Strait for two. Long-term border dispute between Russia and Ukraine resolved

Strait for two. Long-term border dispute between Russia and Ukraine resolvedRussia and Ukraine have achieved a “qualitative breakthrough” on the problem of the Kerch Strait. This was stated by the head of the Russian Foreign Ministry Sergei Lavrov, who promised that in the near future the parties will officially announce the agreement. It is possible that Moscow and Kiev have agreed on the option of equal access to the strait without infringing on each other’s interests.

Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov announced the achievement of a "qualitative breakthrough" between Moscow and Kiev on the issue of the Kerch Strait. “A qualitative breakthrough has been achieved, there are no problems along the Kerch Strait,” Lavrov said in an interview with Ekho Moskvy radio station.


At the same time, the minister did not disclose the details of a “breakthrough”, describing the achievement of a “fundamental understanding” on the problem, and promised that in the near future “an agreement would be reached that covers all three components of this problem in a comprehensive context: the Kerch Strait, the Sea of ​​Azov , Black Sea". Lavrov stressed that the settlement of the issue "can only be complex." “And we need to understand how the already reached agreement along the Kerch Strait itself will be reflected in the line that should go in the Sea of ​​Azov and in the Black Sea. But this is, I repeat, a minor thing, ”he added.

According to Lavrov, "The Kerch Strait is a vital artery for both Russia and Ukraine." “This is access to the Sea of ​​Azov. In the context of geopolitical reasoning and movements that are associated with hydrocarbons, with the transit and other potential of this important region, the Sea of ​​Azov, its legal regime, of course, matter, ”the minister said.

The fact that the disputes around the Kerch Strait, which had lasted after Ukraine’s independence, moved off dead center, http://www.vz.ru/politics/2010/9/17/433326.html became known in September last year, when Kiev proposed using strait on equal terms. Before that, Ukraine insisted that the dividing line should run along the old Soviet administrative border - between the Crimean region of the Ukrainian SSR and the Krasnodar Territory of the RSFSR. In 1999, Kiev unilaterally established the so-called state border protection line in the strait.

In Moscow, it was recalled that the USSR had never drawn water borders between the republics and the distinction indicated by Kiev — formally, only a division of areas of responsibility. According to the Ukrainian version, the border should have passed near the Russian coast itself, so that most of the strait would turn out to be Ukrainian. Accordingly, the ships passing through the strait would have to pay Kiev for being in the territorial waters of Ukraine.

If the Kremlin agreed to this option, Ukraine would have moved the island of Tuzla and the shipping canals, and Russia would have lost its own exit from Azov to the Black Sea.

Tuzla Island is located closer to the Russian coast of the Kerch Strait, and the shallow water space between it and the coast is unsuitable for navigation. Once it was a scythe, which began from the current Russian coast, but later the sea current cut it off from the mainland, turning it into an island. With the transfer of Crimea to Ukraine in 1954, the island became part of the Crimean region. The attempt by the authorities of the Krasnodar Territory in the autumn of 2003 in the year to artificially restore the sand dam to the island aroused Kiev's anger. Ukrainian border guards landed on Tuzla. At the end of October 2003, Presidents Vladimir Putin and Leonid Kuchma agreed to stop building the dam, which remained until the connection with the island 230 meters, and agreed to use the Kerch Strait together.

The topic came alive under President Viktor Yushchenko, who said that for the passage of Russian ships, Ukraine should take a multimillion dollar fee. Moscow proceeds from the provisions of the Agreement on Cooperation in the Use of the Sea of ​​Azov and the Kerch Strait from 2003, according to which the water area is historically considered to be the internal waters of Russia and Ukraine. Therefore, Russia is in favor of sharing the Kerch Strait.

In September 2010, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine Konstantin Gryshchenko made it clear that only a political decision remains to resolve the dispute. According to him, if the Kerch Strait will be operated on a parity basis, the passage of any foreign military and special courts will be possible only with the consent of both parties. Russian observers have noted that equal use of the Kerch Strait is a viable option. State Duma deputy from United Russia, Sergei Markov, indicated that additional consultations would require only the issue of passing Russian warships through the strait, since "Russia needs more freedom in the operation of its Armed Forces."

As Sergey Tolstov, director of the Ukrainian Institute for Political Analysis and International Studies, told the VZGLYAD newspaper, Ukraine’s new position consists of two points: recognition of the border and establishment of a regime for using the Kerch Canal as the inland waters of two states that are shared with equal rights of partners.
Author:
Andrew Rezchikov
Originator:
http://www.vz.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Пролив на двоих. Разрешен многолетний приграничный спор между Россией и Украиной

Пролив на двоих. Разрешен многолетний приграничный спор между Россией и УкраинойРоссия и Украина достигли «качественного прорыва» по проблеме Керченского пролива. Об этом заявил глава российского МИДа Сергей Лавров, который пообещал, что в ближайшее время стороны официально объявят о договоренности. Не исключено, что Москва и Киев согласовали вариант равного доступа к проливу без ущемления интересов друг друга.

Министр иностранных дел России Сергей Лавров заявил о достижении «качественного прорыва» между Москвой и Киевом по проблеме Керченского пролива. «Качественный прорыв достигнут, по Керченскому проливу проблем нет», – заявил Лавров в интервью радиостанции «Эхо Москвы».

При этом министр не раскрыл подробности «прорыва», рассказав о достижении «принципиального понимания» по проблеме, и пообещал, что в ближайшем будущем будет «объявлено о достижении договоренности, которая охватывает во всеобъемлющем контексте все три компонента этой проблемы: Керченский пролив, Азовское море, Черное море». Лавров подчеркнул, что урегулирование вопроса «может быть только комплексным». «И мы должны понять, как уже достигнутое согласие по, собственно, Керченскому проливу будет отражаться на той линии, которая должна пройти в Азовском море и в Черном море. Но это уже, повторяю, второстепенная вещь», – добавил он.


По словам Лаврова, «Керченский пролив – жизненно важная артерия и для России, и для Украины». «Это выход в Азовское море. В контексте геополитических рассуждений и телодвижений, которые связаны с углеводородами, с транзитным и иным потенциалом этого важнейшего региона, Азовское море, его режим правовой, конечно же, имеют значение», – указал министр.

О том, что длившиеся после приобретения Украиной независимости споры вокруг Керченского пролива сдвинулись с мертвой точки, http://www.vz.ru/politics/2010/9/17/433326.html стало известно в сентябре прошлого года, когда Киев предложил использовать пролив на равных. До того Украина настаивала, что линия раздела должна проходить по старой советской административной границе – между Крымской областью УССР и Краснодарским краем РСФСР. В 1999 году Киев в одностороннем порядке установил в проливе так называемую линию охраны госграницы.

В Москве же напоминали, что в СССР никогда не проводилось водных границ между республиками и указываемое Киевом разграничение – это формально лишь раздел зон ответственности. По украинской версии, граница должна была пройти возле самого российского берега, так что большая часть пролива оказывалась бы украинской. Соответственно, и проходившие через пролив суда должны были бы платить Киеву за нахождение в территориальных водах Украины.

Если бы Кремль согласился на такой вариант, то Украине отошли бы остров Тузла и судоходные каналы, а Россия лишилась бы собственного выхода из Азова в Черное море.

Остров Тузла находится ближе к российскому берегу Керченского пролива, и мелководное пространство между ним и берегом для судоходства непригодно. Когда-то он был косой, которая начиналась от нынешнего российского берега, но позднее морское течение отрезало ее от большой земли, превратив в остров. При передаче Крыма Украине в 1954 году остров стал частью Крымской области. Предпринятая осенью 2003 года властями Краснодарского края попытка искусственно восстановить до острова песчаную дамбу вызвала гнев Киева. На Тузле высадились украинские пограничники. В конце октября 2003 года президенты Владимир Путин и Леонид Кучма договорились прекратить строить дамбу, которой оставалось до соединения с островом 230 метров, и условились вместе использовать Керченский пролив.

Тема ожила при президенте Викторе Ющенко, который говорил, что за проход российских судов Украина должна брать многомиллионную плату. В Москве исходят из положения Договора о сотрудничестве в использовании Азовского моря и Керченского пролива от 2003 года, согласно которому акватория исторически считается внутренними водами России и Украины. Поэтому Россия выступает за совместное использование Керченского пролива.

В сентябре 2010 года министр иностранных дел Украины Константин Грищенко дал понять, что для разрешения спора остается только политическое решение. По его словам, если Керченский пролив станет эксплуатироваться на паритетных основах, то проход любых иностранных военных и специальных судов будет возможен только с согласия обеих сторон. Российские наблюдатели отмечали, что равное пользование Керченским проливом – вполне жизнеспособный вариант. Депутат Госдумы от «Единой России» Сергей Марков указывал, что дополнительных консультаций потребует лишь вопрос прохождения через пролив российских военных кораблей, так как «России нужно больше свободы в действии ее Вооруженных сил».

Как говорил газете ВЗГЛЯД директор украинского Института политического анализа и международных исследований Сергей Толстов, новая позиция Украины состоит из двух пунктов: признания границы и установления режима использования Керченского канала как внутренних вод двух государств, находящихся в совместном использовании при равенстве прав партнеров.
Автор: Андрей Резчиков
Первоисточник: http://www.vz.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня