Military Review

In the US, ships of the coastal zone LCS have become the object of criticism

23

In the United States, criticism of the coastal zone warship development program LCS (Littoral Combat Ship) is intensifying. The relevant report on the LCS program was prepared by the Government Accountability Office GAO (Government Accountability Office).


Despite the implementation of the LCS program in the interests of the Navy, in which two corporations with different ship concepts (LCS-1 Freedom and Independance LCS-2) participate, unresolved problems continue to accumulate. The US Navy is taking measures to eliminate them on the basis of the results obtained from the operation of the lead ships of the two series under construction.

To date, test programs for LCS type ships remain unfinished. However, the Navy is already taking steps to eliminate the identified problems and to ensure a higher unification of the two types of ships and some adjustment of their tactical and technical elements.

Ships under construction should be equipped with special modules for solving various tasks. These modules should be quickly installed in the berths of ships and are oriented to the performance of anti-mine or anti-ship operations. However, at present, the deployment of these modules is being carried out in stages and it is unlikely that the Navy will finally formulate final requirements for them before their deployment in 2017 and 2019, respectively.

So far there are big uncertainties about the main tasks performed by the LCS. Nevertheless, the procurement plans for the LCS of the two concepts are being actively implemented and more than half of the number of ships planned for construction and purchase has been contracted to date.

The LCS ship consists of two main components. Among them, the ship itself (seaframe), as well as its target module (mission package), which provides combat use of the ship. The LCS ship can have three configurations due to the replacement of target modules: for anti-ship, anti-mine and anti-submarine operations.

The Navy plans to acquire the 52 ship of two options being built at US shipyards, as well as an 64 target module. The total cost of the LCS program is about 40 billion dollars in 2010 prices.

Based on an analysis of the LCS implementation program, financial management

GAO recommends that the US Department of Defense limit funding for the construction of the remaining non-contracted ships until the Navy completes research on their design and combat capabilities.

The Pentagon’s leadership is extremely disappointed with the GAO’s findings, since a slowdown in the rate of purchases of LCS ships may lead to an increase in their cost as well as the cost of target modules necessary to equip already built ships.
Originator:
http://vpk-news.ru/
23 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. NOMADE
    NOMADE 29 July 2013 10: 54
    +8
    Normally so - 52 ships! I hope the story with the quantity will be repeated by analogy with the F-22 .. When one quantity was planned, but the cost grew like a snowball and as a result the purchase plan decreased significantly. wink
    1. AVV
      AVV 29 July 2013 11: 05
      0
      So, the quantity does not always affect the quality and the F-35 confirms that !!!
    2. Dmitry 2246
      Dmitry 2246 29 July 2013 11: 50
      0
      The scheme is simple: a good amount - increase the price and you will have financial happiness.
      1. Ruslan_F38
        Ruslan_F38 29 July 2013 13: 47
        0
        The good news is, it will be even better if they close this program at all.
        52 high-speed ships, it was robust, they have about 60 knots in my speed.
        1. Gluxar_
          Gluxar_ 29 July 2013 23: 37
          -1
          Quote: Ruslan_F38
          The good news is, it will be even better if they close this program at all. 52 high-speed ships, it’s good, they have about 60 knots in my opinion.

          And what is good for us? Let them build at least 500 coastal ships. This is a class of corvettes; they are not involved in missile defense. A maximum of pirates can be driven away. They have a maximum speed of 45 knots.
  2. Edward72
    Edward72 29 July 2013 11: 16
    -5
    This is normal with regard to modularity. Once - a guard, once - an aircraft carrier.
    1. APASUS
      APASUS 29 July 2013 13: 58
      +2
      Quote: Edward72
      This is normal with regard to modularity. Once - a guard, once - an aircraft carrier.

      Normally, you have suffered so.
    2. Gluxar_
      Gluxar_ 29 July 2013 23: 39
      0
      Quote: Edward72
      This is normal with regard to modularity. Once - a guard, once - an aircraft carrier.

      In this case, modularity is a little more modest. The choice between a torpedo tube or an artillery mount, but not as you described. On Kerch, in my opinion, even 2003 they used the "modularity" of systems.
  3. NOMADE
    NOMADE 29 July 2013 11: 19
    +1
    Quote: Edward72
    This is normal with regard to modularity. Once - a guard, once - an aircraft carrier.

    This is more of a theory and a marketing move to justify the increased costs of building modular military equipment and additional modules. In fact, modularity has so far been little applied.
    Although the idea is good.
    1. Edward72
      Edward72 29 July 2013 11: 29
      0
      Regarding modularity, the truth is not bad, and it must be applied at the design stage, and not when the ships are already under construction
      1. Gluxar_
        Gluxar_ 29 July 2013 23: 55
        0
        Quote: Edward72
        Regarding modularity, the truth is not bad, and it must be applied at the design stage, and not when the ships are already under construction

        The idea is interesting, but how much is it in demand? How much do the capabilities of the ship change depending on the installed modules? Can an anti-submarine ship be turned into an anti-ship one? That is, to replace torpedo and bomb devices with gun mounts and containers for missiles? And how to replace detection systems and ammunition storage facilities. Or will everything have to be unified? Then this is a significant limitation for all subcontractors and anti-ship missiles and torpedoes should be of similar size. But what to do with otalny systems. If this is an anti-submarine ship, then all its sensors must be tuned to search for submarines, powerful hydroacoustic stations are not the same as radar. In general, there are always a lot of questions about unification and modularity. Effectively changing the composition of weapons depending on the mission and goals, but changing the "career guidance" of the ship is much more difficult, replacing only the weapons is not enough.
        1. Mhpv
          Mhpv 30 July 2013 00: 13
          0
          Quote: Gluxar_
          Effectively changing the composition of weapons depending on the mission and goals, but changing the "career guidance" of the ship is much more difficult, replacing only the weapons is not enough.

          How many trained crews must be kept for each module, changed the module, change the crew so what?
          1. Gluxar_
            Gluxar_ 30 July 2013 00: 34
            0
            Quote: mhpv
            How many trained crews must be kept for each module, changed the module, change the crew so what?

            That's it. Moreover, how will the backup crew support their training? it is much more efficient and much cheaper to rotate ships depending on the needs of a particular mission. The idea of ​​fully modular ships is from the category of computer games. In reality, technology has not yet reached this level and will not catch up in the coming years. The US is building another PR company about its technical dominance in the world. I think in which case the Iranians will spread everything to them as expected.
    2. il grand casino
      il grand casino 29 July 2013 11: 30
      +3
      The idea is good, the design is interesting, "modularity" is a fashionable word. From this it follows - taxpayers will be happy
      1. aviator_IAS
        aviator_IAS 29 July 2013 12: 29
        -1
        Quote: il grand casino
        The idea is good, the design is interesting, "modularity" is a fashionable word. From this it follows - taxpayers will be happy


        Rather, they THINK that they will be happy. And it will be as usual smile
    3. the polar
      the polar 29 July 2013 11: 45
      0
      Quote: NOMADE
      Quote: Edward72
      This is normal with regard to modularity. Once - a guard, once - an aircraft carrier.

      This is more of a theory and a marketing move to justify the increased costs of building modular military equipment and additional modules. In fact, modularity has so far been little applied.
      Although the idea is good.

      Yeah, a brilliant idea, on a cosmic scale. He entered the dock and changed the upper deck with all the superstructures in an hour, and from anti-mine he became anti-submarine. Something threw extra ballast into the hold and became a submarine. Ingenious!
    4. Gluxar_
      Gluxar_ 29 July 2013 23: 42
      0
      Quote: NOMADE
      This is more of a theory and a marketing move to justify the increased costs of building modular military equipment and additional modules. In fact, modularity has so far been little applied. Although the idea is good.

      Modularity is a tribute to modern fashion and nothing more. There is no economic effect from such a concept. In any case, we need redundant modules, we need personnel for their installation, warehouses for storage, monitoring and security systems and much more. And benefit only in smaller requests for the power plant. The universality of ship classes is much more priority.
  4. Mhpv
    Mhpv 29 July 2013 11: 40
    0
    Here is a good article about modular construction and littoral ships:
    http://nvo.ng.ru/armament/2013-02-15/1_modul.html
    1. Sea snake
      Sea snake 29 July 2013 11: 51
      +1
      Here is another interesting article about the ships of the coastal zone.

      http://nnm.ru/blogs/smprofi/budushiy_korol_pribrezhnoy_zony/

      A lot of photos and videos.
  5. Edward72
    Edward72 29 July 2013 11: 42
    0
    Quote: il grand casino
    The idea is good, the design is interesting, "modularity" is a fashionable word. From this it follows - taxpayers will be happy

    Well, then the payers are mattress
  6. uhu189
    uhu189 29 July 2013 12: 24
    +1
    Only strange somehow, it follows from the article that the ships were ordered 52, and the modules for them were only 64. Those. there will be only 8 extra modules, or only 8 ships from 52 will be able to take advantage of the main advantage of their design. And the rest of them will swim with what they put on them. And what is the point then of such a project, if you use its potential only by a small percentage?
    1. Gluxar_
      Gluxar_ 30 July 2013 00: 30
      +1
      Quote: uhu189
      Only strange somehow, it follows from the article that the ships were ordered 52, and the modules for them were only 64. Those. there will be only 8 extra modules, or only 8 ships from 52 will be able to take advantage of the main advantage of their design. And the rest of them will swim with what they put on them. And what is the point then of such a project, if you use its potential only by a small percentage?

      This proyet complete failure, as well as f-22 and f-35. The United States began to play Hollywood and began to believe their own propaganda. There should have been more modules. However, the cost of ships has grown 3 times, and the cost of one module is already approaching the initial cost of the ship. As a result, the USA can get 55 ships with the possibility of replacing models with 8 of them, for the price of building 150 specialized ships of the same class with much greater capabilities on each.
  7. Russ69
    Russ69 29 July 2013 12: 38
    0
    Honestly, all this modularity and appearance can look and sound beautiful, but in practice it is still unknown what will turn out.
    Although the Americans have an unlimited printing press, why not experiment.
  8. Mhpv
    Mhpv 29 July 2013 14: 32
    +3
    It seems to me that this monster is best suited to perform tasks in the coastal zone:

    you just need to bring it to mind, taking into account all modern technologies and let the Americans build their catamarans.
    1. Gluxar_
      Gluxar_ 30 July 2013 00: 31
      0
      Quote: mhpv
      It seems to me that this monster is best suited to perform tasks in the coastal zone:

      Why did you draw such a conclusion? In general, it was designed to destroy the AUG. For the coastal zone, corvettes are ideally suited when interacting with aviation.

В США корабли прибрежной зоны LCS стали объектом критики

В США корабли прибрежной зоны LCS стали объектом критики

В США усиливается критика программы создания боевых кораблей прибрежной зоны типа LCS (Littoral Combat Ship). Соответствующий отчет о программе LCS подготовлен правительственным контрольно-финансовым управлением GAO (Government Accountability Office).

Несмотря на реализацию программы LCS в интересах ВМС, в которой участвуют две корпорации с различными концепциями кораблей (LCS-1 «Фридом» и LCS-2 «Индепенденс»), продолжают накапливаться нерешенные проблемы. ВМС США предпринимают меры для их устранения на основе полученных результатов от эксплуатации головных кораблей двух строящихся серий.

До настоящего времени программы испытаний головных кораблей типа LCS остаются незавершенными. Однако уже сейчас ВМС предпринимают шаги к устранению выявленных проблем и обеспечению более высокой унификации кораблей двух типов и некоторой корректировке их тактико-технических элементов.


Строящиеся корабли должны оснащаться специальными модулями для решения различных задач. Эти модули должны оперативно устанавливаться в местах стоянки кораблей и ориентированы на выполнение противоминных или противокорабельных операций. Однако в настоящее время развертывание этих модулей ведется поэтапно и вряд ли ВМС окончательно сформулируют окончательные требования к ним до момента их развертывания в 2017 и 2019 гг., соответственно.

Пока есть большие неопределенности относительно главных задач, выполняемых LCS. Тем не менее, планы закупок LCS двух концепций активно реализуются и к настоящему времени законтрактовано более половины планируемого к постройке и закупке количества кораблей.

Корабль LCS состоит из двух основных компонентов. В их числе сам корабль (seaframe), а также его целевой модуль (mission package), который и обеспечивает боевое применение корабля. Корабль LCS может иметь три конфигурации за счет замены целевых модулей: для ведения противокорабельных, противоминных и противолодочных операций.

ВМС планируют приобрести 52 корабля двух вариантов, строящихся на американских судостроительных заводах, а также 64 целевых модуля. Суммарная стоимость программы LCS составляет около 40 млрд дол в ценах 2010 г.

На основе анализа программы реализации LCS контрольно-финансовое управление

GAO рекомендует министерству обороны США ограничить финансирование строительства оставшихся незаконтрактованных кораблей до тех пор, пока ВМС не завершат исследования их конструкции и боевых возможностей.

Руководство Пентагона крайне разочаровано такими выводами GAO, поскольку замедление темпов закупок кораблей LCS может привести к возрастанию их стоимости, а также стоимости целевых модулей, необходимых для оснащения уже построенных кораблей.
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 23
  1. N.O.M.A.D.E. 29 июля 2013 10:54
    Нормально так - 52 корабля! Надеюсь, история с количеством повторится по аналогии с F-22.. Когда планировали одно количество, но стоимость росла как снежный ком и в итоге план закупки снизился в разы.. wink
    1. AVV 29 июля 2013 11:05
      Вот так ,что количество не всегда влияет на качество и F-35 тому подтверждение!!!
      AVV
    2. Дмитрий 2246 29 июля 2013 11:50
      Схема проста: хороший объём - увеличь цену и будет тебе финансовое счастье.
      1. Ruslan_F38 29 июля 2013 13:47
        Хорошая новость,а будет ещё лучше если вообще закроют эту программу.
        52 высокоскоростных корабля,нехило так, там скорость у них по моему около 60 узлов.
        Ruslan_F38
        1. Gluxar_ 29 июля 2013 23:37
          Цитата: Ruslan_F38
          Хорошая новость,а будет ещё лучше если вообще закроют эту программу.52 высокоскоростных корабля,нехило так, там скорость у них по моему около 60 узлов.

          А что для нас в этом хорошего ? Прибрежных кораблей пусть строят хоть по 500 штук. Это класс корветов, в ПРО не участвуют. Максимум пиратов могут отгонят. Скорость у них максимум 45 узлов.
          Gluxar_
  2. Эдуард72 29 июля 2013 11:16
    Нормально так по поводу модульности.Раз - сторожевик,раз - авианосец.
    1. APASUS 29 июля 2013 13:58
      Цитата: Эдуард72
      Нормально так по поводу модульности.Раз - сторожевик,раз - авианосец.

      Нормально так вас понесло.
    2. Gluxar_ 29 июля 2013 23:39
      Цитата: Эдуард72
      Нормально так по поводу модульности.Раз - сторожевик,раз - авианосец.

      В данном случае модульность немного поскромнее. Выбор между торпедным аппаратом или артустановкой ,но никак как вы описали. На Керчи по моему еще 2003 применяли "модульность" систем.
      Gluxar_
  3. N.O.M.A.D.E. 29 июля 2013 11:19
    Цитата: Эдуард72
    Нормально так по поводу модульности.Раз - сторожевик,раз - авианосец.

    Это, больше теория и маркетинговый ход, что бы оправдать увеличенные затраты на строительство модульной боевой техники и дополнительных модулей. По факту, модульность, пока мало применяется.
    Хотя идея, хорошая.
    1. Эдуард72 29 июля 2013 11:29
      По поводу модульности и правда идея не плоха,и применять её надо на стадии проектирования,а не когда корабли уже строятся
      1. Gluxar_ 29 июля 2013 23:55
        Цитата: Эдуард72
        По поводу модульности и правда идея не плоха,и применять её надо на стадии проектирования,а не когда корабли уже строятся

        Идея то интересная ,но насколько она востребована ? Насколько сильно изменяются возможности корабля в зависимости от установленных модулей ? Противолодочный корабль можно превратить в противокорабельный ? То есть заменить торпедные и бомбовые аппараты на артустановку и контейнеры для ракет ? А как заменить системы обнаружения, а помещения для хранения боеприпасов. Или все придется унифицировать ? Тогда это существенные органичения для всех смежников и ПКР и торпеда должны быть схожих размеров. Но как поступить с отсальными системами. Если это противолодочный корабль, то все его сенсоры должны быть настроены на поиск субмарин, мощные гидроаккустические станции не тоже что и РЛС. В общем всегда много вопросов по поводу унификации и модульности. Эффективно менять состав вооружения в зависимости от миссии и целей ,но менять "профориентацию" корабля гораздо сложнее ,заменой только вооружения здесь не обойтись.
        Gluxar_
        1. МЧПВ 30 июля 2013 00:13
          Цитата: Gluxar_
          Эффективно менять состав вооружения в зависимости от миссии и целей ,но менять "профориентацию" корабля гораздо сложнее ,заменой только вооружения здесь не обойтись.

          Сколько надо обученных экипажей держать на всякий модуль,сменил модуль- поменяй экипаж так что ли?
          1. Gluxar_ 30 июля 2013 00:34
            Цитата: МЧПВ
            Сколько надо обученных экипажей держать на всякий модуль,сменил модуль- поменяй экипаж так что ли?

            Вот именно. Более того каким образом резервный экипаж будет поддерживать свою выучку ? годаздо эффективней и в разы дешевле проводить ротацию кораблей в зависимости от потребностей конкретной миссии. Идея полностью модульных кораблей это из разряда компьютерных игр. В реальности технологии еще не дошли до подобного уровня и в ближайшие годы не подтянутся. США строят очередную ПР компанию о своем техническом доминировании в мире. Я думаю в случае чего Иранцы им все разъеснят как положено.
            Gluxar_
    2. il grand casino 29 июля 2013 11:30
      Идея хорошая, дизайн интересны, "модульность" - слово модное. Из этого следует - налогоплательщики будут довольны
      1. aviator_ИАС 29 июля 2013 12:29
        Цитата: il grand casino
        Идея хорошая, дизайн интересны, "модульность" - слово модное. Из этого следует - налогоплательщики будут довольны


        Скорее они ДУМАЮТ что будут довольны. А будет как обычно smile
    3. поляр 29 июля 2013 11:45
      Цитата: N.O.M.A.D.E.
      Цитата: Эдуард72
      Нормально так по поводу модульности.Раз - сторожевик,раз - авианосец.

      Это, больше теория и маркетинговый ход, что бы оправдать увеличенные затраты на строительство модульной боевой техники и дополнительных модулей. По факту, модульность, пока мало применяется.
      Хотя идея, хорошая.

      Ага, блестящая идея, космического масштаба. Вошел в док сменил за час верхнюю палубу со всеми надстройками, и из противоминного стал противолодочным. Не то бросил лишний балласт в трюм и стал подводной лодкой. Гениально!
    4. Gluxar_ 29 июля 2013 23:42
      Цитата: N.O.M.A.D.E.
      Это, больше теория и маркетинговый ход, что бы оправдать увеличенные затраты на строительство модульной боевой техники и дополнительных модулей. По факту, модульность, пока мало применяется. Хотя идея, хорошая.

      Модульность это дань современной моде и не более того. Экономического эффекта от такой концепции нет. В любом случае нужны резервные модули ,нужен персонал для их монтажа, склады для хранения, системы контроля и безопасности и много всего другого. А выгодя только в меньших запросах к силовой установке. Универсальность классов кораблей куда более приоритетна.
      Gluxar_
  4. МЧПВ 29 июля 2013 11:40
    Вот не плохая статья про модульное строительство и литоральные корабли:
    http://nvo.ng.ru/armament/2013-02-15/1_modul.html
    1. Sea Snake 29 июля 2013 11:51
      Вот ещё интереснейшая статья про корабли прибрежной зоны.

      http://nnm.ru/blogs/smprofi/budushiy_korol_pribrezhnoy_zony/

      Очень много фото и видео.
  5. Эдуард72 29 июля 2013 11:42
    Цитата: il grand casino
    Идея хорошая, дизайн интересны, "модульность" - слово модное. Из этого следует - налогоплательщики будут довольны

    Ну так плательщики то матрасные
  6. uhu189 29 июля 2013 12:24
    Только странно как-то, из статьи следует, что кораблей заказали 52, а модулей к ним всего 64. Т.е. лишних модулей будет всего 8, или только 8 кораблей из 52 смогут воспользоваться основным достоинством их конструкции. А остальные что - будут плавать с тем, что на них поставили. А в чем смысл тогда подобного проекта, если использовать его потенциал лишь на небольшой процент?
    1. Gluxar_ 30 июля 2013 00:30
      Цитата: uhu189
      Только странно как-то, из статьи следует, что кораблей заказали 52, а модулей к ним всего 64. Т.е. лишних модулей будет всего 8, или только 8 кораблей из 52 смогут воспользоваться основным достоинством их конструкции. А остальные что - будут плавать с тем, что на них поставили. А в чем смысл тогда подобного проекта, если использовать его потенциал лишь на небольшой процент?

      Этот проет полный провал, так же как ф-22 и ф-35. США заигрались в голивуд и сами стали верить своей пропаганде. Модулей должно было быть больше. Однако стоимость кораблей выросла в 3 раза, а стоимость одного модуля уже приближается к первоначальной стоимости корабля. В итоге США могут получить 55 кораблей с возможностью замены моделей на 8 из них ,за цену постройки 150 специализированных кораблей такого же класса с куда большими возможностями на каждом.
      Gluxar_
  7. русс69 29 июля 2013 12:38
    Честно говоря, вся эта модульность и внешний вид может красиво смотрится и звучит , но вот на практике еще неизвестно , что получится.
    Хотя американцам имея неограниченный печатный станок, чё не по экспериментировать.
  8. МЧПВ 29 июля 2013 14:32
    Мне кажется для выполнения задач в прибрежной зоне лучше всего подходит вот этот монстр:

    просто надо его довести до ума с учетом всех современных технологий и пусть америкосы строят свои катамараны.
    1. Gluxar_ 30 июля 2013 00:31
      Цитата: МЧПВ
      Мне кажется для выполнения задач в прибрежной зоне лучше всего подходит вот этот монстр:

      С чего это вы сделали такой вывод ? Вообще он проектировался для уничтожения АУГ. Для прибрежной зоны идельно подходя корветы при взаимодейстии с авиацией.
      Gluxar_

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня