Military Review

Air-to-air missile Henschel Hs-298 (Germany)

3
The German company Henschel began work on the creation of rocket systems in the second half of the 1930s. The greatest success of the German designers managed to achieve only in the forties, after Professor Herbert Wagner came to the company. It was under his leadership that several projects of guided missiles and bombs were created. At the same time, projects of guided bombs and missiles for various purposes were being worked out. So, already in 1940, Henschel employees considered the possibility of using guided missiles to destroy enemy ships and aircraft. In the latter case, two ideas were immediately suggested: launching a guided missile from the ground and equipping an aircraft carrier with similar ammunition.




The first version of the preliminary design of a promising air-to-air missile appeared in 1941, but it did not interest the potential customer in the person of the Imperial Ministry aviation. At that time, the German command was extremely optimistic about the prospects of its armed forces, and therefore weapons projects, which were intended primarily to protect against enemy bombers, did not receive appropriate support. A few months after this, regular allied raids on German industrial facilities and infrastructure began, which made Berlin change its mind.

In 1943, the Ministry of Aviation ordered the Henschel company to develop and manufacture a guided missile designed to destroy enemy bombers. It was assumed that the new rocket Hs-298 will be used in a special way modified aircraft. The team of engineers led by G. Wagner already had a lot of experience in the development of guided weapons, but the creation of a munition suitable for use by aircraft, caused some difficulties.

The requirements of the customer and the available developments have determined the shape of the future air-to-air missile. From the point of view of aerodynamics, the Hs-298 rocket was a projectile with a swept wing of small elongation. A similar aerodynamic layout has already been used in previous guided weapons projects developed by Henschel. The fuselage of the new guided munition was created taking into account the layout solutions used in the Hs-177 Schmetterling anti-aircraft missile project. Its design can be divided into two streamlined body, stacked on each other. This form of the fuselage allowed to increase the internal volumes without appreciable loss of aerodynamic characteristics.

To the fuselage with a length of about two meters in the middle part were attached to the wing console span 1,29 m. At the rear edge of the wing provided interceptors designed to control the roll. In the tail section of the rocket, it was supposed to mount a direct stabilizer with an interceptor that served as an elevator. At the ends of the stabilizer should have been keel washers.

Air-to-air missile Henschel Hs-298 (Germany)


During the design of the fuselage missiles Hs-298 has undergone some changes. Initially it was assumed that the lower nose cone will have a greater length and go beyond the top. However, some features of the design and ease of use forced to change the appearance of the rocket: in later versions of the project, the upper fairing, in which a part of the equipment was located, came forward. According to some sources, the main cause of such changes was the impeller of the electric generator, originally located on the upper fairing. The dimensions of the impeller required the use of a rather complicated suspension design under the wing of the aircraft, due to which the generator was transferred to the lower fairing. The project modified in this way was designated Hs-298V-1.

At the bottom of the fuselage provided a place for the installation of a solid fuel engine. Despite the relatively short operating time, such a power plant provided sufficient reliability and ease of operation in the army. The Schmidding 109-543 solid-fuel engine could operate in two modes. For five seconds after the start, he developed 150 kgf thrust, and then 20 seconds worked with 50 kgf thrust. For this, the engine had two charges of solid fuel. The main charge of fuel with a low burning rate, necessary for operation in flight, was made in the form of a pipe. The internal surface of this charge was covered with heat-resistant material. Inside such a pipe, a starting charge of fuel with a high burning rate was placed. Thus, for several seconds after the start, the internal charge, providing greater traction, burned out, destroyed the coating of the external charge and ignited it. The total weight of the two charges of solid fuel exceeded 51 kilogram.

The solid engine of the original design took up almost the entire internal volume of the lower part of the rocket fuselage. In front of him in the version Hs-298V-1 there was only a small electric generator with an impeller. The combat unit and control equipment placed at the top of the fuselage. The rocket was supposed to be controlled by radio communication using the three-point method. Systems that had the designations Franken and Burgund were considered as a control complex. Next to the control equipment, a warhead weighing 25 kg was placed. The Hs-298V-1 project implied that the warhead would be undermined by an operator command.

It should be noted that simultaneously with the Hs-298V-1 rocket, its modification Hs-298V-2 was developed. This product was planned to be equipped with a Doppler radio fuse. A non-contact fuse could initiate an explosion of a warhead at a distance of 15-25 meters from the target, which was to ensure the high combat effectiveness of the new missile. The rest of the project Hs-298V-2 was similar to Hs-298V-1.



Like other German guided munitions, the Hs-298 missile received a missile-equipped control system. Such controls, having a greater drag in comparison with the rudders of traditional design, greatly simplified the technical side of the project. To control the pitch and roll only required two radio channels. The rocket did not have rudders. For the convenience of the operator-gunner in the tail of the rocket provided pyrotechnic tracer and light bulbs.

The operating parameters of the engine, as well as the capabilities of the existing control system, determined the method of using the new rocket. It was assumed that the carrier aircraft would enter the tail of a group of enemy bombers and launch a rocket from a distance of no more than 1,5-2 km. In this case, the operator, using the available optical equipment, could confidently take the missile to the target.

The development of the Hs-298 project took a lot of time. Rocket tests began only in December 1944. For test launches, a Junkers Ju-88 bomber was used, equipped with three missile suspension nodes and a set of necessary electronic equipment. The first launch of the rocket was unsuccessful - the product, dropped from the carrier plane, almost immediately exploded in the air. In the second and third launches, the control system failed, which led to the fall of the missiles to the ground. Finally, 22 December 1944, the crew of the carrier aircraft was able to launch the missile, bring it to a given area and undermine the warhead. Several subsequent launches confirmed the characteristics of the Hs-298V-1 rocket and the possibility of its combat use. Thus, it was this rocket that became the first air-to-air ammunition that completely passed all the stages of the tests.

At the very beginning of the 1945 of the year, the Luftwaffe ordered the 300 Hs-298V-1 missiles and more than 100 Hs-298V-2 for arming night fighter-interceptors. It was proposed to install the corresponding equipment on Ju-88 and Do-217 airplanes of various modifications. In addition, the size and starting weight (95 kilograms) of the rocket contributed to the start of work on the creation of a set of equipment for the Me-262 and FW-190 fighters.


photo http://raigap.livejournal.com


According to various sources, the assembly of ammunition family Hs-298 began in January 1945 year, but accurate information about the number of manufactured missiles are missing. The assembly of the missiles was commissioned to the plant in the city of Wansdorf. Due to the declining capabilities of the German 6 industry, February 1945 of the year, the Hs-298 project was closed in favor of the more promising Ruhrstahl X-4 rocket. By this time, several dozen Hs-298 missiles of two modifications were assembled, which, however, did not get into the troops. Most of the finished products were destroyed during the battles for the city. A number of the surviving missiles went to the Soviet troops as a trophy.

Although work on guided weapons began in Germany in the late thirties, the Hs-298 rocket went into series only at the beginning of 1945. Because of this, she not only did not have time to have a tangible impact on the course of the war, but did not even get into the troops. Therefore, a promising project of an air-to-air missile echoed the fate of a host of other German developments. The only fact that distinguishes the Hs-298 from the general range is that the product became the first air-to-air device that was fully tested and adopted for service.


On the materials of the sites:
http://airwar.ru/
https://airandspace.si.edu/
http://wehrmacht-history.com/
http://raigap.livejournal.com/
Author:
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Alexey Prikazchikov
    Alexey Prikazchikov 19 November 2013 08: 35 New
    +2
    In time, we overwhelmed the Germans, maybe it’s for the best that the war in the 41st began ...
  2. makarov
    makarov 19 November 2013 08: 51 New
    +2
    The Germans had a lot of samples of "smart" weapons during the Second World War. There were also guided surface-to-air bombs, and there were guided aerial bombs, which, unfortunately, they used with success against PQ caravans ........
  3. Walking
    Walking 19 November 2013 11: 09 New
    +4
    But I’m not very sorry that she didn’t get into the army and did not fight. Its main application would be against the Americans and the British with their massive bombing, it is interesting how it would show itself.
    1. Mooh
      Mooh 19 November 2013 20: 58 New
      0
      Damn it, she would show herself, manual control + the absence of damaging elements = it makes sense only to shoot at a large group target from which, at best, one or two bombers are hit. Perhaps, with a massive application, it could scare the impressionable Anglo-Saxons, but was ordered in small quantities for nightlights.

Управляемая ракета «воздух-воздух» Henschel Hs-298 (Германия)

Немецкая фирма Henschel еще во второй половине тридцатых годов начала работы по созданию ракетных систем. Наибольших успехов немецким конструкторам удалось добиться только в сороковых, после того, как на фирму пришел профессор Герберт Вагнер. Именно под его руководством были созданы несколько проектов управляемых ракет и бомб. Одновременно прорабатывались проекты управляемых бомб и ракет различного назначения. Так, уже в 1940 году сотрудники фирмы Henschel рассматривали возможность применения управляемых ракет для уничтожения кораблей и самолетов противника. В последнем случае предлагались сразу две идеи: запуск управляемой ракеты с земли и оснащение подобным боеприпасом самолета-носителя.

Управляемая ракета «воздух-воздух» Henschel Hs-298 (Германия)


Первый вариант эскизного проекта перспективной ракеты класса «воздух-воздух» появился уже в 1941 году, однако не заинтересовал потенциального заказчика в лице имперского министерства авиации. В то время германское командование крайне оптимистично оценивало перспективы своих вооруженных сил и поэтому проекты вооружения, предназначавшегося прежде всего для защиты от вражеских бомбардировщиков, не получали соответствующую поддержку. Через считанные месяцы после этого начались регулярные налеты союзников на немецкие промышленные объекты и инфраструктуру, что заставило Берлин изменить свое мнение.


В 1943 году министерство авиации заказало фирме «Хеншель» разработку и изготовление управляемой ракеты, предназначенной для поражения бомбардировщиков противника. Предполагалось, что новая ракета Hs-298 будет использоваться специальным образом доработанными самолетами. Команда инженеров во главе с Г. Вагнером уже имела большой опыт в разработке управляемого вооружения, однако создание боеприпаса, пригодного для использования самолетами, вызвало определенные затруднения.

Требования заказчика и имеющиеся наработки определили облик будущей ракеты «воздух-воздух». С точки зрения аэродинамики ракета Hs-298 представляла собой самолет-снаряд со стреловидным крылом малого удлинения. Похожая аэродинамическая компоновка уже применялась в предыдущих проектах управляемого вооружения, разработанных на фирме Henschel. Фюзеляж нового управляемого боеприпаса был создан с учетом компоновочных решений, примененных в проекте зенитной ракеты Hs-177 Schmetterling. Его конструкцию можно условно разделить на два обтекаемых корпуса, поставленных друг на друга. Такая форма фюзеляжа позволила увеличить внутренние объемы без ощутимой потери аэродинамических характеристик.

К фюзеляжу длиной около двух метров в средней части крепились консоли крыла размахом 1,29 м. На задней кромке крыла предусмотрели интерцепторы, предназначенные для управления по крену. В хвостовой части ракеты предполагалось монтировать прямой стабилизатор с интерцептором, выполнявшим функции руля высоты. На концах стабилизатора должны были находиться килевые шайбы.

Управляемая ракета «воздух-воздух» Henschel Hs-298 (Германия)


В ходе проектирования фюзеляж ракеты Hs-298 претерпел некоторые изменения. Первоначально предполагалось, что нижний носовой обтекатель будет иметь большую длину и выходить за верхний. Однако некоторые особенности конструкции и удобство применения заставили изменить облик ракеты: в поздних версиях проекта вперед выступал верхний обтекатель, в котором располагалась часть аппаратуры. Согласно некоторым источникам, главной причиной таких изменений стала крыльчатка электрогенератора, первоначально располагавшаяся на верхнем обтекателе. Размеры крыльчатки требовали применить достаточно сложную конструкцию подвеса под крыло самолета, из-за чего генератор перенесли в нижний обтекатель. Доработанный подобным образом проект получил обозначение Hs-298V-1.

В нижней части фюзеляжа предусмотрели место для установки твердотопливного двигателя. Несмотря на сравнительно малое время работы, подобная силовая установка обеспечивала достаточную надежность и удобство эксплуатации в войсках. Твердотопливный двигатель Schmidding 109-543 мог работать в двух режимах. В течение пяти секунд после старта он развивал тягу 150 кгс, а затем 20 секунд работал с тягой 50 кгс. Для этого двигатель имел два заряда твердого топлива. Основной заряд топлива с малой скоростью горения, необходимый для работы в полете, выполнили в форме трубы. Внутреннюю поверхность этого заряда покрывали термостойким материалом. Внутрь такой трубы поместили стартовый заряд топлива с высокой скоростью горения. Таким образом, в течение нескольких секунд после старта внутренний заряд, обеспечивая большую тягу, выгорал, разрушал покрытие внешнего заряда и воспламенял его. Общий вес двух зарядов твердого топлива превысил 51 килограмм.

Твердотопливный двигатель оригинальной конструкции занял почти весь внутренний объем нижней части фюзеляжа ракеты. Перед ним в варианте Hs-298V-1 размещался лишь небольшой электрогенератор с крыльчаткой. Боевую часть и аппаратуру управления поместили в верхней части фюзеляжа. Управление ракетой предполагалось производить при помощи радиосвязи по методике трех точек. В качестве комплекса управления рассматривались системы, имевшие обозначения Franken и Burgund. Рядом с аппаратурой управления разместили боевую часть весом 25 кг. Проект Hs-298V-1 подразумевал, что подрыв боевой части будет производиться по команде оператора.

Необходимо отметить, что одновременно с ракетой Hs-298V-1 разрабатывалась ее модификация Hs-298V-2. Это изделие планировалось оснастить допплеровским радиовзрывателем. Неконтактный взрыватель мог инициировать взрыв боевой части на расстоянии 15-25 метров от цели, что должно было обеспечить высокую боевую эффективность новой ракеты. В остальном проект Hs-298V-2 был похож на Hs-298V-1.

Управляемая ракета «воздух-воздух» Henschel Hs-298 (Германия)


Как и другие немецкие управляемые боеприпасы, ракета Hs-298 получила систему управления, оснащенную интерцепторами. Такие средства управления, имея большее лобовое сопротивление в сравнении с рулями традиционной конструкции, значительно упрощали техническую сторону проекта. Для управления по тангажу и крену требовалось лишь два радиоканала. Рулей направления ракета не имела. Для удобства работы оператора-наводчика в хвостовой части ракеты предусмотрели пиротехнические трассеры и электролампы.

Параметры работы двигателя, а также возможности существующей системы управления определили методику применения новой ракеты. Предполагалось, что самолет-носитель будет заходить в хвост группе бомбардировщиков противника и производить пуск ракеты с расстояния не более 1,5-2 км. В таком случае оператор, используя имеющееся оптическое оборудование, мог уверенно выводить ракету на цель.

Разработка проекта Hs-298 отняла достаточно много времени. Испытания ракеты начались лишь в декабре 1944 года. Для испытательных пусков использовался бомбардировщик Junkers Ju-88, оснащенный тремя узлами подвески ракет и набором необходимого радиоэлектронного оборудования. Первый запуск ракеты был неудачным – изделие, сброшенное с самолета-носителя, почти сразу взорвалось в воздухе. Во втором и третьем запусках отказала система управления, что привело к падению ракет на землю. Наконец, 22 декабря 1944 года экипажу самолета-носителя удалось провести пуск ракеты, вывести ее в заданный район и произвести подрыв боевой части. Несколько последующих пусков подтвердили характеристики ракеты Hs-298V-1 и возможность ее боевого применения. Таким образом, именно эта ракета стала первым боеприпасом класса «воздух-воздух», полностью прошедшим все этапы испытаний.

В самом начале 1945 года Люфтваффе заказало 300 ракет Hs-298V-1 и свыше 100 Hs-298V-2 для вооружения ночных истребителей-перехватчиков. Соответствующее оборудование предлагалось устанавливать на самолеты Ju-88 и Do-217 различных модификаций. Кроме того, размеры и стартовый вес (95 килограммов) ракеты поспособствовали началу работ по созданию комплекса оборудования для истребителей Me-262 и FW-190.

Управляемая ракета «воздух-воздух» Henschel Hs-298 (Германия)
фото http://raigap.livejournal.com


Согласно различным источникам, сборка боеприпасов семейства Hs-298 началась в январе 1945 года, но точные сведения о количестве изготовленных ракет отсутствуют. Сборку ракет поручили заводу в городе Вансдорф. Из-за сокращающихся возможностей германской промышленности 6 февраля 1945 года проект Hs-298 был закрыт в пользу более перспективной ракеты Ruhrstahl X-4. К этому времени было собрано несколько десятков ракет Hs-298 двух модификаций, которые, однако, так и не попали в войска. Большая часть готовых изделий была уничтожена в ходе боев за город. Некоторое количество уцелевших ракет досталось советским войскам в качестве трофея.

Хотя работы над управляемым вооружением начались в Германии еще в конце тридцатых годов, ракета Hs-298 пошла в серию лишь в начале 1945-го. Из-за этого она не только не успела оказать ощутимое влияние на ход войны, но даже не попала в войска. Поэтому перспективный проект ракеты класса «воздух-воздух» повторил судьбу массы других немецких разработок. Единственный факт, выделяющий Hs-298 из общего ряда, – это изделие стало первой управляемой «воздух-воздух», полностью прошедшей испытания и принятой на вооружение.


По материалам сайтов:
http://airwar.ru/
https://airandspace.si.edu/
http://wehrmacht-history.com/
http://raigap.livejournal.com/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. Алексей Приказчиков 19 ноября 2013 08:35
    Вовремя мы немцев завалили, может оно и к лучшему что война в 41ом началась...
    Алексей Приказчиков
  2. makarov 19 ноября 2013 08:51
    Образцов "умного" оружия у немцев во времена ВОВ было немало. Были и управляемые "земля-воздух", были и управляемые авиабомбы, которые к сожалению они применяли с успехом по караванам PQ........
    makarov
  3. Пеший 19 ноября 2013 11:09
    А мне не много жаль что она в войска не попала и не повоевала. Основное её применение было бы против американцев и англичан с их массированными бомбардировками, интересно как бы она себя показала.
    1. MooH 19 ноября 2013 20:58
      Херово бы она себя показала, ручное управление + отсутствие поражающих элементов= имеет смысл только стрельба по крупной групповой цели из которой в лучшем случае поражается один-два бомбера. Возможно, при массированном применении, могла бы попугать впечатлительных англосаксов, но заказывалась в малых количествах для ночников.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня