Military Review

Russia and the United States have protected themselves from war in cyberspace

24

The agreements reached by Vladimir Putin and Barack Obama at the G8 summit on confidence-building measures in cyberspace are unprecedented. In Moscow, they are compared with the creation in its time of a hot line between the USSR and the USA to prevent nuclear war. As it became known to Kommersant, Russia intends to begin developing similar agreements with other countries, as well as speed up their adoption within the OSCE.


“The agreements can be called revolutionary,” Andrei Krutskikh, special coordinator on the political use of information and communication technologies (ICT), told the Kommersant. “They translate the cooperation of our countries in such an urgent and priority sphere into a practical plane and, equally important, give a clear signal to the world community about the need for the earliest possible cooperation in combating threats in the information space. "

The Kommersant interlocutor compared the current agreements on the establishment of hotlines to prevent the escalation of cyber incidents with the creation of a direct communication channel between Moscow and Washington to reduce nuclear risks. "These were the technologies of the 20th century, and here we are talking about the leading technologies of the 21st century," he explained. "The essence of the approach to these threats is similar: before negotiating disarmament measures and limiting the harmful use of technology, the parties begin with confidence measures."

As part of the agreements on confidence-building measures in the use of ICT, announced by Vladimir Putin and Barack Obama following their meeting in Northern Ireland, it is planned to use a key element of a nuclear war prevention system. This is about the national centers for reducing nuclear danger created in 1987. They work around the clock, allowing the Russian and US military to notify each other about conducting missile tests so that they are not perceived as an act of aggression, as almost happened in the 1983 year, when, prior to the NATO exercises Able Archer ("Experienced Archer"), a false positive occurred Soviet nuclear attack warning system.

Now, the capabilities of these centers will be used in parallel for mutual notification of attacks on objects of critical information infrastructure. Lines of communication and exchange of information about computer incidents will be organized at two more levels. The first is between the curators of national security issues. This channel will be activated in the event of a crisis, requiring immediate information of the presidents. The second is between computer incident emergency preparedness (CERT) teams that monitor malicious activity on networks.

The significance of the signed agreements is indicated by the fact that it took two years to develop them. The need for a direct line of communication in the event of cyber incidents in Moscow started talking in May 2011. The United States then unveiled a cyberspace action strategy, which gave them the right to respond to acts of computer sabotage with all available means - up to the use of nuclear weapons. Taking into account the fact that it is extremely difficult to trace the source of cyber attacks, Russian experts declared the reality of a situation where a third party (terrorists, for example) would provoke a war between the United States and the Russian Federation.

The process of developing confidence-building measures in cyberspace was launched in June 2011 of the year during a visit to the United States by a Russian delegation led by Deputy Secretary of the Security Council of the Russian Federation General of the Army Nikolai Klimashin (see Kommersant on July 14 of 2011). The parties expected to accept the agreement in June 2012 during the meeting between Vladimir Putin and Barack Obama in Los Cabos, Mexico. But at the last moment the negotiations stalled.

According to "Kommersant", the stumbling block became terminological differences. The US talked about confidence-building measures "in the ICT field." Russia insisted on another formulation - “in the field of ICT use”. The difference was of fundamental importance. Washington focused on the physical protection of its computer systems. Moscow wanted to protect it from the harmful use of ICT in order not to fall prey to another virus like Stuxnet and prevent new technologies from turning into a weapon for information wars.

It was not possible to agree then, and negotiations stopped for several months. However, after a series of hacker attacks on US banks in August 2012 of the year (Washington suspected Iran of their organization), the US offered the Russian Federation to return to this issue. As a result, the Russian version of the wording was included in the name of the presidential statement, and its text, as well as the three accompanying intergovernmental agreements, both options.

Moscow does not intend to stop there. According to Kommersant’s data, on June 25 negotiations will be held on this topic with France, and meetings with representatives of the Federal Republic of Germany are scheduled for the autumn. In parallel, Russia hopes to accelerate the development of similar confidence-building measures in the OSCE. As part of this organization, in April last year, a special working group was created, which by December was to submit a draft agreement. But there were disputes over terms. The United States demanded that the text on Internet freedom and human rights be written into the text. Russia did not object, but insisted that a paragraph on sovereignty and non-interference in internal affairs should be included in it. The United States was against it.

However, recent leaks about the large-scale surveillance of US intelligence agencies over Internet users will clearly strengthen Moscow’s negotiating positions. Now it will be harder for Washington to present itself as the leader of the struggle for human rights on the net.
Originator:
http://www.kommersant.ru/
24 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. The comment was deleted.
    1. Nevsky
      Nevsky 19 June 2013 11: 52
      +8
      Quote: ocvbc
      The people in the network leaked the entire database about us all! Now you can watch any information about everyone who interests you! Use until you close! Here's the link -


      Finally you found your topic under your flood post. What was the mathematical likelihood that during that period of spamming on this site, which is paid for, that this related topic will arise on MILITARY REVIEW?
  2. ocvbc
    ocvbc 19 June 2013 11: 50
    -2
    The people in the network leaked the entire database about us all! Now you can watch any information about everyone who interests you! Use until you close! Here is the link - clck.ru/8hBBA
  3. Nevsky
    Nevsky 19 June 2013 11: 51
    16
    The best security is low speed in the regions, poor coverage and lack of electronic document management. Checked by Ukraine. good
    1. cartridge
      cartridge 19 June 2013 12: 31
      10
      Russia and the United States have protected themselves from war in cyberspace


      And after reading the headline, I thought that they secretly from the other participants together at the summit, quietly chopped fiber through the Atlantic with axes at night. fool
      1. Andrey Yuryevich
        Andrey Yuryevich 19 June 2013 20: 13
        +1
        No. yeah ... we agreed with one such ... and in 1941 ... they forgot ... and then osnv, osnv 2, .... don’t trust the Danes bringing gifts! so it seems at the little Wingers ....
  4. Lech from ZATULINKI
    Lech from ZATULINKI 19 June 2013 11: 53
    +7
    It's funny how about the fact that the US STATE DEPARTMENT OF OUR COMPANY OUR COMPANY T-platforms was blacklisted in which it is forbidden to sell advanced processors for supercomputers — ANYWHERE TRUST is full of crap again.
    1. Nevsky
      Nevsky 19 June 2013 11: 55
      +6
      Quote: Lech from ZATULINKI
      It's funny how about the fact that the US STATE DEPARTMENT OF OUR COMPANY OUR COMPANY T-platforms was blacklisted in which it is forbidden to sell advanced processors for supercomputers — ANYWHERE TRUST is full of crap again.


      Well done. Argument. And I forgot ... probably like Putin ... what Wow, I'm Putin! wassat
    2. Retx
      Retx 19 June 2013 12: 01
      13
      The government is lobbying for its giant companies, which are paying the senate loot for favorable laws and amendments.
      But such agreements between O. and P. are considered more amusing as the fact itself.
      1. pensioner
        pensioner 19 June 2013 12: 52
        +3
        Cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    3. Interface
      Interface 19 June 2013 12: 52
      +5
      That is precisely why, while a respite has been given with this agreement, it is necessary to build up their forces in the field of cybernetics, otherwise the Chinese are impudent from month to month.
      1. Semen Semyonitch
        Semen Semyonitch 19 June 2013 15: 59
        0
        Quote: Interface
        That is precisely why, while a respite has been given with this agreement, it is necessary to build up their forces in the field of cybernetics, otherwise the Chinese are impudent from month to month.

        China has already created the best supercomputer. And in the village of Gadyukino it rains ...
        1. poquello
          poquello 19 June 2013 21: 58
          +1
          "China has already built the best supercomputer"

          They don’t talk so fast. And the details are possible.
    4. sergeschern
      sergeschern 19 June 2013 19: 01
      0
      To the very top!
  5. pensioner
    pensioner 19 June 2013 11: 56
    +2
    Russia and the United States have protected themselves from war in cyberspace
    Oh well...
    However, recent leaks about the large-scale surveillance of US intelligence agencies over Internet users will clearly strengthen Moscow’s negotiating positions. Now it will be harder for Washington to present itself as the leader of the struggle for human rights on the net.
    In-in ...
  6. Bakunin
    Bakunin 19 June 2013 12: 13
    +7
    - Dad, is it true that the Russian Federation and the USA have protected themselves from the war in cyberspace?
    - No, son, this is fantastic.
  7. agbykov
    agbykov 19 June 2013 13: 05
    0
    Read Stanislav Lem ... The topic of cyber wars is covered in detail in the book "Moloch" (collection of essays).
  8. surveyor
    surveyor 19 June 2013 13: 11
    0
    Hmm, funny. sad
  9. sys-1985
    sys-1985 19 June 2013 13: 23
    +2
    How can this be organized in practice without prejudice to the Russian Federation ???
  10. Standard Oil
    Standard Oil 19 June 2013 13: 35
    +1
    Russia and the United States have protected themselves from war in cyberspace
    Thank God now protection from servers can be removed!
    1. Reserve buildbat
      Reserve buildbat 19 June 2013 13: 55
      +7
      To remove protection from the American servers? This is for our students. smile
  11. Naval
    Naval 19 June 2013 13: 39
    +1
    Cyber ​​war is a war of the future and there can be no security in this area. This is all the "Marrison ballet" with curtsies, squatting and other steps, but with a dagger behind his back, gape and, bye, disappeared.
  12. sergo0000
    sergo0000 19 June 2013 15: 58
    0
    If you are tired of drawing on the wallpaper in the room, tear them off the wall and re-glue them in the horizontal plane. You will immediately notice a change in the volume of space and the room will play in a new way. Yes, and vacation time will fly by! wassat What are they doing !?
  13. KazaK Bo
    KazaK Bo 19 June 2013 17: 45
    0
    AUTHOR OF THE ARTICLE: "The agreements can be called revolutionary," Andrei Krutskikh, special coordinator for the political use of information and communication technologies (ICT) of the Russian Foreign Ministry, told Kommersant. "

    If an expert from Kommersant expresses delight, then all that remains is to warn the people - "it's not too late, HAVE!" Liberoid rebellion is the most powerful argument ... in the EBN era. With these estimates, we are perhaps no longer on the way!
  14. andrei332809
    andrei332809 19 June 2013 18: 16
    0
    Yeah, and everyone believed each other at once ... probably, for 150 years, Westerners did not consider all sorts of signed papers to be obligations
  15. uzer 13
    uzer 13 19 June 2013 18: 18
    -1
    Swan, cancer and pike agreed on how to properly carry the cart.
  16. kundyshev
    kundyshev 19 June 2013 18: 39
    +1
    "... and in the village of Gadyukino - rains ..", Happy vipers - they have rains (mushrooms, worries about Their Home, Summer, Children, Vegetable Garden and other Human Concerns). And this is all because they did not get used to VIRTUALITY !!! Just Live on Our Land !!!
  17. APASUS
    APASUS 19 June 2013 20: 08
    0
    To class!
    Will we be friends online now?
    Well, at least on the Internet ..............
  18. Nymp
    Nymp 19 June 2013 21: 57
    0
    Russia doesn’t have to negotiate with us about cyber space, but at least on the Internet, and indeed in the information field of all mass media, to organize its own pro-Russian agitation and information base. Otherwise, Russia will finally lose in that information war, which the West has long been successfully waging against the amers against it.
  19. georg737577
    georg737577 20 June 2013 00: 55
    0
    Only madmen or liars can claim that they have "secured themselves from war in cyberspace" ...

РФ и США обезопасили себя от войны в киберпространстве

РФ и США обезопасили себя от войны в киберпространстве

Заключенные Владимиром Путиным и Бараком Обамой на саммите G8 договоренности о мерах доверия в киберпространстве являются беспрецедентными. В Москве их сравнивают с созданием в свое время горячей линии между СССР и США по предотвращению ядерной войны. Как стало известно "Ъ", Россия намерена начать разработку схожих соглашений с другими странами, а также форсировать их принятие в рамках ОБСЕ.

"Договоренности можно назвать революционными,— заявил "Ъ" спецкоординатор по вопросам политического использования информационно-коммуникационных технологий (ИКТ) МИД РФ Андрей Крутских.— Они переводят сотрудничество наших стран в столь актуальной и приоритетной сфере в практическую плоскость и, что не менее важно, подают ясный сигнал мировому сообществу о необходимости скорейшего налаживания взаимодействия в борьбе с угрозами в информационном пространстве".

Собеседник "Ъ" сравнил нынешние договоренности об установлении горячих линий по предотвращению эскалации киберинцидентов с созданием в свое время между Москвой и Вашингтоном прямого канала связи для снижения рисков в ядерной сфере. "То были технологии XX века, а здесь идет речь о ведущих технологиях XXI века,— пояснил он.— Суть подхода к этим угрозам схожая: перед тем как договариваться о мерах разоружения и ограничения вредоносного использования технологий, стороны начинают с мер доверия".


В рамках договоренностей "О мерах укрепления доверия в сфере использования ИКТ", объявленных Владимиром Путиным и Бараком Обамой по итогам их встречи в Северной Ирландии, планируется задействовать ключевой элемент системы предотвращения ядерной войны. Речь идет о созданных в 1987 году национальных центрах по уменьшению ядерной опасности. Они работают круглосуточно, позволяя военным РФ и США уведомлять друг друга о проведении ракетных испытаний, чтобы они не были восприняты как акт агрессии, как это едва не случилось в 1983 году, когда накануне учений НАТО Able Archer ("Опытный лучник") произошло ложное срабатывание советской системы предупреждения о ядерном нападении.

Теперь возможности этих центров будут параллельно использоваться и для взаимных уведомлений об атаках на объекты критической информационной инфраструктуры. Линии связи и обмена информацией о компьютерных инцидентах будут организованы и еще на двух уровнях. Первый — между кураторами вопросов национальной безопасности. Этот канал будет задействован в случае возникновения кризисной ситуации, требующей немедленного информирования президентов. Второй — между группами экстренной готовности к компьютерным инцидентам (CERT), которые мониторят вредоносную активность в сетях.

О значимости подписанных соглашений говорит и то, что на их разработку ушло два года. О необходимости прямой линии связи на случай киберинцидентов в Москве заговорили в мае 2011 года. США тогда обнародовали стратегию по действиям в киберпространстве, которая давала им право реагировать на акты компьютерных диверсий всеми доступными средствами — вплоть до применения ядерного оружия. С учетом того что отследить источник кибератаки крайне сложно, российские эксперты заявили о реальности ситуации, когда третья сторона (террористы, например) спровоцирует войну между США и РФ.

Процесс выработки мер доверия в киберпространстве был запущен в июне 2011 года в ходе визита в США российской делегации во главе с заместителем секретаря Совбеза РФ генералом армии Николаем Климашиным (см. "Ъ" от 14 июля 2011 года). Стороны рассчитывали принять соглашения в июне 2012 года во время встречи Владимира Путина и Барака Обамы в мексиканском Лос-Кабосе. Но в последний момент переговоры застопорились.

По данным "Ъ", камнем преткновения стали терминологические разногласия. США говорили о мерах доверия "в сфере ИКТ". Россия настаивала на другой формулировке — "в сфере использования ИКТ". Разница имела принципиальное значение. Вашингтон делал упор на физической защите своих компьютерных систем. Москва же хотела обезопасить от вредоносного использования ИКТ, чтобы не стать жертвой очередного вируса типа Stuxnet и не допустить превращения новых технологий в оружие для информационных войн.

Договориться тогда не удалось, и на несколько месяцев переговоры приостановились. Однако после череды хакерских атак на американские банки в августе 2012 года (Вашингтон заподозрил в их организации Иран) США предложили РФ вернуться к этому вопросу. В итоге в название президентского заявления вошел российский вариант формулировки, а в его текст, как и в три сопутствующих межправительственных соглашения,— оба варианта.

Москва не намерена останавливаться на достигнутом. По данным "Ъ", 25 июня состоятся переговоры по этой теме с Францией, а на осень намечены встречи с представителями ФРГ. Параллельно Россия надеется ускорить выработку схожих мер доверия в ОБСЕ. В рамках этой организации в апреле прошлого года была создана специальная рабочая группа, которая к декабрю должна была представить проект соглашения. Но и там возникли споры вокруг терминов. США требовали вписать в текст положение о свободе интернета и правах человека. Россия не возражала, но настаивала на том, чтобы в него вошел и абзац о суверенитете и невмешательстве во внутренние дела. США были против.

Впрочем, недавние утечки о масштабной слежке спецслужб США за пользователями интернета явно усилят переговорные позиции Москвы. Теперь Вашингтону будет труднее выставлять себя лидером борьбы за права человека в сети.
Первоисточник: http://www.kommersant.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 24
  1. Комментарий был удален.
    1. Невский 19 июня 2013 11:52
      Цитата: ocvbc
      Народ в сеть слили всю базу о всех нас! Теперь можно смотреть любую информацию о каждом кто вас интересует!Пользуйтесь пока не закрыли! Вот ссылка -


      Наконец ты нашел свою тему, под свой флудильный пост. Какова была математическая вероятность, что за тот период спамерства на этом сайте, который оплачивается,что возникнет эта близкая тема на ВОЕННОМ ОБОЗРЕНИИ?
      Невский
  2. ocvbc 19 июня 2013 11:50
    Народ в сеть слили всю базу о всех нас! Теперь можно смотреть любую информацию о каждом кто вас интересует!Пользуйтесь пока не закрыли! Вот ссылка - clck.ru/8hBBA
    ocvbc
  3. Невский 19 июня 2013 11:51
    Самая лучшая безопасность, это низкая скорость в регионах, слабое покрытие и отсутствие электронного документооборота. Проверено Украиной. good
    Невский
    1. патрон 19 июня 2013 12:31
      РФ и США обезопасили себя от войны в киберпространстве


      А я, после прочтения заголовка, было подумал, что они на саммите тайком от других участников вдвоём втихаря ночью топорами перерубили оптоволокно через Атлантику. fool
      патрон
      1. андрей юрьевич 19 июня 2013 20:13
        no ага...с одним таким договорились...а в 1941...забыли...а потом оснв,оснв 2,.... не верь Данайцам дары приносящим ! так кажется у верунчиков....
  4. Леха с ЗАТУЛИНКИ 19 июня 2013 11:53
    Забавно а как же тот факт что ГОСДЕП США ВНЕС НАШУ КОМПАНИЮ Т-платформы в черный список в котором запрещено продавать передовые процессоры для суперкомпьютеров-КАКОЕ УЖ ТУТ ДОВЕРИЕ опять полная лажа.
    Леха с ЗАТУЛИНКИ
    1. Невский 19 июня 2013 11:55
      Цитата: Леха с ЗАТУЛИНКИ
      Забавно а как же тот факт что ГОСДЕП США ВНЕС НАШУ КОМПАНИЮ Т-платформы в черный список в котором запрещено продавать передовые процессоры для суперкомпьютеров-КАКОЕ УЖ ТУТ ДОВЕРИЕ опять полная лажа.


      Молодец. Аргумент. А я и забыл...наверно как и Путин... what Ух ты, я Путин! wassat
      Невский
    2. RETX 19 июня 2013 12:01
      Лоббирование правительством своих компаний-гигантов, которые проплачивают сенату бабло за выгодные законы и поправки.
      Но более забавным считают такие договоренности между О. и П. как сам факт.
      1. пенсионер 19 июня 2013 12:52
        Круто!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    3. Interface 19 июня 2013 12:52
      Вот именно поэтому, пока дана передышка с этим соглашением, нужно наращивать свои силы в области кибернетики, а то китайцы наглеют из месяца в месяц.
      1. Семен Семеныч 19 июня 2013 15:59
        Цитата: Interface
        Вот именно поэтому, пока дана передышка с этим соглашением, нужно наращивать свои силы в области кибернетики, а то китайцы наглеют из месяца в месяц.

        Китай уже создал лучший суперкомпьютер.А в деревне Гадюкино дожди...
        1. poquello 19 июня 2013 21:58
          "Китай уже создал лучший суперкомпьютер"

          Они так быстро не разговаривают. А подробности можно.
    4. sergeschern 19 июня 2013 19:01
      В самую тютельку!
  5. пенсионер 19 июня 2013 11:56
    РФ и США обезопасили себя от войны в киберпространстве
    Ну-ну...
    Впрочем, недавние утечки о масштабной слежке спецслужб США за пользователями интернета явно усилят переговорные позиции Москвы. Теперь Вашингтону будет труднее выставлять себя лидером борьбы за права человека в сети.
    Во-во...
  6. Bakunin 19 июня 2013 12:13
    - Папа,а правда что РФ и США обезопасили себя от войны в киберпространстве?
    - Нет, сынок, это фантастика.
    Bakunin
  7. agbykov 19 июня 2013 13:05
    Читайте Станислава Лема... Подробно освещена тема кибер-войн в книге "Молох" (сборник эссе).
  8. осмотрщик 19 июня 2013 13:11
    Мда,смешно. sad
  9. sys-1985 19 июня 2013 13:23
    Как это на практике организовать без ущерба РФ???
  10. Standard Oil 19 июня 2013 13:35
    РФ и США обезопасили себя от войны в киберпространстве
    Слава богу теперь защиту с серверов можно снять!
    1. Стройбат запаса 19 июня 2013 13:55
      С американских серверов защиту снять? Это к нашим школьникам smile
  11. Naval 19 июня 2013 13:39
    Кибервойна это война будущего и безопасности в этой области быть не может. Это все "марнизонский балет" с реверансами, приседанием и другими па, но с кинжалом за спиной, зазевался и тю-тю, пропал.
  12. sergo0000 19 июня 2013 15:58
    Если Вам надоел рисунок на обоях в комнате,оторвите их от стены и переклейте в горизонтальной плоскости.Вы сразу заметите изменение обьёма пространства и комната заиграет по новому.Да и время отпуска пролетит быстрее! wassat Чем занимаются!?
  13. KazaK Bo 19 июня 2013 17:45
    АВТОР СТАТЬИ :"Договоренности можно назвать революционными,— заявил "Ъ" спецкоординатор по вопросам политического использования информационно-коммуникационных технологий (ИКТ) МИД РФ Андрей Крутских"—....

    Если эксперт от "Ъ" выражает восторг, то остается только предупредить народ - "пока не поздно, ХОВАЙСЯ"! Либероидные возрения -- самый весомый аргумент...в эпоху ЕБН. Нам с этими оценками, пожалуй, уже не по пути!
  14. andrei332809 19 июня 2013 18:16
    угу,и все друг другу сразу поверили... наверное,уже лет 150 всяческие подписанные бумажки западники не считают для сябя обязательствами
  15. uzer 13 19 июня 2013 18:18
    Лебедь,рак и щука договорились,как надо правильно везти телегу.
  16. kundyshev 19 июня 2013 18:39
    "...а в деревне Гадюкино - дожди..", Счастливые гадюкинцы- у них дожди(грибы, заботы о Своем Доме, Лето, Дети, Огород и другие Человеческие Заботы). И это все потому, что они не вживились в ВИРТУАЛЬНОСТЬ!!! Просто Живут на Нашей Земле!!!
    kundyshev
  17. APASUS 19 июня 2013 20:08
    Во класс!
    Мы теперь будем друзья в интернете?
    Ну хоть в интернете..............
  18. НИмп 19 июня 2013 21:57
    России надо не с юсами о кибер пространстве договариваться, а хотя бы в том же интернете, да и вообще в информационном поле всех СМИ организовать свою пророссийскую агитационно-информационную базу. Иначе Россия окончательно проиграет в той иформационной войне которую давно уже успешно ведёт против неё Запад с амерами.
    НИмп
  19. georg737577 20 июня 2013 00:55
    Заявить, что "обезопасили себя от войны в киберпространстве" могут только сумасшедшие или лгуны...
    georg737577

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня