Military Review

The decisive battle of the First World War. East Prussian operation 1914 of the year. About losses. CH 2. 8 Army

5
Consider the total loss of German troops.
During the first clashes and battles with the troops of the 1 Army, the German cavalry with the support of infantry units 23-29 in July 1914 lost (Verzhbolovo, Shmaleninken-Eidkunen, Marunsken) killed, wounded and captured to 500 people [Rogvold V. Decree. cit. C. 22; Collection of documents. C. 111; Vatsetis I.I. Fighting in East Prussia. C. 25], another 218 man and 2 guns were lost during the Kaushen 2-th Landwehr Brigade, and before 1500 a man lost the 1-i Army Corps in the battle of Stallupenin.


Gumbinnenskoe battle led to the loss of the Germans (mainly - 1 th and 17 th corps) 14607 people (435 officers and 14172 lower rank) [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 - 1918. Bd. 2. S. 101] (Most of them belonged to A. von Mackensen’s 17 Army Corps, who lost 200 officers and 8000 lower ranks. S. 93), including - 1500 prisoners, as well as 12 guns and 15 machine guns.

Such was the result of the 1 th victory of the Russian troops and the Entente in the First World War. Eyewitnesses recalled how the regiments of the McKen's corps, formed from the Prussians, went on the offensive as in a parade - not paying attention to the deadly fire of the 27 artillery brigade. And then, in order to support his overbearing infantry, the German artillery made a courageous act - a whole division, helping its infantry during critical moments of the battle, stood in an open position - only 1000 steps away from the Russians. As a result, the German division was destroyed - and its 12 guns became a valuable trophy of the 27 Infantry Division.

The document noted how the German infantry - a column led by officers - went on the offensive, having fallen under the influence of 14 Russian machine guns, which opened fire over the heads of their infantry. The machine gunners and the battery of the 3 division of the mortar battalion exterminated this convoy in 5 minutes, laying down the 1500 man [Radus - Zenkovich L. Decree. cit. C. 63]. Moreover, some German regiments lost all officers and non-commissioned officers and more than two thirds of the rank and file [Collection of documents. C. 212].

The Germans suffered heavy losses while fighting against units of the 2 Army.
During the unsuccessful battle for Orlau with the Germans of the 15 Army Corps, the German 37 Infantry Division, which was on the left flank of the 20 Army Corps, was crushed [Evseev N. Decree. cit. C. 103]. According to N. Yevseyev, the losses of the German units killed and wounded were as follows: the 1 th Jaeger Battalion - 16 officers and 254 privates; 151 Infantry Regiment - 16 officers and 380 soldiers; battalion 146 Infantry Regiment - 34 soldier; The 147 Infantry Regiment suffered the most (some of its companies lost their 150 fighters). According to incomplete information, the 75-I infantry brigade lost more than 300 people. From the 73 Infantry Brigade, Russians buried 587 people on the battlefield. The 29 Infantry Regiment of the Chernigov Regiment buried around 600 German soldiers and officers, picking up more than 800 wounded.

In general, the losses of the Germans (20-th Army Corps and 70-I Land Brigade) 10-11 in August at Orlau-Frankenau were killed at least 1000 people and wounded before 3000 people (most of them fell into Russian hands) [Ibid].

On August 13, in the battle at Bischofsburg, the losses of the 69 brigade amounted to 1000 people, the 6 th landscape brigade - 470 people (of which 38 officers). Total losses of the 17 Army and 1 Reserve Corps, as well as the 6 Land Brigade - 4000 people [Temples F. Decree. cit. C. 38].


Killed Germans.

The onslaught of the central group of the Samsonian army, even according to incomplete information, cost the Germans dearly. For example, on August 13 on the offensive section of the Russian 2 Infantry Division of the 23 AK, the German 41 Infantry Division of the 20 AK lost 1200-1250 fighters [regiments - 18 infantry - 30, 148 infantry - 600, 152 infantry - 73 fighter; 72 Infantry Brigade - 550 fighters. Evseev N. Decree. cit. C. 158. See also Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 - 1918. Bd. 2. S. 153]. Combat Y. Buchinsky recalled how under the fire of Russian machine-gunners rapidly chained chains of German infantry [Buchinsky Yu. F. Decree. cit. C. 19].

The loss of 15 August units of the same 41 division at Waplitz was great. An eyewitness recalled the terrible action of the Russian artillery fire, after which the mountains of the dead and wounded remained. He counted only wounded Germans at the edge of the 300-400 forest. A convoy of prisoners from 600 to 700 gathered on the highway, the second being already (the first was 800 prisoners). All this testified to the defeat of the German brigade. [Zhelondkovskiy V.E. Memories of Colonel Zhelondkovskiy about participation in the actions of the XV Corps during the operation of the army of General Samsonov // Military Collection. Belgrade. 1926. Prince 7. C. 294].

Total losses of the 41 Division at Waplitz - 2400 soldiers and officers and 13 guns [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 - 1918. Bd. 2. S. 187]. A German source described how German troops had to break through a throat wide 2,5 km - suffering heavy losses. The 41 Division lost two thirds of its combat strength - from among those who survived the previous battles, and after Vaplic, the remnants of the division lost any combat significance. The gunners also got it: the 35 and 79 artillery regiments lost 61 people.

On August 15, in the Mühlen area, the Unger division launched several unsuccessful attacks, repelled by the Russian 6 Infantry Division, with heavy casualties for the Germans. [Temples F. Decree. cit. C. 55].

At Vaplitsa and Mühlen the Russians captured many prisoners. [General N. N. Martos referred to the number of officers captured by Waplitz — 18 officers and more than 1000 soldiers. Golovin N.N. Iz stories 1914 campaigns on the Russian front. The beginning of the war and operations in East Prussia. C. 273. In A. Kersnovsky, the number increases to 1400 people - indicating that this is the total number of captives in Vaplitsa and Mühlen. Kersnovsky A. A. Decree. cit. T. 3. C. 340. The 30 Infantry Regiment distinguished itself, seized 11 officers and 380 soldiers (Collection of documents. C. 584) and 5 th Infantry Regiment (only 2 Battalion captivated Mühlen to 250 people, and also captured the battery (1 gun was drowned Lake Muhlen, and 3 taken)) (Yu. F. Buchinsky. Decree. Op. C. 29)]. Many heroes were buried at the scene of the battle: N. Evseev wrote about German and 427 Russian soldiers buried near Vaplitsa 159 [Evseev N. Decree. cit. C. 217]. According to others, 59 officer, 22 noncommissioned officer and 42 rank and file (total losses of this German regiment - 703 officers and 28 of the lower ranks) are among the only ones from the 1500 Infantry Regiment (the total losses of the German regiment are among the last - the regimental commander, Colonel Sontag, who soon died from his wounds). The German 152 Infantry Regiment lost 12 officers and 514 lower ranks under Vaplitsy [Bogdanovich P. N. Invasion of East Prussia in August 1914. Memoirs of General Samsonov, an officer of the general staff of the army. Buenos Aires, 1964. C. 167].


German infantrymen attack under fire.

Thus, even before the onset of the main events of Tannenberg, both (37 and 41) divisions of the 20 corps were so shabby that in the further course of the operation they almost did not participate.

In the battle of Allenstein 2000 was captured by the Germans.
Moreover, freeing their captives later on, the Germans often shot at their compatriots, taking them for Russians [Evseev N. Decree. cit. C. 241]. For example, the 5 hussar regiment did not dare to attack in the Cossack regiment that was just barely escorting the captured Germans. He waited for his infantry and artillery, and only then did the German hussars go on the offensive, capturing the Russian field hospital and 100 wounded German prisoners who were treated in it. Still 400 captured Germans were simply thrown by the Russian escort, and returned to their own, having survived before this intensive shooting from their own comrades. An eyewitness cites the contents of a Russian dispatch sent by a non-commissioned officer from vil. Mühlen: 80 soldiers of various companies gathered around, there are no cartridges and officers, and 300 German prisoners are sitting in the shed [Zhelondkovsky V.E. Decree. cit. C. 290].

Even finishing off the surrounded parts of the central group of the 2 Army, the Germans suffered heavy losses. Thus, in the battle under the Adlershorst 17 in August, units of the German 2 Infantry Division fought heavy battles, which caused great losses to both sides. On the same day, a fierce battle between the German 1 Infantry Division and the Russian units, breaking through from the encirclement, occurred between Wallendorf and Mushaken. The infantry of the German 42 regiment went on the attack on the Russian battery, but was shot. Only after the powerful German artillery was put into action was the Russian battery suppressed and then captured, but the Russian infantry withdrew [Evseev N. Decree. cit. C. 265]. And when in a kilometer southeast of places. Malgaofen units of the brigade of the German 1 Infantry Division made a halt, they were hit by the Russian units, losing more than 200 people, including the brigade commander, General F. Trotta. The erupting Russian part dispersed parts of the German brigade — moreover, the German infantrymen exchanged fire for some time between themselves. In this fight from the German side, apart from the general, the 2 battalion commander was killed, and the losses were very large [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 - 1918. Bd 2. Berlin, 1925. S. 229]. When the 1 Battalion of the 21 Infantry Regiment later discovered the movement of the Russian units on Canvizen and went on the attack, it was destroyed. It is in the battles at the places mentioned above. Wahlendorf, the Germans left the largest artillery trophy in the course of the operation, the 13 gun, in the hands of parts of the 22 Army Corps breaking out of the encirclement.

All in all, in battles with the troops of the 2 Army in the period of 13 - 18 of August (that is, in the period of "Tannenberg"), the Germans (37-I and 41-I infantry divisions of the 20-AK (the unit was actually defeated), 2-I 1 Infantry Division AK, 3-I reserve division, Goltz Landver Division, 6-I and 70-Land Brigade under Gross-Bessau, Bischofsburg, Usdau-Soldau, Allenstein, WJ, I is in a row, I is in a row, it is in a row, it is in a row, it is in a row, it is in a row, it is a man, a man, a man, a man, a man, a man, a man, a man, a man, and a man. of the pursuit battles (all 12 divisions liquidating the tannenberg boiler), according to German data, lost 12000 fighters [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 - 1918. Bd. 2. S. 346]. To this figure should add 4000 people, lost 10-11 August Orlau-Frankenau.

Finally, in the final stage of the operation, during the First Battle of the Mazury Lakes with the troops of the Russian 1 Army, the 8 Army lost, according to Russian data, before 14000, and in German - 9000 people [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 - 1918. Bd. 2. S. 317. Moreover, the source noted the particularly large losses of the 11 and 17 of the army corps].

The decisive battle of the First World War. East Prussian operation 1914 of the year. About losses. CH 2. 8 Army

German machine gunners in the battles of the Masurian Lakes.

Thus, we see that the total losses of the 8 Army in late July – August 1914 in battles with units of the 1 Army were at least 26000 a man (the largest losses were suffered at Gumbinnen - 14607 soldiers and officers, in the course of the First Battle of Mazury Lakes - no less than 9000 people and at Stallupenen - 1500 people), and in battles with the troops of the 2 Army - no less 16000 man (4000 at Orlau-Frankenau and 12000 in the period of August 13-18 - realizing Tannenberg).

Total - at least 42000 people. Reichsarchive confirms the loss of 8 Army in the number of 37000 people [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 - 1918. Bd. 2. S. 317]. The difference between this figure and our calculations is that a large number of German soldiers and officers captured in Russian were then released by their troops (as, according to A. Knox, only a part of the 15 corps was in the “boiler” and only in battles 10, 11 and 14 August captured 1300 prisoners. Knox A. Op. cit. P. 81).

In total, the operation under consideration was captured by Russian troops up to 7000 people (100 at Stallupenene, 1500 at Gumbinnen, at least 2000 at Orlau-Frankenau, and at least 3000 in the period of 13 - August 18 - Mühlen-Waplitz, Hohenstein, Gross-Bessau, Allen, Gönstein, Gross-Bessaun, Allen, 2, August - Mühlen-Waplitz, Hohenstein, Gross-Bessau, Allen, Hohenstein, Gross-Bessaun, Allen, XNUMX, August - Mühlen-Waplitz, Hohenstein, Gross-Bessaun, Allen, XNUMX, August - Soldau). Moreover, two thirds of this amount falls on the share of the troops of the XNUMX Army. V.I. Gurko also noted that several thousand prisoners of war were captured by the troops of the latter [Gurko V.I. War and revolution in Russia. Memoirs of the commander of the Western Front 1914 - 1917. M., 2007. C. 84]. But the losses of the Germans in the battles with the 2 army were mitigated by the fact that most of the captured Germans captured by Samson's troops returned to their own after the death of the encircled central corps - and this is at least 5000 people (captured by 2000 people from Orlau - Frankenau, 2000 people - Allenstein and over 1000 people - Vaplitsa).

For the Germans, the most costly were Gumbinnen, "Tannenberg" and the First Battle of the Mazury Lakes. And for the 8 army, which lost 20% of its original composition, the transfer of fresh divisions from France was more than relevant.
Author:
5 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Barcid
    Barcid 11 September 2017 08: 43
    +19
    Yes, the Germans also got
    In the war, the best and most courageous people die on both sides.
    Thank you for a quality article involving a wide range of sources.
  2. Koshnitsa
    Koshnitsa 11 September 2017 08: 52
    +10
    Great article! It was necessary for a hundred years to pass before such articles appeared in the national periodicals.
    Keep it up, Alexey and good luck to you!
  3. linen
    linen 12 September 2017 02: 01
    0
    In general, the last photograph refers to the Vistula
    1. OAV09081974
      12 September 2017 05: 40
      +19
      In general, the last photograph refers to the Vistula

      I try whenever possible to pick up the photo to the site.

      Here is a link to a modern edition.
      http://www.grwar.ru/pictures/pictures.html?id=167

      But the original photo from the German photo album 1915. The whole page is thematically related to the battles in East Prussia and at the Masurian Lakes in the summer - in the winter 1914 of the year.


      Thank you dear Koshnitsa and Barcid for your appreciation.
      I thank Koshnitsa for the wish. hi
      Best regards
      Oleynikov A.
  4. Lieutenant Teterin
    Lieutenant Teterin 12 September 2017 09: 02
    +13
    A wonderful and objective article! The victory in East Prussia was also given to the Germans at a considerable price, which dispels the myths that the 8th Army supposedly with miserable losses repelled the Russian offensive. Thanks to the author for the work done!

Решающая битва Первой мировой. Восточно-Прусская операция 1914 года. О потерях. Ч. 2. 8-я армия

Рассмотрим общие потери германских войск.
В ходе первых стычек и боев с войсками 1-й армии германская конница при поддержке пехотных подразделений 23-29 июля 1914 г. потеряла (Вержболово, Шмаленинкен-Эйдкунен, Марунскен) убитыми, ранеными и пленными до 500 человек [Рогвольд В. Указ. соч. С. 22; Сборник документов. С. 111; Вацетис И. И. Боевые действия в Восточной Пруссии. С. 25], еще 218 человек и 2 орудия были потеряны при Каушене 2-й ландверной бригадой, и до 1500 человек потерял 1-й армейский корпус в бою при Сталлупенене.

Гумбинненское сражение привело к потере немцами (в основном - 1-й и 17-й корпуса) 14607 человек (435 офицеров и 14172 нижних чина) [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 – 1918. Вd. 2. S. 101] (большинство пришлось на 17-й армейский корпус А. фон Макензена, потерявший 200 офицеров и 8000 нижних чинов. S. 93), в том числе – 1500 пленными, а также 12 орудий и 15 пулеметов.

Таков был результат 1-й победы русских войск и Антанты в Первой мировой. Очевидцы вспоминали, как полки макензеновского корпуса, сформированные из пруссаков, шли в наступление как на параде - не обращая внимания на убийственный огонь 27-й артиллерийской бригады. И тогда, чтобы поддержать свою зарвавшуюся пехоту, немецкая артиллерия совершила мужественный поступок – целый дивизион, помогая своей пехоте в критические минуты боя, встал на открытой позиции – всего в 1000 шагов от русских. В результате германский дивизион был уничтожен – и его 12 орудий стали ценным трофеем 27-й пехотной дивизии.


Документ отмечал, как немецкая пехота - колонной во главе с офицерами - пошла в наступление, попав под воздействие 14 русских пулеметов, открывших огонь через головы своей пехоты. Пулеметчики и батарея 3-го мортирного дивизиона за 5 минут истребили эту колонну, уложив до 1500 человек [Радус - Зенкович Л. Указ. соч. С. 63]. Причем некоторые германские полки потеряли всех офицеров и унтер-офицеров и свыше двух третей рядовых [Сборник документов. С. 212].

Большие потери немцы понесли, сражаясь и против частей 2-й армии.
В ходе неудачного для германцев боя при Орлау с войсками 15-го армейского корпуса немецкая 37-я пехотная дивизия, находившаяся на левом фланге 20-го армейского корпуса, оказалась разгромлена [Евсеев Н. Указ. соч. С. 103]. По данным Н. Евсеева потери немецких частей убитыми и ранеными составили: 1-й егерский батальон - 16 офицеров и 254 рядовых; 151-й пехотный полк - 16 офицеров и 380 солдат; батальон 146-го пехотного полка - 34 солдата; 147-й пехотный полк пострадал наиболее сильно (некоторые его роты потеряли по 150 бойцов). По далеко неполным сведениям, 75-я пехотная бригада потеряла более 300 человек. Из 73-й пехотной бригады русские захоронили на поле боя 587 человек. 29-й пехотный Черниговский полк похоронил около 600 немецких солдат и офицеров, подобрав более 800 раненых.

В целом потери германцев (20-й армейский корпус и 70-я ландверная бригада) 10-11 августа при Орлау-Франкенау составляли убитыми не менее 1000 человек и ранеными до 3000 человек (большинство из них попали в русские руки) [Там же].

13 августа в бою у Бишофсбурга потери 69-й бригады составили 1000 человек, 6-й ландверной бригады – 470 человек (из них 38 офицеров). Общие потери 17-го армейского и 1-го резервного корпусов, а также 6-й ландверной бригады - 4000 человек [Храмов Ф. Указ. соч. С. 38].


Убитые германцы.

Натиск центральной группы самсоновской армии, даже по неполным сведениям, обошелся германцам дорого. Так, 13 августа на участке наступления русской 2-й пехотной дивизии 23-го АК германская 41-я пехотная дивизия 20-го АК потеряла 1200-1250 бойцов [полки - 18-й пехотный – 30, 148-й пехотный – 600, 152-й пехотный - 73 бойца; 72-я пехотная бригада - 550 бойцов. Евсеев Н. Указ. соч. С. 158. Также см. Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 – 1918. Вd. 2. S. 153]. Комбат Ю. Бучинский вспоминал, как под огнем русских пулеметчиков стремительно редели цепи германской пехоты [Бучинский Ю. Ф. Указ. соч. С. 19].

Большими были потери 15 августа частей все той же 41-й дивизии у Ваплица. Очевидец вспоминал о страшном действии русского артиллерийского огня, после которого оставались горы убитых и раненых. Он насчитал лишь на опушке леса 300-400 раненных немцев. На шоссе собралась колонна пленных численностью от 600 до 700 человек – причем уже вторая (в первой было 800 пленных). Все это свидетельствовало о разгроме германской бригады [Желондковский В. Е. Воспоминания полковника Желондковского об участии в действиях XV корпуса во время операции армии генерала Самсонова // Военный Сборник. Белград. 1926. Кн. 7. С. 294].

Общие потери 41-й дивизии у Ваплица - 2400 солдат и офицеров и 13 орудий [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 – 1918. Вd. 2. S. 187]. Германский источник описал, как немецким войскам пришлось прорываться через горловину шириной 2,5 км – понеся крупные потери. 41-я дивизия потеряла две трети своего боевого состава – из числа тех кто уцелел после предыдущих боев, и после Ваплица остатки дивизии утратили какое-либо боевое значение. Досталось и артиллеристам: 35-й и 79-й артполки потеряли 61 человека.

15 августа в районе Мюлена дивизия Унгера предприняла несколько безуспешных атак, отраженных русской 6-й пехотной дивизией с большими для немцев потерями [Храмов Ф. Указ. соч. С. 55].

У Ваплица и Мюлена русские захватили много пленных [Генерал Н. Н. Мартос называл цифру плененных у Ваплица - 18 офицеров и более 1000 рядовых. Головин Н. Н. Из истории кампании 1914 г. на Русском фронте. Начало войны и операции в Восточной Пруссии. С. 273. У А. А. Керсновского количество возрастает до 1400 человек – с указанием что это общее количество плененных у Ваплица и Мюлена. Керсновский А. А. Указ. соч. Т. 3. С. 340. Отличились 30-й пехотный полк, захвативший 11 офицеров и 380 солдат (Сборник документов. С. 584) и 5-й пехотный полк (лишь 2-й батальон пленил у Мюлена до 250 человек, а также захватил батарею (1 орудие было утоплено в Мюленском озере, а 3 взяты)) (Бучинский Ю. Ф. Указ. соч. С. 29)]. Много героев было захоронено на месте боя: Н. Евсеев пишет о похороненных у Ваплица 427 немецких и 159 русских солдатах [Евсеев Н. Указ. соч. С. 217]. По другим данным, на ваплицком кладбище лишь из состава 59-го пехотного полка лежат 22 офицера, 42 унтер-офицера и 703 рядовых (общие потери этого германского полка - 28 офицеров и 1500 нижних чинов, причем много раненных попало в русский плен; среди последних - командир полка полковник Зонтаг, вскоре скончавшийся от ран). Германский 152-й пехотный полк потерял под Ваплицем 12 офицеров и 514 нижних чинов [Богданович П. Н. Вторжение в Восточную Пруссию в августе 1914 г. Воспоминания офицера генерального штаба армии генерала Самсонова. Буэнос-Айрес, 1964. С. 167].


Германские пехотинцы наступают под огнем.

Т. о., еще до наступления основных событий «Танненберга» обе (37-я и 41-я) дивизии 20-го корпуса оказались настолько потрепаны, что в дальнейшем ходе операции почти не участвовали.

В бою у Алленштейна было пленено 2000 немцев.
Причем освобождая в дальнейшем своих пленных, немцы часто стреляли по своим соотечественникам, принимая их за русских [Евсеев Н. Указ. соч. С. 241]. Например, 5-й гусарский полк не рискнул атаковать в Едвабно казачий конвой, сопровождавший пленных немцев. Он дождался свою пехоту и артиллерию, и лишь тогда немецкие гусары перешли в наступление, захватив русский полевой госпиталь и 100 раненных пленных германцев, которые в нем лечились. Еще 400 пленных германцев были попросту брошены русским конвоем, и вернулись к своим, пережив перед этим усиленную стрельбу со стороны своих же товарищей. Очевидец приводит содержание русской депеши, посланной унтер-офицером из дер. Мюлен: собралось 80 солдат разных рот, патронов и офицеров нет, а в сарае сидят 300 пленных немцев [Желондковский В. Е. Указ. соч. С. 290].

Даже добивая окруженные части центральной группы 2-й армии, германцы несли большие потери. Так, в бою под Адлерсхорстом 17 августа части германской 2-й пехотной дивизии вели тяжелые бои, принесшие обеим сторонам большие потери. В тот же день между Валлендорфом и Мушакен произошел ожесточенный бой германской 1-й пехотной дивизии и русских частей, прорывающихся из окружения. Пехота германского 42-го полка пошла в атаку на русскую батарею, но оказалась расстреляна. Лишь после ввода в бой мощной немецкой артиллерии русская батарея была подавлена и затем захвачена, но русская пехота ушла [Евсеев Н. Указ. соч. С. 265]. А когда в километре юго-восточнее мест. Мальгаофен части бригады германской 1-й пехотной дивизии сделали привал, они подверглись удару русских частей, потеряв более 200 человек, включая комбрига генерала Ф. Тротта. Прорывающаяся русская часть рассеяла части германской бригады - причем немецкие пехотинцы какое-то время вели перестрелку между собой. В этом бою с немецкой стороны кроме генерала погибли 2 комбата, а потери были очень большими [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 – 1918. Вd 2. Berlin, 1925. S. 229]. Когда позже 1-й батальон 21-го пехотного полка, обнаружив движение русских частей на Канвизен, пошел в атаку, он был уничтожен. Именно в боях у упомянутого выше мест. Валендорф немцы оставили в руках прорывающихся из окружения частей 13-го армейского корпуса самый крупный артиллерийский трофей в ходе рассматриваемой операции - 22 орудия.

Всего же в боях с войсками 2-й армии в период 13 - 18 августа (то есть в период «Танненберга») германцы (37-я и 41-я пехотные дивизии 20-го АК (соединение фактически было разгромлено), 2-я пехотная дивизия 1-го АК, 3-я резервная дивизия, ландверная дивизия Гольца, 6-я и 70-я ландверные бригады) под Гросс-Бессау, Бишофсбургом, Усдау-Сольдау, Алленштейном, Ваплицем, Мюленом, Гогенштейном, а также в ходе боев преследования (все 12 дивизий, ликвидирующих «танненбергский» котел) по немецким данным потеряли 12000 бойцов [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 – 1918. Вd. 2. S. 346]. К этой цифре следует добавить 4000 человек, потерянных 10-11 августа у Орлау-Франкенау.

Наконец, на финальной стадии операции, в ходе Первого сражения у Мазурских озер с войсками русской 1-й армии, 8-я армия потеряла, по русским данным до 14000, и по немецким – 9000 человек [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 – 1918. Вd. 2. S. 317. Причем источник отметил особенно большие потери 11-го и 17-го армейских корпусов].

Решающая битва Первой мировой. Восточно-Прусская операция 1914 года. О потерях. Ч. 2. 8-я армия

Немецкие пулеметчики в боях у Мазурских озер.

Таким образом, мы видим, что общие потери 8-й армии в конце июля–августе 1914 г. в боях с частями 1-й армии составили не менее 26000 человек (самые крупные потери были понесены при Гумбиннене – 14607 солдат и офицеров, в ходе Первого сражения у Мазурских озер – не менее 9000 человек и при Сталлупенене – 1500 человек), а в сражениях с войсками 2-й армии – не менее 16000 человек (4000 при Орлау-Франкенау и 12000 в период 13-18 августа – реализуя «Танненберг»).

Итого – не менее 42000 человек. Рейхсархив подтверждает потери 8-й армии в количестве 37000 человек [Reichsarchiv. Der Weltkrieg 1914 – 1918. Вd. 2. S. 317]. Разница этой цифры и наших подсчетов состоит в том, что большое количество немецких солдат и офицеров, попавших в русский плен, затем были освобождены своими войсками (так, по свидетельству А. Нокса, лишь части оказавшегося в «котле» 15-го корпуса и лишь в боях 10, 11 и 14 августа захватили 1300 пленных. Knox A. Op. cit. P. 81).

Всего же рассматриваемой операции русские войска захватили до 7000 человек (100 при Сталлупенене, 1500 при Гумбиннене, не менее 2000 при Орлау-Франкенау и не менее 3000 в период 13 - 18 августа - Мюлен-Ваплиц, Гогенштейн, Гросс-Бессау, Алленштейн, Уздау-Сольдау). Причем две трети от этого количества приходится на долю войск 2-й армии. В. И. Гурко также отмечал, что войсками последней было захвачено несколько тысяч военнопленных [Гурко В. И. Война и революция в России. Мемуары командующего Западным фронтом 1914 – 1917. М., 2007. С. 84]. Но потери германцев в сражениях со 2-й армией были смягчены тем, что большинство пленных германцев, захваченных самсоновскими войсками, после гибели окруженных центральных корпусов, возвратилось к своим - а это не менее 5000 человек (плененные 2000 человек у Орлау - Франкенау, 2000 человек – у Алленштейна и свыше 1000 человек – у Ваплица).

Для немцев наиболее затратными были Гумбиннен, «Танненберг» и Первое сражение у Мазурских озер. И для 8-й армии, потерявшей 20% своего первоначального состава, переброска свежих дивизий из Франции была более чем актуальна.
Автор: Олейников Алексей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Barcid 11 сентября 2017 08:43
    Да, немцам тоже досталось
    На войне с обеих сторон гибнут самые лучшие и смелые люди.
    Спасибо за качественную статью с привлечением широкого круга источников.
  2. Кошница 11 сентября 2017 08:52
    Прекрасная статья! Нужно было чтобы прошло сто лет, чтобы в отечественной периодике появились такие статьи.
    Так держать, Алексей и удачи Вам!
  3. lin 12 сентября 2017 02:01
    Вообще то последний фотографический снимок относится к Висле
    lin
    1. OAV09081974 12 сентября 2017 05:40
      Вообще то последний фотографический снимок относится к Висле

      Стараюсь по возможности фото подбирать к месту.

      Вот ссылка на современное издание
      http://www.grwar.ru/pictures/pictures.html?id=167

      А вот оригинальное фото из германского фотоальбома 1915 г. Вся страница тематически относится к боям в Восточной Пруссии и у Мазурских озер летом - зимой 1914 года.


      Спасибо уважаемые Кошница и Barcid за высокую оценку.
      Благодарю Кошница за пожелание hi
      С уважением
      Олейников А.
  4. ПоручикТетеринъ 12 сентября 2017 09:02
    Прекрасная и объективная статья! Немцам победа в Восточной Пруссии тоже далась немалой ценой, что развенчивает мифы о том, что 8-я армия якобы с мизерными потерями отразила русское наступление. Автору--благодарность за проделанный труд!
Картина дня