Military Review

Military spending of NATO countries. Militarism costs a pretty penny

21
Military spending of NATO countries. Militarism costs a pretty penny

The phrase that only three things are needed for a war - money, money and money again, became a textbook even in the hoary antiquity. Moreover, it corresponds to reality exactly 100%. However, maintaining peace, which, as the North Atlantic Alliance officially declares, is its main goal, is also not cheap, especially if you start arm yourself to the teeth for the sake of peace.


What is the cost of striving to "keep the powder dry" for NATO member states?

Before talking about the current amount of funding by the North Atlanticists of their own "defense", one should recall history question. The decision to annually raise the level of their military spending by the countries of the bloc was made around the end of the 70s at the suggestion of the United States. The North Atlantic Treaty Organization was then relatively small, 16 member states, and therefore everyone had to try. True, only Americans, Canadians, Spaniards, Norwegians and for some reason the inhabitants of Luxembourg went further than declarations.

Already two decades later, the question, in fact, has lost its relevance: the USSR and the Warsaw Pact Organization (the former members of which vied with each other began to enroll in NATO) collapsed. There seemed to be no one to defend against. Sighing with relief, the vast majority of European governments began to mercilessly "cut" their own military budgets and cut armies, finding government money much better than building new ones. tanks and rockets.

Everything changed again after the events in the United States on September 11, 2001. There was talk about the formidable "international terrorism" against which a decisive and uncompromising struggle should be started urgently. On which, again, you will have to fork out in unison. They bargained, argued like in a bazaar, blamed each other for their frivolous attitude to world security for 5 whole years, and as a result, in 2006, they came to a certain common denominator of military budgets, seemingly obligatory for all states of the alliance: 2% of GDP.

At that time, 5 out of 26 NATO countries met this criterion at the very least. These are the USA (where they spent twice as much on defense needs), Great Britain, France and the eternal antagonists of Greece and Turkey. All the other members of the alliance, including even the neophytes who were rushing there with all their might (Romanians, Hungarians, Czechs and Baltic people) did exactly the opposite: their military expenditures did not grow from year to year, but decreased. As a result, the total financial contribution of Europe to the North Atlantic cause from 2001 to 2014 “blown away” from 37% to 25%. On average, not 2%, but 1,5% of GDP, or even less, was spent on general defense in the Old World.

In 2014, having successfully staged a coup d'état in Ukraine, but faced with the wrong reaction from Russia, which was expected, the North Atlanticists again became alarmed and once again decided at their summit in Bucharest that over the next decade they would certainly reach the two percent target. ... However, the declarations again for the most part remained declarations: three years later, in 2017, this "standard" was fulfilled by exactly the same number of block members as in 2006. All the same Americans, British, Greeks. Poles and Estonians also joined them.

Neither Germany, nor Italy, nor France, nor even Turkey were willing to spend more than 1,5% of GDP on military needs. Belgium and Spain fell short of 1%. All this (especially the "financial pacifism" of the Germans) terribly angered Donald Trump, who came to power in the United States in 2016. At every international summit he did not get tired of making fire for allies in the bloc and repeating that "the Americans are tired of protecting everyone." And that is to say, in the second year of his presidency, the US contribution to the total NATO budget exceeded 70%.

The next time, Alliance General Secretary Jens Stoltenberg was much more realistic. He expressed a fervent hope that by 2025 the coveted 2% of GDP will be spent on military needs at least half of the states making up the military bloc. Last year, NATO's aggregate budget did grow by 4,6%, exceeding a trillion dollars (the highest level since 2012). More than 72% of this amount, as before, falls on the United States and Canada.

Tellingly, the highest rates of growth in defense spending in recent years have been in the Baltic countries, as well as in Slovakia, Hungary, and Romania. However, Poland, with its 2% of GDP and more, is in reality a military budget of more than $ 12 billion, while Germany, with 1,3% of GDP allocated to defense, is investing more than $ 50 billion in the Bundeswehr. Everything is relative, especially percentages and absolute numbers.

How the coronavirus pandemic will affect NATO funding is not yet clear. However, the crisis that has engulfed the entire planet will clearly not contribute to an increase in cash infusions. Now, most of the countries that make up the alliance are faced with the question of saving their own economies, not militarizing them. NATO is unlikely to become more peaceful, but in the near future the alliance will definitely have to save.
Author:
Photos used:
NATO website
21 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Egoza
    Egoza 21 October 2020 18: 07 New
    +2
    So much money for a pandemic and everything by NATO! Abysmal! But if they gnaw at each other, we will applaud! And we will tell you that it's time for them to scatter.
    1. Livonetc
      Livonetc 21 October 2020 18: 15 New
      +1
      Lovely scolding only amuse.
      While the United States, in economic terms, is the number 1 market in the world, they will be pleased in every possible way to the best of their ability and capabilities.
      NATO is a club of interests, nothing more.
      1. Machito
        Machito 21 October 2020 18: 28 New
        +1
        They just don't know the measures. But the Russian Lefty, who has shoehorned a British flea, is not so easy to overtake. Russian ingenuity is worth a lot. And therefore solid asymmetric answers. We bent down the descendants of Genghis Khan, capturing half of his empire, the European Union of Napoleon and Hitler. It's just that it hasn't worked with the United States. We will try.
        And then, all in the classics: Satisfied with the ruins of the White House.
        1. Plastmaster
          Plastmaster 22 October 2020 11: 26 New
          0
          However, they win and squeeze territories. Everything goes on as usual. World carnage, we retreat on all fronts, then winter and we .......... This time this story is covered in darkness. I do not exclude that they will finish it off now. There are too many traitors.
      2. Terenin
        Terenin 21 October 2020 20: 36 New
        +3
        Quote: Livonetc
        While the United States, in economic terms, is the number 1 market in the world, they will be pleased in every possible way to the best of their ability and capabilities.

        And who will not please, they will turn off the hot water and, just in case, hang the leaders of the country in the square.
    2. credo
      credo 21 October 2020 18: 21 New
      -1
      Quote: Egoza
      So much money for a pandemic and everything by NATO! Abysmal! But if they gnaw at each other, we will applaud! And we will tell you that it's time for them to scatter.

      And I would like to hope that the newly admitted "members" from the Eastern (Warsaw) bloc and the non-states of the former USSR will pick up and give not 2%, but 4% or 6%.
      Logically, whoever shouts more about an imaginary threat from the east should pay more, causing hatred among their overlords from the west.
      The "amazing" nation of the Anglo-Saxons does not spare anyone and is ready to rip anyone off to the skin under the guise of protection and good intentions.
      1. Livonetc
        Livonetc 21 October 2020 18: 32 New
        0
        Anglo Skaxes are pragmatic to the core and not surprising at all.
        They are commonplace in their pathological greed and cruelty.
        "Nothing personal just business".
        1. Sergey Obraztsov
          Sergey Obraztsov 21 October 2020 19: 46 New
          -1
          This is not sad, the sad thing is that this has been working for far from the first year, and in fact it continues to work and still works well. Money does not rule the world, but if politics is just a concentrated expression of economics ...
        2. Terenin
          Terenin 21 October 2020 20: 34 New
          +2
          Quote: Livonetc
          Anglo Skaxes are pragmatic to the core and not surprising at all.
          They are commonplace in their pathological greed and cruelty.
          "Nothing personal just business".

          Moreover, the policy of destruction (which is what the Anglo-Saxons around the world are doing) is always simpler.
        3. Plastmaster
          Plastmaster 22 October 2020 11: 31 New
          -1
          Then I read that the Angles are not Angles, but a filthy nemchura (by pedigrees). Well sits at the top. Like a lot of things have been redone specifically for England. For the image.
      2. Terenin
        Terenin 21 October 2020 20: 38 New
        +3
        Quote: credo
        "Amazing" nation of the Anglo-Saxons sparing no one and ready to rip anyone to the skin under the guise of protection and good intentions
        They call it the defense of democracy.
    3. Serpet
      Serpet 21 October 2020 18: 43 New
      13
      There, the lobby of the American military-industrial complex in action. The virus will not pass!
    4. Terenin
      Terenin 21 October 2020 20: 29 New
      +3
      Military spending of NATO countries. Militarism costs a pretty penny
      So what? This is their usual old way of life.
    5. RealPilot
      RealPilot 21 October 2020 21: 21 New
      -1
      It's time for Trump to go out and voice theses about evil Russia and Iran, vigorous North Korea ...
      In the best traditions of the American rocket wink

      The mice cried and pricked, but they continued to chew on the cactus hi

      Nothing personal, only business bully
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 21 October 2020 18: 32 New
    -1
    NATO is unlikely to become more peaceful, but in the near future the alliance will definitely have to save.
    ... The imperialists were never distinguished by their peacefulness smile They need money for something else, the flow of refugees from Africa and the Middle East is growing, they need to be fed from the belly ...
  3. The comment was deleted.
  4. Pessimist22
    Pessimist22 21 October 2020 18: 35 New
    -2
    Let them print more dollars and euros.
  5. Blacksmith 55
    Blacksmith 55 21 October 2020 18: 58 New
    0
    Aren't tanks, planes and missiles needed against the virus?
    It's time to throw a cry: 3% for defense.
    1. Sergey Obraztsov
      Sergey Obraztsov 21 October 2020 19: 51 New
      0
      I agree. In view of the outbreak of the coronavirus sirloin, governments will be much more tempted to save money on the army. Which also needs to be kept in isolation from the outside world at this time, which in itself costs a lot. And even if this does not even affect the regular units, then the procurement of equipment and especially NKR is at risk.
  6. FIR FIR
    FIR FIR 21 October 2020 20: 36 New
    -2
    Everything changed again after the events in the United States on September 11, 2001. There was talk about the formidable "international terrorism" against which a decisive and uncompromising struggle should be started urgently.

    What does the terrorists and the army have to do with it? The internal security forces (FSB / FBI ...) must fight the terrorists, but not the army. So here the author confused the concepts. There is no reason in European countries to increase defense spending, since they are already 75 years old and no one threatens. But corporations need billions from the military-industrial complex. They are used to them, they do not want to lose them ..
    Therefore, they came up with "aggressive Russia" ....
    1. Evgeny Goncharov (smoogg)
      Evgeny Goncharov (smoogg) 21 October 2020 21: 44 New
      -2
      > since they are already 75 years old, no one threatens

      There, from 1945 to 1991, peace fighters promised competitions in income to the English Channel at speed for any reason. Since 2008, the heirs of the grandfathers have gone into nostalgia, google it.
  7. the Saint
    the Saint 21 October 2020 22: 04 New
    -9
    We constantly hear the grumbling of retirees entrenched in the Internet trenches, whom we call the "army community", about how "insignificant" against the background of NATO pensions they receive, how unfair a reduction coefficient, why they are not paid enough rations.
    But they continue to serve in retirement, angrily barking and pouring out streams of envious hatred on all prosperous countries, regardless of their affiliation with military blocs, including neutral ones.

Военное обозрение

Военные расходы стран НАТО. Милитаризм влетает в копеечку

21
Военные расходы стран НАТО. Милитаризм влетает в копеечку

Фраза о том, что для войны нужны всего три вещи — деньги, деньги и еще раз деньги, стала хрестоматийной еще в седую старину. Тем более что реальности она соответствует ровно на 100%. Впрочем, поддержание мира, которое, как официально заявляют в Североатлантическом альянсе, является его главной целью, вещь тоже недешевая, особенно если приняться ради мира вооружаться до зубов.


Во что обходится стремление «держать порох сухим» странам, входящим в НАТО?

Прежде чем говорить о сегодняшних объемах финансирования североатлантистами собственной «обороны», следует вспомнить историю вопроса. Решение о ежегодном поднятии входящими в блок странами планки их военных расходов было принято примерно в конце 70-х годов с подачи США. Организация Североатлантического договора тогда была относительно небольшой, 16 государств-членов, и потому стараться нужно было всем. Правда, дальше деклараций тогда пошли только американцы, канадцы, испанцы, норвежцы и отчего-то жители Люксембурга.

Уже два десятилетия спустя вопрос, по сути, утратил актуальность: распались СССР и Организация Варшавского договора (бывшие члены которого наперебой стали записываться в НАТО). Обороняться стало вроде бы не от кого. Вздохнув с облегчением, европейские правительства в абсолютном своем большинстве принялись нещадно «резать» собственные военные бюджеты и сокращать армии, находя казенным деньгам гораздо лучшее применение, нежели строительство новых танков и ракет.

Все снова изменилось после событий в Соединенных Штатах 11 сентября 2001 года. Пошли разговоры о грозном «международном терроризме», с которым срочно нужно начинать решительную и бескомпромиссную борьбу. На которую опять-таки придется дружно раскошелиться. Торговались, спорили, как на базаре, пеняли друг другу на несерьезное отношение к всемирной безопасности целых 5 лет и в итоге в 2006 году пришли-таки к некоему общему знаменателю военных бюджетов, вроде бы обязательному для всех государств, входящих в альянс: 2% от ВВП.

В это время указанному критерию худо-бедно соответствовали 5 из 26 стран НАТО. Это США (где на оборонные нужды тратили раза в два больше), Великобритания, Франция и вечные антагонисты Греция с Турцией. Все остальные члены альянса, включая даже рвавшихся туда изо всех сил неофитов (румын, венгров, чехов и прибалтийцев) поступили с точностью до наоборот: их военные затраты из года в год не росли, а снижались. В конечном результате общий финансовый вклад Европы в североатлантическое дело с 2001 года по 2014-й «сдулся» с 37% до 25%. В среднем на общую оборону в Старом Свете тратили не 2%, а 1,5% ВВП, а то и меньше.

В 2014 году, с успехом устроив государственный переворот на Украине, но столкнувшись не с той реакцией России, которой ожидали, североатлантисты снова всполошились и в который раз постановили на своем саммите, проходившем в Бухаресте, что в течение ближайшего десятилетия уж точно поголовно достигнут двухпроцентной планки. Впрочем, декларации снова по большей части остались декларациями: три года спустя, в 2017-м, этот «норматив» выполнило ровно столько же участников блока, что и в 2006-м. Всё те же американцы, британцы, греки. К ним подтянулись еще поляки и эстонцы.

Ни Германия, ни Италия, ни Франция, ни даже Турция не пожелали тратить на военные нужды больше 1,5% ВВП. Бельгия с Испанией и до 1% не дотянули. Все это (в особенности «финансовый пацифизм» немцев) жутко злило пришедшего к власти в Соединенных Штатах в 2016 году Дональда Трампа. Он на каждом международном саммите не уставал костерить союзников по блоку и повторять, что «американцы устали всех защищать». И то сказать, на втором году его президентства вклад США в совокупный бюджет НАТО превышал 70%.

В следующий раз генеральный секретарь Альянса Йенс Столтенберг был намного более реалистичен. Он выразил горячую надежду на то, что к 2025 году вожделенные 2% ВВП будет тратить на военные нужды хотя бы половина составляющих военный блок государств. В прошлом году совокупный бюджет НАТО действительно вырос на 4,6%, перевалив за триллион долларов (был достигнут самый большой объем с 2012 года). Более 72% этой суммы, как и ранее, приходятся на США и Канаду.

Что характерно, самыми высокими темпами прирост оборонных расходов в последние годы идет в странах Прибалтики, а также Словакии, Венгрии, Румынии. Впрочем, Польша с ее 2% от ВВП с лишним – это в реальности военный бюджет в 12 с лишним миллиардов долларов, а Германия с 1,3% ВВП, выделенными на оборону, вкладывает в бундесвер более 50 миллиардов долларов. Все относительно, в особенности проценты и абсолютные цифры.

Как повлияет на финансирование НАТО пандемия коронавируса, в точности сказать пока нельзя. Однако охвативший всю планету кризис явно не будет способствовать повышению денежных вливаний. Сейчас перед большинством стран, входящих в альянс, стоит вопрос спасения собственной экономики, а не ее милитаризации. Миролюбивее НАТО вряд ли станет, а вот экономить в ближайшее время альянсу точно придется.
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
сайт НАТО
21 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Егоза
    Егоза 21 октября 2020 18:07
    +2
    Столько денег на пандемию и все мимо НАТО! Абыдно! Но если они друг с другом перегрызутся - мы поаплодируем! И подскажем, что им пора разбегаться.
    1. Livonetc
      Livonetc 21 октября 2020 18:15
      +1
      Милые бранятся только тешатся.
      Пока США, в экономическом плане, рынок номер 1 в мире, их будут всячески ублажать по мере сил и возможностей.
      НАТО клуб по интересам, не более того.
      1. Бородач
        Бородач 21 октября 2020 18:28
        +1
        Да они просто меры не знают. Но русского Левшу, подковавшего британскую блоху, не так-то просто обьегорить. Русская смекалка дорогого стоит. А потому сплошные асимметричные ответы. Мы нагнули потомков Чингисхана, захватив половину его империи, Евросоюза Наполеона и Гитлера. Вот только с США пока не получается. Будем стараться.
        А потом, все по классике: Развалинами Белого Дома удовлетворен.
        1. Пластмастер
          Пластмастер 22 октября 2020 11:26
          0
          Тем не менее, они выигрывают и отжимают территории. Все идет своим привычным чередом. Мировая бойня, мы отступаем по всем фронтам, потом зима и мы .......... На этот раз эта история покрытая мраком. Не исключаю что сейчас добьют. Слишком много предателей.
      2. Теренин
        Теренин 21 октября 2020 20:36
        +3
        Цитата: Livonetc
        Пока США, в экономическом плане, рынок номер 1 в мире, их будут всячески ублажать по мере сил и возможностей.

        А, кто не будет ублажать, тому они отключат горячую воду и, на всякий случай повесят на площаде, руководителей страны.
    2. кредо
      кредо 21 октября 2020 18:21
      -1
      Цитата: Егоза
      Столько денег на пандемию и все мимо НАТО! Абыдно! Но если они друг с другом перегрызутся - мы поаплодируем! И подскажем, что им пора разбегаться.

      А мне хочется надеется, что вновь принятые "члены" из восточного (варшавского) блока и недогосударств бывшего СССР возьмут под козырёк да и дадут не 2%, а 4% или 6%.
      По логике, кто больше кричит о мнимой угрозе с востока, тот и должен больше платить, вызывая ненависть у их сюзеренов с запада.
      "Удивительная" нация англосаксов никого не жалеющая и готовая любого ободрать до нитки под видом защиты и благих намерений.
      1. Livonetc
        Livonetc 21 октября 2020 18:32
        0
        Англоскаксы прагматичны до мозга костей и совсем не удивительны.
        Они банальны в своей патологической жадности и жестокости.
        "Ничего личного только бизнес".
        1. Сергей Образцов
          Сергей Образцов 21 октября 2020 19:46
          -1
          Печально не это, печально то, что это работает далеко не первый год, и по факту продолжает работать и работать все еще неплохо. Деньги не правят миром, но если политика это всего лишь концентрированное выражение экономики...
        2. Теренин
          Теренин 21 октября 2020 20:34
          +2
          Цитата: Livonetc
          Англоскаксы прагматичны до мозга костей и совсем не удивительны.
          Они банальны в своей патологической жадности и жестокости.
          "Ничего личного только бизнес".

          Тем более политика разрушения, (чем и занимаются англосаксы по всему миру) всегда проще.
        3. Пластмастер
          Пластмастер 22 октября 2020 11:31
          -1
          Тут вычитал, что англы не англы а немчура поганая (по родословным). Ну на верхушке сидит. Типа много что было переделано специально для англии. Для имиджу.
      2. Теренин
        Теренин 21 октября 2020 20:38
        +3
        Цитата: кредо
        "Удивительная" нация англосаксов никого не жалеющая и готовая любого ободрать до нитки под видом защиты и благих намерений
        Они называют это - защита демократии.
    3. Serpet
      Serpet 21 октября 2020 18:43
      +13
      Там лобби американского ВПК в действии. Вирус не пройдет!
    4. Теренин
      Теренин 21 октября 2020 20:29
      +3
      Военные расходы стран НАТО. Милитаризм влетает в копеечку
      Ну, и что? Это их обычный давний уклад жизнедеятельности.
    5. RealPilot
      RealPilot 21 октября 2020 21:21
      -1
      Пора выйти Трампу и озвучить тезисы о злых России и Иране, ядреной Северной Корее...
      В лучших традициях американского рекета wink

      Мыши плакали и кололись, но продолжали жевать кактус hi

      Nothing personal, only business bully
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 21 октября 2020 18:32
    -1
    Миролюбивее НАТО вряд ли станет, а вот экономить в ближайшее время альянсу точно придется.
    ...Империалисты, никогда не отличались миролюбием smile Им деньги на другое нужны, поток беженцев из Африки, Ближнего Востока растет,их кормить от пуза надо...
  3. Комментарий был удален.
  4. Пессимист22
    Пессимист22 21 октября 2020 18:35
    -2
    Пусть печатают больше долларов и евро.
  5. Кузнец 55
    Кузнец 55 21 октября 2020 18:58
    0
    А против вируса разве не нужны танки , самолеты и ракеты ?
    Самое время кинуть клич : на оборону по 3 % .
    1. Сергей Образцов
      Сергей Образцов 21 октября 2020 19:51
      0
      Согласен. В виду разразившейся коронавирусной филейной части у правительств стран будет гораздо больше соблазна сэкономить деньги на армии. Которую еще и надо в это время держать в изоляции от внешнего мира что само по себе стоит не мало. И если это даже не коснется регулярных частей, то закупки техники и особенно НКР в зоне риска.
  6. FIR FIR
    FIR FIR 21 октября 2020 20:36
    -2
    Все снова изменилось после событий в Соединенных Штатах 11 сентября 2001 года. Пошли разговоры о грозном «международном терроризме», с которым срочно нужно начинать решительную и бескомпромиссную борьбу.

    Причем тут террористы и армия? С террористами должны внутренние силовики бороться (ФСБ/ФБР...), но не армия. Так что тут автор перепутал понятия. Нет ни каких поводов в странах Европы для увеличения статей расходов на оборону, так как им уже 75 лет ни кто не угрожает. Но корпорациям от ВПК нужны миллиарды. Они привыкли к ним, они не хотят их терять..
    Поэтому придумали "агрессивную Россию"....
    1. Евгений Гончаров (smoogg)
      Евгений Гончаров (smoogg) 21 октября 2020 21:44
      -2
      > так как им уже 75 лет ни кто не угрожает

      Там с 1945-го по 1991-й борцы за мир обещали соревнования по доходу до Ла Манша на скорость по любому поводу. С 2008-го наследники дедов в ностальгию ударились, погуглите.
  7. el Santo
    el Santo 21 октября 2020 22:04
    -9
    Мы постоянно слышим ворчание засевших в интернет-окопах отставников, которых у нас называют «армейской общественностью», относительно того, сколь «ничтожны» на фоне НАТОвских получаемые ими пенсии, как несправедлив понижающий коэффициент, почему им недостаточно выплачивают пайковые.
    А ведь они продолжают нести службу и в отставке, злобно лая и изливая потоки завистливой ненависти на все благополучные страны, независимо от их принадлежности к военным блокам, в том числе и на нейтральные.