Military Review

The Pentagon ordered the creation of a new guidance system for 155-mm ammunition

6
The company BAE Systems will develop for the US Army new adjustable artillery shells. According to the portal defensenews.com, the US Department of Defense signed a contract with the contractor to create a new guidance system for 155-mm ammunition.


The cost of the contract is estimated at $ 8 million. For this money, BAE Systems should provide the US Army with ready-made samples of the guidance system for projectiles that can be aimed at the target in conditions of unstable GPS operation.

The Pentagon ordered the creation of a new guidance system for 155-mm ammunition


We understand the critical importance of maintaining the accuracy of long-range artillery against any adversary. Our kits will provide this opportunity for existing 155 mm caliber ammunition and future ammunition designed to provide a much larger range.
- said Mark Casseres, Head of Precision Guidance and Sensor Solutions for BAE Systems Corporation.

To date, the US Army uses adjustable artillery shells such as Excalibur. But given the ability of many potential adversaries to interfere with the operation of GPS systems or jam satellite signals, the U.S. Armed Forces want an alternative system for high-precision artillery firing. Earlier, the US Air Force Research Laboratory presented a solution that would allow equipment and soldiers to navigate the terrain and determine their position with high accuracy without accessing the GPS signal, reports "Warspot"

Photos used:
https://wallhere.com/
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. KVU-NSVD
    KVU-NSVD 31 January 2018 14: 32 New
    +4
    Earlier, the US Air Force Research Laboratory presented a solution that will allow equipment and soldiers to navigate the terrain and with high accuracy to determine their location without access to the GPS signal, reports "Warspot"
    Eureka! US scientists discovered maps and coordinate system laughing
    1. Gray brother
      Gray brother 31 January 2018 14: 44 New
      0
      Quote: KVU-NSVD
      Eureka! US scientists discovered maps and coordinate system

      Soon think of an inertial system.
  2. maratk
    maratk 31 January 2018 14: 33 New
    +1
    yeah really. impressive footage. there must be a shell really go to the top ten.
  3. Altona
    Altona 31 January 2018 14: 37 New
    +1
    And what? Three unmanned helicopters on the destroyer Zumwalt with a flight range of 200 km can not cope? Or have you decided to come up with something more interesting than the triangulation method? laughing laughing
    PS Hochma is that on the Zumwalt destroyer, instead of the announced railgun, there is a paired 155-mm artillery unit that shoots smart shells for 100 km. To make them fly more accurately, three unmanned helicopters take off from the destroyer in order to direct the first shell apparently, because the range of these drones is only 200 km. laughing laughing laughing
  4. san4es
    san4es 31 January 2018 15: 38 New
    +1
    creating a new guidance system for 155 mm ammunition ....

    Precision Guidance and Sensor Solutions - Precision Guides and Sensor Solutions
    ... It must be with a laser, as for these NARS:

    ... See under the impression of "Krasnopol":
  5. APASUS
    APASUS 31 January 2018 19: 04 New
    0
    I look at the guns is positioning equipment, and how it works in electronic warfare conditions is interesting? After all, hitting a shell depends on the starting point, or are they so confident in their guns that they rely only on the shell

Пентагон заказал создание новой системы наведения для 155-мм боеприпасов

Компания BAE Systems разработает для американской армии новые корректируемые артиллерийские снаряды. Как сообщает портал defensenews.com, Минобороны США заключило с подрядчиком контракт на создание новой системы наведения для 155-мм боеприпасов.

Стоимость контракта оценивается в $8 млн. За эти деньги BAE Systems должна предоставить американской армии готовые образцы системы наведения для снарядов, которые смогут наводиться на цель в условиях нестабильной работы GPS.

Пентагон заказал создание новой системы наведения для 155-мм боеприпасов



Мы понимаем критическую важность поддержания точности армейской дальнобойной артиллерии против любого противника. Наши наборы предоставят эту возможность для существующих боеприпасов калибра 155 мм и будущих боеприпасов, предназначенных для обеспечения значительно большего диапазона
— рассказал Марк Кассерес, руководитель подразделения Precision Guidance and Sensor Solutions корпорации BAE Systems.

На сегодняшний день американская армия использует корректируемые артиллерийские снаряды типа Excalibur. Но учитывая способность многих потенциальных противников вмешиваться в работу систем GPS или глушить спутниковые сигналы, ВС США желают иметь альтернативную систему для высокоточной стрельбы артиллерии. Ранее Научно-исследовательская лаборатория ВВС США представила решение, которое позволит технике и солдатам ориентироваться на местности и с высокой точностью определять своё местоположение без доступа к сигналу GPS, передает "Warspot"


Использованы фотографии: https://wallhere.com/

Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 6

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. КВУ-НСвД (Виктор) 31 января 2018 14:32
    Ранее Научно-исследовательская лаборатория ВВС США представила решение, которое позволит технике и солдатам ориентироваться на местности и с высокой точностью определять своё местоположение без доступа к сигналу GPS, передает "Warspot"
    Эврика ! Американские учёные открыли карты и систему координат laughing
    1. Серый брат (Сергей) 31 января 2018 14:44
      Цитата: КВУ-НСвД
      Эврика ! Американские учёные открыли карты и систему координат

      Скоро додумаются до инерциальной системы.
  2. maratk (Марат) 31 января 2018 14:33
    мда уж. впечатляющие кадры. должно быть снаряд действительно в десятку ложиться.
  3. Altona (Евгений) 31 января 2018 14:37
    А шо? Три беспилотных вертолета на эсминце Зумвалт с дальностью полета 200 км уже не справляются? Или решили что-то поинтереснее метода триангуляции придумать? laughing laughing
    P.S. Хохма в том, что на эсминце Зумвалт вместо анонсированного рейлгана стоит спаренная 155-мм арт-установка , стреляющая умными снарядами на 100 км. Чтобы они точнее летели, вылетает с эсминца три беспилотных вертолета, чтобы направить первый снаряд видимо, потому что запас хода этих беспилотников только только 200 км. laughing laughing laughing
  4. san4es 31 января 2018 15:38
    создание новой системы наведения для 155-мм боеприпасов....

    Precision Guidance and Sensor Solutions -- Прецизионные направляющие и сенсорные решения
    ...Должно быть с лазерной, как для этих НАРов:

    ...Видать под впечатлением от "Краснополя":
  5. APASUS (Pavo) 31 января 2018 19:04
    Смотрю на орудии стоит аппаратура позиционирования ,а как она работает в условиях РЭБ интересно? Ведь попадание снаряда зависит и от точки старта или они так уверены в своем орудии что полагаются только на снаряд
Картина дня