Military Review

American self-propelled howitzer M37

3
The project of the American self-propelled howitzer M37 began to be developed at the end of World War II. On July 8, 1943, a project was launched as part of the Light Combat Team program to replace the M105 Priest self-propelled 7 mm howitzer. The Americans felt that using a relatively small 105 mm howitzer medium howitzer tank Sherman is not reasonable, and it was possible to put this gun on the chassis of the light M24. The project was given the name T76 - the overall design remained old, and the chassis was new. The overall layout of the T24 chassis has not changed - the fighting compartment in front, the engine in the back. This was the main difference between the T76 and other machines created on the basis of the M24, in which the engine was transferred to the middle part of the body.


American self-propelled howitzer M37


Despite the fact that the new self-propelled unit was created on the basis of a light tank before the M7, created on the basis of a medium tank, it had significant advantages. In the T76, the crew space for the 7 increased the crew, increased the ammunition load - 90 shots (for the M7 Priest - 69). The self-propelled gun was specially designed for mounting a 4 caliber howitzer mm in the tower of the M105 tank. The gun M4 is a modification of the 105-millimeter non-self-propelled M1. It is capable of hitting targets 14,97-kg with a projectile at a distance of 11160 meters. Practical rate of fire was 2-4 shot per minute. The traverse 105 mm howitzer also increased - 22,5 degrees in both directions, the elevation was -10 .. + 45 degrees. Side and frontal armor increased to 17,5 mm (0,5 inch). The workplace of the driver's assistant was located in the “department” (located to the right of the howitzer) with a machine gun. 50 cal, which could conduct circular fire on both airborne and ground targets. The SAU T76 weight was 18120 kg, length - 55364 mm.

For self-defense, the crew had submachine guns - one .45 cal and six 30.cal.

In July, a self-propelled howitzer developed speed of about 1944 km / h (56,315 miles / hour) at the Aberdeen range, while the cruising range was 35-160 km (241-100 miles).

The new self-propelled gun, in comparison with the Priest, turned out to be quite successful - it was cheaper, more mobile, lighter, with more armor and better traverse.



T76 in January 1945 was standardized as the M37 HMC. At the same time, an agreement was signed with American Car and Foundry for the production of 448 self-propelled howitzers. After the end of World War II, the contract was handed over to Cadillac, who released the largest number of M37 HMCs. Since World War II was completed, the order was reduced to 317 self-propelled guns. One M37 was converted into a T38 equipped with an 4,2-inch mortar. Available vehicles entered the National Guard (National Guard) and the US Army Reserve (Army Reserve).

M37 HMC in the battles of the Second World War did not participate. One of the reasons for removing self-propelled guns from service was the change in requirements for the protection of equipment, due to the likely danger of radioactive decay products when using nuclear weapons. weapons - it is obvious that the M37 open on top to provide such protection was not ready.

UN troops were actively used M37 HMS in Korea. After the end of the Korean Won, the M37 HMC was removed from service with the American army. A number of self-propelled howitzers M37 were given to the allies of America as part of the Millitary Assistance Program.



Performance characteristics:
Calculation - to 7 people;
Weight - 18144 kg;
Dimensions:
Length - 5,54 m;
Width - 3,02 m;
Height - 2,235 m;
Powerplant - Cadillac V-8, two carburetors;
Engine power - 2x110 l / s;
Maximum speed - 56 km / h;
Power reserve - 241 km;
Vertical guidance angles - from -10,5 to + 42,8 °;
Horizontal guidance angles - from -25,4 to + 26,3 °;
Gradeability - 30 °;
Overcoming ditch - 2,8 m;
Overcoming ford - 1,0 m.












Based on materials:
http://zonawar.ru
http://pro-tank.ru
http://2gtk.clan.su
http://vn-parabellum.com

Author:
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. svp67
    svp67 April 22 2013 07: 58
    0
    M37 HMC did not participate in the battles of World War II.

    Perhaps on this occasion one can say - and glory to God lol ... It’s a very "korobushka" kind of ugly .... Thanks to the author. "+"
    1. itr
      itr April 22 2013 10: 53
      +1
      you wanted to say what is it ??)))
  2. Hudo
    Hudo April 22 2013 21: 20
    0
    The workplace of the assistant driver was in the "department" (located to the right of the howitzer) with a .50 cal machine gun, which could conduct circular fire at both air and ground targets.


    A strange approach, strange, to say the least ...

Американская самоходная гаубица М37

Проект американской самоходной гаубицы М37 начал разрабатываться в конце Второй мировой войны. 8 июля 1943 года в рамках программы Light Combat Team был начат проект для замены самоходной 105-миллиметровой гаубицы M7 Priest. Американцы посчитали, что использовать для сравнительно небольшой гаубицы калибра 105 мм шасси среднего танка Шерман не разумно, причем имелась возможность поставить данное орудие на шасси лёгкого М24. Проекту дали название Т76 – старым оставался общий дизайн, а шасси было новым. Общая компоновка шасси Т24 изменений не претерпела – боевое отделение спереди, двигатель сзади. Это стало главным отличием Т76 от других машин созданных на базе М24, в которых двигатель переносили в среднюю часть корпуса.

Американская самоходная гаубица М37


Несмотря на то, что новая самоходная установка была создана на основе легкого танка перед М7, созданной на базе среднего танка, она имела значительные преимущества. В Т76 рабочее пространство для 7 человек экипажа увеличилось, увеличился возимый боезапас – 90 выстрелов (у М7 Прист – 69). На самоходке стояла специально разработанная для монтажа в башню танка М4 гаубица калибра 105 мм. Пушка М4 - модификация 105-миллиметровой не самоходной М1. Она способна поражать цели 14,97-кг снарядом на расстоянии 11160 метров. Практическая скорострельность составляла 2-4 выстрела в минуту. Траверс 105 мм гаубицы также увеличился – 22,5 градуса в обе стороны, элевация составляла -10 .. +45 градусов. Боковую и лобовую броню увеличили до 17,5 мм (0,5 дюйма). Рабочее место помощника водителя находилось в «кафедре» (размещалась справа от гаубицы) с пулеметом.50 cal, который мог вести круговой обстрел как воздушных, так и наземных целей. Масса САУ Т76 составляла 18120 кг, длина – 55364 мм.


Для самозащиты у экипажа имелись пистолеты-пулеметы – один .45 cal и шесть 30.cal.

В июле 1944 года на Абердинском полигоне самоходная гаубица развила скорость около 56,315 км/ч (35 миль/час), запас хода при этом составлял – 160-241 км (100-150 миль).

Новая самоходка, в сравнении с Прист, получилась довольно удачной – она была дешевле, мобильнее, легче, с большей броней и лучшим траверсом.

Американская самоходная гаубица М37


Т76 в январе 1945 года была стандартизирована как M37 HMC. В это же время с American Car and Foundry был подписан договор на производство 448 самоходных гаубиц. После окончания Второй мировой войны контракт передали Cadillac, который выпустил, наибольшее количество M37 HMC. Поскольку Вторая мировая войны была завершена, заказ сократили до 317 самоходок. Один M37 переделали в T38 оснащенный 4,2-дюймовым минометом. Имеющиеся машины поступили в National Guard (Национальная Гвардия) и US Army Reserve (Резерв Армии).

M37 HMC в боях Второй мировой войны участия не принимали. Одной из причин снятия самоходки с вооружения стали изменения требований к защите техники, в связи с вероятной опасностью выпадения продуктов радиоактивного распада при применении ядерного оружия – очевидно, что открытая сверху М37 к обеспечению подобной защиты была не готова.

Войска ООН активно использовались M37 HMС в Корее. После окончания корейской воны M37 HMC сняли с вооружения американской армии. Некоторое количество самоходных гаубиц M37 передали союзникам Америки в рамках Millitary Assistance Program (Программа Военной Помощи).

Американская самоходная гаубица М37


Тактико-технические характеристики:
Расчет – до 7 человек;
Масса – 18144 кг;
Габаритные размеры:
Длина – 5,54 м;
Ширина – 3,02 м;
Высота – 2,235 м;
Силовая установка – Кадиллак V-8, два карбюратора;
Мощность двигателя – 2x110 л/с;
Максимальная скорость – 56 км/ч;
Запас хода – 241 км;
Углы вертикального наведения – от -10,5 до +42,8°;
Углы горизонтального наведения – от -25,4 до +26,3°;
Преодолеваемый подъем – 30°;
Преодолеваемый ров – 2,8 м;
Преодолеваемый брод – 1,0 м.

Американская самоходная гаубица М37
Американская самоходная гаубица М37
Американская самоходная гаубица М37
Американская самоходная гаубица М37
Американская самоходная гаубица М37
Американская самоходная гаубица М37
Американская самоходная гаубица М37
Американская самоходная гаубица М37
Американская самоходная гаубица М37
Американская самоходная гаубица М37


Подготовлено по материалам:
http://zonawar.ru
http://pro-tank.ru
http://2gtk.clan.su
http://vn-parabellum.com
Автор: Пётр Улякин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему


Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. svp67 22 апреля 2013 07:58
    M37 HMC в боях Второй мировой войны участия не принимали.

    Наверное по этому поводу можно сказать - и славу богу lol . Уж очень "коробушка" какая то неказистая.... Автору спасибо. "+"
    1. itr 22 апреля 2013 10:53
      вы хотели сказать что это ??)))
      itr
  2. Hudo 22 апреля 2013 21:20
    Рабочее место помощника водителя находилось в «кафедре» (размещалась справа от гаубицы) с пулеметом.50 cal, который мог вести круговой обстрел как воздушных, так и наземных целей.


    Странный подход, странный, если не сказать больше...
    Hudo

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня