Military Review

Hero of China

13
Hero of China



In the cemetery of the town of Liski in the Voronezh region there is the grave of a locomotive driver Grigory Mikhailovich Shumsky. Liski is a city of railway workers, there are many famous machinists there, but Shumsky is the only holder of the ruby ​​star of the Labor Hero of the People's Republic of China.

In his family there is a banner with embroidered inscription "In memory of an exemplary employee of the railways of the Chinese People's Republic, Comrade Shumsky Grigory Mikhailovich." Although there was a time when the insignia from the Middle Kingdom almost played a cruel joke with Shumsky ... The family and Soviet awards of the heroic grandfather are kept: the Order of the Red Banner of Labor, two medals for valiant work during the Great Patriotic War. Her Shumsky passed (or rather, drove) from beginning to end, drove an armored train and came under fire.

The war began for a young engineer with the fact that the transport, in which the railway workers were ferried from Estonia to Leningrad, was sunk by German bombers. 33-year-old Gregory and his brother Konstantin, also a railroad worker, jumped overboard and sailed to Kronstadt, which was on the horizon. They sailed long, dead tired ... Towards the boats came out, and the sailing rescued. So Shumsky fell into blockade: he drove armored trains and military echelons, he lost weight on 28 kilograms.

- In 1942, he was sent to Liski (then Gheorghiu-Dej). There, Gregory, with other railway workers, equipped an armored train and led him to Voronezh - to protect the city from the advancing fascists, - said the writer and local historian Vladimir Yeletsky. - They arrived at the suburban station Otrozhka, and there were already Germans. Shumsky turned on the reverse and reversing drove the train back to Liski. The assistant was killed - an explosion to him, leaning out of the window of the engine, tore his head. So Grigory Mikhailovich himself and the composition led, and the arrows translated, and threw coal into the furnace.

After the victory over Germany, the adventures of Shumsky did not end, although at first everything went smoothly: he returned to the Baltics, got married, became an engineer-lieutenant of traction and head of the section of the Estonian railway. In May, 1950, Grigoriy Mikhailovich, noticed the rails that had been disassembled in front of him and saved the train from the crash, and the trackman Arud from inevitable death. The attackers dismantled the rut right at his booth, which a train that had gone from the path would have certainly crushed. The management of the road announced gratitude to Shumsky and issued an award.

When the war in Korea began, Grigori Mikhailovich drove armored trains and trains of military cargo to the Peninsula.
Two months later, as an experienced specialist, he was sent to China to establish the railway transport destroyed by the Japanese and the civil war. Shumsky became the first Soviet specialist in the Mudanjiang depot: he taught Chinese colleagues to drive heavy trains and soon, along with a student and assistant Liu Fanchi, conducted the first long train in China.

When the war in Korea began, Grigory Mikhailovich drove an armored train and trainloads of military cargo to the Peninsula. As the number of students of Shumsky grew, his authority grew among the railway workers, Chinese newspapers began to print portraits of the Russian driver. In 1951, he was asked to give a report at the All-China Railway Congress held in Beijing. There, the Minister of Railways of China and handed him the Ruby Hero star.

- It happened on the birthday of Shumsky's son - my wife went to China with her husband. He did not receive any dividends from the high award, rather the opposite - during the aggravation of relations with the PRC, the driver’s picture disappeared from the Hall of Fame, ”continued Yeletskih. - And when he returned to Estonia, the neighbors flocked to Shumsky's house, because it was rumored that Grigory Mikhailovich had brought a little Chinese.

Making sure that the child is quite ordinary, of European appearance, the neighbors dispersed disappointed.

“We had very good neighbors in China,” recalled Grigory Shumsky’s wife, Maria. - He liked our baby. Unusual love for children is a distinctive feature of this nation.

When the Shumskys left Mudanjiang, the neighbor caught up with them and handed over to Grigory Mikhailovich the negative on a glass plate with the words: "When the son grows up, show him my photo so that he remembers Uncle Lee." In addition to the negative and the order, the driver took to the Soviet Union a medal, a banner and a memorial book with warm reviews about him and words of gratitude.

For two more years our hero worked in Mongolia, and then came to Liski, where until 1965 he worked as a trainer for locomotives and as a locomotive depot driver.

- After retirement, Grigory Mikhailovich lived 30 more years. He died in 1996, an invalid, having no privileges and even the title of a veteran of the Great Patriotic War, - Vladimir Yeletskih finished his story. - Is it fair?

Help "RG"

The armed conflict between North and South Korea continued from 25 June 1950 to 27 July 1953, the war was not officially declared. Historians view the confrontation on the Korean Peninsula as an indirect conflict between the USSR and its ally China on the one hand, and the United States and its allies on the other. The Korean coalition and the Chinese army were part of the northern coalition (formally, the PRC did not participate in the war, so its units were called "Chinese people's volunteer formations").

The Soviet Union also did not officially take part in the Korean War, but it financed and supplied the troops of the northern coalition. Soviet military advisers also worked on the peninsula. On the side of South Korea were the United Kingdom, the United States and a number of other countries under the flag of the UN peacekeeping forces. The armed conflict did not change the geopolitical situation on the peninsula: after the war, Korea remained divided into two parts, still under the influence of the USSR and the USA. Their borders have remained virtually unchanged. At the same time, 80 percent of the industrial and transport infrastructure of both countries was destroyed, three-quarters of government institutions, about half of the housing stock.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.rg.ru/2015/08/20/reg-cfo/geroi.html
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vadim2013
    Vadim2013 30 August 2015 03: 38 New
    +4
    The Soviet leadership sent specialists and volunteers to various countries. Almost nothing is known about their participation in the Korean War from 25 of June 1950 to 27 of July 1953.
  2. Alexander 3
    Alexander 3 30 August 2015 07: 47 New
    +5
    I admire our Heroes who, at the call of their hearts, defended the interests of our Motherland far beyond its borders. And how many such Heroes are forgotten.
  3. strelets
    strelets 30 August 2015 08: 15 New
    +4
    Well, at least local historians have collected and stored information about him.
  4. Sergey Vladimirovich
    Sergey Vladimirovich 30 August 2015 08: 25 New
    +6
    People do useful work, collect information about such personalities! This should be known and remembered ... How many such outstanding, worthy people survive (most survived, already ...) old age in poverty, without help, under the indifferent, and sometimes even contemptuous views of neighbors. There was no one even worthy to bury many ...
  5. cahekmosa
    cahekmosa 30 August 2015 08: 37 New
    +7
    Abaldet, I live in this city (Liski) 32 years and the first time I hear. Neither the street nor any other mention. Thanks for the article, I’ll know about one more fellow countryman of the hero.
    1. Samy
      Samy 30 August 2015 09: 25 New
      +3
      Stunned, but I’m just in Mudanjiang now, and I haven’t heard anything either. Although there are still some old Russian houses in some places ....
  6. Kovlad
    Kovlad 30 August 2015 09: 12 New
    +2
    Grandfather drove trains in the Second World War. According to his father, he was a lieutenant instructor (I do not know if this was), was awarded the order. I was looking for at least some information about him, unfortunately, I did not find anything. Many thanks to the author of the article!
  7. parusnik
    parusnik 30 August 2015 09: 15 New
    +4
    Is this fair?..No of course .. A classified hero .. Thanks for the article ..
  8. Nina Czerny
    Nina Czerny 30 August 2015 10: 16 New
    0
    Thank you for the article! What a man and what a fate! That's about making movies and TV shows! No screenwriter can come up with what happens in life. What a pity that we, as A. S. Pushkin wrote, are so "not curious"!
  9. The comment was deleted.
  10. fzr1000
    fzr1000 30 August 2015 10: 59 New
    +1
    My grandfather during the Second World War in the NKPS was personally responsible for all echelons from front to front in the USSR. He was awarded the Order of Lenin and the Red Banner of Labor. In the USSR, many people forged Victory not only at the front. Memory and Glory to them!
  11. QWERTY
    QWERTY 30 August 2015 14: 58 New
    -1
    "So Grigory Mikhailovich himself led the train, and moved the arrows, and threw coal into the furnace." - What is it like? He stopped the train, got out and ran along the whole train to transfer arrows? And then he climbed back into the engine. And if there is a street of arrows, a few arrows in a row? With this approach, the Germans would catch up on foot. They write nonsense, at least get a grasp of the meaning. I remember in the action movie with Seagal the arrows were also transferred right on the go from the train (((
  12. QWERTY
    QWERTY 30 August 2015 15: 01 New
    0
    "And the train lineman Aruda - from imminent death. The malefactors dismantled the track right at his booth, which a train that went off the road would certainly have crushed." = another pearl. The crawler did not hear how the paths were dismantled right at his booth ???? Or was he not there? Came and didn’t see the path taken apart?
  13. The comment was deleted.
  14. Alexey Shumsky
    Alexey Shumsky 4 October 2017 19: 29 New
    0
    The article is written about my father. I am just the one who was born in China. The facts described in the article are true, with the exception that we lived in Mongolia for not three years, but three. The ruby ​​star of the Hero of China is stored with me.

Герой Китая

Герой Китая


На кладбище города Лиски в Воронежской области есть могила паровозного машиниста Григория Михайловича Шумского. Лиски - город железнодорожников, там много славных машинистов, но Шумский - единственный кавалер рубиновой звезды Героя труда Китайской народной республики.

В его семье хранится знамя с шитой надписью "На память образцовому работнику железных дорог Китайской народной республики т. Шумскому Григорию Михайловичу". Хотя было время, когда знаки отличия из Поднебесной чуть не сыграли с Шумским злую шутку… Хранят родные и советские награды героического деда: орден Трудового Красного знамени, две медали за доблестный труд во время Великой Отечественной войны. Ее Шумский прошел (точнее, проехал) от начала и до конца, водил бронепоезда и бывал под обстрелами.


Война началась для молодого машиниста с того, что транспорт, на котором железнодорожники переправлялись из Эстонии в Ленинград, потопили немецкие бомбардировщики. 33-летний Григорий с братом Константином, тоже железнодорожником, выпрыгнули за борт и поплыли к видневшемуся на горизонте Кронштадту. Плыли долго, смертельно устали… Навстречу вышли шлюпки, и плывущих спасли. Так Шумский попал в блокаду: водил бронепоезда и воинские эшелоны, похудел на 28 килограммов.

- В 1942-м его отправили в Лиски (тогда Георгиу-Деж). Там Григорий с другими железнодорожниками оборудовал бронепоезд и повел его на Воронеж - защищать город от наступавших фашистов, - рассказал писатель и краевед Владимир Елецких. - Доехали они до пригородной станции Отрожка, а там уже были немцы. Шумский включил реверс и задним ходом погнал состав обратно в Лиски. Погиб помощник - взрывом ему, высунувшемуся из окна паровоза, оторвало голову. Так что Григорий Михайлович сам и состав вел, и стрелки переводил, и уголь в топку кидал.

После победы над Германией приключения Шумского не закончились, хотя поначалу все шло спокойно: он вернулся в Прибалтику, женился, стал инженер-лейтенантом тяги и начальником участка Эстонской железной дороги. В мае 1950-го Григорий Михайлович вовремя заметил разобранные впереди рельсы и спас состав от крушения, а путевого обходчика Аруда - от неминуемой гибели. Колею злоумышленники разобрали прямо у его будки, которую сошедший с пути поезд непременно бы раздавил. Руководство дороги объявило Шумскому благодарность и выдало премию.

Когда началась война в Корее, Григорий Михайлович перегонял на полуостров бронепоезда и эшелоны с военными грузами
Через два месяца его как опытного специалиста командировали в Китай - налаживать разрушенный японцами и гражданской войной железнодорожный транспорт. Шумский стал первым советским специалистом в депо Муданьцзян: учил китайских коллег водить тяжелые поезда и вскоре вместе с учеником и помощником Лю Фанчи провел по Китаю первый длинный состав.

Когда началась война в Корее, Григорий Михайлович перегонял на полуостров бронепоезда и эшелоны с военными грузами. По мере того, как увеличивалось число учеников Шумского, рос его авторитет среди путейцев, портреты русского машиниста стали печатать китайские газеты. В 1951 году его попросили выступить с докладом на проходившем в Пекине Всекитайском съезде железнодорожников. Там министр железных дорог Китая и вручил ему рубиновую звезду Героя.

- Случилось это в день рождения сына Шумского - жена поехала в Китай вместе с мужем. Дивидендов с высокой награды он никаких не получал, скорее наоборот - во время обострения отношений с КНР фотография машиниста исчезла с Доски почета, - продолжил Елецких. - А когда он вернулся в Эстонию, соседи толпами ходили домой к Шумским, поскольку прошел слух, что Григорий Михайлович привез китайчонка.

Убедившись, что ребенок вполне обычный, европейской наружности, соседи расходились разочарованные.

- Очень хорошие у нас были соседи в Китае, - вспоминала жена Григория Шумского Мария. - Им наш малыш приглянулся. Необыкновенная любовь к детям - отличительная черта этого народа.

Когда Шумские покидали Муданьцзян, сосед догнал их и вручил Григорию Михайловичу негатив на стеклянной пластинке со словами: "Когда сын вырастет, покажите ему мою фотографию, чтобы помнил дядю Ли". Кроме негатива и ордена машинист увозил в Советский Союз медаль, знамя и памятную книгу с теплыми отзывами о нем и словами благодарности.

Еще два года наш герой проработал в Монголии, а затем приехал в Лиски, где до 1965 года трудился приемщиком паровозов и машинистом локомотивного депо.

- После выхода на пенсию Григорий Михайлович прожил еще 30 лет. Он умер в 1996-м, инвалидом, не имея никаких льгот и даже звания участника Великой Отечественной войны, - закончил свой рассказ Владимир Елецких. - Справедливо ли это?

Справка "РГ"

Вооруженный конфликт между Северной и Южной Кореей продолжался с 25 июня 1950 по 27 июля 1953 года, война при этом официально не объявлялась. Историки рассматривают противостояние на Корейском полуострове как опосредованный конфликт между СССР и его союзником Китаем с одной стороны и США с их союзниками - с другой. В северную коалицию входили корейская и китайская армии (формально КНР в войне не участвовала, поэтому ее подразделения именовались "соединениями китайских народных добровольцев").

Советский Союз также официально не принимал участие в Корейской войне, но финансировал и снабжал войска северной коалиции. Также на полуострове работали советские военные советники. На стороне Южной Кореи выступили Великобритания, США и ряд других стран под флагом миротворческих сил ООН. Вооруженный конфликт не изменил геополитическую ситуацию на полуострове: после войны Корея осталась разделенной на две части, по-прежнему находившиеся под влиянием СССР и США. Их границы остались практически неизменными. При этом было разрушено 80 процентов промышленной и транспортной инфраструктуры обоих государств, три четверти правительственных учреждений, около половины жилого фонда.
Автор: Антон Валагин
Первоисточник: http://www.rg.ru/2015/08/20/reg-cfo/geroi.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 12
  1. Вадим2013 30 августа 2015 03:38
    Советское руководство отправляло специалистов и добровольцев в различные страны. Об их участие в Корейской войне с 25 июня 1950 по 27 июля 1953 года почти ничего не известно.
  2. Александр 3 30 августа 2015 07:47
    Восхищаюсь нашими Героями кто по зову сердца защищали интересы нашей Родины далеко за ее пределами.А сколько таких Героев преданы забвению.
  3. strelets 30 августа 2015 08:15
    Ну хоть краеведы собрали и сохранили о нем информацию.
  4. Сергей Владимирович 30 августа 2015 08:25
    Полезное дело люди делают, собирают информацию о таких личностях! Это должны знать и помнить нынешнее... Сколько таких людей, выдающихся, достойных доживают (большинство доживали, уже...) старость в нищете, без помощи, под равнодушные, а порой и презрительные взгляды соседей. Многих даже похоронить достойно некому было...
  5. cahekmosa 30 августа 2015 08:37
    Абалдеть, живу в этом городе(Лиски) 32 года и первый раз слышу. Ни улицы, ни какого другого упоминания. Спасибо за статью, хоть еще про одного земляка героя знать буду.
    1. Samy 30 августа 2015 09:25
      Обалдеть, а я как раз в Муданьцзяне сейчас, и тоже ничего не слышал Хотя русские дома старые еще кое-где есть....
  6. Kovlad 30 августа 2015 09:12
    Дед в ВОВ водил поезда. По словам отца, был лейтенантом-инструктором (не знаю, было ли такое), награжден орденом. Искал о нем хоть какие- то сведения, к сожалению, ничего не нашел. Автору статьи громадное СПАСИБО!
  7. parusnik 30 августа 2015 09:15
    Справедливо ли это?..Нет конечно..Засекреченный герой..Спасибо за статью..
  8. Нина Черни 30 августа 2015 10:16
    Спасибо за статью! Какой человек и какая судьба! Вот о ком снимать фильмы и сериалы! Ни один сценарист не придумает то, что бывает в жизни. Как жаль, что мы, как писал еще А.С.Пушкин так " не любопытны"!
  9. Комментарий был удален.
  10. fzr1000 30 августа 2015 10:59
    Мой дед во время ВОВ в НКПС отвечал лично за все эшелоны с фронта и на фронт в СССР. Орденом Ленина и Трудового Красного Знамени награжден. В СССР много людей ковали Победу не только на фронте. Память и Слава им!
  11. йцукен 30 августа 2015 14:58
    "Так что Григорий Михайлович сам и состав вел, и стрелки переводил, и уголь в топку кидал." - это как? Останавливал состав,вылезал и бежал вдоль всего состава стрелки переводить?А потом обратно в паровоз выходит залазил. А если там улица стрелочная,несколько стрелок подряд?С таким подходом немцы бы пешком состав догнали.Пишут ерунду,хоть бы вчитывались в смысл.Помнится в боевике с Сигалом тоже стрелки переводили прямо на ходу из поезда(((
  12. йцукен 30 августа 2015 15:01
    "а путевого обходчика Аруда - от неминуемой гибели. Колею злоумышленники разобрали прямо у его будки, которую сошедший с пути поезд непременно бы раздавил." = еще перл.Обходчик не слышал,как пути разбирали прямо у его будки???? Или его не было там? Пришел и не увидел разобранный путь?
  13. Комментарий был удален.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня