whose staff consisted of a 22 translator and 17 interpreters who owned dozens of foreign languages.

Until a certain time, the practice of diplomatic and military translation was uniform and did not have any fundamental differences. The situation changed with Russia's assertion of the status of the empire, with the expansion and increase of the perimeter of its borders: with access to the Black Sea, the Far East and Central Asia. It was not for nothing that officer courses opened in 1885 during the separation of Oriental languages ​​of the Asian department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs became the first educational institution that trained translators for military purposes. The courses of translators immediately gained immense popularity among the officers, the competition exceeded 10 people into place - the profession of a military translator was prestigious at all times. The translating officers served in the countries of Asia, in the Caucasus and in the newly annexed territories of the Asian military districts as chiefs of counties, bailiffs, officers of the border guards.

The next step, which accelerated the formation of a full-fledged personnel reserve for military interpreters of the Russian army, was the opening of the Eastern Institute in Vladivostok in 1899. The training program for orientalists included, in addition to the obligatory English and French, Chinese, Japanese, Korean and other Asian languages, depending on the country specialization chosen by the students. Increased attention to the training of Orientalists in the country was not accidental. It is no secret that the sovereign emperor Nicholas II chose the Far East as one of the priority directions of foreign policy, which was a century ahead of his time, because today the Asia-Pacific region is considered the most intensively developing and promising region of the planet, for the influence on which the real geopolitical wrestling.

A significant contribution to the language training of personnel was also made by foreign language courses opened at the headquarters of military districts, which was a consequence of the development of the armed forces as a whole. For example, in 1895, after receiving information about the introduction of Russian courses for officers by the German command, German courses were opened in the Vilna military district - World War I was just around the corner ...

The war and the subsequent catastrophic events that destroyed the country to its foundations left practically nothing away from the successfully functioning system of training military interpreters and orientalists.

The history of military translators of the Soviet period begins with the order of the Revolutionary Military Council of the USSR SS No. 125 of 21 in May 1929 of the year. Under the influence of increasing international tensions and the evidence of inevitable wars, the profession of a military translator became increasingly in demand. The country is reconstructing the system of training military translation specialists: the Eastern branch of the General Staff Academy opens (later the Eastern Division of the Academy, then the Eastern Special, then the 4 faculty of the MV Frunze Military Academy, then the Military Institute of Foreign Languages, later transformed into the Military Institute of the Ministry of Defense of the USSR). Today, the corresponding institute is included in the structure of the Military University as a faculty.
19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. aszzz888
    aszzz888 21 May 2013 07: 05 New
    +8
    The translators also had to take up arms.

    "And if the translator is a lady,
    Yes, not bad, let's face it,
    you can't think anymore
    and you’re translating what you want. "

    Friends, military translators, happy holiday.
    Health and health again!
    1. Explore
      Explore 21 May 2013 14: 25 New
      +3
      Perhaps it’s worth separately congratulating the GRU Special Forces officers, graduates of the special intelligence department, since their basic civilian specialty is a linguist-translator.
      1. Apologet.Ru
        Apologet.Ru 21 May 2013 23: 48 New
        0
        I join, with a holiday!
  2. Septugian
    Septugian 21 May 2013 07: 07 New
    +4
    Happy holiday of military translators! soldier drinks
  3. omsbon
    omsbon 21 May 2013 07: 54 New
    +5
    People of a very necessary profession, MILITARY TRANSLATORS!
    Happy holiday! Health, happiness, success!
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. smershspy
    smershspy 21 May 2013 08: 53 New
    +8
    Lord! Happy holiday! Good luck in job! People of the invisible front - I would call them that! Thanks to them, the information during the Second World War was verified and appropriate measures were taken! Happy holiday to you! I know that now you are doing your work while I write ..!
  6. Dimkapvo
    Dimkapvo 21 May 2013 08: 55 New
    +5
    Very necessary guys !!!! Personal thanks !!! Happy Holiday !!!!
  7. The comment was deleted.
  8. The comment was deleted.
  9. waisson
    waisson 21 May 2013 09: 20 New
    +4
    SERVED HAD TO COMMUNICATE- CONTINGENT NEEDED FUTURE SCIENTISTS
  10. creak
    creak 21 May 2013 09: 48 New
    +7
    Shooting is not for wit
    thunderous war thunder
    from arab yellow helmet
    Russian eyes turn blue (for those who remember)
    Happy holiday colleagues!
  11. The comment was deleted.
  12. Suhov
    Suhov 21 May 2013 09: 54 New
    0
    Happy holiday, interpreters!
  13. Suhov
    Suhov 21 May 2013 10: 00 New
    +4
    In certain circumstances
    as an on-line translator
    can be used
    alcohol.
    wassat
  14. tttttt
    tttttt 21 May 2013 10: 10 New
    +3
    The graduates of VIIAK can be called the elite of the armed forces without unnecessary phrases. Indeed, many of them went along the path of intelligence. And now many VIIK veterans are engaged in necessary and useful things, they, as specialists in learning the languages ​​of our opponents and friends, know their way of thinking, mentality and secret meanings, practice methods of defense, attack and victory in the information war and the war of meanings.

    If moderation misses, I give links to a couple of very useful VIIIAK sites (to remove spaces) where a large amount of materials has been accumulated, you will understand a lot about what is happening in the world and threats to the Russian World. I especially ask you to pay attention to the work of A. Devyatov.

    http: // www.clubvi.ru/
    http: // www.peremeny.ru/books/osminog/category/nebopolitica
  15. RPD
    RPD 21 May 2013 10: 19 New
    +1
    with professional holiday
  16. Prapor Afonya
    Prapor Afonya 21 May 2013 10: 44 New
    +2
    Happy Holiday Military Translators!
  17. George
    George 21 May 2013 12: 24 New
    +1
    Glory to all military translators!
    After all, you are bridges of facial expressions and words
    Between infinitely slender troops
    All continents, countries and cities.

    We wish you a great understanding,
    We wish ease and speed of mind.
    So that the speech flows in a stream, not tired,
    So that only your role is peaceful.

    Thank you for the calm of the state,
    After all, thanks to you we sleep peacefully.
    Be calm - we are proud of you,
    Your merits are sacred to all of us.
    I join in the congratulations.
    drinks drinks drinks
  18. uizik
    uizik 21 May 2013 17: 30 New
    +2
    They are everywhere and in the rear and on the front line and in special forces and outfits! Happy holiday!
  19. lilit.193
    lilit.193 21 May 2013 17: 37 New
    +2
    HOLIDAY YOU, TRANSLATORS !!! love love love
  20. Aaron Zawi
    Aaron Zawi 21 May 2013 19: 10 New
    +5
    Amazing Carabas-Barabas drinks Be healthy.
    During the Great Patriotic War, Vladimir Abramovich Etush graduated from the military translation department of the Second Moscow Pedagogical Institute of Foreign Languages, and fought at the front with the rank of lieutenant of the administrative service. He fought under the city of Malgobek (modern Republic of Ingushetia). His last position was Assistant Chief of Staff of the 581 Red Banner Rifle Regiment on the rear. By order of 151 of the infantry division No. 027 / N of 19 on September 1943 he was awarded the Order of the Red Star. From the award sheet:
    “In the battles for the socialist homeland against the German occupiers, he proved himself a brave and decisive commander. In offensive battles in the Mospino area of ​​7.9.43, the command of the regiment, comrade Etush was sent to the aid of the battalion, which had a difficult situation in fulfilling the assigned combat mission, comrade. Etush fearlessly sparing his life inspiring the fighters, boldly led the company to the enemy, and with his skillful maneuver he knocked out the enemy from the Gorodok region while destroying 30 soldiers and officers, and captured a light machine gun. Comrade Etush, working as chief of staff on the rear throughout the offensive battles, ensured the normal operation of the rear and its movement. Uninterruptedly delivered food and ammunition to combat units. Well provided reception and evacuation of the wounded. 15.9.1943, attacking the district center of Kuybyshevo, personally with the group of soldiers the first to break into the village and in street battles destroyed 8 soldiers and officers of the enemy. "
    In the 1943 year near Tokmak (the village of Zhovtnevoe) in the Zaporizhzhya region he was seriously wounded. After the hospital, he received a second disability group and was commissioned. Member of the CPSU (b) since 1946 year.
    1. SlavaP
      SlavaP 21 May 2013 23: 23 New
      +1
      Yes, I didn’t know ... well, Karabas!

      Happy holiday, colleagues!
  21. Iraclius
    Iraclius 21 May 2013 19: 22 New
    +1
    Happy professional colleagues! drinks
    After the liquidation of the institute, as an independent unit and the pernicious reforms of Serdyukov, a shortage of translators began to be felt in the armed forces. In my memory, several telegrams came to our unit about recruiting officers for courses. I wish to eliminate all problems and shortcomings with education as soon as possible. Good luck guys!
    One of the striking examples of the activities of the Ambassadorial order is the famous Nerchinsk Treaty, drawn up in three languages ​​- in Russian, Manchurian and Latin. And still used in international practice. But China generally considers the Aigun Treaty to be imposed by force, and recognizes the Nerchinsk Treaty as the only truly fair border agreement.
  22. Yun Klob
    Yun Klob 21 May 2013 21: 12 New
    +1
    I don’t understand. 6 years have been taught at school, three years at institutes, all the same they do not know. What kind of techniques do we have?
  23. 755962
    755962 21 May 2013 22: 52 New
    0
    My mother’s aunt, Tatyana Aleksandrovna Lapshina, was a military translator. She graduated from a war in Berlin where she met her husband Pyotr Stepanych (who fled to the front at the age of 17). And the first-born were born in Dresden. That's the story ...
    Everlasting memory!
    To all those who made their contribution to the Victory!
    Eternal Glory!
    Bow to you relatives!
  24. Egevich
    Egevich 21 May 2013 23: 26 New
    +1
    Currently, the positions of translators in the SPN units have been reduced ...

21 мая – День военного переводчика

21 мая – День военного переводчикаПрофессия военного переводчика является, пожалуй, одной из самых древних военных профессий. Её востребованность и важность объясняется тем очевидным фактом, что абсолютное большинство войн в мировой истории велось между народами, говорящими на разных языках. На Руси профессия военного переводчика (толмача – устного переводчика; драгомана – посольского переводчика, особ. восточных языков), известна практически с начала формирования централизованного русского государства – со времён византийских походов славян.

Отдельная служба, профессионально занимавшаяся переводами иностранных языков, появилась в России в XVI веке. В 1549 г. Под началом дьяка Ивана Висковатого был учреждён Посольский приказ, штат которого насчитывал 22 письменных переводчика и 17 толмачей, владевших десятками иностранных языков.

До определённого времени практика дипломатического и военного перевода была единой и не имела каких-либо коренных отличий. Ситуация изменилась с утверждением России в статусе империи, с расширением и увеличением периметра её границ: с выходом к Чёрному морю, Дальнему Востоку и Средней Азии. Недаром первым учебным заведением, готовившим переводчиков для военных целей, стали офицерские курсы, открытые в 1885 году при отделении восточных языков Азиатского департамента МИД. Курсы переводчиков немедленно приобрели огромную популярность среди офицеров, конкурс превышал 10 человек на место – профессия военного переводчика была престижной во все времена. Офицеры-переводчики проходили службу в странах Азии, на Кавказе и на вновь присоединённых территориях азиатских военных округов в качестве начальников уездов, приставов, офицеров пограничной стражи.


Следующим шагом, ускорившим формирование полноценного кадрового резерва военных переводчиков русской армии, стало открытие во Владивостоке Восточного института в 1899 году. Программа подготовки востоковедов включала в себя, помимо обязательных английского и французского, китайский, японский, корейский и другие азиатские языки, в зависимости от выбранной учащимся страновой специализации. Повышенное внимание подготовке специалистов-востоковедов уделялось в стране не случайно. Не секрет, что государь-император Николай II одним из приоритетных направлений внешней политики выбрал именно Дальний Восток, чем опережал своё время на столетие вперёд, ведь сегодня Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион считается наиболее интенсивно развивающимся и перспективным регионом планеты, за влияние на котором разворачивается нешуточная геополитическая борьба.

Существенный вклад в языковую подготовку личного состава вносили и курсы иностранных языков, открывающиеся при штабах военных округов, что являлось следствием развития вооружённых сил в целом. К примеру, в 1895 году, после получения информации о введении немецким командованием курсов русского языка для офицеров, в Виленском военном округе были открыты курсы немецкого языка – Первая мировая война была уже не за горами…

Война и последующие катастрофические события, которые до основания разрушили страну, не оставили практически ничего и от успешно функционировавшей системы подготовки военных переводчиков и востоковедов.

История военных переводчиков советского периода начинается с приказа Реввоенсовета Союза ССР №125 от 21 мая 1929 года. Под влиянием усиливающегося международного напряжения и очевидности неизбежных войн профессия военного переводчика становилась всё более востребованной. В стране воссоздаётся система подготовки специалистов военного перевода: открывается Восточное отделение Академии Генерального штаба (впоследствии Восточный отдел академии, затем Восточный Специальный, затем 4-й факультет Военной академии им. М.В. Фрунзе, затем Военный институт иностранных языков, преобразованный позднее в Военный институт Министерства обороны СССР). Сегодня соответствующий институт входит в структуру Военного университета на правах факультета.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 19
  1. a.s.zzz888 21 мая 2013 07:05
    Приходилось и переводчикам браться за оружие.

    " А если переводчик дама,
    да не плохая скажем прямо,
    думать ты уже не можешь
    и сам, что хочешь переводишь".

    Друзей, военных переводчиков, с праздником.
    Здоровья и еще раз здоровья!
    1. Explorar 21 мая 2013 14:25
      Наверное, отдельно стоит еще поздравить офицеров Спецназа ГРУ, выпусников факультета специальной разведки, так как их базовая гражданская специальность - лингвист-переводчик.
      Explorar
      1. Apologet.Ру 21 мая 2013 23:48
        Присоединяюсь, с праздником!
  2. Септугиан 21 мая 2013 07:07
    С праздником военных переводчиков! soldier drinks
    Септугиан
  3. omsbon 21 мая 2013 07:54
    Люди очень нужной профессии, ВОЕННЫЕ ПЕРЕВОДЧИКИ!
    С праздником! Здоровья, счастья, успехов!
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. smershspy 21 мая 2013 08:53
    Господа! С праздником! Успехов в работе! Люди невидимого фронта - я бы так их назвал! Благодаря им информация в годы ВОВ была проверена и приняты соответствующие меры! С праздником Вас! Я знаю, что и сейчас вы ведете свою работу пока я пишу..!
    smershspy
  6. DimkaPVO 21 мая 2013 08:55
    Очень нужные ребята!!!! Персональное спасибо!!! С Праздником!!!!
    DimkaPVO
  7. Комментарий был удален.
  8. Комментарий был удален.
  9. waisson 21 мая 2013 09:20
    СЛУЖИЛ ПРЕШЛОСЬ ОБЩАТЬСЯ- КОНТИНГЕНТ НУЖНЫЙ БУДУЩИЕ РАЗВЕДЧИКИ
    waisson
  10. ranger 21 мая 2013 09:48
    Стрельба идет не для острастки
    гремит военная гроза
    из-под арабской желтой каски
    синеют русские глаза (для тех кто помнит)
    С праздником коллеги!
  11. Комментарий был удален.
  12. Сухов 21 мая 2013 09:54
    С праздником, толмачи!
  13. Сухов 21 мая 2013 10:00
    При определенных обстоятельствах
    в качестве on-line переводчика
    можно использовать
    спиртное.
    wassat
  14. tttttt 21 мая 2013 10:10
    Выпускников ВИИЯКА можно без лишних фраз назвать элитой вооруженных сил. Действительно многие из них пошли по стезе разведки. И сейчас многие ветераны ВИИЯКи занимаются нужными и полезными делами они, как специалисты в познанни языков наших противников и друзей познают их способ мышления, менталитет и тайные смыслы, отрабатывают методы защиты,нападения и победы в информационной войне и войне смыслов.

    Если модерация пропустит даю ссылки на пару очень полезных ВИИЯКовских сайтов (убрать пробелы)где материалов накоплено большое количество, вам многое станет понятно о том, что происходит в мире и угрозах Русскому Миру. Особенно прошу обратить внимание на работы Девятова А.П.

    http: // www.clubvi.ru/
    http: // www.peremeny.ru/books/osminog/category/nebopolitica
    tttttt
  15. RPD 21 мая 2013 10:19
    с профессиональным праздником
    RPD
  16. Прапор Афоня 21 мая 2013 10:44
    С Праздником Военные Переводчики!
  17. ЖОРЖ 21 мая 2013 12:24
    Всем переводчикам военным слава!
    Ведь Вы — мосты из мимики и слов
    Меж бесконечно стройными войсками
    Всех континентов, стран и городов.

    Желаем Вам большого пониманья,
    Желаем лёгкости и быстроты ума.
    Чтоб речь лилась ручьём, не уставая,
    Чтоб только мирной Ваша роль была.

    Спасибо за спокойствие державы,
    Ведь Вам благодаря мы мирно спим.
    Спокойны будьте — мы гордимся Вами,
    Заслуги Ваши свято все мы чтим.
    Присоединяюсь к поздравлениям.
    drinks drinks drinks
  18. uizik 21 мая 2013 17:30
    Они везде и в тылу и на передовой и в спецназе и в осназе!С праздником!
  19. lilit.193 21 мая 2013 17:37
    С ПРАЗДНИКОМ ВАС, ПЕРЕВОДЧИКИ!!! love love love
    lilit.193
  20. Арон Заави 21 мая 2013 19:10
    Удивительный Карабас-Барабас drinks Будьте здоровы.
    В годы Великой Отечественной войны Владимир Абрамович Этуш окончил военно-переводческий факультет Второго Московского педагогического института иностранных языков, воевал на фронте в звании лейтенанта административной службы. Воевал под городом Малгобек (современная Республика Ингушетия). Последняя его должность была помощник начальника штаба 581 Краснознаменного стрелкового полка по тылу. Приказом по 151 стрелковой дивизии № 027/Н от 19 сентября 1943 г. награждён орденом «Красная звезда». Из наградного листа:
    «В боях за социалистическую Родину против немецких оккупантов показал себя смелым и решительным командиром. В наступательных боях в районе Моспино 7.9.43 г. командованием полка, тов. Этуш был послан на помощь в батальон, имевший сложную обстановку в выполнении поставленной боевой задачи, тов. Этуш бесстрашно не щадя своей жизни воодушевляя бойцов, смело повел роту на врага, при чём своим умелым маневром выбил противника из района Городок при этом уничтожил 30 солдат и офицеров, захватил ручной пулемет. Тов. Этуш работая начальником штаба по тылу на всем протяжении наступательных боев, обеспечил нормальную работу тыла и его передвижения. Бесперебойно доставлял боевым подразделениям продовольствие и боеприпасы. Хорошо обеспечил прием и эвакуацию раненых. 15.9.1943 г. наступая на районный центр Куйбышево, лично с группой бойцов первыми ворвалися в село и в уличных боях уничтожил 8 солдат и офицеров противника».
    В 1943 году под Токмаком (село Жовтневое) в Запорожской области был тяжело ранен. После госпиталя получил вторую группу инвалидности и был комиссован. Член ВКП(б) с 1946 года.
    1. SlavaP 21 мая 2013 23:23
      Да, не знал ...ну и Карабас!

      С праздником, коллеги!
  21. Iraclius 21 мая 2013 19:22
    С профессиональным праздником, коллеги! drinks
    После ликвидации института, как самостоятельной единицы и пагубных реформ Сердюкова, в ВС стал ощущаться дефицит переводчиков. На моей памяти приходило несколько телеграмм в нашу часть о наборе офицеров на курсы. Желаю как можно скорее ликвидировать все проблемы и недочёты с образованием. Удачи, мужики!
    Одним из ярких примеров деятельности Посольского приказа является знаменитый Нерчинский договор, составленный на трёх языках - на русском, маньчжурском и латинском. И до сих пор используется в международной практике. А Китай вообще считает навязанным силой именно Айгунский договор, и признаёт Нерчинский трактат единственным подлинно справедливым соглашением о границах.
  22. Юн Клоб 21 мая 2013 21:12
    Мне вот непонятно. В школе учат инъяз лет 6, в институтах года три, все-равно не знают. Что у нас за методики такие?
  23. 755962 21 мая 2013 22:52
    Родная тётя моей мамы Татьяна Александровна Лапшина была военным переводчиком.Войну закончила в Берлине где и познакомилась со своим мужем Петром Степанычем (который сбежал на фронт в 17 лет от роду).А первенца родили в Дрездене.Вот такая история...
    Вечная Память!
    Всем тем кто внёс свой посильный вклад в Победе!
    Вечная Слава!
    Поклон Вам родные !
    755962
  24. Egevich 21 мая 2013 23:26
    в настоящее время должности переводчиков в отрядах СпН сокращены...

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня