Military Review

Something North Atlantic is happening in South America

8

The left-wing leaders of Latin America painfully perceived Colombia’s plans to begin a rapprochement with NATO, the final goal of which the country's president, Juan Manuel Santos, called joining the alliance. In Washington, on the other hand, they declared support for Bogota "as an influential member of many international organizations, to which NATO could well belong." However, the alliance explains: to begin with, at least theoretical talk about the expansion of NATO beyond Europe and North America, it is necessary to change the basic document - the North Atlantic Treaty of 1949.


The scandal erupted after the end of last week, Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos announced: in June, the country's Defense Ministry and NATO sign an agreement on the exchange of secret information, which will allow "to begin the process of rapprochement and cooperation with a further goal to join Colombia in the alliance." “We have the right to think on a larger scale and the reasons to be the best is not only in the region, but in the whole world,” the president added.

Bogota’s plans have found support from a key member of NATO, the United States. According to the Assistant Secretary of State for Western Hemispheres, Robert Jacobson, President Santos’s statement is "a deep reflection of Colombia’s increased capabilities and willingness to act at the global level as an ally." According to Ms. Jacobson, Washington supports Bogota as "an active and influential member of many international organizations, which could well include NATO."

Colombian neighbors in Latin America reacted very negatively to its NATO ambitions. Nicaraguan President Daniel Ortega called the decision of Bogota "a dagger strike in the heart of the peoples of the continent." And he added: NATO is known only by the fact that "it is bombing, killing, destroying," while the countries of Latin America are striving for peace. “The actions of Colombia are aggression, provocation, conspiracy against anti-imperialist governments,” the Bolivian leader Evo Morales is convinced, calling for an emergency meeting of the Security Council of the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR) to be convened. And Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro was the least diplomatic, saying: "In this world, fools are not respected, kowtowing to empires." Earlier, Mr. Maduro claimed that the Colombian authorities planned to poison him, kill the head of the National Assembly Diosdado Cabello and "attack the Venezuelan military."

However, NATO believes that the Latin American left has nothing to worry about. As the source explained in Kommersant, the talk about potential Colombian membership is meaningless, since the 10 article of the North Atlantic Treaty, signed in Washington in 1949, says: "any European state that can contribute to security can join NATO region ". "If the countries of South America began to join NATO, it would be a completely different organization," the Kommersant source said, adding: "The challenges facing the alliance are global, so we are developing cooperation with other regions in every way."

Taking into account the reaction of Brussels and its neighbors, the Colombian authorities tried to clarify the words of President Santos. As Defense Minister Juan Carlos Pinzón stated in an interview with the newspaper El Tiempo, the matter concerns only the prospects of "associate membership" in the alliance. However, the source of "Kommersant" in Brussels recalled: this format of cooperation in NATO, in contrast to the European Union, is not provided.
Originator:
http://www.kommersant.ru/
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Greyfox
    Greyfox 5 June 2013 11: 13 New
    13
    Colombia decided to make a fuss and replace the Afghan “gyrych” with its high-quality “coke” in NATO! Otherwise, after 2014, breaking is inevitable! laughing
    1. Lord of the Sith
      Lord of the Sith 5 June 2013 14: 27 New
      +1
      Nothing exactly one year later in May 2014, the presidential election will be held in Colombia.
      1. The comment was deleted.
    2. esaul
      esaul 5 June 2013 14: 29 New
      0
      The title of the article is aerobatics! good
      And the first comment is not inferior to him good
      Greyfox (3) 100500 pluses removed from the language! Columbarium is not able to cope with its pokartels. One hope is NATA. But, erring, miserables. NAT is the most important drug dealer. At their service all the power of the West - and aircraft, and ships, and factories .....
  2. Vtel
    Vtel 5 June 2013 11: 14 New
    +3
    "We have the right to think more broadly and the reasons to be better - not only in the region, but throughout the world," added Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos.

    One more was treated for green grandmothers, and because of him a henchman all people will suffer. Kaspers learned to wage info-wars without firing a shot - bam, bam and into the ladies.
    1. domovoi
      domovoi 5 June 2013 11: 41 New
      0
      so what? know how to do things. while Russia will write off loans and sell resources for paper, the United States will print another 500 trillion and will distribute to anyone and buy anyone. and nobody can do anything.
    2. esaul
      esaul 5 June 2013 14: 37 New
      0
      Quote: Vtel
      Kaspers learned how to wage info-wars without firing a shot - bam, bam and damn

      Greetings, Ros. "Damask" does not always work with kosher. A bummer occurred with Russia on the Syrian issue. Today I read Pirmanov’s article “Syria, Give me a Smoke! Again Russia!” with rare pleasure. Well done - Pirmanov!
  3. SCS
    SCS 5 June 2013 11: 21 New
    +3
    Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro was the least diplomatic, stating: "In this world, fools who creep into empires are not respected."

    and Maduro well done!

    "If South America began to join NATO, it would be a completely different organization

    it’s not necessary to enter into an alliance, close cooperation is enough to force neighbors to strain! the stupid vector of the Colombian president ... the country will be a bargaining chip in global disputes! not to be friends and collaborate with those .....
  4. Apollo
    Apollo 5 June 2013 11: 22 New
    +3
    Why does the President of Colombia have full or associate membership in NATO ?! It’s not a secret for anyone that he (Juan Manuel Santos) is playing the role of the United States Six in Latin America. .Who is who.
  5. SPIRITofFREEDOM
    SPIRITofFREEDOM 5 June 2013 11: 31 New
    0
    American cocks are already pulling a snout there !!!
    Bullshit fuckers
    In the wake of the Middle East, they want to sink Latin America in their blood too!
    1. Apologet insane
      Apologet insane 5 June 2013 12: 58 New
      0
      In fact, they have been operating there for a long time and regularly, even before the Middle East.
  6. waisson
    waisson 5 June 2013 11: 33 New
    0
    to voluntarily become the bedrock of American democracy and the flag in their hands, yes, the rocker in ... they’ll wish for it
    1. domovoi
      domovoi 5 June 2013 11: 42 New
      +2
      they will spare nothing ... the United States will print money, give it ... all in chocolate. the rest will also want to, you see. some are ready for anything.
  7. IRBIS
    IRBIS 5 June 2013 11: 52 New
    +1
    "... the ultimate goal of which President Juan Manuel Santos called entry into the alliance."

    Thus confirming that the best cocaine is still produced in Colombia ...
    Let him go, miracle grass ....
  8. MIKHAN
    MIKHAN 5 June 2013 13: 31 New
    0
    Give me time and we will arrange for you on the continent “orange, etc.” revolutions (as you have with us) and smoldering embers on the continent are not few ..
  9. individual
    individual 5 June 2013 13: 46 New
    +1
    Bogotá wants NATO, Colombia doesn’t really, the charter does not allow it. But you can rename it to WATO (World Atlantic Pacific Organization).
    I give the label for free.
    In general, it’s high time that Japan, the Afghan Taliban and Al Qaeda, the Islamic Renaissance Muslim Wing Party, the Kurdish Workers Party, Maoist organizations, and Red Brigades join in there.
    That will be cocktail of american democracy.
    am wassat am
  10. teodorh
    teodorh 5 June 2013 13: 56 New
    0
    Colombia could become a non-aligned ally of NATO. Some states already have this status.
  11. builder
    builder 5 June 2013 14: 40 New
    0
    Colombia Pop Gapon South America.
  12. La hire
    La hire 6 June 2013 10: 35 New
    0
    Clearly, another bought.
    By the way, Venezuela and Brazil do not accidentally want to join the CSTO?

В Южной Америке происходит что-то североатлантическое

В Южной Америке происходит что-то североатлантическое

Левые лидеры Латинской Америки болезненно восприняли планы Колумбии начать сближение с НАТО, конечной целью которого президент страны Хуан Мануэль Сантос назвал вступление в альянс. В Вашингтоне же заявили о поддержке Боготы "как влиятельного члена многих международных организаций, к которым вполне могло бы относиться и НАТО". Впрочем, в альянсе разъясняют: для начала хотя бы теоретических разговоров о расширении НАТО за пределы Европы и Северной Америки необходимо изменить базовый документ — Североатлантический договор 1949 года.

Скандал разразился после того, как в конце минувшей недели президент Колумбии Хуан Мануэль Сантос объявил: в июне Министерство обороны страны и НАТО подпишут соглашение об обмене секретной информацией, что позволит "начать процесс сближения и сотрудничества с дальнейшим прицелом на вступление Колумбии в альянс". "У нас есть право мыслить более масштабно и причины быть лучшими — не только в регионе, но и во всем мире",— добавил президент.

Планы Боготы нашли поддержку со стороны ключевого члена НАТО — США. Как считает помощник госсекретаря по делам Западного полушария Роберта Джейкобсон, заявление президента Сантоса — это "глубокое отражение возросших возможностей Колумбии и ее желания действовать на глобальном уровне в качестве союзника". По словам госпожи Джейкобсон, Вашингтон поддерживает Боготу как "деятельного и влиятельного члена многих международных организаций, к которым вполне могло бы относиться и НАТО".

Соседи Колумбии по Латинской Америке отнеслись к ее натовским амбициям резко отрицательно. Президент Никарагуа Даниэль Ортега назвал решение Боготы "ударом кинжала в сердце народов континента". И добавил: НАТО известно лишь тем, что "устраивает бомбардировки, убивает, разрушает", в то время как страны Латинской Америки стремятся к миру. "Действия Колумбии — это агрессия, провокация, заговор против антиимпериалистических правительств",— убежден боливийский лидер Эво Моралес, призвав созвать экстренное заседание Совета безопасности Союза южноамериканских наций (УНАСУР). А президент Венесуэлы Николас Мадуро был наименее дипломатичен, заявив: "В этом мире не уважают дураков, пресмыкающихся перед империями". Ранее господин Мадуро утверждал, что колумбийские власти планировали отравить его, убить главу Национальной ассамблеи Диосдадо Кабельо и "совершить нападение на венесуэльских военных".

Впрочем, в НАТО считают, что латиноамериканским левым не о чем беспокоиться. Как пояснил "Ъ" источник в альянсе, разговоры о потенциальном членстве Колумбии бессмысленны, так как в 10-й статье Североатлантического договора, подписанного в Вашингтоне в 1949 году, говорится: к НАТО может присоединиться "любое европейское государство, способное вносить свой вклад в безопасность региона". "Если бы страны Южной Америки начали вступать в НАТО, это была бы совсем другая организация,— заявил собеседник "Ъ", добавив: — Стоящие перед альянсом вызовы глобальны, так что сотрудничество с другими регионами мы всячески развиваем".

Приняв во внимание реакцию Брюсселя и своих соседей, колумбийские власти попытались разъяснить слова президента Сантоса. Как заявил в интервью газете El Tiempo министр обороны Хуан Карлос Пинсон, речь идет лишь о перспективах "ассоциированного членства" в альянсе. Впрочем, источник "Ъ" в Брюсселе напомнил: такого формата сотрудничества в НАТО, в отличие от Евросоюза, не предусмотрено.
Первоисточник: http://www.kommersant.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 8
  1. Greyfox 5 июня 2013 11:13
    Колумбия решила подсуетиться и заменить в НАТО афганский "герыч" на свой высококачественный "кокс"!Иначе после 2014 года ломка неизбежна! laughing
    1. Владыка Ситх 5 июня 2013 14:27
      Ничего ровно через год в мае 2014 пройдут в Колумбии президентские выборы.
      1. Комментарий был удален.
    2. esaul 5 июня 2013 14:29
      Заголовок статьи - высший пилотаж! good
      А первый коммент - ему не уступает good
      С языка снял Greyfox (3) 100500 плюсов!"колумбарий" не в состоянии справится со своими накокартелями. Одна надежда - НАТа. Но, заблуждаются, горемыки. НАТа - самый главный наркодилер. К их услугам вся мощь Запада - и самолёты, и пароходы, и заводы.....
  2. Vtel 5 июня 2013 11:14
    "У нас есть право мыслить более масштабно и причины быть лучшими — не только в регионе, но и во всем мире",— добавил президент Колумбии Хуан Мануэль Сантос.

    Еще одного обработали за зеленые бабки, а из за него прихвостня весь народ страдать будет. Кашерные научились вести инфо-войны без единого выстрела - Бац,бац и в дамки.
    Vtel
    1. domovoi 5 июня 2013 11:41
      а что такого? умеют делать дела. пока россия будет списывать кредиты и продавать ресурсы за бумагу, сша напечатает еще 500 трлн и будет раздавать кому угодно и покупать кого угодно. и ничего никто не может сделать.
      domovoi
    2. esaul 5 июня 2013 14:37
      Цитата: Vtel
      Кашерные научились вести инфо-войны без единого выстрела - Бац,бац и в дамки

      Приветствую, Рос. " В дамки" не всегда получается у кошерных. С Россией в сирийском вопросе произошёл облом.Сегодня прочёл статью Пирманова "Сирия, дай закурить! Опять Россия!" с редким удовольствием. Молодца - Пирманов!
  3. СКС 5 июня 2013 11:21
    президент Венесуэлы Николас Мадуро был наименее дипломатичен, заявив: "В этом мире не уважают дураков, пресмыкающихся перед империями".

    а Мадуро молодец!

    "Если бы страны Южной Америки начали вступать в НАТО, это была бы совсем другая организация

    не обязательно в альянс вступать, достаточно плотного сотрудничества, что бы заставить напрягаться соседей! глупый вектор у колумбийского президента...страна будет разменной монетой в глобальных спорах! дружить и сотрудничать надо не с теми.....
    СКС
  4. Apollon 5 июня 2013 11:22
    Зачем президенту Колумбии полноправное или же ассоциированное членство в НАТО?!Не для кого, не является секретом,что он (Хуан Мануэль Сантос) выполняет роль шестерки США в Латинской Америке.Оформлять, еще при этом отношения, я думаю излишним.И так все ясно.Who is who.
  5. SPIRITofFREEDOM 5 июня 2013 11:31
    Американские петухи уже и туда рыло тянут !!!
    Дерьмократоры хреновы
    В след к ближнему востоку уже и латинскую америку в крови хотят потопить!
    SPIRITofFREEDOM
    1. Apologet Insane 5 июня 2013 12:58
      Вообще-то они там орудуют давно и регулярно, ещё до Ближнего Востока.
      Apologet Insane
  6. waisson 5 июня 2013 11:33
    добровольно стать подстилкой американской демократии ну и флаг им в руки да коромысло в з...... они об этом еще пожелеют
    waisson
    1. domovoi 5 июня 2013 11:42
      ничего не пожалеют...сша напечатают денег, дадут им...все в шоколаде. остальные тоже захотят, вот увидите. некоторые за деньги на все готовы.
      domovoi
  7. IRBIS 5 июня 2013 11:52
    "...конечной целью которого президент страны Хуан Мануэль Сантос назвал вступление в альянс."

    Подтвердив тем самым, что самый лучший кокаин, по-прежнему, производится именно в Колумбии...
    Отпусти его, чудо-трава....
  8. МИХАН 5 июня 2013 13:31
    Дайте время ы устроим мы вам тоже на континенте "оранжевые и т.д" революции(как вы у нас) а тлеющих угольков на континенте не мало..
  9. individ 5 июня 2013 13:46
    Богота хочет в НАТО,Колумбия не очень, устав не позволяет.Но можно переименовать в ВАТО(Всемирная Атлантическая,Тихоокеанская Организация).
    Лейбл дарю бесплатно.
    А вообще-то давно пора туда вступить Японии, Афганскому Талибану с Аль-Каедой, Партией мусульманского боевого крыла "Исламского возрождения",Курдской Рабочей Партии, Маоистских организаций,Красных бригад.
    Вот будет коктейль американской демократии.
    am wassat am
  10. teodorh 5 июня 2013 13:56
    Колумбия может стать внеблоковым союзником НАТО. Такой статус уже есть у некоторых государств.
    teodorh
  11. строоитель 5 июня 2013 14:40
    Колумбия-Поп Гапон Южной Америки.
  12. La Hire 6 июня 2013 10:35
    Понятно, ещё одного купили.
    Кстати, Венесуэла и Бразилия случайно не хотят присоединиться к ОДКБ?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня