NATO wants to complete a military operation in Libya

The military operation in Libya as a whole has been completed and NATO may decide to close it as early as next week. This was announced on Saturday by the head of the African Command of the US Armed Forces, General Carter Ham.


According to him, at a meeting at NATO headquarters in Brussels, scheduled for the end of the coming week, the American military leaders will present their assessments of the situation in Libya. And it is possible that the Allies will decide that it is time to stop the mission despite the fact that Muammar Gaddafi has not yet been caught, and his supporters continue to hold two cities - Sirte and Bani Walid.

“The fact that he is still somewhere hiding in the country’s territory is rather important only for the Libyans themselves,” the general noted, recalling that the United States and its NATO allies repeatedly stressed that the mission’s goal is to protect the Libyan people. and not an end to Gaddafi.

As Carter Ham pointed out, when deciding whether to wind up a military operation, NATO will take into account whether the Transitional National Council (PNC) of Libya exercises "proper control" over population centers. According to the general, the PNS is currently "very close" to solving this problem, ITAR-TASS reports.

At the same time, he noted that even if the alliance agrees to complete the mission, reconnaissance aircraft and drones over Libya will continue for some time. “We don’t want everything to stop literally the next day,” Ham said. “We will still need to perform some tasks at least to help the interim government in guarding the borders.” However, air strikes are likely to cease, the general stressed.
Originator:
http://www.vesti.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. AleksUkr 2 October 2011 14: 09 New
    • 5
    • 0
    +5
    They “want” to leave, but they remain. They are afraid that democracy imposed by bombs will not last long. But they are not used to leaving ruins after themselves. They have almost reached their goal. They chopped off Russia and imposed themselves. But the end is not visible. It is still not entirely clear how everything will turn out eventually.

    They “want” to leave, but they remain. They are afraid that democracy imposed by bombs will not last long. But they are not used to leaving ruins after themselves. They have almost reached their goal now. They cut off Russia - they imposed themselves. But you don’t see the end. It’s not yet clear how everything will turn out
  2. Uhalus 2 October 2011 14: 40 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Yeah, how it went wrong - right away! Libyan Defense, ha! They arranged a rout for the whole country, dissolved banditry - in a word, defended democracy! And while everything was out of control. In general, shit and washed off.
    It may also be that all this is a PR move. The troops will withdraw, and the emissaries will remain and will steer pro-American. In a civil war, this will not be easy.
  3. Sergh
    Sergh 2 October 2011 16: 09 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    We want, we don’t want ..., it seems that they put it before the fact of uncertainty. The version is such that something, somewhere else, is brewing. Here I feel, somewhere in a hurry. Of course, Iran, Pakistan will be a little hot, and it’s scary, they will ruin people and equipment, they will give houses a dule, but they can spread skis to Syria.
    1. figwam 2 October 2011 16: 47 New
      • 5
      • 0
      +5
      Yes, apparently the turn is coming for the next military operation, maybe the truth is that a world war is flaring up?
      1. Motherland
        Motherland 2 October 2011 18: 09 New
        • 2
        • 0
        +2
        There will be no war as such, just local conflicts and such arrivals to "democracy"
  4. SVD
    SVD 2 October 2011 23: 04 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Quote:

    .
    Does the Libyan Transitional National Council (PNC) exercise “proper control” over population centers. According to the general, the PNS is currently "very close" to solving this problem, ITAR-TASS reports.
    .


    In plain language, this means: "We, pendos, will pump oil from your land, and you Libyans, look, sit still!"
  5. Whole 3 October 2011 00: 05 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    It’s called "You fuck here as you want, and we wash our hands ... with oil"

НАТО хочет завершить военную операцию в Ливии

7
Военная операция в Ливии в целом завершена и НАТО может принять решение о ее свертывании уже на следующей неделе. Об этом сообщил в субботу журналистам глава Африканского командования ВС США генерал Картер Хэм.

По его словам, на совещании в штаб-квартире НАТО в Брюсселе, намеченном на конец грядущей недели, американские военачальники представят свои оценки ситуации в Ливии. И не исключено, что союзники решат, что настало время прекратить миссию несмотря на то, что Муамар Каддафи еще не пойман, а его сторонники продолжают удерживать два города - Сирт и Бани-Валид.

"То, что он все еще где-то скрывается на территории страны, имеет, скорее, значение лишь для самих ливийцев", - заметил генерал, напомнив, что США и их союзники по НАТО не раз подчеркивали, что цель миссии - защитить ливийский народ, а не покончить с Каддафи.

Как отметил Картер Хэм, при принятии решения о свертывании военной операции НАТО будет учитывать, осуществляет ли Переходной национальный совет (ПНС) Ливии "надлежащий контроль" над центрами сосредоточения населения. По убеждению генерала, ПНС в настоящее время "весьма близок" к решению данной задачи, передает ИТАР-ТАСС.

В то же время он отметил, что даже если альянс согласится завершить миссию, какое-то время будут еще продолжаться полеты разведывательных самолетов и беспилотников над Ливией. "Мы не хотим, чтобы все остановилось буквально на следующий день, - сказал Хэм. - Какие-то задачи нам нужно будет еще выполнять в течение определенного времени хотя бы для того, чтобы помочь временному правительству в обеспечении охраны границ". Однако нанесение воздушных ударов, скорее всего, прекратится, подчеркнул генерал.
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. +5
    2 октября 2011 14:09
    "Хотят" уйти,но остаются.Страшатся, что навязанная бомбами демократия долго не продержится.Но им не привыкать оставлять после себя руины. Своего они в настоящее время почти достигли.Отрубили Россию - себя навязали.Но конца то не видно.Еще не совсем понятно, как все в конечном итоге повернется.

    "Хотят" уйти,но остаются.Страшатся, что навязанная бомбами демократия долго не продержится.Но им не привыкать оставлять после себя руины. Своего они в настоящее время почти достигли.Отрубили Россию - себя навязали.Но конца то не видно.Еще не совсем понятно, как все в конечном итоге повернется
  2. +4
    2 октября 2011 14:40
    Ага, как пошло не так - тут же смыться! "Защита ливийцев", ха! Устроили разгром на всю страну, распустили бандитизм - одним словом, защитили демократию! И при том всё выпустили из-под контроля. В общем, нагадили и смываются.
    Может быть ещё, что это всё так - пиар-ход. Войска выведут, а эмиссары останутся и будут рулить про-американски. В условиях гражданской войны это непросто будет.
  3. Sergh
    +4
    2 октября 2011 16:09
    Хотим, не хотим..., похоже перед фактом ставят на неопределённость. Версия такая, что чё-то, где-то в другом месте назревает. Вот чую, куда-то они торопятся. Конечно Иран, Пакистан жарковато будет, да и боязно, людей и технику загубят, дома дюлей дадут, а вот в Сирию лыжи могут намазать.
    1. +5
      2 октября 2011 16:47
      Да, видимо наступает черёд следующей военной операции, может и правда мировая война разгорается?
      1. Motherland
        +2
        2 октября 2011 18:09
        Войны как таковой не будет,просто локальные конфликты и такие вот приходы к "демократии"
  4. СВД
    0
    2 октября 2011 23:04
    Цитата:

    ...
    осуществляет ли Переходной национальный совет (ПНС) Ливии "надлежащий контроль" над центрами сосредоточения населения. По убеждению генерала, ПНС в настоящее время "весьма близок" к решению данной задачи, передает ИТАР-ТАСС.
    ...


    На понятном языке это означает : "Мы, пендосы, будем качать нефть с вашей земли, а вы, ливийцы, смотрите, сидите тихо!"
  5. Hel
    0
    3 октября 2011 00:05
    Называется "Вы тут трахайтесь как хотите,а мы умываем руки...нефтью"

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»