Military Review

Qatar was inherited. The new monarch will be even more actively overthrow Bashar Assad

22

Emir of Qatar, Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani, left the throne after the 18-year reign, transferring power to his son, Crown Prince Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al-Thani. Rare for the monarchies of the Persian Gulf, a number of analysts regarded the voluntary abdication of the throne as an attempt to avoid the "Arab spring", bringing the young reformer to power. However, experts polled by Kommersant are sure that the revolution does not threaten the emirate, which is rich in oil and gas resources. According to them, the coming to power of Sheikh Tamim is associated with the poor health of his father. The new emir is expected to have a more active foreign policy to assert Qatar’s regional leadership and toughen the policy of overthrowing Syrian President Bashar Assad.


His unprecedented decision to voluntarily leave the throne, 61, the summer emir of Qatar, Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani, made public in yesterday’s televised address to the nation. In his seven-minute speech, the outgoing monarch urged his subjects to "prepare for entry into a new era," demanding that a new generation come to power, taking responsibility, armed with new energy and innovative ideas.

Reporting the decision to transfer power to his son, 33-year-old Tamim bin Hamad al-Tani, the monarch expressed confidence that the heir to the throne "has all the qualities to lead the country" and will be able to continue the policy of his father, making the interests of the nation his priority.

The tiny state of the Persian Gulf, in which only about 2 million people live, today's Qatar, with its vast reserves of hydrocarbons and gold reserves exceeding $ 100 billion, remains an influential player in regional and global politics. At the same time, Qatar owes its current weight and influence in the world to the monarch who left the throne, who was in power for 18 years.

Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani came to power in 1995, as a result of a bloodless palace coup, overthrowing his father, who at that time was in Switzerland. To create the Qatari "economic miracle" the new emir had to start from scratch - the treasury was then empty. However, his bet on the development of gas fields (the third largest in the world) has justified itself. In 2010, the production of liquefied gas in Qatar reached 77 million tons, while the country ranked first in the world in per capita income - $ 86 440 per year. However, far from all the inhabitants of Qatar, but only the citizens of the emirate (about 250 thousand people) enjoy the full benefits of the economic miracle.

Despite the fact that until recently, in quiet, prosperous Qatar, there were no signs of public discontent or protest activity, a number of analysts and the media found an unexpected denial of the monarch to try to play a step ahead - to prevent the revolutionary scenario in the Emirate ". According to the head of the committee of the Federation Council on international affairs, Mikhail Margelov, transferring power to his son, Sheikh Hamad "went to preventive measures in order to warn the Arab Spring that knows no boundaries".

"There are precedents for such foresight. The kings of Morocco Mohammed VI and Jordan Abdullah II, following the traditions of enlightened monarchies, quickly began reforms without waiting for the first protest demonstrations to turn into revolution in the scenarios of Egypt, Tunisia or Libya," Mr. Marghelov said.

However, the experts interviewed by Kommersant adhere to a different version of the motives for the sudden abandonment of the throne Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani. “Sheikh Hamad was forced to leave the throne by a serious illness. The lifetime transfer of power was the only way for him to ensure that his son remained on the throne. If the transfer of power did not happen now, Sheikh Tamim would have to fight for power with other influential claimants,” Kommersant explained "President of the Institute of the Middle East Yevgeny Satanovsky.

As for the “Arab Spring” scenario, Mr. Satanovsky excludes the possibility of an emirate's revolt against the throne. The “Arab Spring” in the case of Qatar can only be a “revolt of migrant workers” - residents of the emirate who do not have his nationality. However, if we assume that such a statement happens, it will be easily suppressed, the expert is convinced.

Speaking about the foreign policy of Qatar after the change of the monarch, Mr. Satanovsky recalled: it was Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani who supported the more active foreign policy of Qatar in the region and toughened the policy of overthrowing Syrian President Bashar Al-Assad. "His rule will lead to even more activity of Qatar, aimed at the earliest possible change of power in Damascus," the expert predicts.
Originator:
http://www.kommersant.ru/
22 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Pacifist
    Pacifist 26 June 2013 10: 23 New
    12
    Well, yes, yes ... the most democratic state among the fighters for the people in the Middle East. Democracy is blooming in his country.
  2. IRBIS
    IRBIS 26 June 2013 10: 24 New
    +4
    The Emir of Qatar, Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani left the throne after 18-year rule, transferring power to his son, Crown Prince Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani.
    Really timely, I remember how he "pushed" daddy. Judging by the face - the sonny is still that "pretzel", daddy will not have to go to Switzerland to lose the throne.
    And I also have an idea that the daddy-sheikh decided to jump off the train in time, foreseeing the failure in Syria and the need after that to explain something to the “comrades” in the circle of “friends” of Syria.
  3. Warrawar
    Warrawar 26 June 2013 10: 25 New
    10
    One tyrant transferred power to another tyrant, but no one said a word against. Where are the NATO democratic bombers?
    1. Gato
      Gato 26 June 2013 13: 17 New
      +3
      From the point of view of amers, he, of course, is a tyrant. But he is his own, pocket tyrant. And that means a bastion of democracy!
    2. La hire
      La hire 26 June 2013 14: 10 New
      +3
      -Isn't that man supposed to be a son of a bitch?
      -He sure is but he is our son of a bitch.
      1. Gato
        Gato 26 June 2013 15: 18 New
        +3
        That's it. I don’t know who his mom is there, but dad is still that son of ... America
  4. Alexey Prikazchikov
    Alexey Prikazchikov 26 June 2013 11: 20 New
    +9
    Well, erysipelas, a dirty animal.
  5. Personal
    Personal 26 June 2013 11: 22 New
    +1
    They are scrambled that they themselves will rake!
    Under the wing, or rather the warm and sweaty armpit of America, many warmed themselves until interests coincided, but only, the mood of the striped can change dramatically and hello to mom!
    1. Gato
      Gato 26 June 2013 13: 13 New
      0
      the mood in striped can change dramatically

      This is unlikely, given the oil reserves.
      1. Personal
        Personal 26 June 2013 15: 14 New
        0
        Qatar has signed a regulation of intentions for a gas pipe to Europe, through Syria and Turkey, and if we surrender Syria to our hegemony, it will come to an immediate end, but this is not a task, lately the stripes have been trying to cover Europe with their shale gas, so how the cards will lay down is another question ??? !!!
  6. Yeraz
    Yeraz 26 June 2013 11: 23 New
    0
    To be fooled, the population is 2 lyama, and the citizens of the emirate are 250 thousand. And how can there be lawlessness when there are more gastras at times ??
    1. Santa bear
      Santa bear 26 June 2013 11: 54 New
      +1
      simply because the gastras are practically powerless there. the army and the police, and in general all the power structures, are entirely made up of citizens of the emirate, enjoy all the benefits and privileges granted to them by the right of citizenship, and at the slightest hint of displeasure from the Gaster they give them like a tortoise God. Tight control and instant tough reaction of loyal security officials is the reason for this order. and Gaster will not rebel, because otherwise they will be immediately sent back from where they came, and they’ll be lucky even if they are under their own power and not in parts. so that.
      1. Yeraz
        Yeraz 26 June 2013 12: 58 New
        0
        Quote: Santa Bear
        simply because the gastras are practically powerless there.

        and in Russia they have unlimited rights directly.
        Quote: Santa Bear
        the army and the police and in general all power structures are entirely made up of citizens of the emirate,

        Yes, looking at the OMON, you don’t see representatives of the gastras there.
        Quote: Santa Bear
        Tight control and instant tough response

        This is all there in Russia, it is simply unprofitable to use it because the authorities benefit from an unnecessary migrant worker. If it is a forced measure in Qatar, and the locals do not want to sweep and do the rest with such huge money. And in Russia with such huge wealth to share with the people do not want.
      2. Gato
        Gato 26 June 2013 13: 15 New
        +1
        In addition, Qatari people are very densely patronized by Amers, Saudis and the same Mossad.
  7. Gato
    Gato 26 June 2013 11: 49 New
    +1
    A sort of greasy oil pimple. That would be where to arrange "autumn", although the Qataris have very toothy special services - so calm and quiet.
    1. GELEZNII_KAPUT
      GELEZNII_KAPUT 26 June 2013 12: 01 New
      +1
      Davytryopyvatyusya, return back to 18 years, tomorrow like an article should be in "Kommersant" about this! hi
      1. Gato
        Gato 26 June 2013 12: 57 New
        +1
        hi

        back for 18 years

        Do you mean the 1995 coup?
  8. KG_patriot_last
    KG_patriot_last 26 June 2013 14: 18 New
    0
    And where are the democratizers, this is falsification of elections! The fourth son won, and the Qatari wanted a second! Where are the carriers, freedoms and bibisi?
  9. kuxx15
    kuxx15 26 June 2013 15: 25 New
    +1
    Saudis and Qatari, the main buyers of American weapons ...

    When there was an uprising in Bahrain (the U.S. Navy base is located there) and the Saudis came to the aid of the Sunni brothers, not a single western channel showed a single shot about it, the United States banned!
    here are those and democracy!
  10. kuxx15
    kuxx15 26 June 2013 15: 26 New
    +1
    Saudis and Qatari, the main buyers of American weapons ...

    When there was an uprising in Bahrain (the U.S. Navy base is located there) and the Saudis came to the rescue, not a single western channel showed a single shot about it, the United States banned!
    here are those and democracy!
  11. kuxx15
    kuxx15 26 June 2013 15: 28 New
    +1
    and Al Jazeera ...
    Quote: Gato
    In addition, Qatari people are very densely patronized by Amers, Saudis and the same Mossad.
  12. The comment was deleted.
  13. lilit.193
    lilit.193 26 June 2013 18: 50 New
    +2
    The old pig is gone, the pig is young. That’s the whole change.
  14. razved
    razved 26 June 2013 21: 38 New
    +1
    Evil midgets !!! They were always jealous and afraid of the big and the strong and in every possible way spoiled them. (As in the fairy tale by A.S. Pushkin "Ruslan and Lyudmila")

Катар передался по наследству. Новый монарх будет еще более активно свергать Башара Асада

Катар передался по наследству. Новый монарх будет еще более активно свергать Башара Асада

Эмир Катара шейх Хамад бен Халифа аль-Тани покинул трон после 18-летнего правления, передав власть своему сыну, наследному принцу шейху Тамиму бен Хамаду аль-Тани. Редкое для монархий Персидского залива добровольное отречение от престола ряд аналитиков расценили как попытку избежать "арабской весны", приведя к власти молодого реформатора. Однако опрошенные "Ъ" эксперты уверены: революция богатому нефтегазовыми ресурсами эмирату не грозит. По их мнению, приход к власти шейха Тамима связан с плохим здоровьем отца. От нового эмира ждут более активной внешней политики по утверждению регионального лидерства Катара и ужесточению курса на свержение сирийского президента Башара Асада.

Свое беспрецедентное решение добровольно оставить престол 61-летний эмир Катара шейх Хамад бен Халифа аль-Тани обнародовал во вчерашнем телеобращении к нации. В своей семиминутной речи уходящий монарх призвал подданных "готовиться к вступлению в новую эру", требующую прихода к власти "нового поколения, берущего на себя ответственность, вооруженного новой энергией и инновационными идеями".

Сообщив о решении передать власть сыну, 33-летнему Тамиму бен Хамаду аль-Тани, монарх выразил уверенность, что престолонаследник "имеет все качества для руководства страной" и сможет продолжить политику отца, сделав своим приоритетом интересы нации.


Крошечное государство Персидского залива, в котором живут всего около 2 млн человек, сегодняшний Катар с его огромными запасами углеводородов и золотовалютными резервами, превышающими $100 млрд, остается влиятельным игроком в региональной и глобальной политике. При этом своим нынешним весом и влиянием в мире Катар обязан покинувшему трон монарху, который находился у власти 18 лет.

Шейх Хамад бен Халифа аль-Тани пришел к власти в 1995 году в результате бескровного дворцового переворота, свергнув своего отца, который в это время находился в Швейцарии. Создавать катарское "экономическое чудо" новому эмиру пришлось с нуля — казна тогда была пуста. Однако сделанная им ставка на разработку газовых месторождений (третьи по величине в мире) себя оправдала. В 2010 году производство сжиженного газа в Катаре достигло 77 млн тонн, при этом страна вышла на первое место в мире по доходу на душу населения — $86 440 в год. Впрочем, благами экономического чуда в полной мере пользуются далеко не все жители Катара, а лишь подданные эмирата (около 250 тыс. человек).

Несмотря на то что до последнего времени в тихом благополучном Катаре не наблюдалось каких-либо признаков общественного недовольства или протестной активности, ряд аналитиков и СМИ усмотрели в неожиданном отречении монарха попытку сыграть на опережение — не допустить реализацию в эмирате революционного сценария, получившего определение "арабская весна". По мнению главы комитета Совета федерации по международным делам Михаила Маргелова, передав власть сыну, шейх Хамад "пошел на превентивные меры, чтобы предупредить не знающую границ "арабскую весну"".

"Прецеденты такой предусмотрительности есть. Короли Марокко Мохаммед VI и Иордании Абдалла II, следуя традициям просвещенных монархий, оперативно начали реформы, не дожидаясь, пока первые протестные манифестации перерастут в революции по сценариям Египта, Туниса или Ливии",— напомнил господин Маргелов.

Впрочем, опрошенные "Ъ" эксперты придерживаются иной версии о мотивах внезапного отказа от трона Хамада бен Халифы аль-Тани. "Покинуть престол шейха Хамада вынудила тяжелая болезнь. Прижизненная передача власти стала для него единственным способом гарантировать сохранение на троне сына. Если бы передачи власти сейчас не произошло, шейху Тамиму в дальнейшем пришлось бы бороться за власть с другими влиятельными претендентами",— разъяснил "Ъ" президент Института Ближнего Востока Евгений Сатановский.

Что касается сценария "арабской весны", то господин Сатановский исключает возможность восстания подданных эмирата против престола. "Арабская весна" в случае с Катаром может быть лишь "мятежом гастарбайтеров" — жителей эмирата, не имеющих его подданства. Однако если допустить, что такое выступление и произойдет, оно будет без труда подавлено, убежден эксперт.

Говоря о внешней политике Катара после смены монарха, господин Сатановский напомнил: именно шейх Тамим бен Хамад аль-Тани был сторонником проведения более активной внешней политики Катара в регионе и ужесточения курса на свержение сирийского президента Башара Асада. "Его правление приведет к еще большей активности Катара, направленной на скорейшую смену власти в Дамаске",— предсказывает эксперт.
Первоисточник: http://www.kommersant.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 22
  1. Pacifist 26 июня 2013 10:23
    Ну да, ну да... самое демократичное государство из борцов за народ на ближнем востоке. Демократия у него в стране прям цветет.
  2. IRBIS 26 июня 2013 10:24
    Эмир Катара шейх Хамад бен Халифа аль-Тани покинул трон после 18-летнего правления, передав власть своему сыну, наследному принцу шейху Тамиму бен Хамаду аль-Тани.
    Действительно своевременно, памятую о том, как сам "подвинул" папашку. Судя по личику - сынок еще тот "крендель", папику и в Швейцарию не придется ехать, чтобы лишиться трона.
    А еще есть у меня мысль, что папа-шейх решил вовремя спрыгнуть с поезда, предвидя провал в Сирии и необходимость после этого что-то объяснять "товарищам" по кружку "друзей" Сирии.
  3. Warrawar 26 июня 2013 10:25
    Один тиран, передал власть другому тирану, но никто и слова не сказал против. Где же демократические бомбардировщики НАТО?
    Warrawar
    1. Gato 26 июня 2013 13:17
      С точки зрения амеров, он, конечно, тиран. Но он же свой, карманный тиран. А значит - оплот демократии!
    2. La Hire 26 июня 2013 14:10
      -Isn't that man supposed to be a son of a bitch?
      -He sure is but he is our son of a bitch.
      1. Gato 26 июня 2013 15:18
        Вот именно. Не знаю, кто там у него мама, но папа - еще тот son of ... America
  4. Ну и рожа, грязное животное.
    Алексей Приказчиков
  5. Свойский 26 июня 2013 11:22
    До свергаются, что сами отгребут!
    Под крылом или точнее теплой и потной подмышкой Америки многие грелись, пока интересы совпадали, да только, настроение у полосатых может резко поменяться и привет маме!
    Свойский
    1. Gato 26 июня 2013 13:13
      настроение у полосатых может резко поменяться

      Это навряд ли, учитывая запасы нефти.
      1. Свойский 26 июня 2013 15:14
        Катар подписал регламент о намерениях по газовой трубе в Европу, через Сирию и Турцию и если сдадим Сирию нашей гегемонии придет мгновенный конец, но вот не задача, последнее время и полосатики пытаются накрыть Европу своим сланцевым газом, так что, как карты лягут это еще вопрос???!!!
        Свойский
  6. Yeraz 26 июня 2013 11:23
    Оболдеть,население 2 ляма,а граждан эмирата 250 тысяч.И как же там не происходит беспредела,когда гастров больше в разы??
    1. Santa Bear 26 июня 2013 11:54
      просто потому что гастры там практически бесправны. армия и полиция и вообще все силовые структуры целиком и полностью состоят из подданных эмирата, пользуются всеми благами и привилегиями,положенным им по праву подданства и при малейшем намеке на недовольство гастеров уделают их как Бог черепаху. Жесткий контроль и мгновенная жесткая реакция верных силовиков- вот в чем причина такого порядка. да и гастеры не будут бунтовать,потому как иначе их сразу отправят обратно откуда понаехали, и повезет еще если своим ходом и не по частям. так то.
      Santa Bear
      1. Yeraz 26 июня 2013 12:58
        Цитата: Santa Bear
        просто потому что гастры там практически бесправны.

        а в России у них безграничные права прям.
        Цитата: Santa Bear
        армия и полиция и вообще все силовые структуры целиком и полностью состоят из подданных эмирата,

        Да смотря на ОМОН че ты невижу там представителей гастров.
        Цитата: Santa Bear
        Жесткий контроль и мгновенная жесткая реакция

        Это все есть в России,просто невыгодно это применять потому,что власти выгоден ненужный гастарбайтер.Если в катаре это вынужденная мера,да и местные не хотят подметать и делать все остальное при таких огромных деньгах.А в России при таких огромных богатствах делиться с народом не хотят.
      2. Gato 26 июня 2013 13:15
        Кроме того, катарцев очень плотно опекают амеры, саудиты и тот же Моссад.
  7. Gato 26 июня 2013 11:49
    Этакий жирный нефтяной прыщик. Вот бы где устроить "осень", хотя у катарцев очень уж зубастые спецслужбы - поэтому тишь да гладь.
    1. GELEZNII_KAPUT 26 июня 2013 12:01
      Давытрёпыватюся, вернём обратно на 18 лет, завтра вроде статья должна быть в "Ъ" об этом! hi
      1. Gato 26 июня 2013 12:57
        hi

        вернём обратно на 18 лет

        Это Вы имеете в виду переворот 1995 г.?
  8. KG_patriot_last 26 июня 2013 14:18
    А где же демокртизаторы, это же фальсификация выборов! Победил четвертый сын, а катарцы хотели второго! Где авианосцы, фридомхаусы и бибиси?
  9. kuxx15 26 июня 2013 15:25
    Саудиты и катарцы, основные покупатели американского оружия...

    Когда было востание в Бахрейне(там находится база БМФ США) и саудиты пришли на помощь братьям суннитам, то ни один западный канал ничё не показал про это ни одного кадра, США запретили!
    вот те и демократия!
    kuxx15
  10. kuxx15 26 июня 2013 15:26
    Саудиты и катарцы, основные покупатели американского оружия...

    Когда было востание в Бахрейне(там находится база БМФ США) и саудиты пришли на помощь, то ни один западный канал ничё не показал про это ни одного кадра, США запретили!
    вот те и демократия!
    kuxx15
  11. kuxx15 26 июня 2013 15:28
    и Аль-Джазира...
    Цитата: Gato
    Кроме того, катарцев очень плотно опекают амеры, саудиты и тот же Моссад.
    kuxx15
  12. Комментарий был удален.
  13. lilit.193 26 июня 2013 18:50
    Старая свинья ушла, пришла свинья молодая. Вот и вся перемена.
    lilit.193
  14. razved 26 июня 2013 21:38
    Злобные карлики!!! Они всегда завидывали и боялись больших и сильных и всячески гадили им. (Как в сказке А.С.Пушкина "Руслан и Людмила")

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня