Military Review

"The pupil of the sanatorium"

6
A little over a year ago I received the last letter from Tver from Peter Ivanovich Kostyanin. We corresponded for several years and were acquainted only in this way, half-way. Unfortunately, he did not send photos, and I do not know this person in person. Although sometimes it seemed: if I came to the Tver region, I would find and guess Kostyanin without much difficulty.


He was born in Leningrad in 1937 in the family of teachers. He became the eldest son: in 1939, Volodya's younger brother was born, and a year later, his sister Darina. The parents named the eldest son after their longtime friend. One day the father of the family went hunting with him. The day was warm, friends decided to swim. Ivan first began to swim - and at the depth both legs were cramped. Peter saw trouble, rushed into the river. He pulled out a friend, went to the shore himself, and died instantly. He had a weak heart since childhood (apparently, a vice), he knew about it. And at a critical moment chose the life of a friend, and not his own. The heart, apparently, was weak, but golden.

Kostyanin family lived together. A strong children's memory has saved many joyful moments. Together we went for blueberries and mushrooms and once met an elk. Were frequent guests of various museums - nothing, that children are still very small. Every night my father read fairy tales. My mother loved to knit beautiful things for Darina and socks for her sons.

... Dad went to the front of June 22. Four-year-old Petya was standing by the window with a basket - they were gathering for strawberries that day. I thought my father would change his mind to hit Fritz and come back. But did not return.

Food in the house was getting smaller. Mom - all stricter, and the kids - all quieter. At first they were very afraid of attacks, hid in the stairwell of a wooden house, not realizing from fear that this was not a defense. Then they got used to it and determined by the hum how far it would fall.

Darina first came down. Somehow it was very quiet, in the evening I lay on the sofa more than usual, and in the morning I could not get up at all. It seemed to Pete that the little sister had died away in just a few days. Perhaps, in reality, this was not the case, but the outcome has not changed: death has settled in the hands of the baby. Black from grief and very thin mother wanted to bury Daryan. But for the coffin it was necessary to give half the daily bread ration. Wrapped in a sheet and carried away somewhere.

Having lost one child, the mother fought desperately for the lives of the two remaining. It is now, from afar, it is clear that she divided into children and her ration. And then Petka thought that the mother just did not want to eat and was jealous that she was full. It was a black day when she did not get up, either. Petya called to herself, he came up, still not understanding anything. Mom said that we should go to the neighbors, but the boy did not understand why. The head was already like a wadded, the legs did not obey ...
What happened next, Peter Ivanovich does not remember. It seemed to him that he had been lying for a long time, but, apparently, for several days. They were found by neighbors - still a living boy and his dead family.

Sent to hospital, then - to the Leningrad children's bone and tuberculosis sanatorium.

And then Peter Ivanovich remembers a long, long road. We drove together: doctors, nannies, sick children. Those who could walk were seated close to each other. Lying as the boy thought then was lucky - they mostly single-handedly occupied the bed. Everyone said the long beautiful word "evacuation". And before that, Petka liked the word that he decided that this was the name of the city where his father was fighting. So he told everyone that he was going to dad. Nobody has persuaded him.

"The pupil of the sanatorium"


And two more words - Chemal and Altai. Well, it's simple. Altai is obviously a dog's nickname, its namesake once lived with the neighbors of the Kostyanins. And Chemal is probably a friend of Altai. So, Dad in the war took two dogs that help the enemy to fight.

Finally arrived. Evacuated resort arrived at the Chemal resort 26 August 1942 - I found this date in stories sanatorium. Doctors and nurses rescued children from the besieged city of 247.

Here, in the sanatorium, Petit began a new life. Not to say that it was very satisfying, although they fed far better than in besieged Leningrad. Every day, children were given from four to five hundred (depending on age and condition) grams of bread. And this groin bread is almost real, sawdust was not found in it.

Petka at that time was five and a half years. He did not know his diagnosis. He could walk, though with difficulty, because his whole body seemed to ache.

Every day around him were adults who became relatives. They fed, dressed, changed the bed every day. Peter Ivanovich remembers that one nurse sang lullabies for the night. These were simple, simple songs. But when she sang them, she cried. The war took four sons from the nurse.
Adult strangers came to him with the strange name "circle leaders." Petka thought that now something would happen to the circles, but they began to teach him to cut out different shapes from paper. They were taught to read, and he read front-line newspapers aloud with great joy and completely grown-up.

Almost every day they gave fish oil in a spoon. That's really disgusting! All the guys who could move their hands, pinched noses. Who has already got up - turned away to the walls. They never shouted at anyone. The nurses gave the kids salted bread so that the fat didn't seem so nasty. Only once on Petka shouted, when he pushed his sister's hand and the fat poured.

- What did you do! exclaimed the woman. - Throw away the daily rate! Did you forget Leningrad? Would you throw a slice of bread?

And Petka began to cry. I remembered my sister in the sheet, my mother lying, the fog in my head when he was in the room with his dead relatives. The nurse cried with the boy, hugged him and began to kiss. “Forgive me!” - she repeated everything. Petka no offense did not hold. They just had to once come into the light of these tears.



In the sanatorium Peter lived until the Victory. It began to learn, and very good. Here he found his wise mentor, doctor Anatoly Ivanovich Sannikov. It can be said that in those years Anatoly Ivanovich replaced the boy of the deceased father. They talked for a long time. Surprisingly: these conversations were not at all childish, but Petya understood everything. So, the doctor told him about Anna Karenina, Pierre Bezukhov - and the first grader dreamed of reading these works. There was no sanatorium in the library, the dream came true many years later. They talked about how to make paper. And Petr Ivanovich never threw away a sheet in his entire life, making sure that it could no longer be used.

After discharge, he lived in an orphanage - the same place in Altai. Then he entered the school, then in college. He moved to Tver, where, as he remembered from childhood, relatives of his mother once lived. Did not find anyone.

Already as an adult, I came to Leningrad. I found my house, but I did not enter - I did not dare. I went to the military enlistment office, trying to figure out the fate of his father. Peter Ivanovich led these searches for several years and learned that his father had died in the Prokhorovka battle.

... When Petr Ivanovich heard the song “Echo of First Love” performed by Yevgeny Martynov (verses by Robert Rozhdestvensky), he understood that he would not return to Leningrad anymore. The song was about a friend - a man was looking for a girl and hoping to meet her. And there was no one to search for Kostyanin in his hometown, and he knew that. But nevertheless, the lines “And the night lights repeated lightly:“ what was, passed, what was, passed ... ”tears caused him for many years.

Peter Ivanovich did not start a family, he lived alone, he worked at some construction company. I corresponded with Sannikov, came several times to Chemal. He called himself "a graduate of a sanatorium."

For more than a year there are no letters from him, mine are wasted. But maybe this material will be read by someone who knew Kostyanin? ..

Note to the pictures. These are photos of a wartime sanatorium. On the second, you see a number of beds — the guys spent a quiet hour like this — they were taken out onto the veranda to get some air. In the warm season, the windows of the veranda were closed, in the cold - open.

Comments on photos: these are pictures of the wartime. At the second - a quiet hour, during which the children were placed on the veranda.
Author:
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. EvgNik
    EvgNik 14 November 2016 07: 15
    +5
    Good story, Sophia, very good, thanks. I did not like fish oil in childhood, but now I would take it with pleasure.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 14 November 2016 07: 53
    +6
    Life is still stronger .... Thank you, Sophia ... The soul is resting on your stories ..
  3. Schultz
    Schultz 14 November 2016 09: 40
    +4
    Thanks to the author for the article, it should be noted that such attribution to the heroic past creates the bone apparatus that keeps the nation from collapse into small components and thereby adds some stability to today's day.
  4. nivander
    nivander 14 November 2016 12: 07
    +3
    Chemal cool place --- mountain air and the complete absence of mosquitoes
  5. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 14 November 2016 15: 59
    +5
    Thank you very much for the story, Sophia. I always read about Leningrad with excitement. I think it’s a great gift of fate that I knew and know the Blockers, Participants, and Veterans of VO. Sincerely.
  6. Siberian
    Siberian 15 November 2016 13: 47
    0
    Sophia, many thanks for the story ... I visited Chemal for a walk around the territory of this very sanatorium, the places are beautiful there, and the sanatorium is located at the confluence of the Chemalka and Katun rivers. This sanatorium (in my opinion) is the wife of M.I. Kalinina organized

"Воспитанник санатория"

Немногим более года назад мне пришло последнее письмо из Твери от Петра Ивановича Костянина. Мы переписывались несколько лет и знакомы были только так, полузаочно. К сожалению, он не прислал фотографии, и я не знаю этого человека в лицо. Хотя иногда казалось: коль приеду в Тверскую область — найду и угадаю Костянина без особого труда.

Он родился в Ленинграде в 1937-м году в семье учителей. Стал старшим сыном: в 1939-м появился на свет младший брат Володя, а год спустя — сестрёнка Дарина. Старшего сына родители назвали в честь их давнего друга. Однажды отец семейства отправился вместе с ним на охоту. День был тёплый, друзья решили искупаться. Первым начал плавать Иван — и на глубине свело судорогой обе ноги. Пётр увидел беду, кинулся в реку. Друга вытащил, сам вышел на берег — и мгновенно умер. Он с детства имел слабое сердце (видимо, порок), знал об этом. И в критическую минуту выбрал жизнь товарища, а не собственную. Сердце, видно, было слабое, зато золотое.

Семья Костяниных жила дружно. Крепкая детская память сохранила много радостных мгновений. Вместе ходили за черникой и грибами и однажды встретили лося. Были частыми гостями разных музеев — ничего, что дети ещё очень малы. Каждый вечер отец читал сказки. Мама любила вязать красивые вещички для Дарины и носки сыновьям.


...Отец ушёл на фронт 22 июня. Четырёхлетний Петя всё стоял у окна с корзинкой — они в тот день собирались за земляникой. Думал, отец передумает бить фрицев и вернётся. Но не вернулся.

Еды в доме становилось всё меньше. Мама — всё строже, а ребятишки — всё тише. Поначалу очень боялись налётов, прятались на лестничной клетке деревянного дома, от страха не понимая, что это не защита. Потом привыкли и по гулу определяли, далеко ли упадёт.

Первой слегла Дарина. Как-то очень тихо, вечером больше обычного полежала на диване, а утром уже и вовсе не могла встать. Пете казалось, что сестрёнка угасла всего за несколько дней. Может быть, в действительности это было не так, но исход-то не изменился: смерть прибрала к рукам малышку. Чёрная от горя и очень худая мама хотела Дарьяну похоронить. Но за гроб надо было отдать половину суточного хлебного пайка. Завернула в простыню и унесла куда-то.

Потеряв одного ребёнка, мать отчаянно билась за жизнь двух оставшихся. Это теперь, издалека, понятно, что она делила на ребят и свой паёк. А тогда Петька думал, что мать просто не хочет есть и завидовал, что сыта. Наступил чёрный день, когда не встала и она. Подозвала к себе Петю, тот подошёл, ещё ничего не понимая. Мама говорила, что надо идти к соседям, но мальчуган так и не понял, зачем. Голова была уже словно ватная, ноги не слушались...
Что было дальше, Пётр Иванович не помнит. Ему казалось, он лежал так долгое время, но, по всей видимости, несколько дней. Их нашли соседи — ещё живого мальчика и его умершую семью.

Отправили в госпиталь, потом — в Ленинградский детский костно-туберкулёзный санаторий.

А потом помнит Пётр Иванович долгую-долгую дорогу. Ехали вместе: врачи, нянечки, больные ребятишки. Тех, кто мог ходить, посадили вплотную друг к дружке. Лежачим, как считал тогда мальчишка, повезло — они в основном в одиночку занимали койку. Все говорили длинное красивое слово «эвакуация». И до того слово понравилось Петьке, что он решил, будто это название города, где воюет его отец. Так всем и говорил, что к папе едет. Его никто не переубеждал.

"Воспитанник санатория"


И ещё два слова — Чемал и Алтай. Ну, с этим всё просто. Алтай — явно кличка собаки, её тёзка когда-то жила у соседей Костяниных. А Чемал, наверное, приятель Алтая. Значит, батя на войне взял двух собак, которые помогают с врагом биться.

Наконец, приехали. Эвакуированный санаторий прибыл на курорт «Чемал» 26 августа 1942 года — эту дату я нашла в истории санатория. Врачи и медсёстры спасли из блокадного города 247 детей.

Здесь, в санатории, началась у Пети новая жизнь. Не сказать, чтобы она была очень сытная, хотя кормили несравненно лучше, чем в осаждённом Ленинграде. Детям каждый день выдавали от четырёхсот до пятисот (в зависимости от возраста и состояния) граммов хлеба. И хлеб этот пах почти по-настоящему, в нём не встречались опилки.

Петьке на ту пору было пять с половиной лет. Он не знал свой диагноз. Мог ходить, хотя с трудом, потому что болело, казалось, всё тело.

Каждый день около него были взрослые люди, ставшие родными. Кормили, одевали, каждый день меняли постель. Помнит Пётр Иванович, что одна нянечка пела на ночь колыбельные. Это были простые, незатейливые песни. Но когда она пела их, плакала. Война забрала у нянечки четверых сыновей.
Приходили к ним взрослые незнакомые люди со странными именем «кружководы». Петька думал, что сейчас что-то с кружками случится, но его стали учить вырезать из бумаги разные фигуры. Учили читать, и он с огромной радостью и совершенно по-взрослому вслух читал фронтовые газеты.

Почти каждый день давали рыбий жир — по ложке. Вот уж гадость! Все ребята, кто мог двигать руками, зажимали носы. Кто уже вставал — отворачивались к стенкам. Ни на кого никогда не кричали. Медсёстры давали ребятишкам солёный хлеб, чтобы жир не казался таким противным. Лишь однажды на Петьку прикрикнули, когда он оттолкнул руку сестры и жир разлился.

- Что же ты сделал! - воскликнула женщина. - Суточную норму выбросил! Разве ты забыл Ленинград? Разве ты выбросил бы кусочек хлеба?

И Петька заплакал. Вспомнил сестрёнку в простыне, лежащую маму, туман в голове, когда он находился в комнате с умершими родными. Медсестра заплакала вместе с мальчиком, обняла его и стала целовать. «Прости!» - всё повторяла. Петька никакой обиды не держал. Просто должны же были когда-то выйти на свет эти слёзы.



В санатории Петя прожил до самой Победы. Здесь начал учиться, и очень даже неплохо. Здесь нашёл своего мудрого наставника, врача Анатолия Ивановича Санникова. Можно сказать, Анатолий Иванович в те годы заменил мальчику погибшего отца. Они подолгу разговаривали. Удивительно: разговоры эти были совсем не детскими, но Петя понимал всё. Так, доктор рассказывал ему об Анне Карениной, Пьере Безухове — и первоклассник мечтал прочитать эти произведения. В библиотеке санатория их не было, мечта сбылась много лет спустя. Говорили о том, как делают бумагу. И Пётр Иванович за всю свою жизнь ни разу не выбросил листа, не убедившись, что его уже нельзя использовать.

После выписки он жил в детском доме — там же, на Алтае. Потом поступил в училище, затем в техникум. Переехал в Тверь, где, как он помнил из детства, когда-то жили родственники матери. Не нашёл никого.

Уже будучи взрослым, приехал в Ленинград. Отыскал свой дом, но так и не вошёл — не решился. Зашёл в военкомат, пытаясь выяснить судьбу отца. Эти поиски Пётр Иванович вёл несколько лет, и узнал, что отец погиб в Прохоровском сражении.

...Когда Пётр Иванович услышал песню «Эхо первой любви» в исполнении Евгения Мартынова (стихи — Роберта Рождественского) понял, что в Ленинград больше не вернётся. Песня была о другом — человек искал девушку и надеялся на встречу с ней. А Костянину искать в родном городе было некого, и он это знал. Но всё же строчки «И ночные огни повторяли светло: «то, что было, прошло, то, что было, прошло...» вызывали у него слёзы долгие годы.

Пётр Иванович не завёл семью, жил один, работал на каком-то строительном предприятии. Переписывался с Санниковым, приезжал несколько раз в Чемал. Себя он называл "воспитанником санатория".

Уже более года нет от него писем, мои ушли впустую. Но, может быть, этот материал прочитает кто-то, кто знал Костянина?..

Примечание к снимкам. Это фотографии санатория военной поры. На второй вы видите ряд кроватей — ребята так проводили тихий час — их вывозили на веранду подышать воздухом. В тёплое время года окна веранды были закрыты, в холодное — открыты.

Комментарии к фотографиям: это снимки военной поры. На втором - тихий час, во время которого детей помещали на веранду.
Автор: Софья Милютинская


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 6

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. EvgNik 14 ноября 2016 07:15
    Хороший рассказ, Софья, очень хороший, спасибо. Рыбий жир тоже не любил в детстве, а сейчас принимал бы с удовольствием.
  2. parusnik 14 ноября 2016 07:53
    Жизнь всё таки сильнее....Спасибо, Софья...На Ваших рассказах душа отдыхает..
  3. Шульц 14 ноября 2016 09:40
    Благодаря автора за статью, следует отметить, что подобное отнесение в героическое прошлое создает тот костный аппарат, что удерживает нацию от развала на мелкие составляющие и тем добавляет определенную остойчивость в день сегодняшний.
  4. нивасандер 14 ноября 2016 12:07
    Чемал классное место---горный воздух и полное отсутствие комаров
  5. Reptiloid 14 ноября 2016 15:59
    Большое спасибо за рассказ, Софья.Про Ленинград всегда читаю с волнением.Думаю,большой подарок судьбы,что знал и знаю Блокадников,Участников, Ветеранов ВО. С уважением.
  6. sibiryk 15 ноября 2016 13:47
    Софья, огромное спасибо за рассказ... Бывал я в Чемале довелось погулять по территории этого самого санатория, места там красивейшие, а санаторий находится на месте слияния рек Чемалка и Катунь. Этот санаторий (по-моему) жена М.И. Калинина организовывала
Картина дня