Military Review

Does America need war?

5
Americans themselves consider themselves to be a fairly peaceful nation. At the same time, since the beginning of the 20th century, the United States had already taken part in a dozen wars, without taking into account countless military interventions. Sometimes it seems that not a year goes by, like here and there (especially when it “has” large reserves of oil), an American soldier appears and starts “sowing sensible, kind, eternal”, implanting his own vision of democracy and protect civil liberties.

The last American president, who openly spoke in support of the war, was Theodore Roosevelt, he said: "A justified war in the future can bring much more benefit to the human soul than even the most prosperous world." All the presidents after him depicted the mask of grief on their faces, explaining their desire to bomb someone with the fact that there is simply no other way to solve the problem. Barack Obama was no exception, as he was promoted to the presidency and promised to end the military operation in Iraq, but eventually moved to Libya, saving the country from the dictator Gaddafi.

This behavior of the country in the international arena interested Professor of International Relations Stephen Walt from Harvard University, who wondered why in his country the groundhog day is repeated year after year, and more and more new presidents wage wars, acting like a curve. As a result, Stephen Walt came to the following conclusions, naming 5 the reasons why the United States is constantly involved in the war.



1. Because in the state

The most obvious reason is the country's strong military complex. This is especially noticeable against the backdrop of Libya. When you have hundreds of fighters, cruise missiles, ships at your disposal, the whole world seems to you only a set of targets. That is why, as soon as some controversial problem arises in the world, it is difficult to resist the temptation to do something. Like his predecessors, Barack Obama justified military intervention in the affairs of Libya by the special position of the United States in the world. This is expressed in American values, commitment to freedom and the like. However, today the distinctive feature of the states is not at all values, but the concentration of the country's military power in the hands of the president, while easing restrictions on its use.

2. The USA has no serious enemy

As the cold war ended, America found itself in an incredibly safe position. In the western hemisphere, there are simply no more than other great powers, and there are still no such countries in the whole world (China is breathing in the back, but has not yet become such). Any country that decides to attack the US will simply be destroyed, of course, there is still the problem of terrorism, but it is likely to be greatly exaggerated.



The irony is that due to the absence of serious threats to the country from the outside, the United States received a luxurious opportunity to search for "monsters" abroad. If the Americans were faced with the real need to defend their country, their native land from a strong aggressor, they would not spend extra money and time on such entertainment projects as the military operation in Libya. A particularly advantageous geopolitical position unleashes America’s hands and makes it possible to conduct such operations even in the absence of strategic sense in them.

3. Contract army

Service in the US Army is the lot of mercenaries, so it is easier to restrain opponents of military operations. Would Obama or Bush continue the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq if the majority of young Americans were obliged to serve in the army? Or if among the recruits were the children of bankers from Walt Street? Hardly.

4. Ruling elite

In US foreign policy, either neoconservatives dominate, who openly talk about the need to export "freedoms" around the world and have never met a war that they would not like, or "liberal interventionists." The latter are no less enthusiastic about the use of the army to solve certain problems. True, provided that they can concoct a sufficiently good cover for the use of force.

Liberal interventionists sometimes admit that America is unable to solve all problems, but at the same time they are confident that the United States is an “indispensable” nation and want to be involved in solving as many problems as it is possible to solve at the moment.

People who determine the military policy of the state, with their teeth and elbows, made their way into this circle of the elect. They certainly will not refrain or suggest that America, and the rest of the world, would be better if the country intervenes less in the affairs of other states. In the end, why hold a high position in the country's leadership, if it is not possible to apply power to its fullest, having the opportunity to reshape the world, guided by its own taste.



Compared to ordinary citizens, this is a highly educated, wealthy, privileged group of people. Most of them are fully protected from the possible consequences of their policies. Proponents of all sorts of interventions are unlikely to suffer tangible financial losses or jeopardize their entire career if any war overseas develops for the United States unsuccessfully.

Since the mid-sixties of the 20th century, American conservatism has launched a fairly successful and unrelenting campaign, which convinces the simple voter that it is foolish and impractical to pay taxes to solve any domestic problems. The highest manifestation of patriotism is the deduction of taxes for the needs of the country's armed forces, which cost more than everyone else in the world combined, and are not used to protect the country's territory, but to take part in wars, mainly on behalf of other countries. In general, the Americans were convinced that spending taxes on their own citizens (medicine, schools) is bad, and supporting the army and waging overseas wars is good. Simple Americans bought it.

5. Congress suspended from decision making

Today, a president can start a full-scale war, not a Congress. And this trend has emerged since the Second World War, the president methodically usurped these powers. Although, according to the constitution of a state, only Congress has the right to declare war, the presidents obviously do not feel any restrictions in this and easily send troops to attack other countries. Sometimes they do not even bother to provide the Congress with complete information on current events.

Thus, the country's military power is fully concentrated in the hands of the president and a small group of his advisers. At the same time, public opinion in the “most democratic” country of the world has not been collected for a long time.
5 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Forward
    Forward April 13 2011 12: 36
    +1
    Any military conflict revived the economy. It gave an impetus to the development of not only the military-industrial complex, but also the entire economy as a whole. And as a rule, American. This rule worked before the Gulf War. Then something went wrong. Not according to the American scenario. What and how is a separate topic. But the Americans got worried. in my opinion they are trying to return everything to the old rails
  2. APASUS
    APASUS April 13 2011 19: 44
    0
    Huge debt pulls the US economy into a debt hole! Nothing distracts the local population from bad thoughts like a SMALL VICTORY WAR. Yes, and the allocation of huge funds for the war revives the economy!
  3. datur
    datur April 15 2011 16: 40
    0
    and digs an even bigger hole. from which it will no longer get out.
  4. Bururuz
    Bururuz 24 June 2011 08: 21
    0
    There are more reasons:
    1. what for then to pay mercenaries
    2. Where to put all your weapons, if you do not wage war
  5. lightforcer
    lightforcer 11 October 2011 22: 12
    0
    What is the problem of terrorism? In addition to September 11, major terrorist attacks in the United States were not and are not happening. Yes, and its organizers are in question.

Америка испытывает потребность в войне?

Сами американцы считают себя достаточно миролюбивой нацией. При этом с начала XX века США успели поучаствовать уже в дюжине войн, не беря в расчет бесчисленные военные интервенции. Иногда создается такое впечатление, что не проходит и года, как то тут, то там (в особенности, когда это «там» имеет большие запасы нефти) появляется американский солдат и начинает «сеять разумное, доброе, вечное», насаждать собственное видение демократии и защищать гражданские свободы.

Последним американским президентом, который открыто выступал в поддержку войны, был Теодор Рузвельт, он заявлял: «Оправданная война в перспективе может принести куда больше пользы для человеческой души, чем даже самый процветающий мир». Все президенты после него изображали на своем лице маску скорби, объясняя свое желание бомбить кого-то тем, что иного пути решения проблемы просто нет. Не стал исключением и Барак Обама, который, выдвигаясь в президенты, обещал закончить военную операцию в Ираке, а в итоге перешел на Ливию, спасая страну от диктатора Каддафи.

Такое поведение страны на международной арене заинтересовало профессора международных отношений Стивена Уолта из Гарвардского университета, который задался вопросом, почему в его стране год из года повторяется день сурка, и все новые и новые президенты развязывают войны, действуя, словно, по лекалу. В итоге Стивен Уолт пришел к следующим выводам, назвав 5 причин, по которым США постоянно участвуют в войне.


Америка испытывает потребность в войне?


1. Потому что в состоянии

Самой очевидной причиной является сильный военный комплекс страны. Это особенно заметно на фоне Ливии. Когда в твоем распоряжении находятся сотни истребителей, крылатых ракет, кораблей, то весь мир представляется тебе лишь набором целей. Именно поэтому, как только в мире возникает какая-то противоречивая проблема, сложно удержаться от искушения сделать что-нибудь. Как и его предшественники, Барак Обама оправдал военное вмешательство в дела Ливии особенным положением США в мире. Это выражается в американских ценностях, приверженности свободе и тому подобном. Однако сегодня отличительной чертой штатов становятся вовсе не ценности, а концентрация военной мощи страны в руках президента при ослаблении ограничений на ее применение.

2. У США нет серьезного врага

Как только закончилась холодная война, Америка оказалась в невероятно безопасном положении. В западном полушарии просто нет больше других великих держав, да и во всем мире таких стран пока не найти (Китай дышит в спину, но еще не стал таковой). Любая страна, которая вздумает напасть на США, просто будет разрушена, конечно, существует еще проблема терроризма, но она, скорее всего, сильно преувеличена.

Америка испытывает потребность в войне?


Ирония в том, что из-за отсутствия серьезных угроз стране извне, США получили роскошную возможность искать «монстров» за границей. Если бы американцы столкнулись с реальной необходимостью защищать свою страну, родную землю от сильного агрессора, то не тратили бы лишние деньги и время на проведение таких развлекательных проектов, как военная операция в Ливии. Особо выгодное геополитическое положение развязывает Америке руки и дает возможность проводить подобные операции даже при отсутствии в них стратегического смысла.

3. Контрактная армия

Служба в армии США – это удел наемников, поэтому и противников военных операций удается сдерживать легче. Смогли бы Обама или Буш продолжать войны в Афганистане и Ираке, если бы большинство молодых американцев было обязано служить в армии? Или если бы среди призывников оказались дети банкиров с Уолт Стрит? Вряд ли.

4. Господствующая верхушка

Во внешней политике США доминируют либо неоконсерваторы, которые открыто говорят о необходимости экспорта «свобод» по всему миру и ни разу не встречали войны, которая бы им не понравилась, либо «либеральные интервенты». Последние проявляют не меньший энтузиазм в вопросе использования армии для решения тех или иных проблем. Правда, при условии, что смогут состряпать для применения силы достаточно хорошее прикрытие.

Либеральные интервенты иногда признают, что Америка не в состоянии решить всех проблем, но при этом уверены в том, что США – «незаменимая» нация и хотят быть причастными к решению стольких проблем, сколько возможно решить на данный момент.

Люди, которые определяют военную политику государства, зубами и локтями пробивали себе дорогу в этот круг избранных. Они совершенно точно не станут воздерживаться или высказывать предположение, что Америке, да и остальному миру, будет лучше, если страна будет меньше вмешиваться в дела других государств. В конце концов, для чего занимать высокое положение в руководстве страны, если нет возможности применять власть на полную катушку, имея возможность перекраивать мир, руководствуясь своим вкусом.

Америка испытывает потребность в войне?


По сравнению с рядовыми гражданами страны, это высокообразованная, богатая, привилегированная группа людей. Большая часть из них полностью защищена от возможных последствий своей политики. Сторонники всевозможных интервенций вряд ли понесут ощутимые финансовые потери или поставят под удар всю свою карьеру, если какая-нибудь война за океаном сложится для США неудачно.

Начиная с середины шестидесятых годов XX века, американский консерватизм запустил достаточно успешную и неослабевающую кампанию, которая убеждает простого избирателя в том, что глупо и непрактично платить налоги для решения каких-либо внутригосударственных проблем. Высшим проявлением патриотизма является отчисление налогов на нужды вооруженных сил страны, которые стоят больше, чем все остальные во всем мире вместе взятые, и применяются не для защиты территории страны, а для участия в войнах, в основном от лица других стран. В общем и целом, американцев убедили, что трата налогов на своих же сограждан (медицина, школы) – это плохо, а поддержка армии и ведение заокеанских войн – это хорошо. Простые американцы купились на это.

5. Конгресс отстранили от принятия решений

Сегодня развязать полномасштабную войну может президент, а не Конгресс. И данная тенденция наметилась со времен Второй мировой войны, президент методично узурпировал данные полномочия. Хотя по конституции государства правом объявлять войны обладает только Конгресс, президенты явно не ощущают в этом каких-либо ограничений и запросто посылают войска атаковать другие страны. Иногда они даже не удосуживаются предоставить Конгрессу полную информацию по происходящим событиям.

Таким образом, военная сила страны полностью сконцентрирована в руках президента и небольшой группы его советников. При этом принимать во внимание общественное мнение в «самой демократичной» стране мира давно не собираются.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 5
  1. Форвард 13 апреля 2011 12:36
    Любой военный конфликт оживлял экономику . Давал толчок для развития не только ВПК но и всей экономике в целом . Причём как правило американской . Это правило работало до войны в заливе . Потом что то пошло не по сценарию . Не по американскому сценарию . Что и как тема отдельная . Но американцы заволновались . на мой взгляд пытаются вернуть всё на старые рельсы
    Форвард
  2. APASUS 13 апреля 2011 19:44
    Громадный долг тянет экономику США в долговую яму! Не что так не отвлекает от дурных мыслей местное население как НЕБОЛЬШАЯ ПОБЕДОНОСНАЯ ВОЙНА.Да и выделение громадных средств на войну оживляет экономику!
    APASUS
  3. datur 15 апреля 2011 16:40
    и роет еще большую яму. из которой уже будет не выбраться.
  4. Bururuz 24 июня 2011 08:21
    Есть ещё причны :
    1.нафига тогда платить наёмникам
    2.куда девать всё своё оружие , если не рзвязывать войны
    Bururuz
  5. lightforcer 11 октября 2011 22:12
    Какая еще проблема терроризма? Кроме 11 сентября крупных терактов на территории США не было и не происходит. Да еще и под вопросом его организаторы.
    lightforcer

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня