Military Review

South Korea is armed with ballistic missiles

14
South Korea is armed with ballistic missiles


In response to the North Korean attempt to launch the 13 satellite in April, using a ballistic missile, South Korea published a video showing the launch of unknown South Korean cruise and ballistic missiles. Cruise missile - apparently, this is Hyunmoo 3, but the ballistic missile remains unidentified. This video was supposed to show North Korea that the south possesses weaponsable to reach any point in the north. The video also had to reassure the South Korean voters, who were already fed up with North Korean militancy.



South Korea, as a rule, does not disclose information about its missiles. Three years ago, South Korean media reported that in 2008, a new cruise missile with a range of 1000 kilometers was secretly launched into production. The rocket was called Hyunmoo 3. Since then, it has been replaced by the Hyunmoo 3C rocket, which has an 1500 km range and is currently deployed on the North Korean border and aimed at ballistic missile sites, nuclear weapons and other strategic facilities in the north.



For the past 30 years, the United States has discouraged South Korea from plans to build ballistic and long-range cruise missiles. This was done to try to stop the arms race with North Korea, but the north pretended not to notice it. Meanwhile, the US has assured South Korea that they will intervene in the conflict if South Korea is attacked from the north.

Despite the US refusal to help South Korea, the latter developed in 1980-s ballistic missiles Hyunmoo 1 and Hyunmoo 2 with a range of 180 and 300 kilometers, respectively. Both rockets are about 13 meters long and weigh 4-5 tons. South Korea enters the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR) and thus commits itself not to build ballistic missiles with a range of more than 300 kilometers. When creating the Hyunmoo 1 and 2 missiles, the design of the American anti-aircraft missile Nike-Hercules, used by South Korea for many years, was used.



Manufacturing technology cruise missiles easier ballistic and, apparently, Hyunmoo 3 is made entirely of South Korean components. Like the Tomahawk, Hyunmoo 3, apparently, is about 6 meters long, weighs 1.5 tons, is equipped with a 500 kilogram warhead and is launched from hidden (on the hills in front of North Korea) and probably protected containers. North Korea has an order of 600 ballistic missiles aimed at South Korea.

The large range of Hyunmoo 3С allows it to hit any targets throughout North Korea, including transportation routes and supply bases deep inside North Korea. With a range of 1500 kilometers, the rocket is also capable of hitting targets in China and Russia.



Last year, South Korea announced that it had relocated some of its tactical guided missiles (Army Tactical Missile Systems, ATACMS) to the North Korean border. ATACMS is a 610 mm missile launched from a container the size of which allows its placement on the 227 mm MLRS launcher. The South Korean version of ATACMS has a range of 165 km. Thanks to this, it is able to achieve many goals in North Korea, but not the capital (Pyongyang is located 220 kilometers north of the demilitarized zone). There is a version of ATACMS with a range of 300 km, but South Korea does not have these missiles. ATACMS launches from an American MLRS launcher. South Korea has only 220 ATACMS missiles in service. All of them are equipped with warheads with cluster munitions, and half of them are uncontrollable and have a range of up to 128 kilometers. The other half is equipped with smaller GPS-guided warheads and a range of 165 kilometers. Obviously, it was this version that was relocated closer to the border in order to make North Korea nervous. South Korea originally purchased ATACMS in 1998 with the goal of possessing weapons capable of reaching the positions of North Korean artillery and large concentrations tanks.



Despite American protests, South Korea began developing (without mass production) ballistic missiles in the 1970s. South Korea certainly has the technical expertise and production capacity for the production of more modern ballistic missiles with a range of about 300 km, as was shown in a recent video clip. South Korea signed an international agreement, pledging not to build ballistic missiles with a range over 300 kilometers, but public opinion in the south calls for violating this treaty in order to make all of North Korea vulnerable to ballistic missiles in South Korea.
Originator:
http://www.strategypage.com
14 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Dust
    Dust April 25 2012 08: 08
    +6
    Northerners are not allowed. and southerners - can I? Well, no one is indignant and does not throw slippers?
    Double standards in action ...
    1. tronin.maxim
      tronin.maxim April 25 2012 08: 13
      -1
      The question is, to whom?
    2. domokl
      domokl April 25 2012 08: 13
      +2
      Alas, Dust, but you're right ... Gods god, Caesar-Caesarean, and locksmith-fitter .... But I think that Russia and China should respond first of all .. The thing is directly related to us ... There are no such people on the Korean peninsula distances .. So they will beat us ...
      And we will react for sure, and the Chinese too ...
  2. Professor
    April 25 2012 09: 14
    +4

    Northerners are not allowed. and southerners - can I? Well, no one is indignant and does not throw slippers?
    Double standards in action ..

    South Korea enters the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR) and thereby pledges not to create ballistic missiles with a range of more than 300 kilometers.
    The northerners of ICBMs have potential with nuclear weapons - feel the difference. bully
    1. 755962
      755962 April 25 2012 15: 20
      0
      Quote: Professor
      South Korea Enters Missile Technology Control Regime

      While there is no “general agreement", the United States has loopholes to encourage the development of missile weapons. For example, in fact, they are turning a blind eye to the progressive development of rocket technology in Pakistan, Israel, and Beijing has advanced far in the space field. However, no one is trying to talk about sanctions against Tel Aviv or our great eastern neighbor.
  3. SectoR
    SectoR April 25 2012 09: 19
    0
    Quote: Dust
    Northerners are not allowed. and southerners - can I?

    when I read, I also thought about it ...

    Lovely scolding, only amuse ...
    Here, such rattles are not taken away, let their taekwondo be used than ballistic missiles ...
  4. Jaguar
    Jaguar April 25 2012 11: 42
    0
    "All of them are equipped with cluster munition warheads, and half of them are unguided and have a range of up to 128 kilometers." There is a mistake. They have an inertial control system
    1. Professor
      April 25 2012 11: 52
      +1
      Give a link to the source of information and I will fix it. The original article states the following:
      All of them have cluster bomb warheads. Half of them are unguided and have a range of 128 kilometers.
      1. Jaguar
        Jaguar April 25 2012 16: 52
        0
        Well, sort of http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/world/rok/atacms.htm
        1. Professor
          April 25 2012 18: 16
          0
          I read, it says only about 110 missiles the 1 block. So, I don’t see any contradictions yet.
  5. Odious
    Odious April 25 2012 12: 14
    +3
    I looked closely - in my photoshop. This is a volley fire system, and the rocket was painted on.
    1. Professor
      April 25 2012 13: 00
      +3
      it may well be, I’ll find a more solid photo - I’ll change feel
    2. Num lock U.A.
      Num lock U.A. April 25 2012 14: 39
      -1
      exactly, under the "starting" rocket, a block of guides is visible the same as on the left, plus bully
      1. Professor
        April 25 2012 16: 41
        +2
        Corrected in order to remove doubts. Here's another:

        1. Num lock U.A.
          Num lock U.A. April 25 2012 19: 31
          0
          oh quite another thing good
    3. Jaguar
      Jaguar April 25 2012 16: 11
      +1
      Photoshop, but this launcher is designed to launch various types of missiles
      1. Kars
        Kars April 25 2012 16: 47
        0
        Ordinary MLRS with ATACMS

Южная Корея вооружается баллистическими ракетами

Южная Корея вооружается баллистическими ракетами


В ответ на северокорейскую попытку запустить 13 апреля спутник, используя баллистическую ракету, Южная Корея опубликовала видео ролик, демонстрирующий запуск неизвестных южнокорейских крылатых и баллистических ракет. Крылатая ракета - видимо, это Hyunmoo 3, а вот баллистическая ракета так и остается неопознанной. Этот видео ролик должен был показать Северной Корее, что юг обладает оружием, способным достичь любой точки на севере. Видео было также должно было успокоить южнокорейских избирателей, которым уже надоела северо-корейская воинственность.




Южная Корея, как правило, не раскрывает сведения о своих ракетах. Три года назад южнокорейские СМИ сообщили, что в 2008 году в производство была тайно запущена новая крылатая ракета с дальностью в 1000 километров. Ракета называлась Hyunmoo 3. С тех пор она была заменена на ракету Hyunmoo 3C, обладающую дальностью в 1500 км и в настоящее время эти ракеты развернуты на северокорейской границе и нацелены на места расположения баллистических ракет, ядерного оружия и другие стратегические объекты на севере.



Последние 30 лет Соединенные Штаты отговаривали Южную Корею от планов создания баллистических и крылатых ракет дальнего радиуса действия. Это было сделано с целью попытаться остановить гонку вооружений с Северной Кореей, но север делал вид, что не замечает этого. Между тем, США заверили Южную Корею, что вмешаются в конфликт, если Южная Корея подвергнется нападению с севера.

Несмотря на отказ США помочь Южной Корее, последняя разработала в 1980-е годы баллистические ракеты Hyunmoo 1 и Hyunmoo 2 с дальностью стрельбы в 180 и 300 километров соответственно. Обе ракеты составляют около 13 метров в длину и весят 4-5 тонн. Южная Корея входит в Режим контроля над распространением ракетных технологий (РКРТ) и тем самым обязуется не создавать баллистических ракет с дальностью действия более чем 300 километров. При создании ракет Hyunmoo 1 и 2 была использована конструкция американской зенитной ракеты Nike-Hercules, используемой Южной Кореей в течение многих лет.



Технология изготовления крылатых ракет проще баллистических и, видимо, Hyunmoo 3 изготовлена полностью из южнокорейских компонентов. Как и Tomahawk, Hyunmoo 3, по-видимому, составляет около 6 метров в длину, весит 1.5 тонны, оснащена 500 килограммовой боеголовкой и запускается из скрытых (на холмах перед Северной Кореей) и, вероятно, защищенных контейнеров. Северная Корея обладает порядка 600 баллистическими ракетами, нацеленными на Южную Корею.

Большой радиус действия Hyunmoo 3С позволяет ей поражать любые цели на всей территории Северной Кореи, включая транспортные пути и базы снабжения глубоко внутри Северной Кореи. Обладая дальностью в 1500 километров, ракета также способна поражать цели на территории Китая и России.



В прошлом году Южная Корея объявила, что она передислоцировала некоторые из своих тактических управляемых ракет (Army Tactical Missile Systems, ATACMS) в район северокорейской границы. ATACMS представляет из себя 610 мм ракету запускаемую из контейнера размером позволяющим его размещение на 227-мм пусковой установке РСЗО. Южнокорейская версия ATACMS обладает дальностью в 165 км. Благодаря этому она способна достичь много целей в Северной Корее, но только не столицу (Пхеньян находится в 220 километрах к северу от демилитаризованной зоны). Существует версия ATACMS с дальностью в 300 км, но Южная Корея не располагает этими ракетами. ATACMS запускается из американской пусковой установки РСЗО. На вооружении Южной Кореи имеется только 220 ракет ATACMS. Все они оснащены боеголовками с кассетными боеприпасами, причем половина из них являются неуправляемыми и обладают дальностью до 128-и километров. Другая половина оснащена меньшими боеголовками с GPS наведением и дальностью в 165 километров. Очевидно, именно эта версия была передислоцирована ближе к границе с целью заставить Северную Корею понервничать. Южная Корея изначально закупила ATACMS в 1998-ом году с целью обладать оружием способным достигнуть позиций северокорейской артиллерии и большого скопления танков.



Несмотря на американские протесты, Южная Корея начала развивать (без массового производства) баллистические ракеты в 1970-х годах. Южная Корея безусловно обладает техническим опытом и производственными мощностями для производства более современных баллистических ракет с дальностью действия порядка 300 км, как это и было продемонстрировано в недавнем видео ролике. Южная Корея подписала международное соглашение, обязавшись не создавать баллистические ракеты с дальностью свыше 300 километров, но общественное мнение на юге призывает нарушить этот договор с целью сделать всю территорию Северной Кореи уязвимой для баллистических ракет Южной Кореи.
Первоисточник:
http://www.strategypage.com
Перевод:
профессор
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

14 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти