Military Review

Smolensk - the city of military glory

5
The border location of Smolensk more than once forced this city to be one of the first to take upon itself the blow of enemy armies, which rushed into the center of Russia. At the same time, as we know from stories, there were many wars on the western borders of the Russian state. For this reason, the history of Smolensk has a large number of glorious combat pages. So in 1941, it was precisely at the walls of Smolensk that Hitler’s hopes of a blitzkrieg against the USSR were buried. Having got stuck in the Smolensk battle on the 2 month, the troops of Army Group Center had lost time and strength that the Germans lacked in the future.


The battle that unfolded near the walls of Smolensk, in the city itself and at a distance from it, went down in history of the Great Patriotic War, like the battle of Smolensk 1941 of the year. The Battle of Smolensk is a whole complex of offensive and defensive operations of the troops of the Western, Central, Reserve and Bryansk fronts against the German fascist invaders (mainly Army Group "Center"). The battle continued from July 10 to September 10. The battle went on a huge territory: 600-650 km. along the front (from Velikiy Luk and Idritsa in the north to Loyev and Novgorod-Seversky in the south) and 200-250 km. in depth.

In July, 1941, the German command placed in front of Army Group Center (from 51 to 62,5 divisions at different times, commanded Field Marshal F. Boc) to encircle and destroy Red Army troops who were defending along the Western Dvina and Dnepr rivers. The armies of Army Group "Center" were to seize the cities of Vitebsk, Orsha, Smolensk, thereby opening up the way for further offensive against Moscow.

Smolensk - the city of military glory

Since the end of June, the Soviet High Command began concentrating a large mass of troops of the 2-th strategic echelon along the middle reaches of the Dnieper and Zapadnaya Dvina with the task of occupying the line: Kraslava, Polotsky SD, Vitebsk, Orsha, r. Dnieper to Loev. The troops were supposed to prevent the Germans from breaking through to the central industrial area of ​​the country and to the capital. In depth, in 210-240 km. east of the main line of defense of the Soviet troops on the front from Nelidovo to the area north of Bryansk, the 24 and 28 armies (19 divisions) were deployed. The 16 Army (6 divisions) deployed directly around Smolensk.

On July 10, 1941, the 13th, 19th, 20th, 21st I, 22nd Army (37 divisions in total). At the same time, by the beginning of the Smolensk battle, only 24 divisions of Soviet troops managed to arrive at the front from Sebezh to Rechitsa. At this time, the 2nd and 3rd German formations managed to reach the border of the Dnieper and Western Dvina rivers tank groups, and on the section from Idritsa to Drissa, infantry divisions of the 16th German army, which is part of Army Group North, managed to enter the area. The 2nd and 9th German field armies of the Center group (more than 30 divisions) were detained by battles on the territory of Belarus and lagged behind the advanced mobile formations by 120-150 km. By the time the battle began in the directions of the main attacks, the Germans had managed to create superiority in personnel and military equipment.

Stages of the Smolensk battle

Smolensk battle 1941, can be divided into 4 stages. 1 battle stage (July 10 - July 20). At this time, Soviet troops repelled enemy attacks in the center and on the right wing of the Western Front. The German 3 tank group under the command of Goth, supported by infantry of the 16 th field army, was able to dismember the 22 th Soviet army and break the resistance of the 19 th army units in the Vitebsk region. The Germans captured Polotsk, Nevel, Velizh (13 July), Demidov (13 July) and Dukhovshchina. After that, the remnants of the 22 Army took up defensive positions on the Lovati River, holding the city of Velikiye Luki, and the 19-I army fought back to Smolensk, where, together with parts of the 16 Army, it fought for the city. At the same time, the German 2-I tank group, commanded by Guderian, completed part of the encirclement of the Soviet troops in the Mogilev region, and captured Orsha with the main forces, partially Smolensk (July 16), Yelnya (July 19) and Krichev. Parts of the 16 and 20 armies were encircled, some of the forces of the 13 Army continued to hold Mogilyov, and some went beyond the Sozh River. All this time, the 21-I army led the offensive, liberated the cities of Zhlobin and Rogachev and, attacking Bobruisk and Vyhov, bound the main forces of the 2 German field army.


The 2 th stage of the battle (July 21 - August 7). The troops of the Western Front received reinforcements and proceeded to offensive operations in the Bely, Yartsevo, Roslavl areas in general direction to Smolensk, and in the south in the 21 Army operation zone - a cavalry group (3 cavalry divisions) began to advance in the flank and rear of the German forces Army "Center". At this time, the delayed forces 9 and 2 of the German field armies entered the battle. On July 24, units of the 21 and 13 armies were merged into the Central Front (front commander Colonel General F. I. Kuznetsov). During heavy and stubborn fighting, the Soviet troops thwarted the offensive of the German tank groups, helped the units of the 16 and 20 army withdraw from the encirclement of the Dnieper, and on July 30 forced the Army Group Center on the whole front to go on the defensive. At the same time, the High Command created a new Reserve Front, the commander of which was General of the Army GK Zhukov.

3 th stage (August 8 - August 21). The main hostilities moved south of the city to the strip of the Central and later Bryansk Front, which was created on August 16, and Lieutenant-General A. I. Eremenko was appointed commander of the front. Here, starting from August 8, the Soviet troops repelled the attacks of the German 2 and the 2 tank group, which, instead of attacking the capital of the USSR, were forced to counter the threat of Soviet troops from the south. By August 21, the Germans managed to advance on the 120-140 km., Reaching the line Gomel, Starodub and wedge between the connections of the Bryansk and Central Fronts. Because of the threat of a possible encirclement, by decision of the 19 Headquarters, August, the troops of the Central Front, as well as the troops of the Southwestern Front, which were operating south of them, retreated across the Dnieper River. At the same time, the armies of the Central Front were transferred to the Bryansk Front. The troops of the Western Front, 24-I and 43-I armies of the Reserve Front 17 of August began to launch counter-attacks in the Yelnya and Yartsevo areas, inflicting heavy losses on the enemy.

4th stage of the battle (August 22 - September 10). At this time, the troops of the Bryansk Front continued fighting with the 2nd German Army and the 2nd Panzer Group. At the same time, a massive airstrike was carried out on the 2nd tank group using the existing long-range bomber aviation. A total of 460 Soviet aircraft participated in the air raids, but failed to disrupt the advance of the 2nd Panzer Group in the south. On the right wing of the Western Front, the Germans launched a powerful tank attack in the defense zone of the 22nd Army and on August 29 captured the city of Toropets. At the same time, the 29th and 22nd armies withdrew beyond the Western Dvina River. On September 1, the Soviet 16th, 19th, 20th and 30th armies went on the offensive, but did not achieve much success. At the same time, the 24th and 43rd armies of the Reserve Front were able to eliminate the enemy’s dangerous ledge in the Yelny area. On September 10, 1941, troops of 3 Soviet fronts received orders to go on the defensive, this date is considered the official date for the end of the Smolensk battle.


Defense of Smolensk

Recently, more and more often in many historical works, which for the most part are written off from sources of Western historiography, it is said without any explanation that the Red Army left Smolensk on July 16 on 1941 of the year. At the same time, the departure of the German troops to Smolensk and their entry into the city is by no means identical with its capture. Throughout the whole day of July 16, the Germans, overcoming the resistance of the Soviet troops and suffering substantial losses, broke through to the center of Smolensk.

By order of the city’s commandant, Colonel P. F. Malyshev, 17, July, the sappers undermined the bridges across the Dnieper. At the same time, attempts by units of the German 29 motorized division to force the river were repulsed by Soviet units. In the city of July 17-18, fierce street battles took place, during which some parts of the city passed from hand to hand several times.

At this time, the German command continued to build up forces in the Smolensk region. The 17 Panzer Division of the 2 Panzer Group of Guderian was transferred here from Orsha. At the time of the attack on the Soviet Union, the division was commanded by Lieutenant General Hans-Jürgen von Arnim, but on June 27 during the battle on the outskirts of Shklov he was seriously wounded and was able to return to the command of the division only on July 19. The successors of the general are much less fortunate. The first of them, Major-General Johann Shtrih, was killed in the battle of Orsha on July 7, and the next division commander, Major-General Karl Ritter von Weber, was severely wounded by shrapnel in July in the battle for Smolensk, July 18 died in hospital. With this fact alone, the myth of the Wehrmacht's small losses in the 20 battles of the year is refuted - in just one month of battles in only one tank division, the 1941's commanders were knocked out.


Increasing efforts, the Germans by the morning of July 19 still managed to seize the right bank of Smolensk. From the front, the Soviet units that were in the Smolensk “cauldron” crowded the units of the 5 Army Corps, which led the offensive along the Vitebsk-Smolensk highway. On July 17, this corps captured Liozno, and on July 20 occupied Rudnya after a fierce battle.

However, the Soviet units were not going to leave the city. During July 22-23, fierce battles continued in Smolensk, the Soviet troops carried out successful counterattacks, freeing quarter after quarter. In this case, the Germans stubbornly defended using flamethrowing tanks in battle, which spewed out strips of flame up to 60 meters in length. In the sky over the Soviet units continuously hung German aircraft. Very strong battles were fought over the city cemetery, which the units of the 152 rifle division occupied twice (previously, the soldiers of the 129 rifle division occupied the cemetery three times). The fighting for the city cemetery and any stone building in Smolensk were stubborn and intense, often they rolled into hand-to-hand fighting, which almost always ended with the victory of the Soviet soldiers. The intensity of the fighting in the city was so high that the Germans did not have time to carry the seriously wounded and dead from the battlefield.

At this moment, a fresh German 8 Army Corps came out to the city, which allowed the Nazis to significantly reduce the size of the Smolensk "boiler". In all the 3-s of the Soviet divisions that participated in the defense of the city, by this time the 200-300 soldiers remained in the ranks, the ammunition was running out, and the food had come to an end. At this point, the consolidated group under the command of Rokossovsky managed to repel Yartsevo from the enemy and regain lost control over the crossings across the Dnieper in the area of ​​Ratchino and Solovyov. This fact allowed us to begin the withdrawal of the 16 and 19 units of the Soviet armies from the encirclement.


The last units of the 16 Army left Smolensk only on the night of July 29 of 1941. All of them left the city with the exception of one battalion from the 152 Infantry Division, commanded by the senior political officer Turovsky. This battalion was supposed to cover the withdrawal of the main forces of the Soviet troops from the city and with their vigorous actions imitate the presence in Smolensk of the bulk of the troops. In the future, the remnants of the battalion moved to the conduct of partisan actions.

Battle results

During the Smolensk battle, the troops showed mass heroism and unprecedented stamina. Thousands of soldiers and officers were awarded orders and medals, 14 people became Heroes of the Soviet Union. The population of the city and the region provided invaluable assistance to the Soviet troops. Only on the creation of defensive positions in the Western Front strip worked about 300 thousands of residents of the Smolensk region. In addition, from the number of volunteers in the Smolensk region, 26 fighter battalions and militia brigades were formed.

Also, a guard was revived near Smolensk. At the final stage of the battle in the elimination of Yelninsky ledge, the Soviet guard was born. The first four rifle divisions (100, 127, 153, 161), which particularly distinguished themselves in battles with the Nazi invaders, were given the title of "Guards". This title has become a pride for all the soldiers and officers of the Red Army. In the future, all parts of the army were trying to earn this title.


The Smolensk battle of July-September 1941 was an important stage in the breakdown of the German Blitzkrieg plan against the USSR. With their heroic actions and the price of great sacrifices, the Soviet units stopped the Army Group Center and forced it to go on the defensive in the Moscow direction at the end of July 1941. The Soviet troops managed to forge the main forces of the 3 tank group, which was planned to be used to strike at Leningrad. As early as July 1941, the fascist German command had to use half of its own strategic reserve (10,5 from 24 divisions) to strengthen its army group Center.

It is worth noting that the price paid by the parties in the battle of Smolensk, was quite high. Soviet irretrievable losses amounted to 468 171 people, sanitary - 273 803 people. Significant were the loss of the Germans. By their admission, by the end of August 1941, only tank and motorized divisions had lost half of their equipment and personnel, and total losses amounted to about 500 thousand people. In the Battle of Smolensk, the Red Army fighters managed to gain that experience, without which it was very difficult to fight against a strong and organized enemy.

Information sources:
-http: //www.opoccuu.com/160711.htm
-http: //smolinfo.net/index.php? option = com_content & view = article & id = 1715 & Itemid = 572
-http: //www.biograph-soldat.ru/OPER/ARTICLES/007-smolensk.htm
-http: //ru.wikipedia.org/wiki
Author:
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. George
    George 15 May 2013 08: 21 New
    +4
    Thank you for the article.
  2. krpmlws
    krpmlws 15 May 2013 10: 32 New
    0
    The battle of Smolensk is an example of how events could develop on the border in June 41. Why did the Germans fight for 2 months near Smolensk, and Minsk take it on the 5th day of the war? That the Soviet troops received high-tech miracle weapons, ultra-efficient communications, ultra-reliable tanks, ultra-modern planes, and the personnel had high combat experience? No, the armies were the same as in Belarus and the Baltic states. Therefore, to argue that all of the above factors were the reason for the rapid implementation of the blitzkrieg-delusion. The reason for the delay of the Germans near Smolensk was that the Red Army switched to following the Field Manual of the Red Army is the whole secret. In the western districts, the divisions had too large a front, which violated the norms of the Field Manual.
    1. Rainger
      Rainger 15 May 2013 10: 57 New
      +3
      The battle of Smolensk is a clear failure of Barbarossa in principle arising from the fundamental defect of this operation - the actions of the Wehrmacht were calculated only for border battles ... And Minsk ... the Bialystok ledge was tritely cut off by double coverage ...
      1. Thunderbolt
        Thunderbolt 15 May 2013 13: 27 New
        +3
        Quote: krpmlws
        . Why the Germans butted near Smolensk for 2 months, and Minsk took on the 5th day of the war
        Butted because they could not get around this important knot. The Soviet command “dragged” the Nazis into a protracted battle on the prepared line, fed the reserves, and the formations themselves did everything they could. They knocked down the blitzkrieg pace, knocked out enemy forces, gave them 2 months to organize defense at new frontiers, the creation of reserves, the evacuation of industry to the east. A blessed memory to the heroes of Smolensk. More such articles
        1. krpmlws
          krpmlws 15 May 2013 14: 34 New
          0
          You still did not answer the question essentially why the Germans lost these two months. “Fueled by reserves” —the battle turned out to be protracted, so there was time for maneuver by reserves. The question was why in Belarus and the Baltic states we could not impose a similar scenario on the Germans.
          1. vyatom
            vyatom 17 May 2013 13: 36 New
            0
            Quote: krpmlws
            The question is why in Belarus and the Baltic states we could not impose a similar scenario on the Germans.

            The effect of surprise manifested itself in Belarus and the Baltic states.
            Smolensk is an important transport hub. And for the battle for Smolens already managed to prepare a little.
      2. krpmlws
        krpmlws 15 May 2013 14: 31 New
        +1
        The Germans counted everything and the environment of Minsk and Smolensk, only one did not count, the Russian soldier.
        1. Thunderbolt
          Thunderbolt 15 May 2013 17: 00 New
          0
          Quote: krpmlws
          why did the Germans lose these two months
          The most powerful “Center” group achieved certain positive results. But they didn’t have enough forces and tank groups turned on bare flanks. The “Center” group lost its penetration ability. In places it began to go on the defensive under the influence of the Red Army attacks. That's the whole period until September and They called Smol.Srazh. Actions on the wide front of our troops during these 2 months did not allow us to cover Moscow in the measured time period (according to the Barbaross plan, the date of the capture of Moscow on August 25). The Germans could still attack, but not on all strategic directions at the same time.Here is a movie. Dummies from the German General Staff
          well trained their army, but did not calculate the capabilities of the Red Army.
          Quote: krpmlws
          The question is why in Belarus and the Baltic states we could not impose a similar scenario on the Germans.
          Question of questions. My personal opinion: they took advantage of tactical surprise, attack groups cut our defense. In addition, in Belarus our troops were initially at a disadvantage. It would be better to meet on the old border, but there are already reasons.
  3. omsbon
    omsbon 15 May 2013 10: 42 New
    +6
    "All newcomers to Russia will die near Smolensk"- a great phrase from the movie" Formula of love. "
    You can add only one - ALWAYS die!
  4. bublic82009
    bublic82009 15 May 2013 23: 53 New
    0
    it was not a victory experience yet
  5. Larus
    Larus 16 May 2013 12: 14 New
    0
    What kind of people we had all the same. The Soviet authorities managed to educate the patriots of their country and figured out the fifth column inside, it’s a pity that not all of them and these foes managed to slander good people.

Смоленск – город боевой славы

Пограничное расположение Смоленска не раз заставляло данный город одним из первых принимать на себя удар неприятельских армий, которые рвались в центр России. При этом, как мы знаем из истории, войн на западных рубежах Российского государства было достаточно много. По этой причине история Смоленска насчитывает большое количество славных боевых страниц. Так в 1941 году именно у стен Смоленска были похоронены надежды Гитлера на блицкриг против СССР. Увязнув в Смоленском сражении на 2 месяца войска группы армий «Центр» потеряли время и силы, которых так не хватало немцам в дальнейшем.

Сражение, развернувшееся у стен Смоленска, в самом городе и на удалении от него вошло в историю Великой Отечественной войны, как Смоленское сражение 1941 года. Смоленское сражение – это целый комплекс наступательных и оборонительных операций войск Западного, Центрального, Резервного и Брянского фронтов против немецко-фашистских захватчиков (в основном группы армий «Центр»). Сражение продолжалось с 10 июля по 10 сентября. Сражение шло на огромной территории: 600-650 км. по фронту (от Великих Лук и Идрицы на севере до Лоева и Новгорода-Северского на юге) и 200-250 км. в глубину.

В июле 1941 года немецкое командование поставило перед группой армий «Центр» (от 51 до 62,5 дивизий в разное время, осуществлял командование генерал-фельдмаршал Ф. Бок) задачу по окружению и уничтожению войск Красной Армии, которые оборонялись по рекам Западная Двина и Днепр. Войска группы армий «Центр» должны были овладеть городами Витебском, Оршей, Смоленском тем самым открыв себе путь для дальнейшего наступления на Москву.


Смоленск – город боевой славы

Советское Верховное командование еще с конца июня начало сосредоточение большой массы войск 2-го стратегического эшелона по среднему течению Днепра и Западной Двины с задачей занятия рубежа: Краслава, Полоцкий УР, Витебск, Орша, р. Днепр до Лоева. Войска должны были не допустить прорыва немцев в центральный промышленный район страны и к столице. В глубине, в 210-240 км. восточнее основного рубежа обороны советских войск на фронте от Нелидово до района севернее Брянска, проходило развертывание 24-й и 28-й армий (19 дивизий). Непосредственно в районе Смоленска развертывалась 16-я армия (6 дивизий).

10 июля 1941 года в состав войск Западного фронта (командование которым принял маршал С. К. Тимошенко), не считая частей, которые с боями отступали из западных районов Белоруссии, были включены 13-я, 19-я, 20-я, 21-я, 22-я армии (в общей сложности 37 дивизий). При этом к началу Смоленского сражения на фронт от Себежа до Речицы успели прибыть только 24 дивизии советских войск. В это время на рубеж рек Днепр и Западная Двина успели выйти соединения 2-й и 3-й немецких танковых групп, а на участок от Идрицы до Дриссы успели выйти пехотные дивизии 16-й немецкой армии, входящей в группу армий «Север». 2-я и 9-я немецкие полевые армии группы «Центр» (более 30 дивизий), были задержаны боями на территории Белоруссии и отстали от передовых подвижных соединений на 120-150 км. К моменту начала сражения на направлениях главных ударов немцы успели создать превосходство в личном составе и боевой технике.

Этапы Смоленского сражения

Смоленское сражение 1941 года можно условно разделить на 4 этапа. 1 этап сражения (10 июля – 20 июля). В это время советские войска отражали удары противника в центре и на правом крыле Западного фронта. 3 танковая группа немцев под командованием Гота при поддержке пехоты 16-й полевой армии смогла расчленить 22-ю советскую армию и сломить сопротивление частей 19-й армии в районе Витебска. Немцы овладели Полоцком, Невелем, Велижем (13 июля), Демидовом (13 июля) и Духовщиной. После этого остатки 22-й армии заняли оборону на реке Ловати, удерживая город Великие Луки, а 19-я армия с боями отошла к Смоленску, где вместе с частями 16-й армии вела бои за город. В это же время немецкая 2-я танковая группа под командованием Гудериана частью своих сил завершила окружение советских войск в районе Могилева, а основными силами захватила Оршу, частично Смоленск (16 июля), Ельню (19 июля) и Кричев. Части 16 и 20 армий попали в окружение, часть сил 13-й армии продолжала удерживать Могилев, а часть отошла за реку Сож. Все это время 21-я армия вела наступление, освободила города Жлобин и Рогачев и, наступая на Бобруйск и Выхов, сковала основные силы 2-й немецкой полевой армии.

Смоленск – город боевой славы

2-й этап сражения (21 июля – 7 августа). Войска Западного фронта получили подкрепления и перешли к наступательным действиям в районе Белый, Ярцево, Рославль общим направлением на Смоленск, а на юге в полосе действия 21-й армии – кавалерийской группой (3 кавалерийских дивизии) начали наступать во фланг и тыл основным силам немецкой группы армий «Центр». В это время в сражение вступили задержавшиеся силы 9 и 2 немецких полевых армий. 24 июля части 21-й и 13-й армий были объединены в Центральный фронт (командующий фронтом генерал-полковник Ф. И. Кузнецов). В ходе тяжелых и упорных боев советские войска сорвали наступление немецких танковых групп, помогли частям 16-й и 20-й армии выйти с боями из окружения за Днепр, а 30 июля вынудили группу армий «Центр» на всем фронте перейти к обороне. В это же время Верховное командование создало новый Резервный фронт, командующим которого был назначен генерал армии Г. К. Жуков.

3-й этап (8 августа – 21 августа). Основные боевые действия переместились южнее города в полосу сначала Центрального, а позднее Брянского фронта, который был создан 16 августа, командующим фронтом был назначен генерал-лейтенант А. И. Еременко. Здесь, начиная с 8 августа, советские войска отражали удары 2-й немецкой армии и 2-й танковой группы, которые вместо наступления на столицу СССР вынуждены были противостоять угрозе советских частей с юга. К 21 августа немцам удалось с боями продвинуться на 120-140 км., достигнув рубежа Гомель, Стародуб и вклиниться между соединениями Брянского и Центрального фронтов. Из-за угрозы возможного окружения по решению Ставки 19 августа войска Центрального фронта, а также действовавшие южнее их войска Юго-Западного фронта отошли за реку Днепр. В это же время армии Центрального фронта были переданы в состав Брянского фронта. А войска Западного фронта, 24-я и 43-я армии Резервного фронта 17 августа начали наносить контрудары в районах Ельни и Ярцево, нанося врагу большие потери.

4-й этап сражения (22 августа – 10 сентября). В это время войска Брянского фронта продолжали бои со 2-й немецкой армии и 2-й танковой группой. При этом по 2-й танковой группе был проведен массированный авиаудар с привлечением имеющейся дальней бомбардировочной авиации. Всего в авианалетах участвовало 460 советских самолетов, но сорвать наступление 2-й танковой группы на юге не удалось. На правом крыле Западного фронта немцы нанесли мощный танковый удар в полосе обороны 22-й армии и 29 августа захватили город Торопец. При этом 29-я и 22-я армии отошли за реку Западная Двина. 1 сентября советские 16-я, 19-я, 20-я и 30-я армии перешли в наступление, но особых успехов не достигли. В это же время 24-я и 43-я армии Резервного фронта смогли ликвидировать опасный выступ противника в районе Ельни. 10 сентября 1941 года войска 3-х советских фронтов получили приказ перейти к обороне, эта дата считается официальной датой завершения Смоленского сражения.

Смоленск – город боевой славы

Оборона Смоленска

В последнее время все чаще во многих исторических трудах, которые в большинстве своем списаны с источников западной историографии, без каких-либо пояснений говорится о том, что Красная Армия оставила Смоленск 16 июля 1941 года. В то же время выход немецких войск к Смоленску и их вхождение в город отнюдь не тождественно его взятию. В течение всего дня 16 июля немцы, преодолевая сопротивление советских войск и неся существенные потери, с боями прорывались к центру Смоленска.

По приказу коменданта города полковника П. Ф. Малышева 17 июля саперы подорвали мосты через Днепр. В то же время попытки подразделений из числа немецкой 29-й моторизованной дивизии форсировать реку были отбиты советскими частями. В самом городе 17-18 июля шли ожесточенные уличные бои, в ходе которых некоторые районы города по нескольку раз переходили из рук в руки.

В это время немецкое командование продолжало наращивать силы в районе Смоленска. Сюда из-под Орши была переброшена 17-я танковая дивизия 2-й танковой группы Гудериана. На момент нападения на Советский Союз дивизией командовал генерал-лейтенант Ханс-Юрген фон Арним, однако 27 июня во время боя на окраине Шклова он был тяжело ранен и смог вернутся к командованию дивизией только 19 июля. Преемникам генерала повезло куда меньше. Первый из них генерал-майор Иоганн Штрих был убит в бою под Оршой 7 июля, а следующий командир дивизии генерал-майор Карл риттер фон Вебер 18 июля был тяжело ранен шрапнелью в бою за южную часть Смоленска, 20 июля он скончался в госпитале. Одним этим фактом опровергается миф о небольших потерях Вермахта в боях 1941 года – всего за месяц боев лишь в одной танковой дивизии выбили из строя 3-х командиров.

Смоленск – город боевой славы

Наращивая усилия, немцам к утру 19 июля все же удалось захватить правобережную часть Смоленска. С фронта советские части, находившиеся в Смоленском «котле», теснили подразделения 5-го армейского корпуса, который вел наступление вдоль шоссе Витебск—Смоленск. 17 июля данный корпус захватил Лиозно, а 20 июля после ожесточенного сражения занял Рудню.

Однако советские части не собирались оставлять город. В течение 22-23 июля в Смоленске продолжались жестокие бои, советские войска проводили успешные контратаки, освобождая квартал за кварталом. При этом немцы упорно оборонялись, используя в бою огнеметные танки, которые извергали полосы пламени длиной до 60 метров. В небе над советскими частями непрерывно висела немецкая авиация. Очень сильные бои развернулись за городское кладбище, которое части 152-й стрелковой дивизии занимали дважды (ранее кладбище трижды занимали солдаты 129-й стрелковой дивизии). Бои за городское кладбище и любое каменное здание в Смоленске носили упорный и напряженный характер, часто они скатывались в рукопашный бой, который практически всегда заканчивался победой советских воинов. Накал боев в городе был так высок, что немцы не успевали уносить с поля боя тяжелораненых и убитых.

В этот момент к городу вышел свежий немецкий 8-й армейский корпус, что позволило гитлеровцам существенно сократить размеры Смоленского «котла». Во всех 3-х советских дивизиях, которые участвовали в обороне города, к этому моменту в строю оставалось по 200-300 солдат, боеприпасы были на исходе, а продовольствие и вовсе подошло к концу. В этот момент сводной группе под командованием Рокоссовского удалось отбить у противника Ярцево и восстановить утраченный контроль над переправами через Днепр в районе Ратчино и Соловьев. Этот факт позволил начать вывод соединений 16-й и 19-й советских армий из окружения.

Смоленск – город боевой славы

Последние части 16-й армии покинули Смоленск лишь в ночь на 29 июля 1941 года. Все они вышли из города за исключением одного батальона из состава 152-й стрелковой дивизии, которым командовал старший политрук Туровский. Данный батальон должен был прикрыть отход основных сил советских войск из города и своими активными действиями имитировать присутствие в Смоленске основной массы войск. В дальнейшем остатки данного батальона перешли к ведению партизанских действий.

Итоги сражения

Во время Смоленского сражения войска проявили массовый героизм и небывалую стойкость. Тысячи бойцов и офицеров были награждены орденами и медалями, 14 человек стали Героями Советского Союза. Неоценимую помощь советским войскам оказало и население города и области. Только над созданием оборонительных позиций в полосе Западного фронта трудилось порядка 300 тысяч жителей Смоленской области. К тому же из числа добровольцев на Смоленщине было сформировано 26 истребительных батальонов и бригад ополченцев.

Также под Смоленском возродилась гвардия. На завершительном этапе сражения при ликвидации Ельнинского выступа родилась советская гвардия. Первым четырем стрелковым дивизиям (100-й, 127-й, 153-й, 161-й), которые особо отличились в боях с гитлеровскими захватчиками, было присвоено звание «гвардейских». Данное звание стало гордостью для всех солдат и офицеров Красной Армии. В дальнейшем все части действующей армии старались заслужить это звание.

Смоленск – город боевой славы

Смоленское сражение июля-сентября 1941 года стало важным этапом срыва немецкого плана блицкрига против СССР. Своими героическими действиями и ценой больших жертв советские части остановили группу армий «Центр» и заставили ее в конце июля 1941 года перейти к обороне на московском направлении. Советским войскам удалось сковать на себя основные силы 3-й танковой группы, которую планировалось использовать для удара на Ленинград. Уже в июле 1941 года немецко-фашистскому командованию для усиления своей группы армий «Центр» пришлось использовать половину собственного стратегического резерва (10,5 из 24 дивизий).

Стоит отметить, что цена, которую заплатили стороны в Смоленском сражении, была достаточно велика. Советские безвозвратные потери составили 468 171 человек, санитарные – 273 803 человека. Существенными были и потери немцев. По их признанию, к концу августа 1941 года только танковые и моторизованные дивизии лишились половины материальной части и личного состава, а общие потери составили порядка 500 тысяч человек. В Смоленском сражении бойцы Красной Армии сумели приобрести тот опыт, без которого было очень трудно воевать против сильного и организованного противника.

Источники информации:
-http://www.opoccuu.com/160711.htm
-http://smolinfo.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1715&Itemid=572
-http://www.biograph-soldat.ru/OPER/ARTICLES/007-smolensk.htm
-http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. ЖОРЖ 15 мая 2013 08:21
    Благодарствую за статью.
  2. krpmlws 15 мая 2013 10:32
    Смоленское сражение-пример того,как могли развиваться события на границе в июне 41г.Почему под Смоленском немцы бодались 2 месяца,а Минск взяли на 5-й день войны?Что советские войска получили высокотехнологичное чудо-оружие,сверхэффективную связь,сверхнадежные танки,сверхсовременные самолеты,а личный состав обладал высоким боевым опытом?Нет,армии были такими же что и в Белоруссии и Прибалтике.Поэтому утверждать,что все вышеперечисленные факторы явились причиной стремительного осуществления блицкрига-заблуждение.Причина задержки немцев под Смоленском в том,что РККА перешла на следование Полевому уставу РККА-вот и весь секрет.В западных округах дивизии имели слишком большой фронт,что нарушало нормы Полевого устава.
    1. Rainger 15 мая 2013 10:57
      Смоленское сражение это явный провал Барбароссы в принципе вытекающей из коренного дефекта этой операции - действия Вермахта были просчитаны только для приграничных сражений... А Минск... Белостокский выступ был банально срезан двойным охватом...
      Rainger
      1. Громобой 15 мая 2013 13:27
        Цитата: krpmlws
        .Почему под Смоленском немцы бодались 2 месяца,а Минск взяли на 5-й день войны
        Бодались потому-что не могли обойти этот важный узел.Советское командование "втянуло" гитлеровцев в затяжное сражение на подготовленном рубеже,подпитывало резервами,и сами соединения сделали всё,что могли.Сбили темп блицкрига,выбили боеспособные вражеские силы,подарили 2 месяца для организации обороны на новых рубежах,создания резервов,эвакуации промышленности на восток.Светлая память героям Смоленска.Побольше таких статей
        1. krpmlws 15 мая 2013 14:34
          Вы так и не ответили на вопрос по существу,почему немцы потеряли эти два месяца."Подпитывало резервами"-сражение оказалось затяжным,поэтому было время для маневра резервами.Вопрос в том почему в Белорусии и Прибалтике мы не смогли навязать немцам аналогичный сценарий.
          1. vyatom 17 мая 2013 13:36
            Цитата: krpmlws
            Вопрос в том почему в Белорусии и Прибалтике мы не смогли навязать немцам аналогичный сценарий.

            Эффект неожиданности проявился в Белоруссии и Прибалтике
            Смоленск - важный транспортный узел. И к сражению за Смоленс уже успели немного подготовиться.
            vyatom
      2. krpmlws 15 мая 2013 14:31
        Все было у немцев просчитано и окружение Минска и Смоленска,только одного не просчитали-русского солдата.
        1. Громобой 15 мая 2013 17:00
          Цитата: krpmlws
          почему немцы потеряли эти два месяца
          Самая сильная группировка "Центр" добилась определённых положительных результатов.Но сил на всё не хватило и танковые группы они завернули на оголённые фланги.Группа "Центр" потеряла пробивную способность.Местами начала переходить к обороне под воздействием атак РККА.Вот весь период до сентября и называют Смол.сраж.Действия на широком фронте наших войск в течение этих 2-ух месяцев и не позволили в отмеренный временной промежуток(по плану "Барбаросса"дата взятия Москвы 25 августа)охватить Москву.Немцы ещё могли наступать,но не на всех стратегических направлениях одновременно.Вот кино есть.Олухи из немецкого Генштаба
          хорошо выдресировали свою армию,но не просчитали возможности РККА.
          Цитата: krpmlws
          Вопрос в том почему в Белорусии и Прибалтике мы не смогли навязать немцам аналогичный сценарий.
          Вопрос вопросов.Лично моё мнение:воспользовались тактической внезапностью,ударными группами разрезали нашу оборону.К тому же в Белоруссии наши войска изначально находились в невыгодном положении.Лучше было бы встретить на старой границе,но тут уже свои причины.
  3. omsbon 15 мая 2013 10:42
    "Все пришельцы в Россию будут гибнуть под Смоленском" - отличная фраза из к/ф "Формула любви."
    Добавить можно только одно - ВСЕГДА будут гибнуть!
  4. bublic82009 15 мая 2013 23:53
    это еще был не опыт побед
    bublic82009
  5. Larus 16 мая 2013 12:14
    Какие у нас всё таки люди были.Успела Советская Власть воспитать патриотов своей страны и разобралась с пятой колонной внутри,жаль что не со всеми и эти вражины успели хороших людей оклеветать.
    Larus

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня