Military Review

US companies settle 23-year-old dispute with the Navy over an uncreated attack aircraft

26
US companies settle 23-year-old dispute with the Navy over an uncreated attack aircraft

The US companies Boeing and General Dynamics settled a dispute with the US Navy regarding the unfinished project of the deck assault aircraft A-12 Avenger II, which lasted from the year 1991. According to Reuters, the companies announced their intention to pay the Navy, in whose interests A-1980 was developed at the end of 12, for 200 million dollars. Payments will be made by products of enterprises. Companies have not yet commented on an agreement with the military.


The achievement of Boeing and General Dynamics agreement with the US Navy announced the Ministry of Justice. The enterprises agreed to withdraw their claims to the US government, the Department of Defense and the Navy, according to which they demanded the preservation of the funds already received for the development of A-12 and another billion dollars as a penalty for breaking the contract. Under the new agreement, Boeing will supply the EA-18G Growler three electronic warfare aircraft to the US Navy for free, while General Dynamics will deliver the 200 million dollars for the construction of the Zumwalt-type destroyer for free.

The US Navy Command signed contracts for the development of a promising ground-attack attack aircraft A-12 in 1984. The agreements were signed with the McDonnell Douglas / General Dynamics and Northrop / Grumman / Vought consortia. The creation of the aircraft was held in the form of a tender, the victory in which was won by the consortium McDonnell Douglas / General Dynamics. Under the terms of the agreement, the consortium was to create a deck assault aircraft with the use of stealth technologies no later than 1994 for an amount of no more than 4,8 billion dollars.

McDonnell Douglas and General Dynamics failed to cope with the first stages of development in time. In addition, the final cost of A-12 increased from the original 84 million dollars to 165 million. 7 January 1991, the US Department of Defense closed the Avenger II project as costly and unpromising. By this time, businesses received 2,68 billion dollars to develop the aircraft, while spending on the project 3,88 billion dollars. In the middle of 1991, companies filed a lawsuit against the military, demanding a penalty for early termination of the contract.

In the course of the proceedings, the US Navy made demands on companies to pay 1,35 a billion dollars spent on a contract that they could not cope with. Since the end of 1990, McDonnell Douglas has represented the Boeing concern in court as a successor, swallowing the company. In 2011, the US Supreme Court attempted to end the protracted legal proceedings. According to the court, the US Navy was forbidden to demand a refund for Avenger II from Boeing and General Dynamics, and companies ─ penalties from the military. However, disputes between the military and companies about the failed project continued.

A-12, made according to the “flying wing” scheme, was supposed to reach speeds of up to 930 kilometers per hour and fly thousands of kilometers to 1,5. The plane was supposed to get a folding wing. Armament was planned to be placed in the internal bomb bay. The maximum mass of weapons should not exceed 2,3 tons. On the basis of the Avenger II was planned to create a whole family of combat aircraft for the Navy, Marines and the US Air Force. In total, the military intended to acquire 1258 new aircraft.

During the entire development of the A-12, not a single flight prototype has been created. The only mass-dimensional layout of the Avenger II was declassified in 1996 year and exhibited for public viewing at the former US Navy base "Carswell". According to one version, it was the closure of the Avenger II project that caused substantial financial losses for McDonnell Douglas and the takeover of the company by the Boeing concern.
Originator:
http://www.aviaport.ru/
26 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. RUSS
    RUSS 28 January 2014 13: 44
    +15
    I just want to say, "Well, that Danila does not come out with a stone flower?"
    1. AVV
      AVV 28 January 2014 14: 09
      +3
      Quote: RUSS
      I just want to say, "Well, that Danila does not come out with a stone flower?"

      Probably a stone deck, it will be more exact !!!
    2. kind
      kind 28 January 2014 14: 18
      +7
      And he answered, strainingly: "It comes out. Through the ass"! laughing
  2. sinukvl
    sinukvl 28 January 2014 13: 56
    +2
    The main thing is not to create a plane, the main thing is to skillfully throw dust in the eyes. Well, out of the loop, the money allocated for the creation of the aircraft scroll. And will they still teach us how to live?
    1. lelikas
      lelikas 28 January 2014 16: 10
      +11
      It’s a pity that it didn’t work out - such a blow to the budget was ruined.
      1. rolik
        rolik 28 January 2014 20: 57
        +3
        Quote: lelikas
        It’s a pity that it didn’t work out - such a blow to the budget was ruined.

        And they have already fixed everything))))) the story does not resemble anything ??? Especially these lines: The weapons were planned to be placed in the internal bomb bay. The maximum mass of weapons should not exceed 2,3 tons. On the basis of Avenger II, it was planned to create a whole family of combat aircraft for the Navy, Marines and the US Air Force. In total, the military intended to acquire 1258 new aircraft.
        And all this reminds me of F-35)))))
        Only now they are operating with orders of magnitude higher, but the output is almost the same))))))))
        1. Hammer
          Hammer 29 January 2014 08: 33
          0
          Quote: rolik
          And all this reminds me of F-35)))))
          Only now they are operating with orders of magnitude higher, but the output is almost the same))))))))


          Exactly. Why bargain for trifles, if you can cut down some big money.
          Here is such a cut / rollback in the American way ... our bureaucrats still need to learn from the overseas "brothers" the ability to cut the state. budget. laughing
      2. abrakadabre
        abrakadabre 29 January 2014 08: 47
        0
        They wanted to build according to the "flying wing" scheme, but it turned out according to the "flightless wing" scheme
        wassat
  3. upasika1918
    upasika1918 28 January 2014 13: 57
    +7
    As always, the lawyers of the parties won, but the golden trickle has not dried up. Someone has to monitor the implementation of the judgment. And lo and behold, you can sue for the same "Zumwalt" or the aircraft carrier "Gerald Ford".
    1. Andrei from Chelyabinsk
      Andrei from Chelyabinsk 29 January 2014 07: 35
      +1
      Quote: upasika1918
      As always, the lawyers of the parties won.

      I recall a joke. Terrorists hijacked an American plane jammed with American lawyers. After that, the terrorists put forward their demands and promised that if their demands are not satisfied, they will start releasing one lawyer every hour ...
  4. major071
    major071 28 January 2014 14: 07
    +10
    The only thing that surprised me in this article (well, apart from the embarrassed airplane) was that the Navy achieved a refund through 23 (!) Of the year. It would be good for our masters to learn how to do this from defense, otherwise the money will go somewhere, and no one will be responsible for it. request
  5. Stiletto
    Stiletto 28 January 2014 14: 08
    +4
    “Based on the Avenger II, it was planned to create a whole family of combat aircraft for the Navy, Marine Corps and the US Air Force. In total, the military intended to purchase 1258 new aircraft. "

    Well, brothers, remind me who here lamented that we have only eight prototypes of the T-50 PAK FA flying, and the United States will have built two thousand two FU-35 ?!
    1. Roman Skomorokhov
      Roman Skomorokhov 28 January 2014 14: 55
      0
      And what is the difference between WILL BE BUILT and FLYS?

      It seems like 8 aircraft, no?
      1. Stiletto
        Stiletto 28 January 2014 15: 29
        +3
        Quote: Banshee
        And what is the difference between WILL BE BUILT and FLYS?


        We have eight "honest" prototypes. Amers have a promise to fill everyone with a huge number of F-35s. The difference between WILL BE BUILT and FLY can be clearly seen in this article. The US military intended to acquire 1258 new aircraft. So I want to ask them: "Well, how? Success? Have you purchased all 1258?" In my opinion, a similar fate awaits the Fu-35.
    2. iwind
      iwind 28 January 2014 15: 46
      +1
      Quote: Stiletto
      "It was planned to build a whole family of combat aircraft for the US Navy, Marine Corps and Air Force based on the Avenger II. In total, the military intended to acquire 1258 new aircraft."

      Well, brothers, remind me who here lamented that we have only eight prototypes of the T-50 PAK FA flying, and the United States will have built two thousand two FU-35 ?!

      Absolutely different story. The project was started in 1984, and then there was one event that severely cut the "wishlist" of the military. At the current level of technology, it is an overly daring project, but then ... the second Raptor would have turned out to be too expensive and redundant for the local military. At that time in 1990, they also had a lot of military projects and ships cut.
      And f-35 flies already 100 pieces and is trained combat drill pilots.
    3. clidon
      clidon 28 January 2014 18: 20
      0
      There are not eight prototypes of the T-50 - there are only 5 (five) of them so far. Of course, no one guarantees that the F-35 program will really be fully implemented. Exactly like the T-50 program. But the F-35- has already built a hundred.
    4. Fofan
      Fofan 28 January 2014 20: 47
      0
      Quote: Stiletto
      “Based on the Avenger II, it was planned to create a whole family of combat aircraft for the Navy, Marine Corps and the US Air Force. In total, the military intended to purchase 1258 new aircraft. "

      Well, brothers, remind me who here lamented that we have only eight prototypes of the T-50 PAK FA flying, and the United States will have built two thousand two FU-35 ?!

      lehko
      f-35 Units produced 100 (as of December 13, 2013)
      how many t-50 are there? 4 or 3 and a half?
  6. Alex_Popovson
    Alex_Popovson 28 January 2014 14: 09
    +2
    And what kind of attack aircraft is this? It’s even interesting simply what the developers promised that they bought it, even if first.
  7. jjj
    jjj 28 January 2014 14: 36
    +2
    They then all demolished the tower of the magnitude of their own greatness. They thought it would slip through. But, as it turned out, the vectors to suppose and do not always intersect. Well, it tells us that innovative development is expensive, dreary and long. Therefore, its designers and production is hardly worth constantly kicking.
  8. ZSP
    ZSP 28 January 2014 15: 56
    +3
    Well, it has already become calmer). They have mastered the denyuzhka, there is no plane, they have been butting for 23 years .... Class, the main thing sounds like "settled the dispute about an uncreated attack aircraft")) I really thought that only ours could do that!
  9. yehat
    yehat 28 January 2014 16: 04
    +4
    Pak fa project is not so bold. Normal. If everything was simple with financing, as in the USSR, it would have been built in batches in parts.
    As for disputes, are heavy fighters needed, aren't it better to build light ones, I can say
    that for such distances as ours, especially in the east, heavy fighters are more needed than light ones.
    Here quality plays a role along with quantity.
  10. samoletil18
    samoletil18 28 January 2014 17: 04
    +2

    A-12, made according to the "flying wing" scheme, was supposed to reach speeds of up to 930 kilometers per hour and fly over a distance of up to 1,5 kilometers. The plane was to receive a folding wing. The armament was planned to be placed in the internal bomb bays. The maximum mass of weapons was not to exceed 2,3 tons.

    Not a fig to yourself, attack aircraft! Stealth technology is good for him? That didn't work out. It was necessary on the wave of perestroika in Russia, the Su-25 deck bark. Then Boeing would develop it for free. The only thing is that Poghosyan would later have to include Boeing in the UAC, but that's why he is in charge of the UAC.
  11. Basarev
    Basarev 28 January 2014 18: 11
    +1
    It's perfect! A financial weapon in action.
  12. lpd1
    lpd1 28 January 2014 18: 41
    +2
    Quote: lelikas
    It’s a pity that it didn’t work out - such a blow to the budget was ruined.


    The photo clearly shows that in the bombs two fluffy toys can still fit freely, and in each smile
  13. APASUS
    APASUS 28 January 2014 18: 46
    +2
    Ostap Bender would have rolled over in a coffin, having learned how to make money in American way!
  14. propolsky
    propolsky 28 January 2014 22: 52
    0
    Papier-mâché, no more.

Американские компании уладили с ВМС 23-летний спор из-за несозданного штурмовика

Американские компании уладили с ВМС 23-летний спор из-за несозданного штурмовика

Американские компании Boeing и General Dynamics урегулировали с ВМС США спор относительно незавершенного проекта палубного штурмового самолета A-12 Avenger II, продолжавшийся с 1991 года. Как сообщает Reuters, компании объявили о намерении выплатить ВМС, в интересах которых в конце 1980-х годов велась разработка A-12, по 200 миллионов долларов. Выплаты будут осуществляться продукцией предприятий. Компании договоренность с военными пока не прокомментировали.

О достижении Boeing и General Dynamics договоренности с ВМС США объявило министерство юстиции. Предприятия согласились отозвать свои иски к правительству США, министерству обороны и ВМС, согласно которым они требовали сохранения уже полученных на разработку A-12 средств и еще миллиард долларов в качестве неустойки за разрыв контракта. По новому соглашению, Boeing бесплатно поставит ВМС США три самолета радиоэлектронной борьбы EA-18G Growler, а General Dynamics бесплатно же выполнит работы на сумму 200 миллионов долларов при строительстве эсминца типа "Зумвалт".

Командование ВМС США заключило контракты на разработку перспективного палубного штурмовика A-12 в 1984 году. Соглашения были подписаны с консорциумами McDonnell Douglas/General Dynamics и Northrop/Grumman/Vought. Создание самолета проводилось в форме тендера, победу в котором одержал консорциум McDonnell Douglas/General Dynamics. По условиям соглашения, консорциум должен был создать палубный штурмовой самолет с применением технологий малозаметности не позднее 1994 года на сумму не более 4,8 миллиарда долларов.


McDonnell Douglas и General Dynamics не сумели справиться с первыми этапами разработки в срок. Кроме того, конечная стоимость A-12 увеличилась с изначальных 84 миллионов долларов до 165 миллионов. 7 января 1991 года министерство обороны США закрыло проект Avenger II как дорогостоящий и бесперспективный. К этому времени предприятия получили 2,68 миллиарда долларов на разработку самолета, потратив при этом на проект 3,88 миллиарда долларов. В середине 1991 года компании подали на военных в суд, потребовав неустойку за досрочное прекращение контракта.

В ходе судебных разбирательств ВМС США предъявляли компаниям требования о выплате 1,35 миллиарда долларов, потраченных на выполнение контракта, с которым они не справились. С конца 1990-х годов интересы McDonnell Douglas в суде в качестве правопреемника представлял концерн Boeing, поглотивший компанию. В 2011 году верховный суд США предпринял попытку прекратить затянувшееся судебное разбирательство. Согласно решению суда, ВМС США было запрещено требовать с Boeing и General Dynamics возврата средств за Avenger II, а компаниям ─ неустойки от военных. Впрочем, споры между военными и компаниями о несостоявшемся проекте продолжились.

A-12, выполненный по схеме "летающего крыла", должен был развивать скорость до 930 километров в час и совершать полеты на расстояние до 1,5 тысячи километров. Самолет должен был получить складное крыло. Вооружение планировалось размещать во внутренних бомбоотсеках. Максимальная масса вооружений не должна была превышать 2,3 тонны. На базе Avenger II планировалось создать целое семейство боевых самолетов для ВМС, Морской пехоты и ВВС США. В общей сложности военные намеревались приобрести 1258 новых самолетов.

За все время разработки A-12 не было создано ни одного летного прототипа. Единственный массо-габаритный макет Avenger II был рассекречен в 1996 году и выставлен для всеобщего обозрения на бывшей базе ВМС США "Карсвелл". По одной из версий, именно закрытие проекта Avenger II стало причиной существенных финансовых убытков McDonnell Douglas и поглощения компании концерном Boeing.
Первоисточник: http://www.aviaport.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 26
  1. РУСС 28 января 2014 13:44
    Так и хочется сказать-"ну ,что Данила не выходит у тебя каменный цветок?"
    1. AVV 28 января 2014 14:09
      Цитата: РУСС
      Так и хочется сказать-"ну ,что Данила не выходит у тебя каменный цветок?"

      Наверное каменный палубник это ,точнее будет!!!
      AVV
    2. Добрый 28 января 2014 14:18
      А он в ответ, натужно: "Выходит. Через задницу"! laughing
  2. sinukvl 28 января 2014 13:56
    Главное не самолет создать, главное умело пыль в глаза пустить. ну а под шумок денежки выделенное под создание самолета прокрутить. И они еще будут учить нас жить?
    1. леликас 28 января 2014 16:10
      Жалко что не получился - такой удар по бюджету испортили .
      1. rolik 28 января 2014 20:57
        Цитата: леликас
        Жалко что не получился - такой удар по бюджету испортили .

        А они уже все исправили ))))) история ничего не напоминает??? Особенно вот эти строчки: Вооружение планировалось размещать во внутренних бомбоотсеках. Максимальная масса вооружений не должна была превышать 2,3 тонны. На базе Avenger II планировалось создать целое семейство боевых самолетов для ВМС, Морской пехоты и ВВС США. В общей сложности военные намеревались приобрести 1258 новых самолетов.
        А мне все это напоминает Ф-35 )))))
        Только сейчас суммами на порядок выше оперируют, а на выходе почти тоже самое )))))))
        rolik
        1. Hammer 29 января 2014 08:33
          Цитата: rolik
          А мне все это напоминает Ф-35 )))))
          Только сейчас суммами на порядок выше оперируют, а на выходе почти тоже самое )))))))


          В точку. Зачем размениваться по мелочи, если можно срубить деньжат по крупному.
          Вот такой вот распил/откат по американски... нашим чинушам еще надо поучиться у заморских "братьев" умению распиливать гос. бюджет. laughing
      2. abrakadabre 29 января 2014 08:47
        Хотели построить по схеме "летающее крыло", а получилось по схеме "нелетающее крыло"
        wassat
  3. upasika1918 28 января 2014 13:57
    Как всегда, победили адвокаты сторон.Но золотой ручеёк не иссяк. Кто то должен следить за выполнением судебного решения. А там глядь,можно вчинить иски по по тому же "Зумвалту" или авианосцу " Джеральд Форд".
    upasika1918
    1. Андрей из Челябинска 29 января 2014 07:35
      Цитата: upasika1918
      Как всегда, победили адвокаты сторон.

      Вспоминается анекдот. Террористы захватили американский самолет, битком набитый американскими же адвокатами. После чего террористы выдвинули свои требования и обещали, что если их требования не будут удовлетворены, они начнут отпускать по одному адвокату каждый час...
  4. major071 28 января 2014 14:07
    Единственное, что в этой статье ( ну кроме расфуфыренного самолета) меня удивило, так это то, что ВМС через 23 (!) года добилось возврата денег. Вот бы так научиться нашим господам от обороны, а то деньги куда то уходят, и никто за это не отвечает. request
  5. Stiletto 28 января 2014 14:08
    "На базе Avenger II планировалось создать целое семейство боевых самолетов для ВМС, Морской пехоты и ВВС США. В общей сложности военные намеревались приобрести 1258 новых самолетов".

    Ну-ка, братцы, напомните, кто тут причитал, что у нас всего восемь прототипов Т-50 ПАК ФА летает, а у Штатов будет построено тысячи две ФУ-35?!
    1. Banshee 28 января 2014 14:55
      А какая разница между БУДЕТ ПОСТРОЕНО и ЛЕТАЕТ?

      Вроде как 8 самолетов, нет?
      1. Stiletto 28 января 2014 15:29
        Цитата: Banshee
        А какая разница между БУДЕТ ПОСТРОЕНО и ЛЕТАЕТ?


        У нас да, восемь "честных" прототипов. У амеров - обещание завалить всех огромным количеством F-35. Разница между БУДЕТ ПОСТРОЕНО и ЛЕТАЕТ убедительно просматривается на примере этой статьи. USовские военные намеревались приобрести 1258 новых самолетов. Вот и хочется их спросить: "Ну как? Успешно? Все 1258 приобрели?" На мой взгляд, аналогичная судьба ждет и Фу-35.
    2. iwind 28 января 2014 15:46
      Цитата: Stiletto
      "На базе Avenger II планировалось создать целое семейство боевых самолетов для ВМС, Морской пехоты и ВВС США. В общей сложности военные намеревались приобрести 1258 новых самолетов".

      Ну-ка, братцы, напомните, кто тут причитал, что у нас всего восемь прототипов Т-50 ПАК ФА летает, а у Штатов будет построено тысячи две ФУ-35?!

      Абсолютно, разная история. Проект начинили разрабатывает в 1984, а потом произошло одно событие которое очень сильно подрезало " хотелки" военных. Он на сегодняшний уровень технологий чересчур смелый проект, а тогда... получился бы второй Раптор слишком дорого и избыточно для локальных воен. В то время 1990 году у них тоже было порезано много военных проектов и кораблей.
      А f-35 летает уже 100 штук и проходит обучение строевых пилоты.
    3. clidon 28 января 2014 18:20
      Прототипов Т-50 не восемь - их пока только 5 (пять). Конечно никто не гарантирует, что программа F-35 реально будет до конца реализована. Ровно как и программа Т-50. Но F-35- уже построена сотня.
    4. Фофан 28 января 2014 20:47
      Цитата: Stiletto
      "На базе Avenger II планировалось создать целое семейство боевых самолетов для ВМС, Морской пехоты и ВВС США. В общей сложности военные намеревались приобрести 1258 новых самолетов".

      Ну-ка, братцы, напомните, кто тут причитал, что у нас всего восемь прототипов Т-50 ПАК ФА летает, а у Штатов будет построено тысячи две ФУ-35?!

      лехко
      ф-35 Единиц произведено 100 (на 13 декабря 2013 года)
      скоко там т-50? 4 или 3 с половиной?
  6. Alex_Popovson 28 января 2014 14:09
    А что это за штурмовик такой? Интересно даже просто, что пообещали разработчики, что на это купились, пусть даже сначала.
    Alex_Popovson
  7. jjj 28 января 2014 14:36
    У них тогда у всех башни сносило от величины собственного величия. Думали, что проскочит. Но, как оказалось, векторы полагать и сделать не всегда пересекаются. Ну и нам это говорит, что новационные разработки - это дорого, муторно и долго. Поэтому своих конструкторов и производство вряд ли стоит постоянно пинать
    jjj
  8. ЗСП 28 января 2014 15:56
    Ну вот аж спокойней стало ). Денюжку освоили, самолета нет, 23 года бодались.... Класс, главное звучит как "уладили спор о не созданном штурмовике" )) Я уж подумал, что так только наши могут!
  9. yehat 28 января 2014 16:04
    пак фа проект не такой уж и смелый. Нормальный. Если бы с финансированием было все просто, как в СССР, его бы уже строили пачками в части.
    Что касается споров, нужны-ли тяжелые истребители, не лучше-ли легкие строить, могу сказать,
    что для таких расстояний, как у нас, особенно на востоке, тяжелые истребители нужнее легких.
    Тут уже играет роль качество наряду с количеством.
  10. samoletil18 28 января 2014 17:04

    A-12, выполненный по схеме "летающего крыла", должен был развивать скорость до 930 километров в час и совершать полеты на расстояние до 1,5 тысячи километров. Самолет должен был получить складное крыло. Вооружение планировалось размещать во внутренних бомбоотсеках. Максимальная масса вооружений не должна была превышать 2,3 тонны.

    Не фига себе, штурмовик! Стелс-технологии ему на фига? Вот и не получился. Надо было на волне перестройки в России Су-25 палубные заеказывать. Тогда бы "Боинг" бесплатно разработал бы. Единственное, Погосяну пришлось бы потом "Боинг" в ОАК включать, но на то он главный в ОАК.
  11. Басарев 28 января 2014 18:11
    Это идеально!Финансовое оружие в действии.
  12. lpd1 28 января 2014 18:41
    Цитата: леликас
    Жалко что не получился - такой удар по бюджету испортили .


    На фото отчётливо видно, что в бомболюки могут ещё свободно поместится по две пюшевые игрушки, причём в каждый smile
  13. APASUS 28 января 2014 18:46
    Остап Бендер в гробу бы перевернулся,узнав как деньги надо делать по американски!
  14. propolsky 28 января 2014 22:52
    Папье-маше, не более.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня