Military Review

Battery hare

9
Battery hare



Far to the north, on the very edge of our land, by the cold Barents Sea, the battery of the famous commander Ponochevny stood throughout the war. Heavy guns took refuge in the rocks on the coast - and no German ship could pass with impunity our naval outposts.

The Germans tried to capture this battery more than once. But the gunners of Ponochevny and the enemy were not allowed close to him. The Germans wanted to destroy the outpost - thousands of shells were sent from long-range guns. Our gunners survived, and they themselves responded with such fire to the enemy that the German guns soon became silent - they smashed their well-aimed Ponocherni shells. The Germans see: you can’t take Ponochevny from the sea, you can't break from land. We decided to strike from the air. Day after day the Germans sent air reconnaissance aircraft. They circled over the cliffs with kites, looking for where the Ponochevny cannons hid. And then the big bombers flew in, threw huge bombs from the sky onto the battery.

If we take all the Ponochenny guns and weigh them, and then calculate how many bombs and shells the Germans attacked this piece of land, it will turn out that the entire battery weighed ten times less than the terrible load dropped on it by the enemy ...

I was in those days on the battery Ponochevnogo. The whole coast was blown up by bombs. To get to the rocks, where the guns stood, I had to climb over large funnel pits. Some of these pits were so spacious and deep that in each of them would fit a good circus with an arena and seats for the audience.

A cold wind blew from the sea. He dispersed the fog, and I examined small round lakes at the bottom of huge craters. Batteries of Ponochevnoy squatted by the water and peacefully washed their striped vests. All of them were recently sailors and gently took care of sailor's vests, which they remained in memory of naval service.

I was introduced to Ponochevny. Cheerful, slightly snub-nosed, with cunning eyes, looking from under the visor of a sea cap. As soon as we started talking, the signalman on the rock shouted:

- Air!

- There is! Breakfast is served. Today breakfast will give hot. Take cover! - Ponochevny said, looking around at the sky.

The sky boomed over us. Twenty-four "Junkers" and several small "Messerschmitts" flew straight to the battery. Behind the rocks, our anti-aircraft guns loudly, pounded. Then thinly squealed the air. We did not have time to get to the shelter - the ground gasped, a high rock not far from us cracked, and the stones squealed over our heads. The hard air hurt me and knocked me to the ground. I climbed under the overhanging cliff and pressed against the stone. I felt like a stone beach was walking under me.

The rough wind of explosions was pushing into my ears and dragging from under the rock. Clinging to the ground, I squeezed my eyes shut.

From one strong and close blast, my eyes opened up themselves, as the windows in the house open during an earthquake. I was about to close my eyes again, when I saw that to my right, very close, in the shade under a large stone, something white, small, oblong was stirring. And with each bomb hit, this small, white, oblong ridiculous jerked and stopped again. Curiosity so dismantled me that I no longer thought about danger, did not hear explosions. I just wanted to know what a strange thing jerks there under the stone. I got closer, looked under the stone and looked at the white hare tail. I wondered: where did he come from? I knew that there were no hares.

The close gap crashed, the tail twitched convulsively, and I squeezed deeper into the crevice of the rock. I was very sympathetic to the tail. I could not see the hare itself. But I guessed that the poor fellow was also uncomfortable, just like me.

There was a last post. And immediately I saw how a large European hare was selected from under the stone slowly, backwards. He got out, put one ear upwards, then picked up another, listened. Then the hare suddenly dryly, fractionally, briefly struck the paws on the ground, as if playing a rebound on the drum, and jumped up to the battery, angrily spinning it with its ears.

The batteries gathered around the commander. Reported the results of anti-aircraft fire. It turns out that while I was studying the Zaikin tail there, anti-aircraft gunners shot down two German bomber. Both fell into the sea. And two more planes began to smoke and immediately turned home. We have bombs on the battery damaged one gun and two soldiers were easily wounded by a splinter. And here I again saw the oblique. The hare, often twitching with the tip of its hunchbacked nose, sniffed the stones, then looked into the caponier, where a heavy weapon was hiding, sat down in a column, folded its front paws on its tummy, looked around and, as if seeing us, headed straight for Ponochevnom. The commander was sitting on a rock. Hare jumped to him, climbed on his knees, rested his front paws on Ponochevny’s chest, reached out and became a mustache with a muzzle rubbing against the commander’s chin. And the commander with both hands stroked his ears, pressed to the back, let them pass through the palms ... Never in my life had I seen the hare to stick so freely with a man. I happened to meet me with a very tame apparition, but it was enough to touch their backs with a palm, and they froze in horror, dropping to the ground. And this one was holding out with the commander of the enlistment.

- Oh, you, Zai-Zich! - said Ponochevny, carefully examining his friend. - Oh, you cheeky beast ... did not win you? Not familiar with our Zai-Zaich? He asked me. - This is a scout for me from the mainland. The lousy was, anemic, so seemingly, but we had a good time. And he got used to me, rabbit, does not give straight to the move. And runs for me. Where I am - there he is. The situation with us, of course, is not very suitable for the hare nature. We could see for ourselves that we were noisy. Well, nothing, our Zai-Zaich is now a small shelled. He even had a wound through.

Ponochevny took the hare's left ear carefully, straightened it, and I saw a scar in a shiny plush, pinkish skin on the inside.

- The shard has run through. Nothing. Now, however, he perfectly studied the rules of air defense. A little fly in - he will be hidden somewhere in a flash. And once it happened, we would have a complete pipe without Zai-Zaich. Honestly! We hammered us thirty hours in a row. Polar day, the sun on the watch all day and night sticks out, so the Germans used it. As it is in the opera, it is sung: "No sleep, no rest for the tormented soul." So, therefore, they finally bombed away. The sky is cloudy, but the visibility is decent. We looked around: nothing seemed to be foreseen. We decided to rest. Our signalmen, too, got tired, well, and missed. Just look: Zai-Zich is worried about something. He has trained his ears and beats the Chechztku with his front paws. What? Nothing is visible anywhere. But do you know what a hare is? What do you think, was not mistaken zaichina! All sound traps ahead. Our signalmen only after three minutes found the enemy plane. But I already managed to give the command in advance. Prepared, in general, for the deadline. From that day we already know: if Zai-Zaich has instructed his ear, he beats the tap, - watch the sky.

I glanced at Zai-Zaich. Having pulled up a tail, he briskly jumped on his knees at Ponochevny, with an askance and with dignity, somehow not looking like a hare, looking around at the gunners standing around us. And I thought: “What kind of brave souls, probably, these people, even if the hare, having lived with them for a while, stopped being a coward!”
Author:
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Rohon
    Rohon 19 May 2014 06: 16
    +5
    Well, if the geese saved Rome ............ good
  2. Weniamin
    Weniamin 19 May 2014 06: 18
    +8
    Everything gets used to everything and adapts. Since all living things want to live.
  3. Dragon-y
    Dragon-y 19 May 2014 06: 36
    +3
    Do the people's militia of the East have hares (rabbits)?
    (Although, did the aircraft fly there or stopped already? ..)
  4. individual
    individual 19 May 2014 07: 26
    +3
    surprisingly love sure:
    There is a war, and the commander of an artillery battery sits on his lap ... A hare!
  5. Hort
    Hort 21 May 2014 14: 38
    +1
    in childhood I read like
    1. inkass_98
      inkass_98 22 May 2014 16: 12
      +1
      Quote: hort
      in childhood I read like

      To be a classic, Cassil is mostly a children's writer, however ...
  6. Russian jacket
    Russian jacket 25 May 2014 16: 57
    0
    Good tales, however ... good
  7. Stalker
    Stalker 28 May 2014 17: 47
    0
    There were many cases when a soldier in a war relied on the hearing and intuition of our smaller brothers !! Dogs trained not counted (No offense) ...
  8. vanyux04
    vanyux04 5 July 2014 09: 11
    0
    Animals have always helped people.
  9. vanyux04
    vanyux04 5 July 2014 09: 12
    +1
    In our military unit, the cat was a badger. So he lifted our spirits in the Chechen war!
  10. xAriy
    xAriy 18 November 2014 13: 50
    0
    Good tale :-)
  11. Hedgehog in sour cream
    Hedgehog in sour cream April 15 2015 09: 55
    0
    Either cat with parts, or hares. Rubric "Small animals in the service of the Motherland")

Батарейный заяц

Батарейный заяц


Далеко на севере, на самом краю нашей земли, у холодного Баренцева моря, стояла всю войну батарея знаменитого командира Поночевного. Тяжелые пушки укрылись в скалах на берегу – и ни один немецкий корабль не мог безнаказанно пройти мимо нашей морской заставы.

Не раз пробовали немцы захватить эту батарею. Но артиллеристы Поночевного и близко к себе врага не подпускали. Хотели немцы уничтожить заставу – тысячи снарядов посылали из дальнобойных орудий. Устояли наши артиллеристы и сами таким огнем ответили врагу, что вскоре замолчали немецкие пушки – разбили их меткие снаряды Поночевного. Видят немцы: с моря не взять Поночевного, с суши не разбить. Решили ударить с воздуха. День за днем посылали немцы воздушных разведчиков. Коршунами кружились они над скалами, высматривая, где спрятались пушки Поночевного. А потом налетали большие бомбардировщики, швыряли с неба на батарею огромные бомбы.


Если взять все пушки Поночевного и взвесить их, а потом подсчитать, сколько бомб и снарядов обрушили немцы на этот клочок земли, то выйдет, что вся батарея весила раз в десять меньше, чем страшный груз, сброшенный на на нее врагом…

Я бывал в те дни на батарее Поночевного. Весь берег там был разворочен бомбами. Чтоб пробраться к скалам, где стояли пушки, пришлось перелезать через большие ямы-воронки. Некоторые из этих ям были так просторны и глубоки, что в каждой из них уместился бы хороший цирк с ареной и местами для зрителей.

С моря дул холодный ветер. Он разогнал туман, и я рассмотрел на дне огромных воронок маленькие круглые озера. У воды сидели на корточках батарейцы Поночевного и мирно стирали свои полосатые тельняшки. Все они недавно были моряками и нежно берегли матросские тельняшки, которые им остались на память о флотской службе.

Меня познакомили с Поночевным. Веселый, немножко курносый, с хитрыми глазами, смотревшими из-под козырька морской фуражки. Только мы разговорились, как сигнальщик на скале закричал:

– Воздух!

– Есть! Завтрак подан. Сегодня завтрак дадут горячий. Укрывайтесь! – проговорил Поночевный, оглядывая небо.

Небо загудело над нами. Двадцать четыре «Юнкерса» и несколько маленьких «Мессершмиттов» летели прямо на батарею. За скалами громко, торопясь, застучали наши зенитки. Потом тонко заверещал воздух. Мы не успели добраться до укрытия – земля охнула, высокая скала недалеко от нас раскололась, и камни завизжали над нашими головами. Твердый воздух ушиб меня и повалил на землю. Я залез под нависшую скалу и прижался к камню. Я чувствовал, как ходит подо мной каменный берег.

Грубый ветер взрывов толкался мне в уши и волок из-под скалы. Цепляясь за землю, я что есть силы зажмурил глаза.

От одного сильного и близкого взрыва глаза у меня сами раскрылись, как раскрываются окна в доме при землетрясении. Я уж было собрался опять зажмуриться, как вдруг увидел, что справа от меня, совсем близко, в тени под большим камнем, шевелится что-то белое, маленькое, продолговатое. И при каждом ударе бомбы это маленькое, белое, продолговатое смешно дрыгалось и снова замирало. Меня так разобрало любопытство, что я уже не думал об опасности, не слышал взрывов. Мне только хотелось узнать, что за странная штука дрыгается там под камнем. Я подобрался ближе, заглянул под камень и рассмотрел белый заячий хвостишко. Я подивился: откуда он здесь? Мне известно было, что зайцы тут не водятся.

Грохнул близкий разрыв, хвостишко судорожно задергался, а я поглубже втиснулся в расщелину скалы. Я очень сочувствовал хвостику. Самого зайца мне не было видно. Но я догадывался, что бедняге тоже не по себе, как и мне.

Раздался сигнал отбоя. И тотчас я увидел, как из-под камня медленно, задом выбирается крупный заяц-русак. Он вылез, поставил торчком одно ухо, затем поднял другое, прислушался. Потом заяц вдруг сухо, дробно, коротко пробил лапами по земле, словно сыграл отбой на барабане, и запрыгал к батарее, сердито прядая ушами.

Батарейцы собрались около командира. Сообщали результаты зенитного огня. Оказывается, пока я там изучал зайкин хвост, зенитчики сбили два немецких бомбардировщика. Оба упали в море. А еще два самолета задымили и сразу повернули домой. У нас на батарее бомбами повредило одно орудие и осколком легко ранило двух бойцов. И тут я опять увидел косого. Заяц, часто подергивая кончиком своего горбатого носа, обнюхал камни, потом заглянул в капонир, где укрывалось тяжелое орудие, присел столбиком, сложив на животике передние лапы, осмотрелся и, словно заметив нас, прямехонько направился к Поночевному. Командир сидел на камне. Заяц подскочил к нему, забрался на колени, уперся передними лапками в грудь Поночевного, дотянулся и стал усатой мордочкой тереться о подбородок командира. А командир обеими руками гладил его уши, прижатые к спинке, пропускал их через ладони… Никогда в жизни не видел я, чтоб заяц держался так вольно с человеком. Случалось встречать мне совсем ручных заек, но стоило коснуться ладонью их спины, и они замирали от ужаса, припадая к земле. А этот держался с командиром запанибрата.

– Ах ты, Зай-Заич! – говорил Поночевный, внимательно осматривая своего приятеля. – Ах ты, нахальный зверюга… не покорябало тебя? Не знакомы с нашим Зай-Заичем? – спросил он меня. – Это мне подарочек разведчики с Большой земли привезли. Паршивенький был, малокровный такой с виду, а у нас отъелся. И привык ко мне, зайчина, прямо ходу не дает. Так и бегает за мной. Куда я – туда и он. Обстановка у нас, конечно, для заячьей натуры не очень подходящая. Сами могли убедиться – шумно живем. Ну, ничего, наш Зай-Заич теперь уже малый обстрелянный. Даже ранение имел, сквозное.

Поночевный взял осторожно левое ухо зайца, расправил его, и я увидел зарубцевавшуюся дырочку в лоснящейся плюшевой, розоватой изнутри кожице.

– Осколочком прошибло. Ничего. Теперь зато в совершенстве изучил правила ПВО. Чуть налетят – он уже мигом где-нибудь укроется. А один раз вышло, так без Зай-Заича была бы нам полная труба. Честное слово! Долбили нас часов тридцать кряду. День полярный, солнце на вахте круглые сутки бессменно торчит, ну вот немцы и пользовались. Как это в опере поется: «Ни сна, ни отдыха измученной душе». Так вот, стало быть, отбомбили они наконец, ушли. Небо в тучах, но видимость приличная. Огляделись мы: ничего как будто не предвидится. Решили отдохнуть. Сигнальщики наши тоже притомились, ну и проморгали. Только смотрим: Зай-Заич тревожится что-то. Уши наставил и передними лапами чечзтку бьет. Что такое? Нигде ничего не видно. Но знаете, какой у зайца слух? Что же вы думаете, не ошибся зайчина! Все звукоуловители опередил. Сигнальщики наши только через три минуты обнаружили самолет противника. Но я уже успел на всякий случай команду дать заранее. Приготовились, в общем, к сроку. С того дня уже знаем: если Зай-Заич ухо наставил, чечетку бьет, – следи за небом.

Я поглядел на Зай-Заича. Задрав хвостишко, он резво прыгал на коленях у Поночевного, искоса и с достоинством, как-то совсем не по-заячьи, озирал стоявших вокруг нас артиллеристов. И я подумал: «Какие же смельчаки, наверное, эти люди, если даже заяц, немного пожив с ними, сам перестал быть трусом!»
Автор: Лев Кассиль


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 9
  1. Рохон 19 мая 2014 06:16
    Ну уж если гуси спасли Рим............ good
  2. Weniamin 19 мая 2014 06:18
    Всё ко всему привыкает и приспосабливается. Так как всё живое хочет жить.
  3. Dragon-y 19 мая 2014 06:36
    У народного ополчения Востока зайцы (кролики) есть?
    (Хотя, авиация там летает или перестала уже?..)
  4. individ 19 мая 2014 07:26
    Удивительно love конечно:
    Идет война, а у командира артиллерийской батареи на коленях сидит...Заяц!
  5. Хорт 21 мая 2014 14:38
    в детстве читал вроде
    1. inkass_98 22 мая 2014 16:12
      Цитата: Хорт
      в детстве читал вроде

      Дак ить классика, Кассиль в основном детский писатель,однако...
  6. Русский ватник 25 мая 2014 16:57
    Хорошие сказки, однако... good
  7. Сталкер 28 мая 2014 17:47
    Много было случаев когда солдат на войне полагался на слух и интуицию братьев наших меньших !! Собачки выдрессированные не в счёт ( Без обиды ) ...
    Сталкер
  8. vanyux04 5 июля 2014 09:11
    Животные всегда помогали людям.
    vanyux04
  9. vanyux04 5 июля 2014 09:12
    У нас в воинской части кот был барсик. Так он нам в чеченскую войну дух поднимал!
    vanyux04
  10. xAriy 18 ноября 2014 13:50
    Хороший рассказик:-)
  11. Ёжик в сметане 15 апреля 2015 09:55
    То котейки при частях, то зайцы. Рубрика "Мелкая живность на службе Родины")
    Ёжик в сметане

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня