Military Review

New Chinese aircraft carrier will be equipped with a catapult

5
Chinese expert Du Wenlong said that the new Chinese aircraft carrier should be equipped with a catapult for taking off aircraft, but it is necessary to decide which one - steam or electromagnetic, mil.news.sina.com.cn. informs today.


When aviation entered the jet era, steam catapults appeared on large aircraft carriers since the 1950s, which for many decades have become an integral part of the construction of ships of this class. On American conventional and nuclear aircraft carriers appeared steam ejection systems C7, C13 and others. Since the late 1980s in the USA, Westinghouse began developing a fundamentally new electromagnetic catapult for the new generation of aircraft carriers Ford (EMALS - Electromagnetic Aircraft Launch System (EMP) - approx. “VP”).

What is better - a steam or electromagnetic catapult ?, wonders military expert Zhen Wenbao, and concludes in favor of the latter. “Compared to an electromagnetic catapult, steam has many flaws,” he said in an interview with Xinhua. First of all, low efficiency in converting steam energy into translational motion (total 5%), while electromagnetic catapult has energy efficiency 60%, 50% less number of staff, 20% less life cycle cost, 20% higher availability level.

More importantly, the electromagnetic catapult has the flexibility of application, that is, it is possible to adjust the power that is needed to launch aircraft of different weight class. The expert drew attention to the fact that an electromagnetic catapult, by reducing or, conversely, increasing the amount of energy supplied, can launch aircraft (airplanes and drones) weighing from 4,5 to 45, regulates the launch speed from 100 to 370 km / h, which in the case of need allows you to create a comfortable environment for the ejection of the pilot. “Steam catapults are likely to be too powerful for launching light drone, and after all, different types of UAVs will soon become an important element of the aircraft carrier fleet,” said the expert.

The device of a steam catapult is very cumbersome and has a complex structure, its maintenance is very dangerous. It was reported that the 40% of the cost of aircraft carrier maintenance falls on steam catapults. The presence of high temperatures in such a catapult reduces the life of cylinders and valves. In addition, in cold high latitudes, steam becomes a source of ice on the deck of an aircraft carrier (“the deck becomes very slippery”), so using a steam catapult in such conditions is very dangerous. Although the Soviet Union developed a steam catapult, but was forced to abandon it in favor of a springboard take-off aircraft.

PLA Navy expert Li Jie believes that it is unknown what type of catapult the first aircraft carrier of the national construction will be equipped with, but the catapult on this ship will be necessary. “It depends on the level of our technologies. If we develop a good steam catapult, there will be a steam one, but if we make significant progress in the development of electromagnetic, we just need a step to get to it, ”said the expert.

Some media reported that the new Chinese aircraft carrier is being built on the basis of Liaonin’s technology (ex-Varyag) and is a further development of it, but in its final form it will be similar to the Soviet nuclear aircraft carrier Ulyanovsk.
Originator:
http://www.militaryparitet.com/
5 comments
Ad

The editorial board of Voenniy Obozreniye urgently needs a proofreader. Requirements: impeccable knowledge of the Russian language, diligence, discipline. Contact: [email protected]

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. experienced
    experienced 15 August 2013 10: 17 New
    +2
    PLA Navy expert Li Jie believes that it is unknown what type of catapult the first aircraft carrier of the national construction will be equipped with, but the catapult on this ship will be necessary. “It depends on the level of our technologies. If we develop a good steam catapult, there will be a steam one, but if we make significant progress in the development of electromagnetic, we just need a step to get to it, ”said the expert.

    What copy (steal), then install. However, everything is correct, we have not yet come up with alternatives to the catapult, and without it, the aircraft carrier is neutered.

    The system designer is Ma Weiming (马伟明), graduated from the Marine Engineering Institute in 1982, and received a doctorate from Tsinghua University in 1996. Known primarily as a specialist in electric generators and power supply systems of submarines. He is currently a professor at the PLA Naval Engineering University.

    Thanks to his achievements, in 2001 he was elected to the Academy of Engineering Sciences of the PRC. The other day, by a decision of the Central Military Council, China was awarded for the successful development of an electromagnetic catapult for an aircraft carrier.

    It is noted that the length of the catapult is more than 100 m, it is a linear electric motor with a complex system of power supply and control. A highly efficient system for storing and storing energy has been created for her, which allows to accumulate a supply of energy for launching the aircraft within 45 seconds. To disperse the heaviest carrier-based aircraft, the catapult must expend energy in the amount of 120 megajoules. The energy storage and storage system has a capacity of 140 megajoules, it requires a capacity of 3,1 MW to charge it, and taking into account energy losses - up to 4 MW. Given the presence of 4 catapults on the ship, as well as other systems, the ship will need an energy source with a capacity of up to 60 MW.

    In this way, Apparently, this is an indication that the future Chinese aircraft carrier may have a nuclear power plant.


    1. Vovka levka
      Vovka levka 15 August 2013 10: 23 New
      +1
      Quote: seasoned

      What copy (steal), then install. However, everything is correct, we have not yet come up with alternatives to the catapult, and without it, the aircraft carrier is neutered.

      Castrated is not the right word; it's still gentle. The plane should take off with full combat load, and if there is only a springboard there is a problem.
    2. Tersky
      Tersky 15 August 2013 10: 32 New
      +2
      Quote: seasoned
      What copy (steal), then install

      Alex, hi! They have already found where, what, and from whom, it remains only to decide how .. laughing (in the photo "weapons of" Syrian "about @ satchels")
  2. svp67
    svp67 15 August 2013 10: 18 New
    0
    Well, wait and see -
  3. Constantine
    Constantine 15 August 2013 11: 06 New
    0
    Quote: seasoned
    What copy (steal), then install. However, everything is correct, we have not yet come up with alternatives to the catapult, and without it, the aircraft carrier is neutered.


    That yes wassat

    In terms of drones, they are right. The option is not ruled out that, in the future, mini aircraft carriers exclusively with UAVs may appear in the AUG, and therefore, a catapult with sensitive tuning is needed.
  4. patsantre
    patsantre 15 August 2013 13: 51 New
    0
    Is it possible, and does the simultaneous use of a catapult and a springboard make sense?
  5. Siberian
    Siberian 15 August 2013 17: 47 New
    0
    What are they up to the catapult UMOM independently grown?

Новый китайский авианосец будет оснащен катапультой

Новый китайский авианосец будет оснащен катапультойКитайский эксперт Ду Вэньлун заявил, что новый китайский авианосец должен быть оснащен катапультой для взлета самолетов, но необходимо решить, какой именно – паровой или электромагнитной, сообщает сегодня mil.news.sina.com.cn.

Когда авиация вошла в реактивную эру, на больших авианосцах с 1950-х годов появились паровые катапульты, которые на многие десятилетия стали неотъемлемыми элементом конструкции кораблей этого класса. На американских обычных и атомных авианосцах появились паровые катапультные системы С7, С13 и другие. С конца 1980-х годов в США компания «Вестингауз» начала разработку принципиально новой электромагнитной катапульты для авианосцев нового поколения «Форд» (EMALS - Electromagnetic Aircraft Launch System (электромагнитная система запуска самолетов) – прим. «ВП»).

Что лучше – паровая или электромагнитная катапульта?, задается вопросом военный эксперт Чжэнь Вэньбао, и делает вывод в пользу последней. «По сравнению с электромагнитной катапультой паровая имеет много недостатков», сказал он в интервью агентству Синьхуа. В первую очередь невысокий КПД по преобразованию энергии пара в поступательное движение (всего 5%), в то время как электромагнитная катапульта имеет эффективность использования энергии 60%, на 50% меньше количество обслуживающего персонала, на 20% меньше стоимость жизненного цикла, на 20% выше уровень эксплуатационной готовности.


Еще более важно то, что электромагнитная катапульта обладает гибкостью применения, то есть появляется возможность регулировать мощность, что необходимо для запуска самолетов разного весового класса. Эксперт обратил внимание на то, что электромагнитная катапульта путем уменьшения или, наоборот, увеличения объема подаваемой энергии, может запускать летательные аппараты (самолеты и беспилотники) массой от 4,5 до 45 т, регулирует скорость запуска от 100 до 370 км/ч, что в случае необходимости позволяет создать комфортные условия для катапультирования летчика. «Паровые катапульты, вероятно, будут слишком мощны для запуска легких беспилотников, а ведь БЛА разного типа скоро станут важным элементом авиапарка авианосцев», говорит эксперт.

Устройство паровой катапульты весьма громоздкое и имеет сложную конструкцию, ее обслуживание очень опасно. Сообщалось, что 40% затрат на техническое обслуживание авианосца приходится именно на паровые катапульты. Наличие высоких температур в такой катапульте снижает ресурс цилиндров и клапанов. Кроме того, в холодных высоких широтах пар становится источником появления льда на палубе авианосца («палуба становится очень скользкой»), поэтому использование паровой катапульты в таких условиях очень опасно. Хотя Советский Союз разработал паровую катапульту, но вынужден был отказаться от нее в пользу трамплинного взлета самолетов.

Эксперт ВМС НОАК Ли Цзе полагает, что неизвестно, каким типом катапульты будет оснащен первый авианосец национальной постройки, но катапульта на этом корабле будет обязательно. «Это зависит от уровня наших технологий. Если мы разработаем хорошую паровую катапульту, будет паровая, но если мы существенно продвинемся в разработке электромагнитной, нужен будет всего лишь шаг, чтобы перейти к ней», говорит эксперт.

Некоторые СМИ сообщили, что новый китайский авианосец строится на основе технологий «Ляонина» (экс-«Варяг») и является дальнейшим его развитием, но в окончательном виде он будет похож на советский атомный авианосец «Ульяновск».
Первоисточник: http://www.militaryparitet.com/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 5
  1. бывалый 15 августа 2013 10:17
    Эксперт ВМС НОАК Ли Цзе полагает, что неизвестно, каким типом катапульты будет оснащен первый авианосец национальной постройки, но катапульта на этом корабле будет обязательно. «Это зависит от уровня наших технологий. Если мы разработаем хорошую паровую катапульту, будет паровая, но если мы существенно продвинемся в разработке электромагнитной, нужен будет всего лишь шаг, чтобы перейти к ней», говорит эксперт.

    Что скопируют (стырят), то и установят. Впрочем все правильно, альтернативы катапульте еще не придумали, а без нее авианосец кастрированный получается.

    Конструктор системы — Ма Вэймин (马伟明) , в 1982 г. окончил Морской инженерный институт, в 1996 г. получил степень доктора в университете Цинхуа. Известен прежде всего как специалист по электрогенераторам и системам электроснабжения подводных лодок. В настоящее время является профессором Военно-морского инженерного университета НОАК.

    Благодаря своим достижениям в 2001 г. избран в состав Академии Инженерных наук КНР. На днях решением Центрального военного совета КНР награжден за успешную разработку электромагнитной катапульты для авианосца.

    Отмечается, что длина катапульты составляет более 100 м, она представляет собой линейный электродвигатель со сложной системой энергопитания и управления. Для нее создана выскоэффективная система хранения и накопления энергии, позволяющая накопить запас энергии для запуска самолета в течение 45 секунд. Для разгона самого тяжелого палубного самолета катапульта должна затратить энергию в размере 120 мегаджоулей. Система накопления и хранения энергии имеет емкость в 140 мегаджоулей, для его зарядки необходима мощность в 3,1 МВт, а с учетом потерь энергии — до 4 МВт. С учетом наличия на корабле 4 катапульт, а также прочих систем, кораблю потребуется источник энергии мощностью до 60 МВт.

    Таким образом, по всей видимости, речь идет об указании на то, что будущий китайский авианосец может иметь атомную энергетическую установку.


    1. Vovka Levka 15 августа 2013 10:23
      Цитата: бывалый

      Что скопируют (стырят), то и установят. Впрочем все правильно, альтернативы катапульте еще не придумали, а без нее авианосец кастрированный получается.

      Кастрированный не то слово, это еще нежно. Самолет должен взлетать с полной боевой загрузкой, а при наличии только трамплина здесь проблемы.
      Vovka Levka
    2. Терский 15 августа 2013 10:32
      Цитата: бывалый
      Что скопируют (стырят), то и установят

      Леша, привет! Они уже нашли где, что, и у кого, осталось только решить как.. laughing (на фото "оружие" Сирийских "про@ранцев")
  2. svp67 15 августа 2013 10:18
    Ну что ж поживем - увидим...
  3. Constantine 15 августа 2013 11:06
    Цитата: бывалый
    Что скопируют (стырят), то и установят. Впрочем все правильно, альтернативы катапульте еще не придумали, а без нее авианосец кастрированный получается.


    Это да wassat

    По части беспилотников они правы. Не исключен вариант, что в составе АУГ могут, в перспективе, появиться мини авианосцы исключительно с БЛА, а посему, необходима катапульта с чувствительной настройкой.
    Constantine
  4. пацантрэ 15 августа 2013 13:51
    А возможно ли,и имеет ли смысл одновременное использование катапульты и трамплина?
  5. Сибиряк 15 августа 2013 17:47
    Они что до катапульты самостоятельно УМОМ доросли?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня