The United States decided not to sell the state-of-the-art fighter aircraft to China



Washington rejected Taipei’s request to ship X-NUMX F-66 C / D fighters to Taiwan. As an alternative to the island nation, it was proposed to be content with American assistance in modernizing the military airplanes already available to the Taiwanese air force. Observers believe that China had a hand in disrupting the deal.


The US refused to sell X-NUMX F-66 C / D fighters to Taiwan. Washington voiced its decision to Taipei a few days ago during a meeting of representatives of the defense departments of the two states.

"We are very disappointed in the United States," the Defense News quoted the words of the representative of the Taiwanese Ministry of Defense.

As an alternative, the United States offered Taiwan assistance in upgrading the already existing 146 island fighter aircraft of the outdated model F16A / B.

In particular, the Pentagon expressed its readiness to supply the Taiwanese Air Force with an electronic AESA radar. A decision on this proposal is expected to be announced by Taipei by the end of August.

Taiwan, with 2007, asked the US to make a deal and replenish its armed forces with new fighters, explaining this need by the growth of China’s military power. The size of the contract in those days was supposed to be about 5 billion dollars.

A preliminary deal was reached in October 2008 during the administration of George W. Bush.

In response, the PRC, which has repeatedly criticized the United States for trying to arm Taiwan, which China considers its own province, interrupted the dialogue on defense issues with Washington until February 2009.

Late last year, Taiwan once again became a stumbling block in US-China relations after the US announced a deal to sell the island weapons total cost 6,4 billion dollars.

It was about supplying Taipei 60 Black Hawk helicopters worth 3,1 billion dollars, 114 improved Patriot air defense missiles, two ships to neutralize sea mines, as well as a dozen modern communication systems.

“The US grossly interferes in China’s foreign policy, putting the country's national security at serious risk. China is resolutely indignant, ”responded to the news in the Chinese Foreign Ministry.

The US State Department, on the contrary, said that the deal would guarantee the security and stability of Taiwan. "This is a clear demonstration of the intentions of the current administration to provide defensive weapons to Taiwan," said a spokesman for the agency, Philip Crowley, adding that such actions are consistent with US-China relations and maintain stability in the region.

Experts, commenting on the last decision of Washington, expressed confidence that China could still put pressure on the United States. In particular, the head of the Center for Military Forecasting of the Institute for Political and Military Analysis, Anatoly Tsyganok, recalled that earlier China had already threatened to withdraw money from the US economy. “China is the main buyer of American products on the world market. Therefore, China and the pressure on the United States. Americans in this situation have no choice: they will no longer support Taiwan, as before, ”Tsyganok told the LOOK newspaper.


The expert also added that this decision fits into the general policy of Washington to reduce the cost of the military-industrial complex by 10%.
Author:
Olga Gritsenko
Originator:
http://www.vz.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

США передумали продавать не признаваемому Китаем государству новейшие истребители



Вашингтон отклонил просьбу Тайбэя о поставке в Тайвань 66 истребителей F-16 модификации C/D. В качестве альтернативы островному государству было предложено довольствоваться американской помощью в модернизации уже имеющихся у тайваньских ВВС военных бортов. Наблюдатели считают, что к срыву сделки приложил руку Китай.


США отказались продавать Тайваню 66 истребителей F-16 C/D. Свое решение Вашингтон озвучил Тайбэю несколько дней назад во время встречи представителей оборонных ведомств двух государств.

«Мы очень разочарованы в США», – цитирует Defence News слова представителя тайваньского министерства обороны.

В качестве альтернативы США предложили Тайваню помощь в модернизации уже имеющихся в распоряжении острова 146 истребителей устаревшей модели F16A/B.

В частности, Пентагон выразил готовность поставить тайваньским ВВС электронный радар AESA. Решение по этому предложению, как ожидается, будет озвучено Тайбэем до конца августа.

Тайвань с 2007 года просил США пойти на сделку и пополнить его вооруженные силы новыми истребителями, объясняя эту необходимость ростом военной мощи Китая. Размер контракта по тем временам должен был составить около 5 млрд долларов.

Предварительная договоренность о сделке была достигнута в октябре 2008 года при администрации Джорджа Буша-младшего.

В ответ КНР, неоднократно критиковавшая США за попытки вооружить Тайвань, который Китай считает собственной провинцией, до февраля 2009 года прервала диалог по оборонным вопросам с Вашингтоном.

В конце прошлого года Тайвань вновь стал камнем преткновения в американо-китайских отношениях после того, как США объявили о заключении сделки о продаже острову оружия общей стоимостью 6,4 млрд долларов.

Речь шла о поставке Тайбэю 60 вертолетов Black Hawk стоимостью 3,1 млрд долларов, 114 усовершенствованных ракет противовоздушной обороны Patriot, двух кораблей по обезвреживанию морских мин, а также десятка современных коммуникационных систем.

«США грубо вмешиваются во внешнюю политику Китая, ставя под серьезную угрозу национальную безопасность страны. Китай выражает решительное негодование», – отреагировали на известие в МИД КНР.

В госдепартаменте США, напротив, заявили, что сделка будет гарантировать безопасность и стабильность Тайваня. «Это четкая демонстрация намерений нынешней администрации предоставить Тайваню оборонительные вооружения», – заявил представитель ведомства Филип Кроули, добавив, что такие действия согласуются с американо-китайскими отношениями и поддерживают стабильность в регионе.

Эксперты, комментируя последнее решение Вашингтона, выразили уверенность, что Китай все-таки смог надавить на США. В частности, руководитель Центра военного прогнозирования Института политического и военного анализа Анатолий Цыганок напомнил о том, что ранее Китай уже пригрозил изъять денежные средства из экономики США. «КНР является основным покупателем американской продукции на мировом рынке. Поэтому Китай и давит на США. У американцев в такой ситуации не остается выбора: они больше не будут поддерживать Тайвань, как раньше», – заявил Цыганок газете ВЗГЛЯД.


Эксперт также добавил, что это решение укладывается в общую политику Вашингтона по сокращению расходов на ВПК на 10%.
Автор:
Ольга Гриценко
Первоисточник:
http://www.vz.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти