Washington Christmas raid: the defeat of the Hessian mercenaries in Trenton


Washington was one of the first to cross Delaware


Gloomy winter


The fall of 1776 was a real nightmare for the Americans who rebelled against British rule. They were not just beaten hard and kicked out of New York, but driven on. To make matters worse, the Washington army was losing a soldier at a monstrous pace. People painfully experienced setbacks and believed that the struggle for independence seemed to fail. And they fled home - no one wanted to stand trial for treason.

The British acted methodically. Having driven the Americans across the Delaware River and knowing that the enemy is desperately suffering from desertion, they did not rape themselves with cold crossings, but quietly dispersed to the winter apartments in New York. To wait for spring and calmly, with fresh strength, walk to Philadelphia - the informal capital of the rebel colonies. To disperse the Continental Congress and cover the bench.

Washington understood that this could not be allowed. He faced two problems. The need, if not stop, at least slow down this future march of the British, and a bright, albeit tactical victory here and now. The latter is to encourage those who are still left and to recruit new recruits tomorrow, before his army has completely melted.

This could only be done by striking at the right place.

Stir the swamp


Fortunately, the British themselves provided opportunities for such an attack, having diverted the main forces to New York and giving the initiative to the barely alive, as it seemed to them, Americans.

Yes, they could not be destroyed. Begin Washington to beat the British one at a time, as they would leave the winter apartments, they would unite and put an end to it. The American commander understood this. He was not interested in annihilating the enemy, but in the stockpiles he had prepared. One of them was right on the "English" coast of Delaware, in the town of Trenton. The other is in Princeton (20 km) and the third in New Brunswick (another 26 km).

The goals were quite affordable: it was possible to deliver a sudden blow and reach all the stores with a forced march. Having ruined them, it was possible, if not disrupting, then at least slowing down the 1777 campaign for the enemy. And, most importantly, to do all this was obtained by very moderate forces. Warehouses were guarded by relatively small detachments of Hessian mercenaries who did not seriously expect that the Americans, who were beaten in the fall, were capable of at least doing something.

In a word, the moment was perfect, and Washington did not miss it.

Delaware won't stop us


Among other things, he chose a good time - while the enemy celebrated Christmas or moved away from this pleasant event. The Americans began to focus off the coast of Delaware on Christmas Eve - on the evening of December 24. In total, 2400 people were able to gather.

In Trenton they were opposed by about 1500 Hessians - a number that allows us to hope for success. But they still had to be reached. Crossing the river was to be 15 kilometers from Trenton. Today, a bridge has been laid at the crossing point, a park with the saying “Washington Crossing” has been laid out nearby, and the Patriotic Tavern operates at the services of tourists following in Washington's footsteps.

Everything had to be done at night. It all started on the evening of the 25th. At first, everything went briskly, but the gunners slowed down the matter - their 18 guns were regularly stuck in the attacking deep snow. And the ice, wind and Delaware did not speed up the process. But by 4 a.m. on the 26th, the Americans completed the crossing.

All that remained was to attack the Hessians.

Sudden blow


For the speed of the march, the Americans had to split into columns and move to Trenton along two roads. And a real small victory for the still inexperienced fighters: both columns managed to be brought to the city almost simultaneously.

And the Hessians, apparently, continued to shockly celebrate Christmas. At least, the concentration and crossing of the Americans remained an absolute secret for mercenaries from Germany. The garrison headed by Colonel Roll quietly sniffed in bed - so when the Americans entered the city, no one prevented them from placing guns on the largest streets. After that, thinking about some intelligible resistance was naive.


The death of Colonel Roll brushes battalist Don Troyani

It was a complete rout. Roll jumped out into the street and even tried to lead something. But soon fell from the American bullet. After this, the last hopes were lost, and there were three ways out for the Hessians: to die in battle, to flee the city in horror, or to give up. Caught by surprise, the mercenaries were in no hurry to die - only 22 people died. Five hundred managed to escape, and a thousand were captured. The Americans themselves had only two corpses, and even those from frostbite during an unsuccessful crossing.

The Trenton raid ended in crushing success.

There-here


But with the development of this success, everything was not so clear. At least not right away.

Washington received intelligence: superior forces of the Hessians moved towards it. Based on the fact that you can’t take risks with the army, he immediately crossed back over Delaware - since it was easier during the day and near the city, where there were moorings.

But the news turned out to be complete misinformation - in fact, there were no major forces, and all the Hessians in the district fled to New York without looking back.

It would seem that what has been done is done - not to dangle back through not the smallest and quietest river. But the case helped the Americans.


Half-ravaged Americans pounding Hessenians

The fact is that in addition to the main attack, Washington planned auxiliary, but the units assigned to them simply did not master the crossing. And the commander of one of them, burning with shame, now considered this a matter of principle. Therefore, he simply took his people, and, without asking anyone, crossed and occupied the city of Burlington, where he was supposed to get at the very beginning.

Washington could not ignore this - as well as ordering him to cross back without losing authority. Therefore, he came to the aid of a negligent commander along with the main forces. Just in time to meet with the army of British General Cornwallis, arrived in time from New York.

And on the run again


Numerically, both groups were approximately equal, but the absolute superiority in quality was, of course, among professional Englishmen. Fighting with them in the open field was a crazy idea. Therefore, it was worth staying in the city.

The British, deciding to forge the iron while hot, tried to take possession of the latter with a swoop, but the deal failed. Then they decided to spend the night and take up the assault in the morning, more thoroughly. But it was too late — the Americans left at night. Of course, someone had to be left behind — so that they would burn bonfires, make noise and create the false impression that the city was full of soldiers.

When morning came, Cornwallis realized that he had been fooled, and immediately rushed to New Brunswick to defend his warehouses. However, he could not be afraid for them - the Americans were exhausted enough to do something more serious than trying to get into winter apartments somewhere.


House in Morristown, where Washington was headquartered

Washington decided not to cross through Delaware due to the large enemy army, but to reach the town of Morristown, some 50 kilometers from New York, where it would temporarily settle. Cornwallis didn't bother him. After making sure that the warehouses for his army were safe, he returned to New York and began to wait for spring. It seemed to him that the capture of Philadelphia would put an end to all these meaningless throwings.

But thirteen colonies were not Europe and it was impossible to win the war by European methods (through the seizure of the capital). Ahead of the British were only bitter disappointments.
Author:
Photos used:
paintingvalley.com, thegate.boardingarea.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

21 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Lamata 20 February 2020 06: 38 New
    • 6
    • 4
    +2
    Maybe in vain our Catherine 2 did not give our soldiers !!! There would be fewer problems in the world.
    1. svp67 20 February 2020 08: 56 New
      • 4
      • 0
      +4
      Quote: Lamata
      There would be fewer problems in the world.

      With huge UK? I think not ... Yes, and you can’t rewrite history
      Americans often note Washington’s particular addiction to alcohol, but apparently, it’s hard to drink real talent ...
      1. Lamata 20 February 2020 09: 18 New
        • 1
        • 3
        -2
        Yes, he also smoked weed, sort of. I read the opinion of some art historian that in the portraits of Washington there are several, cunning eyes.)))) For what I bought for that and sell.
      2. Sovpadenie 20 February 2020 09: 24 New
        • 2
        • 0
        +2
        And Lincoln, in general, fought with vampires. There was a movie like President Lincoln: The Vampire Hunter. Bekmambetova, it seems))
        1. Lamata 20 February 2020 10: 46 New
          • 3
          • 3
          0
          If it weren’t for American films, there would be no more peace. and so they always save our Earth.
    2. Bersaglieri 20 February 2020 13: 39 New
      • 2
      • 0
      +2
      Catherine acted wisely by signing Armed Neutrality. In principle, for 150 years subsequent C-USA were a faithful ally of RI
      1. Lamata 20 February 2020 16: 58 New
        • 1
        • 4
        -3
        declaration of armed neutrality 1780, plus 150 years - 1930. , remind you of the REV, VOSR and the civil war both after and US policy towards RI and the USSR.
        1. Bersaglieri 20 February 2020 17: 24 New
          • 2
          • 0
          +2
          In the REV, the “English woman spoiled”, in the United States joint venture “lost their way”, but I think no one will deny the US role under Roosevelt in the industrialization of the USSR? GAZ, DneproGES, Magnitogorsk, etc. etc. The wise decision was: to buy assets "at a minimum cost" (Depression)
          1. Lamata 20 February 2020 17: 53 New
            • 2
            • 2
            0
            and before the REV and during the REV, the Americans financed themselves japs, the Grazhdasnskaya war and the devastation later also distinguished themselves. A new course, yes it was, but there was a great depression, so through gritted teeth, but the amers had to turn to us.
    3. gsev 22 February 2020 12: 41 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      There would be one SSHA state and Great Britain, which could subjugate the whole world at the beginning of the 20th century. Perhaps Germany did not dare to start World War I if the United States had human and industrial resources in the Entente since 1.

      Quote: Lamata
      Maybe in vain our Catherine 2 did not give our soldiers !!!
  2. Krasnodar 20 February 2020 08: 26 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Thanks, as always, interesting
  3. Sovpadenie 20 February 2020 09: 18 New
    • 5
    • 1
    +4
    Separatism in its purest form. But as at all times, history is written by the winners. The separatists-American colonies won. It is generally accepted that they defended their independence. The separatism of the southern states, resulting in the Civil War in 1861, is a struggle to prevent the collapse of the North American state. And this, of course, not only in American history
    1. Arslan Ali_2 20 February 2020 21: 08 New
      • 2
      • 0
      +2
      Separatism of the southern states, resulting in the Civil War in 1861
      Not the separatism of the south, but the desire of the north to obtain natural resources and territories led to the outbreak of the Civil War.
    2. gsev 22 February 2020 12: 49 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Quote: Sovpadenie
      Separatism in its purest form.

      But in my opinion this is a progressive course of history. And in the 1st American Revolution and in 2 more progressive democratic ideas won. In the beginning, the state freest from remnants of feudalism arose, then slavery was abolished. In any society, the struggle between the new and the old may not end in the complete victory of the new or old. Often supporters of different ideas create their own states. And then whose ideas are more correctly seen with the passage of time. Today, no legitimist is trying to "close America." .
  4. bubalik 20 February 2020 09: 33 New
    • 9
    • 0
    +9
    At least, the concentration and crossing of the Americans remained an absolute secret for mercenaries from Germany. Colonel Roll, who led the garrison, quietly sniffed in bed - therefore

    ,,, not quite asleep repeat
    ,,, Roll was sure that Washington would not dare to leave Pennsylvania, and if it did take a chance, then the brave Hessians would easily raise the "hillbilly" with hostility. In addition, Roll did not want to spoil his soldiers Christmas and arrange them with alarm in such terrible bad weather.

    ,,, when in the evening of December 25, 1776 he received a dispatch with the news that the enemy detachment was crossing the Delaware a few miles from Trenton, he did not even interrupt the chess game, and he casually put the dispatch in his camisole’s pocket.

    George Washington forcing the Delaware River 25 in December 1776. Artist E. Letse. 1851
    1. Krasnodar 20 February 2020 13: 14 New
      • 6
      • 1
      +5
      First marins however laughing River, true
  5. Looking for 20 February 2020 16: 58 New
    • 3
    • 6
    -3
    as an absolute majority. he doesn’t understand who is swinging here. that such an article is a product of an ideological attack on the Russian Federation.
    1. karabass 20 February 2020 17: 25 New
      • 5
      • 0
      +5
      That's for sure! And the article about Alexander the Great is generally a humiliation of the honor and dignity of the deputies of the State Duma of the Russian Federation
    2. gsev 22 February 2020 12: 52 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Quote: Seeker
      ideological offensive in the Russian Federation

      Why? For example, Strelkova can be considered the reincarnation of the hero of the war for US independence Lafayette. The USA during the war of independence has much in common with the Lugansk and Donetsk republics.
  6. faterdom 20 February 2020 20: 20 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Quote: Lamata
    Maybe in vain our Catherine 2 did not give our soldiers !!! There would be fewer problems in the world.

    At the same time, we had a Pugachev riot. Senseless and merciless. And the scale of the fighting is not a match for Washington with its 2 thousand versus 1.5 thousand.
  7. rigoletto2001 23 February 2020 21: 24 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    The author, do not abandon the topic. Continue. In the war of insurgents with the Parliament (King George, like everyone else, reigned and didn’t rule), I am on the side of the Loyalists. But not because of any prejudice or dislike of the Americans. I’m just interested in the other side , and not so much the royal troops as the various supporters of the crown in the colonies, the militia units of the loyalists and their contribution to the war, the fates of these people and their families, many of whom were forced to emigrate.

Военное обозрение

Рождественский рейд Вашингтона: разгром гессенских наемников в Трентоне

21

Вашингтон переправился через Делавэр одним из первых


Невеселая зима


Осень 1776 года была для восставших против британского владычества американцев настоящим кошмаром. Их не просто крепко поколотили и вышвырнули из Нью-Йорка, но гнали дальше. Что было еще хуже, армия Вашингтона чудовищными темпами теряла солдат. Люди болезненно переживали неудачи и верили, что борьба за независимость, кажется, провалилась. И бежали домой – никто не хотел предстать перед судом за измену.

Англичане действовали методично. Загнав американцев за реку Делавэр и зная, что противник отчаянно страдает от дезертирства, они не стали насиловать себя холодными переходами, а спокойно разошлись на зимние квартиры в Нью-Йорке. Чтобы дождаться весны и спокойно, со свежими силами, дойти до Филадельфии – неформальной столицы мятежных колоний. Разогнать Континентальный Конгресс и прикрыть лавочку.

Вашингтон понимал, что допустить этого никак нельзя. Перед ним стояли две проблемы. Необходимость если не остановить, то хотя бы замедлить этот будущий марш англичан, и яркая, пусть и тактическая победа здесь и сейчас. Последнее – чтобы ободрить тех, кто еще остался, и набрать новых рекрутов завтра, пока его армия вконец не растаяла.

Сделать это можно было только нанеся удар в правильное место.

Расшевелить болото


Благо англичане сами предоставили возможности для такого удара, отведя основные силы в Нью-Йорк и отдав инициативу еле живым, как им казалось, американцам.

Да, их было нельзя уничтожить. Начни Вашингтон бить британцев по одному, как они бы покинули зимние квартиры, они бы соединились и положили ему конец. Американский главнокомандующий это понимал. Его интересовала не аннигиляция противника, а заготовленные им склады. Один из них был прямо на «английском» берегу Делавэра, в городке Трентоне. Другой — в Принстоне (20 км) и третий в Нью-Брансуике (еще 26 км).

Цели были вполне доступные: можно было нанести внезапный удар и форсированным маршем достичь всех складов. Разорив их, можно было если не сорвать, то по крайней мере замедлить для противника кампанию 1777 года. И, главное, сделать все это получалось весьма умеренными силами. Склады охраняли сравнительно небольшие отряды гессенских наемников, не ожидавших всерьез, что побитые осенью американцы вообще способны хоть что-то делать.

Словом, момент был идеальный, и Вашингтон его не упустил.

Делавэр нас не остановит


Кроме всего прочего, он выбрал хорошее время – пока неприятель отмечал Рождество или отходил от этого приятного события. Американцы начали сосредотачиваться у берега Делавэра еще в сочельник – вечером 24 декабря. Всего удалось собрать 2400 человек.

В Трентоне им противостояло около 1500 гессенцев – число, позволяющее надеяться на успех. Но до них еще надо было добраться. Переправляться через реку предстояло в 15 километрах от Трентона. Сегодня на месте переправы проложен мост, рядом разбит парк с говорящим названием «Вашингтон кроссинг», а к услугам следующих по стопам Вашингтона туристов работает «Патриотическая таверна».

Делать все предстояло ночью. Все началось вечером 25-го. Поначалу все шло бодро, но дело сильно тормозили артиллеристы – их 18 орудий регулярно вязли в нападавшем глубоком снегу. Да и льдины, ветер и течение Делавэра процесс не ускоряли. Но к 4 утра 26-го американцы завершили переправу.

Оставалось лишь напасть на гессенцев.

Внезапный удар


Американцам для скорости марша пришлось разделиться на колонны и двинуться в Трентон по двум дорогам. И настоящая маленькая победа для еще неопытных бойцов: обе колонны удалось подвести к городу практически одновременно.

А гессенцы, судя по всему, продолжали ударно отмечать Рождество. По крайней мере, сосредоточение и переправа американцев остались для наемников из Германии абсолютной тайной. Возглавлявший гарнизон полковник Ролл безмятежно сопел в постели – поэтому, когда американцы вошли в город, никто не помешал им расставить орудия на самых крупных улицах. После этого думать о каком-то внятном сопротивлении было наивно.


Гибель полковника Ролла кисти баталиста Дона Трояни

Это был полный разгром. Ролл выскочил на улицу и даже пытался чем-то руководить. Но вскоре пал от американской пули. После этого были потеряны последние надежды, и для гессенцев оставалось три выхода: умереть в бою, бежать из города в ужасе или сдаваться. Пойманные врасплох, наемники умирать не спешили – погибло всего 22 человека. Пяти сотням удалось удрать, а тысяча попала в плен. У самих американцев появилось всего два трупа, да и те от обморожения при неудачной переправе.

Рейд на Трентон завершился сокрушительным успехом.

Туда-сюда


А вот с развитием этого успеха все было не так однозначно. По крайней мере, не сразу.

Вашингтон получил разведданные: к нему двигались превосходящие силы гессенцев. Исходя из того, что армией рисковать нельзя, тут же переправился обратно через Делавэр – благо днем и вблизи города, где имелись причалы, это было проще.

Но известия оказались полной дезинформаацией – на деле никаких крупных сил не было, а все гессенцы в округе без оглядки бежали в сторону Нью-Йорка.

Казалось бы, что сделано, то сделано – не мотаться же обратно через не самую маленькую и тихую реку. Но американцам помог случай.


Полуоборванные американцы крепко колотят одетых с иголочки гессенцев

Дело в том, что в дополнение к основному удару Вашингтон планировал вспомогательные, но назначенные на них отряды просто не осилили переправу. И сгорающий от стыда командир одного из них теперь считал это делом принципа. Поэтому просто взял своих людей, и, никого не спрашивая, переправился и занял город Берлингтон, куда и должен был попасть в самом начале.

Вашингтон этого игнорировать не мог – как и приказать тому переправиться обратно без потери авторитета. Поэтому пришел на помощь к нерадивому командиру вместе с основными силами. Как раз вовремя, чтобы встретиться с армией британского генерала Корнуоллиса, подоспевшей из Нью-Йорка.

И снова в бега


Численно обе группировки были примерно равны, но безусловное превосходство в качестве было, конечно же, у профессионалов-англичан. Тягаться с ними в открытом поле было безумной идеей. Поэтому стоило держаться в городе.

Британцы, решив ковать железо пока горячо, попробовали овладеть последним с наскока, но дело не удалось. Тогда они решили переночевать и взяться за штурм с утра, уже основательнее. Но было поздно – ночью американцы ушли. Кого-то, конечно, пришлось оставить – чтобы те жгли костры, шумели и создавали неприятелю ложное ощущение, что в городе полно солдат.

Когда наступило утро, Корнуоллис понял, что его одурачили, и тут же ломанулся в Нью-Брансуик, защищать свои склады. За них он, впрочем, мог не опасаться – американцы и так выбились из сил, чтобы заниматься чем-то более серьезным, чем попытками встать где-нибудь на зимние квартиры.


Дом в Морристауне, где располагался штаб Вашингтона

Вашингтон решил не переправляться через Делавэр ввиду крупной армии противника, а дойти до городка Морристауна в каких-то 50 километрах от Нью-Йорка, где и временно обосноваться. Корнуоллис ему не мешал. Убедившись, что склады для его армии в безопасности, он вернулся в Нью-Йорк и принялся ждать весны. Ему казалось, что захват Филадельфии положит конец всем этим бессмысленным метаниям.

Но тринадцать колоний не были Европой и выиграть войну европейскими методами (через захват столицы) тут было невозможно. Впереди англичан ждали только горькие разочарования.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
paintingvalley.com, thegate.boardingarea.com
21 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Ламата
    Ламата 20 февраля 2020 06:38 Новый
    +2
    Может зря наша Екатерина 2 не дала наших солдат!!! Проблем бы меньше было в мире.
    1. svp67
      svp67 20 февраля 2020 08:56 Новый
      +4
      Цитата: Ламата
      Проблем бы меньше было в мире.

      С огромной Великобританией? Думаю, что нет... Да и историю не перепишешь
      Американцы часто отмечают особую пристрастию Вашингтона к алкоголю, но видимо действительно, настоящий талант трудно пропить...
      1. Ламата
        Ламата 20 февраля 2020 09:18 Новый
        -2
        Да он еще и травку курил, вроде . Я такое мнение какого то исскуствоведа читал, что на портретах у Вашингтона несколько , хитрые глаза.)))) За что купил за то и продаю.
      2. Sovpadenie
        Sovpadenie 20 февраля 2020 09:24 Новый
        +2
        А Линкольн, вообще, с вампирами боролся. Был такой фильм "Президент Линкольн: Охотник на вампиров". Бекмамбетова, кажется ))
        1. Ламата
          Ламата 20 февраля 2020 10:46 Новый
          0
          Если бы не американски фильмы, мира бы больше не было. а так они всегда спасают нашу Землю.
    2. Bersaglieri
      Bersaglieri 20 февраля 2020 13:39 Новый
      +2
      Екатерина поступила мудро, подписав "Вооруженный Нейтралитет". В принципе, в течение 150 лет последующих С-САСШ были верным союзником РИ
      1. Ламата
        Ламата 20 февраля 2020 16:58 Новый
        -3
        декларация о воооруженном нейтралитет 1780 год, плюс 150 лет - 1930 год. , напомнить вам о РЯВ, ВОСР и гражданская война и после и политика США в отношении РИ и СССР.
        1. Bersaglieri
          Bersaglieri 20 февраля 2020 17:24 Новый
          +2
          В РЯВ "англичанка гадила", в ШВ США- "заблудились", а вот в индустриализации СССР роль США при Рузвельте- думаю, никто не будет отрицать? ГАЗ, ДнепроГЭС, Магнитка и т.д. и т.п. Мудрое решение было: купить активы "на минимуме стоимости" (Депрессия)
          1. Ламата
            Ламата 20 февраля 2020 17:53 Новый
            0
            и до РЯВ и во время РЯВ американцы вполне себе финансировали джапов, Граждаснкая война и разруха позже , тоже отличились . Новый курс , да было, но была великая депрессия, так что сквозь зубы , но пришлось амерам к нам повернуться.
    3. gsev
      gsev 22 февраля 2020 12:41 Новый
      0
      Было бы одно государство СЩА и Великобритания, которое смогло бы подчинить весь мир уже в начале 20 века. Возможно и Германия не осмелилась начать 1 мировую, если бы в составе Антанты были с 1914 года людские и промышленные ресурсы США.

      Цитата: Ламата
      Может зря наша Екатерина 2 не дала наших солдат!!!
  2. Krasnodar
    Krasnodar 20 февраля 2020 08:26 Новый
    +4
    Спасибо, как всегда, интересно
  3. Sovpadenie
    Sovpadenie 20 февраля 2020 09:18 Новый
    +4
    Сепаратизм в чистом виде. Но как и во все времена история пишется победителями. Победили сепаратисты-американские колонии. Общепринято считать, что они отстояли свою независимость. Сепаратизм южных штатов, вылившийся в Гражданскую войну в 1861 г.- борьба за предотвращение развала североамериканского государства. И это, естественно, не только в американской истории
    1. Арслан Али_2
      Арслан Али_2 20 февраля 2020 21:08 Новый
      +2
      Сепаратизм южных штатов, вылившийся в Гражданскую войну в 1861 г.
      Не сепаратизм юга, а желание севера получить природные ресурсы и территории привели к началу Гражданской войны.
    2. gsev
      gsev 22 февраля 2020 12:49 Новый
      0
      Цитата: Sovpadenie
      Сепаратизм в чистом виде.

      А по моему это поступательный ход истории. И в 1 американскую революцию и во 2 победили более прогрессивные демократические идеи. Вначале возникло самое свободное от пережитков феодализма государство, затем было ликвидировано рабовладение. В любом обществе борьба нового и старого может не закончится полной победой нового или старого. Часто сторонники разных идей создают свои государства. И то чьи идеи правильнее видно по прошествию времени. Сегодня никакой легитимист не пытается "закрыть Америку". .
  4. bubalik
    bubalik 20 февраля 2020 09:33 Новый
    +9
    По крайней мере, сосредоточение и переправа американцев остались для наемников из Германии абсолютной тайной. Возглавлявший гарнизон полковник Ролл безмятежно сопел в постели – поэтому

    ,,,не совсем спал feel
    ,,,Ролл был уверен, что Вашингтон не осмелится выступить из Пенсильвании, а если и рискнет, то бравые гессенцы легко поднимут «деревенщину» на штыки. К тому же Ролл не хотел портить своим солдатам Рождество и устраивать им тревогу в такую жуткую непогоду.

    ,,,когда вечером 25 декабря 1776 года ему доставили депешу с известием, что отряд противника форсирует реку Делавэр в нескольких милях от Трентона, он даже не прервал шахматную партию, а депешу небрежно засунул в карман камзола.

    Джордж Вашингтон форсирует реку Делавэр 25 декабря 1776 г. Художник Э.Лётце. 1851 г.
    1. Krasnodar
      Krasnodar 20 февраля 2020 13:14 Новый
      +5
      Первые маринс, однако laughing Речные, правда
  5. Ищущий
    Ищущий 20 февраля 2020 16:58 Новый
    -3
    как абсолютное большинство.околачивающихся здесь не понимает.что подобные статья-продукт идеологического наступления на РФ.
    1. karabass
      karabass 20 февраля 2020 17:25 Новый
      +5
      Это точно! А статья про Александра Македонского - вообще унижение чести и достоинства депутатов ГД РФ
    2. gsev
      gsev 22 февраля 2020 12:52 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: Ищущий
      идеологического наступления на РФ

      Почему? Например Стрелкова можно считать реинкарнацией героя войны за независимость США Лафайета. У США времен войны за независимость много общего с Луганской и Донецкой республиками.
  6. faterdom
    faterdom 20 февраля 2020 20:20 Новый
    +3
    Цитата: Ламата
    Может зря наша Екатерина 2 не дала наших солдат!!! Проблем бы меньше было в мире.

    У нас в эти же времена был пугачевский бунт. Бессмысленный и беспощадный. А масштабы боев- не чета Вашингтону с его 2тыс против 1.5 тыс.
  7. rigoletto2001
    rigoletto2001 23 февраля 2020 21:24 Новый
    +1
    Автор-не забрасывайте тему.Продолжайте.В войне инсургентов с Парламентом (король Джордж ,как и все после,царствовал а не правил) я на стороне Лоялистов.Но не из-за каких то предубеждений или нелюбви к американцам.Просто мне интересна иная сторона,и даже не столько королевские войска,сколько различные сторонники короны в колониях,милиционные части лоялистов и их вклад в войну,судьбы этих людей и их семей,многие из которых вынужденны были эмигрировать.