US intelligence keeps al Qaeda ready

US intelligence keeps al Qaeda ready



The United States failed to neutralize the activities of the Al Qaeda terrorist group. This was admitted at the closed hearings of the intelligence committees of Congress and the United States Senate CIA head David Petraeus. According to him, Al-Qaida and related organizations are active in Afghanistan, Pakistan, Yemen, Somalia, Nigeria and several countries in Southeast Asia. Moreover, among the terrorists, there are more and more holders of European and American passports, allowing them to easily cross the borders of the United States and the Schengen zone.

The speech of David Petraeus in closed congressional hearings was the first report to the legislators of the new CIA head. According to the general, over the past ten years, the United States has failed to achieve notable success in the fight against international extremist groups. CIA analysts say that in recent years, Islamic terrorist groups have been actively recruiting new members, and in al-Qaeda training camps there are more and more people who have grown up in the West. “They not only use real passports of the United States and European countries, but also perfectly orientate themselves on the territory of these states,” warned David Petraeus.

According to CIA estimates, the Al-Qaeda organization of the Arabian Peninsula, which is based in Yemen and has a significant influence there, poses the greatest danger. True, as the lawmakers told the general, in the near future, the "terrorist center" may move to the southern provinces of Somalia, where the Al-Shabab group operates. “There are well-established connections between these groups, but at the same time, each of them has its own management structures, sources of funding and basically operates independently,” the head of the CIA explained.

Nevertheless, according to the general, the secret services managed to “almost completely remove from the game” the group of “Jemaa Islamia”, which operated in Southeast Asia and in 2002 and 2005 organized a series of terrorist attacks on the island of Bali. Almost all the leaders of this organization over the years have been destroyed, so that "now they are no longer busy preparing new shares, but restoring their ranks."

The general is confident that the successful operation of the American special forces in Abbottabad, which killed the number one terrorist Osama bin Laden, as well as the destruction of his two deputies and the recent arrest in Pakistan of the leader of one of the units of the group Yunis al-Mauritani seriously undermined the position of the most famous terrorist organization in the world. "They no longer feel safe in the mountainous areas on the border with Afghanistan," said Mr. Petraeus. However, according to the CIA, al-Qaida continues to pose a threat to US national security.

The director of national intelligence, James Clapper, assured the congressmen that he would do everything to ensure that the planned reduction in the budget of the intelligence services did not affect the effectiveness of their actions. “I don’t want you to get the wrong impression that after spending cuts we will keep all the previous possibilities,” he said. “We’ll have to abandon some programs, but I must say that the intelligence officer’s job also includes the ability to correctly prioritize. "

On September 10, the House of Representatives approved a bill to finance the activities of the US special services 16, united in the national intelligence service. By tradition, the exact amount of expenses, as well as the amount of the proposed reductions, are not disclosed. Nevertheless, last fall, US intelligence agencies declassified their 2010 funding data for the year. Then more than $ 80 billion were allocated for their activities.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. AleksUkr 15 September 2011 16: 45 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    And who would doubt it. The CIA has raised terrorists, but they have long grown out of short pants and are now threatening their parents. But the CIA probably read Taras Bulba and especially the conversation between Taras and his son Andrei. Very instructive. So they decided to follow the path of Taras ...
    1. Vadivak 15 September 2011 22: 53 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      There is no impudence, Al Qaeda was launched into Libya, along with NATO Colonel is strangled and special services are being financed to combat it, well, it’s just amazing how unprincipled
  2. Denis 15 September 2011 18: 20 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Pindos what fought for it and ran
  3. Ivan35
    Ivan35 15 September 2011 18: 53 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Al Qaeda is a myth invented by pendosy for its propaganda purposes.
  4. figwam 15 September 2011 19: 34 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Wow, they created a group of terrorists with taxpayers 'money, they fight with Al-Qaeda for the same money, and then they try to allegedly fight them and again for taxpayers' money.
  5. APASUS 15 September 2011 21: 08 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Nothing changes in US foreign policy. The country can be conquered, and if it cannot be conquered, it can be deceived !!!!
  6. APASUS 15 September 2011 21: 17 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    I watched the report, where some wise men dug up that Osama was lying in the US Navy hospital in Oman! But I don’t understand, why the heck is this show with a seizure, although if you look at the further death of the special forces, a logical chain is emerging!
  7. Gosta
    Gosta 16 September 2011 00: 11 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    It seems to me September 11, 2001. taught them nothing ....
  8. Gosta
    Gosta 16 September 2011 00: 13 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Of course, if it was as the media told smile

Американская разведка держит "Аль-Каиду" наготове

Американская разведка держит "Аль-Каиду" наготове


США не удалось нейтрализовать деятельность террористической группировки "Аль-Каида". Это признал на закрытых слушаниях комитетов по разведке Конгресса и Сената США глава ЦРУ Дэвид Петреус. По его словам, боевики "Аль-Каиды" и связанных с ней организаций действуют в Афганистане, Пакистане, Йемене, Сомали, Нигерии и нескольких странах Юго-Восточной Азии. При этом среди террористов появляется все больше обладателей европейских и американских паспортов, позволяющих им без проблем пересекать границы США и шенгенской зоны.

Выступление Дэвида Петреуса на закрытых слушаниях в конгрессе стало первым отчетом перед законодателями нового главы ЦРУ. По словам генерала, за прошедшие десять лет США так и не удалось добиться заметных успехов в борьбе с международными экстремистскими группировками. Аналитики ЦРУ отмечают, что в последние годы исламские террористические группировки активно занимались вербовкой новых членов, а в тренировочных лагерях "Аль-Каиды" все чаще появляются люди, выросшие на Западе. "Они не только используют настоящие паспорта США и европейских стран, но и прекрасно ориентируются на территории этих государств",— предупредил Дэвид Петреус.


По оценкам ЦРУ, наибольшую опасность представляет организация ""Аль-Каида" арабского полуострова", базирующаяся в Йемене и пользующаяся там заметным влиянием. Правда, как сообщил законодателям генерал, уже в ближайшее время "террористический центр" может переместиться в южные провинции Сомали, где действует группировка "Аль-Шабаб". "Между этими группами существуют хорошо отлаженные связи, но в то же время каждая из них располагает собственными структурами управления, источниками финансирования и в основном действует автономно",— пояснил глава ЦРУ.

Тем не менее, по словам генерала, спецслужбам удалось "почти полностью вывести из игры" группу "Джемаа исламийя", действовавшую в Юго-Восточной Азии и в 2002 и 2005 годах организовавшую серию терактов на острове Бали. Почти все лидеры этой организации за прошедшие годы были уничтожены, так что "сейчас они больше заняты не подготовкой новых акций, а восстановлением своих рядов".

Генерал уверен, что успешная операция американского спецназа в Абботтабаде, в результате которой был убит террорист номер один Осама бен Ладен, а также уничтожение двух его заместителей и недавний арест в Пакистане лидера одного из подразделений группировки Юниса аль-Мауритани серьезно подорвали позиции самой известной террористической организации в мире. "Они больше не чувствуют себя в безопасности в горных районах на границе с Афганистаном",— подчеркнул господин Петреус. Тем не менее, по оценке ЦРУ, "Аль-Каида" по-прежнему представляет угрозу национальной безопасности США.

Директор национальной разведки Джеймс Клаппер заверил конгрессменов, что сделает все для того, чтобы планируемое сокращение бюджета разведслужб не отразилось на эффективности их действий. "Я не хочу, чтобы у вас создалось ошибочное впечатление, что и после урезания расходов мы сохраним все прежние возможности,— заметил он.— Нам придется отказаться от некоторых программ, но должен сказать, что работа разведчика заключается в том числе и в умении правильно определить приоритеты".

10 сентября палата представителей Конгресса утвердила законопроект о финансировании деятельности 16 спецслужб США, объединенных в службу национальной разведки. По традиции, точные суммы расходов, как и объем предполагаемых сокращений, не раскрываются. Тем не менее прошлой осенью спецслужбы США рассекретили данные о своем финансировании за 2010 год. Тогда на их деятельность было выделено более $80 млрд.
Первоисточник: http://www.kommersant.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 8
  1. AleksUkr 15 сентября 2011 16:45
    А кто бы сомневался.ЦРУ взрастила террористов, но они давно выросли из коротких штанишек и теперь уже угрожают своим родителям. Но ЦРУ вероятно читали Тараса Бульбу и особенно разговор Тараса и его сына Андрея.Поучительно очень. Вот они и решились пойти по пути Тараса ...
    1. Vadivak 15 сентября 2011 22:53
      Наглы меры нет, в Ливию запустили Аль-Каиду, вместе с нато Полковника душить и тут же финансируют спец службы для борьбы с ней, ну просто диву даешься их беспринципности
  2. Денис 15 сентября 2011 18:20
    пиндосы за что боролись на то и напоролись
  3. Иван35 15 сентября 2011 18:53
    Аль Каида миф выдуманный пендосами для своих пропагандистких целей
    Иван35
  4. фигвам 15 сентября 2011 19:34
    Здорово,создали группу террористов на деньги налогоплательщиков,вместе с Аль-Каидой воюют на те же деньги, а потом пытаются якобы бороться с ними и опять за деньги налогоплательщиков.
  5. APASUS 15 сентября 2011 21:08
    Не чего не меняется во внешней политике США .Страну можно завоевать ,а если её нельзя завоевать, её можно обмануть!!!!
  6. APASUS 15 сентября 2011 21:17
    Смотрел репортаж,где какие то умники откопали ,что Осама лежал в госпитале ВМС США в Омане! Вот только я не пойму ,нахрена это шоу с захватом,хотя если просмотреть на дальнейшую гибель бойцов спецназа ,то вырисовывается логическая цепочка!
  7. Gosta 16 сентября 2011 00:11
    Мне кажется 11 сентября 2001г. их ничему не научила....
    Gosta
  8. Gosta 16 сентября 2011 00:13
    конечно если было так как СМИ рассказали smile
    Gosta

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня