Military Review

Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of Suvorov

1
By a decree of the President of the Russian Federation of March 2, 1994, 3 new military medals were awarded in the country, which were awarded to servicemen of various military branches. The first such medal was the Suvorov medal, which was awarded to soldiers and officers of the Ground Forces. The great Russian commander Alexander Suvorov was the generalissimo of the land and naval forces, but a new award was created for the Navy in the new Russian award system. At the same time, pilots were also awarded this medal. aviation ground forces. Currently, this medal has been awarded to more than 60 thousand people.


The servicemen of the Russian army are rewarded with the Suvorov Medal for courage and personal courage, which were shown in defending the Fatherland and the state interests of the Russian Federation in combat operations on land, in combat duty and military service at maneuvers and exercises, and in carrying the protection of the state border of the Russian Federation. In addition, the award can be awarded for excellent performance in field training and combat training. The servicemen wear the Suvorov medal on the left side of the chest; if there are other medals in Russia, it is placed after the medal “For Courage”. At the same time, the award of the Suvorov Medal cannot be made posthumously, and the statute of the award excludes re-award.

Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of Suvorov

The Suvorov Medal is made of pure silver and has the shape of a circle, the diameter of the circle is 32 mm, on both sides of the medal there are convex sides. On the front side of the award there is a profile (turn to the left) bust image of the Generalissimo AV Suvorov. Along the upper edge of the medal is the inscription "Alexander Suvorov", made in embossed letters (all capital letters). In the lower part of the medal there was a relief image of laurel branches. On the reverse side of the award there was a relief image of intersecting sabers and swords, and under them was the ordinal number of the award.

With the help of a ring and an ear, the medal was attached to a standard pentagonal block, which was covered with a red silk moiré ribbon, the color of which was 24 mm. Along its edges were green stripes 3 each in width. When wearing a medal on a uniform, a strip was used with a tape width - 24 mm and height - 8 mm. Also for special occasions, as well as everyday wear, there is a special miniature copy of the award, which has a diameter of 16 mm.

It is not difficult to guess that the overwhelming number of awards with a medal destined for the ground forces occurred during two military campaigns in the Chechen Republic, as well as a reflection of the invasion of militants in Dagestan in 1999. From March 1994 of the year to June, 2000 of the year in Russia produced more than 20 of thousands of awards for servicemen who took part in the hostilities in the North Caucasus. By 2006, the number of such awards exceeded 60 thousands. At the same time, detailed statistics on the number of presentations of the Suvorov medal practically do not exist. Different sources provide quite contradictory information, so it can be said with confidence only that more than 60 thousand people were awarded this medal in Russia.


In this case, the Suvorov medal was awarded not only to those who took part in the hostilities in the North Caucasus. This state award was awarded to military personnel from the 202-th separate airborne brigade, who in 1999 made the famous march from Bosnia to Kosovo. Also this award was awarded to the participants of the armed conflict of August 2008 of the year in South Ossetia. Despite the fact that the award has a land status, there are facts awarding it and the Russian sailors. So 13 June 2009, the Russian President Dmitry Medvedev presented the Suvorov medals to the Navy servicemen, who performed the task of countering piracy and ensuring the safety of maritime navigation off the coast of Somalia.

The first Suvorov medal was awarded in July 1995 (the exact date is unknown). The sailors Vladimir Kish and Oleg Sidorov from the Baltic Marine Corps brigade were awarded the medal fleet, both received a medal for their business trip to Chechnya. The last award of the Suvorov Medal occurred on February 20, 2014. The medal was awarded to Lieutenant Colonel Sergey Platonov, commander of an engineer and combat engineer battalion, who organized the evacuation of citizens from the flooded village of Ivanovka, located in the Amur Region during a severe flood that hit the Russian Far East in autumn 2013.

One of the most famous soldiers awarded the Suvorov Medal is Colonel Nikolai Sayinovich Maydanov, commander of the 325-th Separate Combat Transport Helicopter Regiment. He was awarded the Suvorov Medal for participation in the counter-terrorist operation in Dagestan. During this operation, he made a large number of combat missions and successfully landed 6 tactical assault forces. Unfortunately, this military pilot was killed. 29 January 2000, he was mortally wounded during a military operation in Chechnya. The pilot died in the cockpit of his helicopter, until the very last moment fighting for the lives of people on board and trying to land the helicopter. In the same year he was posthumously awarded the title Hero of Russia.


It should be noted that Nikolai Maidanov is only one of four people who were simultaneously awarded the title Hero of the Soviet Union and the title Hero of the Russian Federation, and the only one to whom both titles were awarded for feats accomplished on the battlefield. He received the title of Hero of the Soviet Union for fighting in Afghanistan in 1988. In total, during his business trips to Afghanistan, the celebrated pilot made 1250 combat missions, personally took the injured 85 from the battlefield, transported 1000 paratroopers and 100 tons of various cargoes. The total flight time of Maydanov was then 1100 hours.

Based on free sources.
Author:
Articles from this series:
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Gold Star Medal
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Order "For Services to the Fatherland"
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Order of Courage
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Order "For Military Merit"
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Order of Zhukov
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of Honor"
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of the Order of Merit for the Fatherland
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of Suvorov
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of Nesterov
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Walking
    Walking April 1 2014 11: 25
    +2
    This medal should have been issued in 1943 along with the Order of Suvorov.

Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль Суворова

Указом президента Российской Федерации от 2 марта 1994 года в стране было учреждено 3 новых боевых медали, которыми награждались военнослужащие различных родов войск. Первой такой медалью стала медаль Суворова, которой награждались солдаты и офицеры Сухопутных войск. Великий русский полководец Александр Суворов был генералиссимусом сухопутных и морских сил, но в новой российской наградной системе для военнослужащих ВМФ была создана своя награда. При этом этой данной медалью награждались также летчики авиации сухопутных войск. В настоящее время данной медалью награждено более 60 тысяч человек.

Военнослужащие российской армии награждаются медалью Суворова за отвагу и личное мужество, которые были проявлены при защите Отечества и государственных интересов РФ в боевых действиях на суше, при несении боевого дежурства и боевой службы на маневрах и учениях, при несении охраны государственной границы РФ. Помимо этого, награда может быть вручена за отличные показатели в полевой выучке и боевой подготовке. Военнослужащие носят медаль Суворова на левой стороне груди, при наличии других медалей России она располагается после медали «За отвагу». При этом награждение медалью Суворова не может быть совершено посмертно, также статут награды исключает повторное награждение.

Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль Суворова

Медаль Суворова изготавливается из чистого серебра и имеет форму круга, диаметр круга — 32 мм, с обеих сторон медали имеются выпуклые бортики. На лицевой стороне награды расположено профильное (поворот влево) погрудное изображение генералиссимуса А. В. Суворова. Вдоль верхнего края медали расположена надпись «Александр Суворов», выполненная рельефными буквами (все буквы заглавные). В нижней части медали располагалось рельефное изображение лавровых ветвей. На оборотной стороне награды было расположено рельефное изображение перекрещивающихся сабли и шпаги, а под ними располагался порядковый номер награды.


С помощью кольца и ушка медаль крепилась к стандартной пятиугольной колодке, которая была обтянута шелковой муаровой лентой, имеющей красный цвет, ширина ленты составляла 24 мм. Вдоль ее краев шли зеленые полоски шириной по 3 мм каждая. При ношении медали на форменной одежде применялась планка с шириной ленты — 24 мм и высотой — 8 мм. Также для особых случаев, а также повседневного ношения существует специальная миниатюрная копия награды, которая имеет диаметр 16 мм.

Нетрудно догадаться, что подавляющее количество награждений медалью, предназначенной для сухопутных войск, пришлось на время двух военных кампаний в Чеченской Республике, а также отражение вторжения боевиков в Дагестане в 1999 году. С марта 1994 года по июнь 2000 года в России было произведено более 20 тысяч награждений военнослужащих, которые принимали участие в боевых действиях на Северном Кавказе. К 2006 году количество таких награждений превысило 60 тысяч. При этом подробной статистики по числу вручений медали Суворова практически не существует. Разные источники предоставляют довольно противоречивую информацию, поэтому можно с уверенностью говорить лишь о том, что в России данной медалью было награждено более 60 тысяч человек.

Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль Суворова

При этом медалью Суворова награждали не только тех, кто принимал участие в боевых действиях на Северном Кавказе. Данной государственной наградой были награждены военнослужащие из состава 202-й отдельной воздушно-десантной бригады, которые в 1999 году совершили знаменитый марш-бросок с территории Боснии в Косово. Также данной наградой отмечались участники вооруженного конфликта августа 2008 года в Южной Осетии. Несмотря на то, что награда имеет сухопутный статус, имеются факты награждения ею и российских моряков. Так 13 июня 2009 года президент России Дмитрий Медведев вручил медали Суворова военнослужащим ВМФ, которые выполняли задачи по противодействию пиратству и обеспечению безопасности морского судоходства у побережья Сомали.

Первое награждение медалью Суворова приходится на июль 1995 года (точная дата неизвестна). Медалью были награждены гвардии матросы Владимир Киш и Олег Сидоров из бригады морской пехоты Балтийского флота, оба получили медаль за свою командировку в Чечню. Последнее награждение медалью Суворова произошло 20 февраля 2014 года. Медалью был награжден подполковник Сергей Платонов, командир инженерно-саперного батальона, который организовал эвакуацию граждан из затопленного села Ивановка, расположенного в Амурской области во время сильнейшего паводка, который обрушился на Дальний Восток России осенью 2013 года.

Одним из самых известных военнослужащих, награжденных медалью Суворова, является полковник Николай Саинович Майданов, командир 325-го отдельного боевого транспортного вертолетного полка. Медалью Суворова он был награжден за участие в контртеррористической операции в Дагестане. Во время этой операции он совершил большое количество боевых вылетов и успешно высадил 6 тактических десантов. К сожалению, этот военный летчик погиб. 29 января 2000 года он был смертельно ранен во время боевой операции на территории Чечни. Летчик скончался в кабине своего вертолета, до самого последнего момента борясь за жизни людей, находящихся на борту, и пытаясь посадить вертолет. В том же году ему посмертно было присвоено звание Героя России.

Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль Суворова

Необходимо отметить, что Николай Майданов — лишь один из четырех человек, которые одновременно были удостоены звания Героя Советского Союза и звания Героя Российской Федерации, и единственный из них, кому оба звания были присвоены за подвиги, совершенные на поле боя. Звание Героя Советского Союза он получил за боевые действия в Афганистане в 1988 году. Всего за время своих командировок в Афганистан прославленный летчик совершил 1250 боевых вылетов, лично вывез с поля боя 85 раненых, перевез 1000 десантников и 100 тонн различных грузов. Общий налет Майданова составил тогда 1100 часов.

По материалам свободных источников.

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии
Всего 1
  1. Пеший 1 апреля 2014 11:25
    Эту медаль стоило бы еще в 1943 выпустить вместе с орденом Суворова.
Информация
Комментировать статьи на сайте возможно только в течении 15 дней со дня публикации.
Картина дня