How Russia came to the Arctic: about the legendary feat of the “Chelyuskinites” and their salvation

14
How Russia came to the Arctic: about the legendary feat of the “Chelyuskinites” and their salvation

The Northern Sea Route, which today is the most important transport artery for our country, and may soon become so for the whole world, was not taken seriously by the leadership of the USSR in the early 30s of the last century.

No, the economic and military need for this highway was well understood. However, the Arctic Ocean, like the sky above the Arctic, was considered beyond the control of either ships or planes. Until the heroic expedition of the “Chelyuskinites” took place, the progress of which, without exaggeration, was followed by the whole country.



The thing is that the steamship icebreaker “Chelyuskin” with an expedition of 105 participants, headed by the head of the Main Northern Sea Route Otto Schmidt, set off from Murmansk to Vladivostok on August 2, 1933, but already in the 20th of September found itself in an ice trap in the Chukchi Sea.

The polar explorers, their families, and the ship's crew spent about five months trapped in ice. But this turned out to be not the worst thing for the expedition members.

On February 13, 1934, 155 nautical miles from Cape Severny and 144 miles from Cape Uelen, the icebreaker sank, crushed by ice. Fortunately, the experienced Otto Schmidt foresaw this outcome, which allowed the expedition members to transfer food supplies, tents, sleeping bags, as well as an airplane and radio equipment to the ice in advance.

At the same time, one of the polar explorers died during the evacuation. The caretaker Boris Mogilevich fell into the water and was crushed by a log from a crushed ship. He turned out to be the only victim of this expedition.

A commission to rescue people drifting on an ice floe was formed on February 14, 1934.

The first 29 search flights were unsuccessful. However, on March 5, Soviet pilot Anatoly Lyapidevsky was able not only to discover the location of the expedition, but also to land his ANT-4 aircraft on a small area of ​​flat ice. He barely managed to fit ten passengers (women and children) into the cabin of the plane and rescue them from icy captivity. This was the first evacuation in the rescue operation.

At the same time, due to difficult weather conditions, the pilots managed to reach the polar explorers’ camp on the ice floe for the second time only on April 7. However, on April 13, all 104 members were rescued.

From that moment it became clear that Russia (then the USSR) came to the Arctic. In those years, the feat of the Chelyuskinites was put on a par with the first flight into space.

Seven pilots Anatoly Lyapidevsky, Vasily Molokov, Nikolay Kamanin, Mavriky Slepnev, Mikhail Vodopyanov, Ivan Doronin and Sigismund Levanevsky, who saved people from captivity in the ice, were awarded the highest award - Hero of the Soviet Union.
  • archive photo
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 0
    February 6 2024
    Whatever one may say, we again run into IDEOLOGY.
    Without her there would not have been such grandiose achievements of the Land of Soviets!
    1. +1
      February 6 2024
      This case is an illustrative example of “the feat of one is the crime of another.”
      No ideology turned the Chelyuskin into an icebreaker.
      1. +2
        February 6 2024
        No ideology turned the Chelyuskin into an icebreaker.

        Schmidt was an experienced polar explorer; he would not have taken the adventure.
        1. +2
          February 6 2024
          "Chelyuskin" was not an icebreaker, it was a transport with icebreaking capabilities. His job was to walk along the edge of heavy ice.
        2. +2
          February 6 2024
          Schmidt was an experienced polar explorer, but because of the desire to be first, he became an adventurer.
          The newest ship sank, although many literate people, including the future captain of the Chelyuskin, were against this late campaign.
        3. 0
          February 6 2024
          Schmidt was not a polar explorer, he was a mathematician, head of the algebra department at Moscow University. He was sent “to the Arctic” along party lines. Voronin was an experienced polar sailor, and he rejected Chelyuskin for the purposes of the expedition.
          1. +2
            February 7 2024
            I almost didn’t agree with you, but after reading about Schmidt, I would still call him a polar explorer, and most importantly, he was a traveler.
            By the way, for some reason they write a lot that he went north since 1930, but they don’t count the 1929 expedition on the ship “Sedov”.
    2. +1
      February 6 2024
      Sorry, but what is the achievement?
      The ship did not complete the task, did not complete one navigation along the NSR, and did not deliver a change of polar explorers to Wrangel Island (some write that this was the main task).
      The brand new ship itself was destroyed and sank (moreover, it is known that Chelyuskin’s future captain, the famous polar sailor Vladimir Voronin, was categorically against sailing, believing that Chelyuskin was not ready for sailing in such conditions.
      because Since the ship was already loaded, I was only able to inspect the forepeak, rope boxes and tiller compartment. Everything that I managed to examine left a bad impression on me about the ship. The hull frame was weak, the frames were sparse and their strength was not adequate for an icebreaking vessel, especially one intended for work in the Arctic. The width of "Chelyuskin" was large. This meant that the zygomatic part would be heavily impacted, at an unfavorable angle to the body, and these impacts would greatly affect the strength of the body. I assumed that the ship would have difficulty obeying the rudder, which would greatly complicate steering the ship in ice.
      All this indicated that the Chelyuskin was not a suitable vessel for this voyage. Therefore, I did not want to accept the ship from Captain Bezais.

      Nevertheless, the ship was sent, as a result of which it was destroyed, a person died, Levanevsky’s plane was crashed, the shift was not delivered to Wrangel Island, and the mission of the expedition was not completed.
      To be honest, I don’t see any achievements.
    3. +1
      February 6 2024
      So maybe you can open my eyes to what grandiose achievement the correctly ideologically savvy O. Schmidt achieved?
    4. +1
      February 6 2024
      Quote: NICK111
      Whatever one may say, we again run into IDEOLOGY

      Yep, exactly...

      Quote: Anecdote
      - Commander, cartridges - everything!
      - But you’re a Komsomol member!
      And the machine gun started firing again...

      My point is that ideology alone cannot cook porridge. And it doesn’t always help, as exemplified by the USSR.
  2. 0
    February 6 2024
    From that moment it became clear that Russia (then the USSR) came to the Arctic.


    Why lie? The USSR came to the Arctic. And RF =/= USSR.
  3. 0
    February 6 2024
    In those years, the feat of the Chelyuskinites was put on a par with the first flight into space.

    The author probably does not know when the first flight into space took place.
  4. +1
    February 6 2024
    Now the aphorism of D. Medvedev is clear: “our achievements in space come down to the fact that today no one was killed”
  5. 0
    February 7 2024
    It was not Russia that came to the Arctic, but the USSR.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Как Россия пришла в Арктику: о легендарном подвиге «челюскинцев» и их спасении

14
Как Россия пришла в Арктику: о легендарном подвиге «челюскинцев» и их спасении

Северный морской путь, который сегодня является важнейшей для нашей страны, а скоро, возможно, станет таковой и для всего мира, транспортной артерией, в начале 30-х годов прошлого столетия руководством СССР не воспринимался всерьез.

Нет, экономическую и военную необходимость в этой магистрали прекрасно осознавали. Однако Ледовитый океан, как и небо над Арктикой, считались неподвластными ни кораблям, ни самолетам. Пока не произошла героическая экспедиция «челюскинцев», за ходом которой, без преувеличения, следила вся страна.



Все дело в том, что пароходный ледокол «Челюскин» с экспедицией из 105 участников, возглавляемой начальником Главсевморпути Отто Шмидтом, отправился из Мурманска во Владивосток 2 августа 1933 года, но уже в 20-х числах сентября оказался в ледяной ловушке в Чукотском море.

Скованные льдами, полярники со своими семьями, а также экипаж корабля провели около пяти месяцев. Но и это оказалось еще не самым страшным для участников экспедиции.

13 февраля 1934 года в 155 морских милях от мыса Северного и в 144 милях от мыса Уэлен ледокол затонул, раздавленный льдами. К счастью, опытный Отто Шмидт предвидел такой исход, что позволило членам экспедиции заблаговременно перенести на лед запасы продовольствия, палатки, спальные мешки, а также самолет и радиоприборы.

При этом во время эвакуации погиб один из полярников. Завхоз Борис Могилевич сорвался в воду и был придавлен бревном от раздавленного корабля. Он оказался единственной жертвой данной экспедиции.

Комиссия по спасению дрейфующих на льдине людей была сформирована уже 14 февраля 1934 года.

Первые 29 поисковых полетов оказались безрезультатными. Однако 5 марта советский летчик Анатолий Ляпидевский смог не только обнаружить местоположение экспедиции, но и посадить свой самолет АНТ-4 на небольшом участке ровного льда. Ему с трудом удалось уместить в салоне самолета десятерых пассажиров (женщин и детей) и вызволить их из ледяного плена. Это стало первой эвакуацией в спасательной операции.

В то же время из-за сложных погодных условий второй раз добраться до лагеря полярников на льдине летчикам удалось лишь 7 апреля. Однако уже 13 апреля все 104 члена были спасены.

С того момента стало понятно, что Россия (тогда СССР) пришла в Арктику. Подвиг «челюскинцев» в те годы ставили в один ряд с первым полетом в космос.

Семь летчиков Анатолий Ляпидевский, Василий Молоков, Николай Каманин, Маврикий Слепнёв, Михаил Водопьянов, Иван Доронин и Сигизмунд Леваневский, которые спасли людей из ледяного плена, были удостоены высшей награды – Герой Советского Союза.
  • архивное фото
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

14 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 0
    6 февраля 2024
    Как не крути, а мы опять упираемся в ИДЕОЛОГИЮ.
    Без нее не было бы таких грандиозных достижений Страны Советов!
    1. +1
      6 февраля 2024
      Вот этот случай показательный пример "подвиг одного это преступление другого".
      Никакая идеология не превратила "Челюскин" в ледокол.
      1. +2
        6 февраля 2024
        Никакая идеология не превратила "Челюскин" в ледокол.

        Шмидт был опытным полярником, он бы не пошел на авантюру.
        1. +2
          6 февраля 2024
          "Челюскин" не был ледоколом, это был транспорт с ледокольными возможностями. Его дело было ходить по краю тяжелых льдов.
        2. +2
          6 февраля 2024
          Шмидт был опытным полярником, но из за желания быть первым стал авантюристом.
          Утопил новейший корабль, хотя много грамотных людей, в том числе и будущий капитан "Челюскина" были против этого позднего похода.
        3. 0
          6 февраля 2024
          Шмидт не был полярником, он был математиком, заведующим кафедрой алгебры Московского университета. "На Арктику" его направили по партийной линии. Опытным полярным моряком был Воронин, и он Челюскин забраковал для целей экспедиции.
          1. +2
            7 февраля 2024
            Чуть было с вами не согласился, но прочитав про Шмидта все таки я бы его назвал бы полярником, а самое главное он был путешественником.
            Кстати почему то много пишут что он с 1930 ходил на север, а экспедицию 1929 на корабле "Седов" не считают.
    2. +1
      6 февраля 2024
      Извините, а в чем достижение?
      Пароход задачу не выполнил, в одну навигацию по СМП не прошел, смену полярников на остров Врангеля не доставил (некоторые пишут, что это и была главная задача).
      Сам новенький пароход разрушен и утонул (более того, известно что будущий капитан Челюскина известный полярный моряк Владимир Воронин был категорически против плавания, считая, что Челюскин не готов к плаванью в таких условиях.
      т.к. судно было уже загружено, то мне удалось осмотреть только в форпике, канатных ящиках и румпельном отделении. Все то, что мне удалось осмотреть, на меня произвело нехорошее впечатление о корабле. Набор корпуса был слаб, шпангоуты редкие и прочность их не соответствовала для ледокольного судна, да еще предназначенного для работы в Арктике. Ширина «Челюскина» была большая. Это означало, что скуловая часть его будет сильно подвергаться ударам, под невыгодным углом к корпусу и эти удары будут сильно сказываться на прочности корпуса. Предполагал, что судно будет плохо слушаться руля, что сильно будет затруднять управление судном во льдах.
      Все это говорило за то, что «Челюскин» – судно для этого рейса не пригодное. Поэтому я не хотел принимать пароход от капитана Безайс.

      Тем не менее пароход отправили, в результате чего он был уничтожен, человек погиб, самолет Леваневского разбили, смену на остров Врангеля не доставили, задачу экспедиции не выполнили.
      Как-то достижений не усматривается, честно говоря.
    3. +1
      6 февраля 2024
      Так может откроете мне глаза какое же грандиозное достижение достиг правильно идеологически подкованный О. Шмидт совершил?
    4. +1
      6 февраля 2024
      Цитата: NICK111
      Как не крути, а мы опять упираемся в ИДЕОЛОГИЮ

      Ага, точно...

      Цитата: Анекдот
      - Командир, патроны - все!
      - Но ты же комсомолец!
      И пулемет застрочил опять...

      Я к тому, что на одной идеологии - кашу не сварить. Да и она не всегда помогает, чему примером как раз СССР.
  2. 0
    6 февраля 2024
    С того момента стало понятно, что Россия (тогда СССР) пришла в Арктику.


    Зачем врать? В Арктику пришёл СССР. И РФ =/= СССР.
  3. 0
    6 февраля 2024
    Подвиг «челюскинцев» в те годы ставили в один ряд с первым полетом в космос.

    Автор, вероятно, не в курсе, когда был первый полет в космос.
  4. +1
    6 февраля 2024
    Теперь понятен афоризм Д. Медведева :"наши достижения в космосе сводятся к тому, что сегодня никого не убило"
  5. 0
    7 февраля 2024
    В Арктику пришла не Россия, а СССР.

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»