Military Review

The Pentagon rejected the recommendation to suspend the purchase of Russian Mi-17

7
The Pentagon rejected the recommendation to suspend the purchase of Russian Mi-17



The US Department of Defense did not support the proposal of its inspector general for reconstruction in Afghanistan, John Sopko, who advised to “freeze” the purchase of Russian Mi-17 helicopters and American PC-12 aircraft for local special forces.
Contracts for the purchase of X-NUMX modified Mi-30 and 17 multi-purpose light-duty single-engine turboprop PC-18 helicopters were concluded by the US military with Rosoboronexport and Sierra Nevada in June and October last year, respectively. According to the reconstruction inspector’s office in Afghanistan, the cost of the Mi-12 supply contract was 17 million dollars, and the PC-553,8 cost was 12 million.

These vehicles should come into service with the Afghan aviation wing, designed to support the operations of the local special forces, which are now being created by the United States and NATO.

After analyzing the implementation of the plans to create this wing, Sopko and his subordinates stated that at this stage there are not enough Afghan pilots to service the purchased equipment. Now the wing is staffed only 180 military, which is less than one-quarter of the required number. In addition, it is necessary to improve the skills of these pilots before they can competently use the acquired helicopters and airplanes, the Inspector’s Office considers.

He presented his conclusions in the form of a new report on this topic. The key provision of this document was the recommendation to postpone the implementation of contracts concluded with Rosoboronexport and Sierra Nevada, ITAR-TASS reports.

However, the US Department of Defense did not agree with this conclusion. Commenting on him, Pentagon spokesman Jim Gregory, a US Army lieutenant colonel, said today that from the point of view of his department and the task of training the Afghan security forces “in the near future,” there is an “urgent need” to purchase Mi-17 for the wing being built optimal for the tasks that are put in front of this special forces unit.

In addition, “a thorough examination of all the information available to the ministry confirms that it is in the public interest to acquire the necessary for the Mi-17 wing from Rosoboronexport, Gregory stressed.

In a statement directly included in the report, US Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense overseeing relations with Afghanistan, Pakistan and the countries of Central Asia, Michael Dumont, said that recommending to freeze the implementation of contracts "does not meet our national interests." Such actions would only “drag out in unacceptable ways our efforts to turn the wing into a combat-ready force,” said Dumont.
Originator:
http://www.vz.ru/news/2013/6/28/639234.html
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Denis
    Denis 29 June 2013 06: 52 New
    +8
    recommendation to freeze the execution of contracts “does not meet our national interests”
    Politics by politics, but no arguing against the truth. Legends go about the reliability of the machine
    Yes, the Mi-8 is already a business card of the country as AK has become!
    1. Rustam
      Rustam 29 June 2013 12: 13 New
      +3
      that's what the choice of products means! regardless of country of origin

      And if American helicopters were bought with our money, and they would be armed with some sort of Mali-I can imagine that here would be here all would be recorded as enemies of the people


      PS - The US Army purchases (mainly) for itself and its allies, not only equipment labeled MADE IN USA), but takes one that is actually in demand and more technologically advanced even from its own manufacturer, but the only thing they create is a joint venture

      And we have - how many screams, screams, screeches - and Mistral was (finally the people basically understood its necessity) and Iveco, and rifles, campsites, navigation systems

      Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation — it’s necessary to take or create joint ventures with foreign companies — if their products are better than those offered by our military-industrial complex — by the way, the price gap is not the same as it was before, our gags in this sense pulled up to the west, but reliability quality

      reference of the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation - “In 2012, the number of complaints about defective military products increased by 60% compared to 2011,” the representative of the defense department said. angry

      PHOTOS - NEW MI-17V5 in the Afghan Air Force
      1. Setrac
        Setrac 29 June 2013 15: 56 New
        0
        Quote: Rustam
        that's what the choice of products means! regardless of country of origin

        Your enthusiasm is incomprehensible, they are not buying for themselves and not for their grandmothers. Who's stopping you from doing the same? Buy Iveco, for example for Cyprus, 17 units for their money.
        But otherwise you are right.
        1. Lopatov
          Lopatov 29 June 2013 16: 00 New
          +2
          American money.
          1. Setrac
            Setrac 29 June 2013 17: 58 New
            0
            Quote: Spade
            American money.

            Someone would doubt that dollars are US money, but this debt will fall on Iraq’s shoulders and will have to pay by no means green waste paper.
  2. andrei332809
    andrei332809 29 June 2013 06: 58 New
    +3
    So, among amers, warriors with industrialists quarreled. let's see what happens next. or the warriors will squeeze politicians out of production, or these moneybags fire half the staff. Interestingly, this confrontation can result in something serious?
    1. maxvet
      maxvet 29 June 2013 08: 28 New
      0
      in states, industrial workers will be stronger than warriors
  3. uzer 13
    uzer 13 29 June 2013 07: 36 New
    0
    Well, here is an example of real cooperation in military affairs. The American military turned out to be realists and pragmatists and decided not in the interests of the American military-industrial complex, but at the same time demonstrated professionalism and impartiality in solving the problem.
  4. svp67
    svp67 29 June 2013 07: 57 New
    +3
    The Pentagon rejected the recommendation to suspend the purchase of Russian Mi-17
    there are no fools sitting, one parade, another war in the mountains ...
  5. The comment was deleted.

Пентагон отверг рекомендацию приостановить закупку российских Ми-17

Пентагон отверг рекомендацию приостановить закупку российских Ми-17


Министерство обороны США не поддержало предложение своего генерального инспектора по вопросам реконструкции в Афганистане Джона Сопко, посоветовавшего «заморозить» приобретение российских вертолетов Ми-17 и американских самолетов PC-12 для местных сил специального назначения.
Контракты на закупку 30 модифицированных многоцелевых вертолетов Ми-17 и 18 легких одномоторных турбовинтовых самолетов PC-12 были заключены военным ведомством США с компаниями «Рособоронэкспорт» и «Сьерра-Невада» в июне и в октябре минувшего года соответственно. Согласно данным аппарата генинспектора по вопросам реконструкции в Афганистане, стоимость контракта на поставку Ми-17 составила 553,8 млн долларов, а PC-12 – 218 млн.

Эти машины должны поступить на вооружение афганского авиационного крыла, призванного поддерживать операции местного спецназа, который создают сейчас США и НАТО.


Проанализировав реализацию замыслов создания этого крыла, Сопко и его подчиненные констатировали, что на данном этапе в нем не хватает афганских пилотов для обслуживания закупаемой техники. Сейчас крыло укомплектовано только 180 военнослужащими, что составляет менее одной четверти от требуемого числа. Кроме того, необходимо повышать навыки этих пилотов, прежде чем они смогут грамотно пользоваться приобретаемыми вертолетами и самолетами, считает аппарат генинспектора.

Свои выводы он представил в виде нового доклада на эту тему. Ключевым положением данного документа стала рекомендация повременить с реализацией договоров, заключенных с Рособоронэкспортом и «Сьерра-Невадой», передает ИТАР-ТАСС.

Однако министерство обороны США не согласилось с таким заключением. Комментируя его, официальный представитель Пентагона подполковник сухопутных войск США Джим Грегори заявил сегодня, что с точки зрения его ведомства и задачи подготовки афганских сил безопасности «в ближайшей перспективе» имеется «неотложная необходимость» закупать Ми-17 для создаваемого крыла, поскольку данная винтокрылая машина наиболее оптимальна для выполнения задач, которые ставятся перед этим подразделением спецназа.

Кроме того, «тщательное изучение всей информации, доступной министерству, подтверждает, что интересам общественности отвечает приобретение необходимых для крыла Ми-17 у Рособоронэкспорта, подчеркнул Грегори.

Во включенном непосредственно в доклад заявлении заместителя помощника министра обороны США, курирующего отношения с Афганистаном, Пакистаном и странами Центральной Азии, Майкла Дюмонта говорится, что рекомендация заморозить выполнение контрактов «не отвечает нашим национальным интересам». Такие действия лишь «затянули бы неприемлемым образом наши усилия, направленные на то, чтобы превратить крыло в боеспособную силу», отметил Дюмонт.
Первоисточник: http://www.vz.ru/news/2013/6/28/639234.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. Денис 29 июня 2013 06:52
    рекомендация заморозить выполнение контрактов «не отвечает нашим национальным интересам»
    Политика политикой,а против правды не попрёшь.О надёжности машины ходят легенды
    Да Ми-8 уже визитнонй карточкой страны как АК стал!
    1. Рустам 29 июня 2013 12:13
      вот что значит выбор продукция! невзираю на страну происхождения

      А если бы у нас на наши деньги закупались американские вертолеты,и вооружали бы ими какое нибудь Мали-Я представляю что бы здесь было здесь бы всех во врагов народа записали


      P.S - Армия США закупает(в основном)для себя и своих союзников,не только технику с ярлыком MADE IN USA)а берет ту,которая дейсвительно востребована и технологичней даже собственного производителя,но единственное они создают совместные СП

      А у нас -сколько криков,ора,визга-и по Мистралю было(наконец-то народ в основном,понял его необходимость)и по Ивеко,и по винтовкам,палаточным лагерям,системам навигации

      МО РФ-надо брать или создавать совместные СП,с зарубежными фирмами-если ихняя продукция лучше тех образцов которые предлагает наш ВПК -кстати разрыв в цене,уже не такой какой был раньше,наши ухари в этом смысле подтянулись до запада,но вот надежность и качество

      справка МО РФ-"В 2012 году количество рекламаций на некачественную продукцию военного назначения увеличилось на 60% по сравнению с 2011 годом", — отметил представитель оборонного ведомства. angry

      ФОТО -НОВЫЕ МИ-17В5 в Афганских ввс
      1. Setrac 29 июня 2013 15:56
        Цитата: Рустам
        вот что значит выбор продукция! невзираю на страну происхождения

        Ваш восторг непонятен, покупают не для себя и не на свои бабки. Кто вам мешает делать так же? Покупайте Ивеко, к примеру для Кипра, 17 единиц за их деньги.
        Но в остальном вы правы.
        1. Лопатов 29 июня 2013 16:00
          Деньги американские.
          1. Setrac 29 июня 2013 17:58
            Цитата: Лопатов
            Деньги американские.

            Кто-бы сомневался, доллары - деньги США, но ляжет этот долг на плечи Ирака и придется расплачиваться отнюдь не зеленой макулатурой.
  2. andrei332809 29 июня 2013 06:58
    так,у амеров вояки с промышленниками поссорились. посмотрим,что дальше будет. или вояки прижмут политиков от производства,или эти денежные мешки поувольняют половину штабистов. интересно,это противостояние может вылиться во что-нибудь серьёзное?
    1. maxvet 29 июня 2013 08:28
      в штатах промышлинники посильнее вояк будут
      maxvet
  3. uzer 13 29 июня 2013 07:36
    Ну вот пример реального сотрудничества в военных делах.Американские военные оказались реалистами и прагматиками и приняли решение не в интересах американского ВПК,но продемонстрировали при этом профессионализм и непредвзятость в решении проблемы.
  4. svp67 29 июня 2013 07:57
    Пентагон отверг рекомендацию приостановить закупку российских Ми-17
    там же не дураки сидят,одно дело парад, другое война в горах...
  5. Комментарий был удален.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня