Military Review

Libyan plane headed for Armenia

1
Libyan plane headed for ArmeniaScandalous armory the deal was not without intermediaries.
Moldovan Minister of Defense Vitaly Marinuta has to answer not only for herself.


On Wednesday, closed hearings were held in the Moldovan Parliament on the Libyan aircraft that arrived in Chisinau from Benghazi on September 12 and flew away with a cargo of weapons in an unknown direction. Defense Minister Vitaly Marinutsa admitted that “ammunition, shells and military equipment” from Moldovan arsenals were sold to Armenia. The expert of the Geneva Center for Democratic Control of Armed Forces, Viorel Cibotaru, this fact was confirmed by NG, noting that the scandalous deal did not go without intermediaries.

According to Viorel Cibotaru, “the equipment sold was overdue, and it is on the list, which was approved by the parliament under President Vladimir Voronin, somewhere in 2004 year”.

The list included what could later be “alienated by the Ministry of Defense”. Or easier - sold. The expert claims that the “last user”, that is, the same secret buyer, because of which the fuss was burnt out, is Armenia. It was to this country that, according to Chibotaru, it was established that the very ammunition and guns with which the storage period had expired were delivered. And also, according to the press secretary of the Moldovan Ministry of Defense, Alexander Josan, overdue “artillery and anti-tank systems”. What can you really believe in stories It’s not easy to figure out a ghost plane from Benghazi: all officials directly related to it are confused in the “testimony”, besides blaming each other.

Although, according to Viorel Cibotaru, the deal seems to be legitimate, “there is no embargo on the sale of arms of Armenia, as well as, incidentally, to Azerbaijan.” The only nuance, according to the expert, is that Baku may be offended. At a meeting of the parliament’s security commission, this was explained as follows: “There is a frozen territorial conflict in the CIS, and we would not want Moldova to be associated with a country that is selling or arming one of the parties involved in this conflict.” This was said by the former head of the Information and Security Service (NIB), a deputy from the Communist faction, Arthur Reshetnikov, adding that even written-off "weapons have the ability to shoot." OMEGA agency retells Reshetnikov: it is possible that the arms sold by Moldova may be intended for one of the parties to the frozen conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan. It is clear what was meant by Nagorno-Karabakh.

Recall, September 12 cargo aircraft IL-76, en route from Libya, landed at the Chisinau airport. After refueling, he flew to a military airfield in Marculesti, where, as reported by the Ministry of Defense, he had to take a load of military equipment, which was owned by the national army, “acquired by some Latvian company registered in Riga.” After loading, the plane took off from Marculesti in the afternoon of September 13.

The Latvian Foreign Ministry denied that one of the Latvian firms received military cargo from Moldova, and Yerevan reported that the plane was Armenian. There was a noise. And Moldovan Prime Minister Vladimir Filat told reporters that he learned about the ill-fated plane from the media. In response, the head of the Ministry of Defense said that he had not taken a single step without the knowledge of the authorities. He was supported by former colleagues.

According to the ex-Minister of Defense Valeriu Pasat, according to Moldovan laws, the Customs Service can miss military cargo only if there is an appropriate government decree. It is clear that without a Prime Minister such a document can not appear. “And the head of the Ministry of Defense, Vitaly Marinutsa, didn’t prevaricate when he claimed that he had acted with the consent of the authorities,” said Pasat. At one time, he also participated in the conclusion of a deal to sell MiGs to the Pentagon. Then he was tried for this - under the Communists, he spent more than two years in prison and was subsequently fully acquitted. But, Valery Pasat told NG, “now the ex-prime minister Ion Chubuk said at the court that it was he (the prime minister -“ NG ”) who gave the relevant instructions and offered to judge himself.”

Former Defense Minister Valery Pleshka also doubted the ignorance of the head of government: all arms sales are controlled. And the former director of the Information and Security Service, Arthur Reshetnikov, stated bluntly that Prime Minister Filat was aware that the Ministry of Defense plans to sell weapons, but he tried to hide this information. He said that the hearings on the Libyan aircraft will be continued in the framework of the parliamentary commission on national security, of which he is a member, and in the framework of the plenary sessions of the parliament.

In the government structures of Armenia, NG did not comment on the “possibility of purchasing a batch of weapons”. From the counter-question of a high-ranking official: “So what’s the big deal about this?” Suggests the conclusion that he indirectly confirmed the deal.

The head of the Yerevan Center for Globalization and Regional Cooperation Stepan Grigoryan told NG that he doesn’t see anything extraordinary if Armenia has purchased equipment, weapons or ammunition somewhere abroad. “Bought and bought is in the order of things. All over the world weapons are sold and bought. Armenia is a sovereign state, no sanctions have been imposed, and the republic has the right to increase its defense capability by legal means. Especially in the conditions of the arms race, organized by Azerbaijan, which three or four years ago stated that it would bring its military budget to the entire budget of Armenia, and now it is actively buying different types of weapons in Israel, Pakistan and other countries. ” Therefore, according to Grigorian, if the information on the procurement by Armenia of arms from Moldova turns out to be accurate, it will only mean that Armenia is trying to protect its security and preserve the balance of forces in the region. “But I am sure that it is much more reasonable to continue peace negotiations on the Nagorno-Karabakh problem, stop the militarization of the region and follow the commitments made under the CFE Treaty,” Grigoryan told NG.

Official sources in Azerbaijan so far refrain from commenting on the situation “until all the circumstances are clarified.” In particular, the Deputy Press Secretary of the Ministry of Defense of Azerbaijan, Teymur Abdullayev, told NG that he has no information for comment.

According to the independent political scientist, Azerbaijani MP Rasim Musabekov, “for Azerbaijan, whose territories, despite four UN Security Council resolutions, 18 have been occupied by the Armenian armed forces for years, the sale of weapons to GUAM and itself is experiencing GUAM from the outside of separatism, is an unpleasant fact. Chisinau has no direct obligations to Azerbaijan not to sell weapons to Armenia, and does not violate the prohibitions of international organizations. However, Moldova should be aware that this fact will not remain unnoticed in Baku. Important is the fact that, according to the media, it was about expired shells and missiles purchased at bargain prices. They buy it, if I may say so, good either for resale to the regimes under sanctions (in the case of Armenia, this is Iran or Syria), or if they intend to start hostilities soon, as they keep the expired projectiles and missiles at a loss because of the need subsequently spend on their disposal. In any case, this deal should raise questions for the international community. ”

Armenia, like Azerbaijan, is not a combat zone, Nagorno Karabakh is considered as such. Yerevan, like Baku, is not subject to any restrictions on the supply of weapons and military equipment. In addition, they are not under UN sanctions. Therefore, any claims about the sale of weapons to the Republic of Armenia are more emotional than legal. Although it should be noted that the Constitution of Armenia states that it is responsible for the security of Nagorno-Karabakh. And no one will give 100-percentage guarantees that the weapons purchased by Yerevan will not be in Stepanakert or on the border with Azerbaijan. Moreover, in the republic they do not hide that from time to time the Armenian servicemen serve in the land of Karabakh, but at the same time emphasize that they or their ancestors are natives of this mountainous region.

What weapons Moldova could deliver to Armenia is an open question. But, judging by the set, which is in its Armed Forces, it can be anti-tank systems, anti-aircraft and artillery installations, and other types of weapons. True, the Armenian military, and in Moscow there are quite a few retired generals with Armenian roots, argue that Yerevan never buys technologically sophisticated weapons systems from third countries, only from the manufacturer and with a strict guarantee of its serviceability and combat effectiveness. Therefore, neither the Igla MANPADS, nor the Fogot or Sturm ATGMs, which are in service with the Moldovan army, could buy them. The only exceptions are cartridges and ammunition for 152-mm and 122-mm howitzers. Their production in peacetime by small batches of Armenia is too expensive, it is easier and cheaper to buy abroad.

True, some of the generals said that Armenia was hardly the ultimate buyer. Just those who nod toward Yerevan are hiding behind them. Could, with the blessing of NATO and the United States, supply weapons to Syria to support and equip the opposition forces Assad. It would be more expensive for Moldovan officials to admit this. So they nod in the direction of Armenia. Another option: it is possible that through Moldova it sells surplus Soviet weapons and Romania. She joined NATO, she needs to change her weaponry to Western models, and Chisinau, as a transit point or as a cover, is quite comfortable with Bucharest.

One way or another, but the questions remain with Moldovan journalists. Artem Varenitsa, deputy editor of Kommersant Plus, noted “NG that several transport workers go up from the airport in Marculesti every day — where and what they carry is not known.

Baku
Originator:
http://www.ng.ru/
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vadivak
    Vadivak 26 September 2011 22: 10 New
    +2
    The fact that the PNS without Nato cannot trade weapons is understandable, but so that Yerevan is a transshipment base for the Syrian opposition?
    1. Volkhov
      Volkhov 27 September 2011 10: 44 New
      -1
      M - 46 guns for firing at Sirt.
    2. ARMYAN
      ARMYAN 5 July 2012 22: 17 New
      0
      ETO PROVACATION. The weapon was bought for the troops.
      Armenia supports the Assad regime.
      and the author does not have names, not surnames, only the name of the city

Ливийский самолет держал курс на Армению

Ливийский самолет держал курс на АрмениюСкандальная оружейная сделка не обошлась без посредников.
Министру обороны Молдавии Виталию Маринуце приходится отвечать не только за себя.

В среду в парламенте Молдавии состоялись закрытые слушания по поводу ливийского самолета, прилетевшего в Кишинев из Бенгази 12 сентября и улетевшего с грузом вооружений в неизвестном направлении. Министр обороны Виталий Маринуца признался, что «боеприпасы, снаряды и военная техника» из молдавских арсеналов проданы Армении. Эксперт Женевского центра по демократическому контролю за вооруженными силами Виорел Чиботару этот факт «НГ» подтвердил, заметив, что скандальная сделка не обошлась без посредников.

По словам Виорела Чиботару, «проданная техника была с просроченным сроком, и она значится в списке, который был утвержден парламентом еще при президенте Владимире Воронине, где-то в 2004 году».


В список было внесено то, что впоследствии «могло быть отчуждено Министерством обороны». Или проще – продано. Эксперт утверждает, что «последний пользователь», то есть тот самый законспирированный покупатель, из-за которого и разгорелся сыр-бор, – это Армения. Именно этой стране, что, по словам Чиботару, установлено, были поставлены те самые боеприпасы и орудия, у которых срок хранения истек. А также, если верить пресс-секретарю Минобороны Молдавии Александру Жосану, просроченные «артиллерийские и противотанковые системы». Чему на самом деле можно верить в истории с самолетом-призраком из Бенгази, разобраться непросто: все имеющие к ней непосредственное отношение официальные лица в «показаниях» путаются, к тому же валят вину друг на друга.

Хотя, по словам Виорела Чиботару, сделка вроде бы легитимная, «эмбарго на продажу вооружений Армении нет, так же как, впрочем, и Азербайджану». Единственный, по мнению эксперта, нюанс: Баку может обидеться. На заседании комиссии парламента по безопасности это объяснили так: «В СНГ существует замороженный территориальный конфликт, и нам бы не хотелось, чтобы Молдавия ассоциировалась со страной, которая продает или вооружает одну из сторон, втянутых в этот конфликт». Это сказал экс-глава Службы информации и безопасности (СИБ), депутат от фракции коммунистов Артур Решетников, добавив, что даже списанное «оружие имеет свойство стрелять». Агентство OMEGA пересказывает Решетникова: не исключено, что проданное Молдавией оружие может быть предназначено для одной из сторон замороженного конфликта между Арменией и Азербайджаном. Понятно, что имелся ввиду Нагорный Карабах.

Напомним, 12 сентября грузовой самолет Ил-76, следовавший из Ливии, совершил посадку в кишиневском аэропорту. После заправки топливом он вылетел на военный аэродром в Маркулешты, где, как сообщило Министерство обороны, должен был принять груз военного снаряжения, которым владела национальная армия, «приобретенного некой латвийской компанией, зарегистрированной в Риге». После погрузки самолет вылетел из Маркулешты во второй половине дня 13 сентября.

МИД Латвии опроверг информацию о том, что военный груз из Молдавии получила одна из латвийских фирм, а Еревана – сообщение о том, что самолет был армянским. Поднялся шум. И премьер-министр Молдавии Владимир Филат заявил журналистам, что узнал о злополучном самолете из СМИ. В ответ глава Минобороны заявил, что не сделал ни шага без ведома властей. Его поддержали бывшие коллеги.

По словам экс-министра обороны Валерия Пасата, по молдавским законам, Таможенная служба может пропустить военный груз только при наличии соответствующего постановления правительства. Ясно, что без премьер-министра подобный документ появиться не может. «И глава Минобороны Виталий Маринуца не кривил душой, когда утверждал, что действовал с согласия властей», – сказал Пасат. В свое время он также участвовал в заключении сделки по продаже МиГов Пентагону. Потом его за это судили – при коммунистах, более двух лет он провел в тюрьме и впоследствии был полностью оправдан. Но, рассказал «НГ» Валерий Пасат, «теперь уже экс-премьер Ион Чубук тогда на суде заявил, что именно он (премьер. – «НГ») отдавал соответствующие указания и предложил судить себя».

Экс-министр обороны Валерий Плешка также усомнился в неведении главы правительства: все сделки по продаже вооружений контролируются. А экс-директор Службы информации и безопасности Артур Решетников прямо заявил, что премьеру Филату было известно о том, что Министерство обороны планирует продать вооружение, однако он пытался скрыть эту информацию. Он сообщил, что слушания по ливийскому самолету будут продолжены и в рамках парламентской комиссии по национальной безопасности, членом которой он является, и в рамках пленарных заседаний парламента.

В правительственных структурах Армении «НГ» не стали комментировать «возможность покупки партии вооружений». Из встречного вопроса высокопоставленного чиновника: «Ну и что в этом такого?» – напрашивается вывод, что он косвенно подтвердил состоявшуюся сделку.

Руководитель ереванского Центра глобализации и регионального сотрудничества Степан Григорян сказал «НГ», что не видит ничего сверхординарного в том, если Армения закупила технику, вооружения или боеприпасы где-то за рубежом. «Купили и купили – это в порядке вещей. Во всем мире продается и покупается оружие. Армения – суверенное государство, никакие санкции не наложены, и республика вправе законными методами повышать свою обороноспособность. Тем более в условиях гонки вооружений, устроенной Азербайджаном, который еще три-четыре года назад заявил, что доведет свой военный бюджет до всего бюджета Армении, и теперь активно закупает разные виды вооружений в Израиле, Пакистане и других странах». Поэтому, по словам Григоряна, если информация о закупках Арменией вооружений у Молдавии окажется точной, это лишь будет означать, что Армения пытается защитить свою безопасность и сохранить баланс сил в регионе. «Но уверен, что гораздо разумнее продолжать мирные переговоры по проблеме Нагорного Карабаха, остановить милитаризацию региона и следовать взятым обязательствам в рамках ДОВСЕ», – сказал «НГ» Григорян.

Официальные источники в Азербайджане пока воздерживаются комментировать ситуацию «до выяснения всех обстоятельств». В частности, заместитель пресс-секретаря Минобороны Азербайджана Теймур Абдуллаев, заявил «НГ», что не располагает информацией для комментария.

По мнению же независимого политолога, депутата парламента Азербайджана Расима Мусабекова, «для Азербайджана, чьи территории вопреки четырем резолюциям Совбеза ООН вот уже 18 лет оккупируют армянские вооруженные силы, продажа оружия Еревану, тем более страной, которая является партнером по ГУАМ и сама испытывает тяготы поддерживаемого извне сепаратизма, – факт неприятный. Кишинев прямых обязательств перед Азербайджаном не продавать Армении оружие не имеет, а также не нарушает запретов международных организаций. Однако в Молдавии должны отдавать себе отчет в том, что незамеченным этот факт в Баку не останется. Важным является и то обстоятельство, что, по информации СМИ, речь шла о просроченных снарядах и ракетах, купленных по бросовой цене. Покупают это, с позволения сказать, добро либо для перепродажи находящимся под санкциями режимам (в случае Армении это Иран либо Сирия), либо если намерены в скором времени начать вооруженные действия, так как держать просроченные снаряды и ракеты – себе в убыток из-за необходимости впоследствии тратиться на их утилизацию. В любом случае у международного сообщества эта сделка должна вызывать вопросы».

Армения, как и Азербайджан, не является зоной боевых действий, таковой считается Нагорный Карабах. На Ереван, как и на Баку, не распространяются никакие ограничения по поставкам оружия и боевой техники. К тому же они не находятся под санкциями ООН. Поэтому любые претензии о продаже вооружений в Армянскую Республику носят скорее эмоциональный характер, чем правовой. Хотя нельзя не отметить, что в Конституции Армении записано, что она несет ответственность за безопасность Нагорного Карабаха. И никто не даст 100-процентных гарантий, что купленное Ереваном оружие вдруг не окажется в Степанакерте или на границе с Азербайджаном. Более того, в республике не скрывают, что время от времени военнослужащие Армении проходят службу на земле Карабаха, но при этом подчеркивают, что они или их предки – уроженцы этого горного края.

Какое оружие могла поставлять Молдавия в Армению – вопрос открытый. Но, судя по тому набору, какой есть в ее Вооруженных силах, это могут быть и противотанковые системы, и противовоздушные и артиллерийские установки, и другие виды вооружений. Правда, армянские военные, а в Москве живет немало отставных генералов с армянскими корнями, утверждают, что Ереван никогда не покупает технологически сложные системы вооружений у третьих стран, только у производителя и с жесткой гарантией его исправности и боеспособности. Поэтому ни ПЗРК «Игла», ни ПТУРы «Фогот» или «Штурм», которые есть на вооружении у армии Молдавии, они купить не могли. Единственное исключение – патроны и боеприпасы к 152-мм и 122-мм гаубицам. Их производство в мирное время маленькими партиями Армении обходится слишком дорого, проще и дешевле купить за рубежом.

Правда, кое-кто из генералов говорит, что вряд ли конечным покупателем была Армения. Просто те, кто кивает в сторону Еревана, прикрываются им. Могли, с благословения стран НАТО и США, поставлять вооружение в Сирию для поддержки и оснащения оппозиционных Ассаду сил. Признаться именно в этом для молдавских чиновников было бы себе дороже. Вот они и кивают в сторону Армении. Еще один вариант: не исключено, что через Молдавию продает излишки советского оружия и Румыния. Она вступила в НАТО, ей надо менять свое вооружение на западные образцы, и Кишинев как перевалочный пункт или как прикрытие Бухарест вполне устраивает.

Так или иначе, но вопросы остаются и у молдавских журналистов. Заместитель редактора «Коммерсант плюс» Артем Вареница заметил «НГ, что ежедневно с аэропорта в Маркулешты поднимается несколько транспортников – куда и что они переносят, не известно.

Баку
Первоисточник: http://www.ng.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1. Vadivak 26 сентября 2011 22:10
    То что ПНС без Нато не может торговать оружием это понятно, но чтоб Ереван являлся перевалочной базой для сирийской оппозиции?
    1. Волхов 27 сентября 2011 10:44
      Пушки М - 46 для стрельбы по Сирту.
      Волхов
    2. ARMYAN 5 июля 2012 22:17
      ЕТО ПРОВАКАЦИЯ.оружие било куплено для собствених войск.
      Армения поддерживает режим Асада.
      а у автра не имен не фамилии толко название города???????????
      ARMYAN

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня