Military Review

US Naval Academy begins learning cyber operations

11
Annapolis, Maryland - This fall, the United States Naval Academy will be the first academy to offer its students the opportunity to specialize in cyber operations (Cyber ​​Ops).


The Pentagon has announced cyber security as the first priority for military development with a focus on training leaders at this stage. The Department of Defense recognizes the importance of this, but is still trying to pinpoint its role in protecting the nation from cyber attacks.

Nevertheless, the military leadership has repeatedly reported that the officers who will determine the future of the Pentagon in ensuring cyber security are likely to be the youngest group of officials, including those who are still in the process of training. The graduation of the 2016 Naval Academy will be the first to include graduates with a degree in cyber operations.

The leadership of the Maritime Academy spent five years developing programs for cyber classes after the assignment of its former commandant, Admiral Gary Roughead, who later became head of naval operations, to provide such training in addition to computer science.

The Academy has started the formation of compulsory courses for all cadets who must complete a course in Cyber ​​1 in the first year. In the third year, midshipmen must take another mandatory course in Cyber ​​2, which provides more detailed instructions, including cyber policy and economics.

The dean and vice rector of the Naval Academy, Andrei T. Phillips, said that the goal was always to offer a cyber security research program that goes beyond the writing of program code. “We wanted to be sure that we cover both the basic theory and the politics, law and economics that are associated with cyber hazards,” Phillips said.

Students specializing in cyber operations will have the opportunity to complete internships during the summer in civilian software and Internet companies, as well as in federal agencies such as the National Security Agency, which is 30 minutes away from Naval Academy.
Originator:
http://defensetech.org/2013/06/08/naval-academy-launches-cyber-operations-major/#more-20541
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Orel
    Orel 13 June 2013 07: 41 New
    0
    Correct solution. Arms and wars are becoming more technologically advanced and it is no longer possible to imagine conflicts without the use of computer technology, which means that the issue of cybersecurity is becoming the cornerstone of the combat effectiveness of all armed forces.
    1. UFO
      UFO 13 June 2013 09: 24 New
      0
      Whose "right decision"? Did this decision make us feel better? fool
      Do not sleep Russia, do not fall behind! Develop new directions of confrontation, and not repeat what was invented by others, the more likely the enemy. hi
      1. itkul
        itkul 13 June 2013 11: 08 New
        +1
        Quote: UFO
        Whose "right decision"? Did this decision make us feel better?


        Well, ours are also studying at these academies, for example

        http://gazaryan-suren.livejournal.com/114255.html
  2. cartridge
    cartridge 13 June 2013 08: 19 New
    0
    This PR action will not save the Americans. However much they would like to equate the keyboard with a real bayonet, the reality is noticeably different from their Wishlist.
    Turning another world war into a global shooter will fail. Afghan Mujahideen, Syrian, Libyan and Iraqi militants clearly demonstrate their invulnerability and independence from the presence of cyber warriors.
    Even the most moronic and unprepared fighter with a machine gun in his hands in 100% of cases will win an entire office of creacles armed with the latest laptops, even with access to the Network.
    The main essence of the war will always be the ability to physically destroy the enemy. Whoever does not understand this is simply a fool!
  3. Rumata
    Rumata 13 June 2013 08: 28 New
    0
    Quote: cartridge
    This PR action will not save the Americans. However much they would like to equate the keyboard with a real bayonet, the reality is noticeably different from their Wishlist.
    Turning another world war into a global shooter will fail. Afghan Mujahideen, Syrian, Libyan and Iraqi militants clearly demonstrate their invulnerability and independence from the presence of cyber warriors.
    Even the most moronic and unprepared fighter with a machine gun in his hands in 100% of cases will win an entire office of creacles armed with the latest laptops, even with access to the Network.
    The main essence of the war will always be the ability to physically destroy the enemy. Whoever does not understand this is simply a fool!

    I don’t see the connection ... African Mujahideen pose no danger to the existence of the United States, Russia or China, but serious cyber attacks can do a lot of things. You should read so give everyone the bayonets and do not care for all sorts of Internet and their viruses and some kind of cyber-lifes.
    For example, you can take Iran and how many problems they made the cyber attacks of the United States and Israel, postponing their entire program for several years (!!). I think fools are not the ones who cook like everyone, as you wrote, but those who underestimate their enemies
    1. Ezhaak
      Ezhaak 13 June 2013 10: 18 New
      +1
      Yes, cyber war in places is worse than Abramsov and Merkav. A terrible weapon firing from around a corner and flying drones. And around all this, a joke begs:
      Ilya Muromets came to the cave and shouted:
      - Serpent Gorynych, go to the mortal battle!
      Z. G, -Do not go out!
      Ilya Muromets -Exit pi ... with green!
      Z. G, -Do not go out!
      Well, Ilya shouted, shouted, and so left with nothing. An hour later, the head of the Serpent Gorynych protrudes, looked around and said, “Well, pe ... s, well, green, but alive!”
    2. cartridge
      cartridge 13 June 2013 11: 18 New
      0
      I don’t see the connection ...


      The fact that you do not see a connection does not mean at all that there is no such connection. You are simply at the level of development that does not give you the opportunity to realize this.
      1. Rumata
        Rumata 14 June 2013 05: 08 New
        0
        Quote: cartridge
        The fact that you do not see a connection does not mean at all that there is no such connection. You are simply at the level of development that does not give you the opportunity to realize this.

        Well, where are we to you ... I have such a passage
        Quote: cartridge
        Even the most moronic and unprepared fighter with a machine gun in his hands in 100% of cases will win an entire office of creacles armed with the latest laptops, even with access to the Network.

        Caused a cognitive dissonance, sat and thought, and here, one to the other, what was going on in the author’s head ... It's like a children's riddle
        -What is the difference between tractor and tomato
        - The tomato is red, and the tractor door opens ...

    3. cartridge
      cartridge 13 June 2013 11: 26 New
      -2
      African Mujahideen pose no danger to US existence


      I didn’t even mention African Mujahideen. This is your Jewish habit of distorting the words of the interlocutor worked. Therefore, then talk to yourself. You still cannot find a better interlocutor than you yourself.
      Leitraot!
  4. Vtel
    Vtel 13 June 2013 10: 15 New
    +1
    US Naval Academy begins learning cyber operations

    In the same way, a plumbing academy, often a maritime one, can also teach.
    1. mirror
      mirror 13 June 2013 11: 49 New
      +1
      Marine faq? Everything is simple: any order, let alone a large one, such as AUG, has long been linked by an information network. The result is a comprehensive reflection of the entire underwater, surface and air environment. And the network is a computer, and even with access to all kinds of headquarters. All sorts of hackers will try to "interfere" into such networks from the shore. The fleet is simply obliged to deal with the protection of such networks and countering enemy networks. By the way, ships and Pls are always only a small part of the fleet, the naval infrastructure is very large and powerful. So naval educational institutions train not only the crew.
  5. Grigorich 1962
    Grigorich 1962 13 June 2013 10: 50 New
    +1
    The wars of the 21st century are acquiring new qualities and this must be learned in the present way. I hope that in Russia they are already teaching this at the proper modern level
  6. Yeraz
    Yeraz 13 June 2013 11: 11 New
    +1
    Well, Russian hackers are traditionally considered to be one of the strongest in the world. It’s just that the number of cyber fighters is enlarged and systematized by amers. Considering that weapons are becoming more and more technological, and it’s difficult to imagine your life without the Internet, this should be a priority.
  7. Scandinavian
    Scandinavian 13 June 2013 11: 52 New
    0
    Come children to us as a hacker to learn!
  8. agbykov
    13 June 2013 11: 53 New
    0
    And the Gadremarines go to the "National Security Agency, which is a 30-minute drive from this Naval Academy." (I think there is a link to the article on the website "Foreign Policy: US Cyber ​​Intelligence Hacking Servers Around the World")
  9. 10 Sinner
    10 Sinner 14 June 2013 15: 12 New
    0
    In my opinion, the presence of cyber fighters has long been no secret, and this information about the official recruitment to the academy to protect the United States from cyber attacks is nothing more than a vindictive action that followed after their last "fiasco" with the leak of information about the special services (Office of Specialized Access Operations (Tailored Access Operations, TAO), which themselves carried out cyber attacks around the world. Washed: - "Yes, we are worried about our country and now we are creating such units for protection.", But in fact, the units have already existed for a long time and they were created not for defense, but for attacks on various countries and organizations in these countries of "unexpected" demonstrations, etc. ...

Военно-морская Академия США начала обучение кибер операциям

Военно-морская Академия США начала обучение кибер операциямАннаполис, штат Мэриленд - Этой осенью, Военно-морская академия США станет первым академией, которая предложить своим студентам возможность специализироваться по кибер-операциям (Cyber Ops).

Руководство Пентагона объявило обеспечение кибер-безопасности первоочередной задачей военного развития с акцентом на подготовку лидеров на данном этапе. Министерство обороны признает важность этого, но все еще пытается точно определить свою роль в защите нации от кибер-атак.

Тем не менее, военное руководство неоднократно сообщало, что офицеры, которые будут определять будущее Пентагона в обеспечении кибер-безопасности, вероятно, будут самой молодой группой должностных лиц, включая и тех, кто еще в процессе обучения. Выпуск Военно-морской академии 2016 года будет первым, включающим выпускников со степенью в области кибер-операций.


Руководство морской академии потратило пять лет на разработку программ для кибер-классов после задания бывшего ее коменданта адмирала Гэри Ругхеда (Gary Roughead), который позже стал начальником военно-морских операций, обеспечить такое обучение дополнительно к обучению информатике.

Академия стартовала формирование обязательных курсов для всех курсантов, которые должны пройти в первый год курс Cyber ​​1. На третьем году гардемарины должны пройти еще один обязательный курс Cyber ​​2, который предоставляет более подробные инструкции, включая киберполитику и экономику.

Декан и проректор Военно-морской Академии Андрей Т. Филлипс сказал, что целью всегда была предложить программу исследований кибер-безопасности, выходящих за рамки написания программного кода. "Мы хотели, быть уверенным в том, что мы покрываем как основную теорию, так и политику, право и экономику, которые связаны с кибер опасностями",- сказал Филлипс.

Студенты, специализирующиеся в кибер-операциях, ​​будут иметь возможность завершить стажировку в течение лета в гражданских компаниях, разрабатывающих программное обеспечения и интернет-компаниях, а также в федеральных агентствах, таких как Агентство Национальной Безопасности, которое находится в 30 минутах езды от этой Военно-морской академии.

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 11
  1. Orel 13 июня 2013 07:41
    Правильное решение. Вооружения и войны становятся более технологичными и представить конфликты без использования компьютерных технологий уже невозможно, а значит вопрос кибербезопасности становится краеугольным камнем боеспособности всех вооруженных сил.
    1. НЛО 13 июня 2013 09:24
      Чье "правильное решение"? Нам от этого решения полегчало? fool
      Не спать Россия, не отставать! Разрабатывать новые направления противостояния, а не повторять изобретенное другими, тем более вероятным противником. hi
      1. itkul 13 июня 2013 11:08
        Цитата: НЛО
        Чье "правильное решение"? Нам от этого решения полегчало?


        Ну так наши тоже в этих академиях учатся,вот например

        http://gazaryan-suren.livejournal.com/114255.html
        itkul
  2. патрон 13 июня 2013 08:19
    Это PR-акция не спасёт американцев. Как бы им не хотелось приравнять клавиатуру к настоящему штыку реальность заметно отличается от их хотелок.
    Превратить очередную мировую войну в глобальный шутер не получится. Афганские моджахеды, сирийские, ливийские и иракские боевики наглядно демонстрируют свою неуязвимость и независимость от наличия у противника кибервоинов.
    Даже самый дебиловатый и неподготовленный боец с автоматом в руках в 100% случаев победит целый офис креаклов, вооружённых новейшими ноутбуками, пусть даже и с выходом в Сеть.
    Главной сутью войны всегда будет возможность физически уничтожить противника. Кто этого не понимает, тот просто глупец!
    патрон
  3. Rumata 13 июня 2013 08:28
    Цитата: патрон
    Это PR-акция не спасёт американцев. Как бы им не хотелось приравнять клавиатуру к настоящему штыку реальность заметно отличается от их хотелок.
    Превратить очередную мировую войну в глобальный шутер не получится. Афганские моджахеды, сирийские, ливийские и иракские боевики наглядно демонстрируют свою неуязвимость и независимость от наличия у противника кибервоинов.
    Даже самый дебиловатый и неподготовленный боец с автоматом в руках в 100% случаев победит целый офис креаклов, вооружённых новейшими ноутбуками, пусть даже и с выходом в Сеть.
    Главной сутью войны всегда будет возможность физически уничтожить противника. Кто этого не понимает, тот просто глупец!

    Не вижу связи... Африканские моджахеды не представляют никак опасности существованию США, России или Китая, а вот серьезные кибер аттаки могут натворить очень много дел. Вас почитать так раздать всем штыки и пофиг на всякие интернеты и их вирусами и какими то кибер-финтифлюшками.
    Для примера можно взять Иран и сколько проблем им сделали кибер атаки СШа и Израиля, отодвинув всю их програму на несколько лет (!!). Думаю глупцы не те кто готовит подобные каждры, как вы написали, а те кто недооценивает своих врагов
    1. Ежак 13 июня 2013 10:18
      Да, кибервойна местами пострашнее Абрамсов и Меркав будет. Пострашней оружия, стреляющего из-за угла и дронов летучих. И вокруг всего этого напрашивается анекдот:
      Приехал Илья Муромец к пешере и кричит:
      - Змей Горыныч, выходи на смертный бой!
      З. Г, -Не выйду!
      Илья Муромец -Выходи пи…с зеленый!
      З. Г, -Не выйду!
      Ну Илья покричал, покричал да так ни с чем и уехал. Через час высовывается голова Змея Горыныча, посмотрела по сторонам и говорит, -Ну пи…с, ну зеленый, зато живой!
    2. патрон 13 июня 2013 11:18
      Не вижу связи...


      То, что вы не видите связи, это вовсе не значит, что такой связи нет. Просто вы на том уровне развития, который не даёт вам возможности осознать это.
      патрон
      1. Rumata 14 июня 2013 05:08
        Цитата: патрон
        То, что вы не видите связи, это вовсе не значит, что такой связи нет. Просто вы на том уровне развития, который не даёт вам возможности осознать это.

        Ну куда уж нам до вас... У меня такой вот пасаж-
        Цитата: патрон
        Даже самый дебиловатый и неподготовленный боец с автоматом в руках в 100% случаев победит целый офис креаклов, вооружённых новейшими ноутбуками, пусть даже и с выходом в Сеть.

        Вызвал когнетивный диссонанс, сидел и думал причем тут одно к другому, что твориться в голове автора... Это как детская загадка
        -В чем разница между трактором и помидором
        - Помидор красный,а у трактора дверца открываеться...

    3. патрон 13 июня 2013 11:26
      Африканские моджахеды не представляют никак опасности существованию США


      Про африканских моджахедов я даже не упоминал. Это ваша еврейская привычка передёргивать слова собеседника сработала. Поэтому поговорите в таком случае сами с собой. Лучшего собеседника чем вы сами, вам всё равно не найти.
      Леитраот!
      патрон
  4. Vtel 13 июня 2013 10:15
    Военно-морская Академия США начала обучение кибер операциям

    Точно также может обучать и сантехническая академия, чаво тут морского.
    Vtel
    1. Spiegel 13 июня 2013 11:49
      Чаво морского? Да все просто: любой ордер, а тем более крупный, типа АУГ, давно связан информационной сетью. Результат -комплексное отбражение всей подводной, надводной и воздушной обстановки. А сеть-то компьютерная, да еще и с выходом на всякого рода штабы. Вот в такие сети и будут пробовать "вмешиваться" с берега всяческие хакеры. Флот просто обязан заниматься защитой таких сетей и противодействием сетям противника. Кстати, корабли и Пл всегда только небольшая часть флота, флотская инфраструктура очень большая и мощная. Так что флотские учебные заведения готовят не только плавсостав.
      Spiegel
  5. Григорич 1962 13 июня 2013 10:50
    Войны 21 века приобретают новые качества и этому надо учиться настоящим образом. Надеюсь что и в России уже этому учат на должном современном уровне
    Григорич 1962
  6. Yeraz 13 июня 2013 11:11
    Ну русские хакеры традиционно считаются одними из сильнейших в мире.Просто амеры кол-во своих кибер бойцов увеливают и систематизируют.Учитывая,что вооружения все более технологичным становится,а без интернета свою жизнь представить сложно,то это должно быть первоочередной задачей.
  7. Скандинав 13 июня 2013 11:52
    Приходите дети к нам на хакера учиться!
  8. agbykov 13 июня 2013 11:53
    А стажироваться гадремарины ездят в "Агентство Национальной Безопасности, которое находится в 30 минутах езды от этой Военно-морской академии." (по-моему есть связь со статьей на сайте "Foreign Policy: Киберразведка США взламывает сервера по всему миру")
  9. 10-й грешник 14 июня 2013 15:12
    По моему, наличие кибербойцов уже давно не секрет, а эта информация про официальный набор в академию для защиты США от кибер атак ни что иное, как оправдательная акция, последовавшая после их последних "фиаско" с утечкой информации о спецслужбах(Офис операций по специализированному доступу (Tailored Access Operations, TAO), которые сами производили кибер атаки по всему миру. Мыл:- "да, мы беспокоимся за нашу страну и вот создаем, такие подразделения для защиты.", но на самом деле подразделения уже давно есть и создавались они не для защиты, а для атак на различные страны и организации в этих странах "неожиданных" демонстраций и т.п. ...
    10-й грешник

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня