Military Review

The European Union is preparing to send ground troops to Libya

2
The European Union is preparing to send ground troops to LibyaThe European Union seeks to use the humanitarian operation, which is planned to be deployed in the city of Misrata besieged by Gaddafi, as a pretext to use ground forces to resolve the conflict in this African country. The operation may begin in the next few days. German Chancellor Angela Merkel (Angela Merkel) has changed its previous position, saying that military forces should play a leading role in this conflict.

1 April The European Union created its military mission (EUFOR), ostensibly to provide humanitarian assistance. It looks like the first point of deployment of this operation will be the third largest Libyan city of Misurata. The scale of the operation can be easily expanded. For several weeks the city suffered from intense shelling. Last week, the city received more than 600 tons of food from the World Food Program, which is enough to supply more than 40 thousands of people during the month. Turkey is already starting measures to evacuate civilians.

EUFOR has its headquarters in Rome under the command of Italian Rear Admiral Claudio Gaudosi. The EU has two 1500 combat groups of people who can be transferred to Libya within a few days.

On April 7, EU foreign policy commissioner Catherine Ashton officially informed UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon that the EU was “ready to act.” This is a call for the UN to have this international organization ask the EU to take part in resolving the Libyan conflict. Another EU official said that “everyone knows that something needs to be done in the coming days, and we can expect a quick mobilization of the efforts of the international community.”

A meeting of EU foreign ministers in Luxembourg is to take place today in Luxembourg, which will discuss the plan adopted at the meeting of NATO foreign ministers in Berlin.

The UN called for a “temporary cessation of hostilities” in Libya to evacuate foreign workers and Libyans wanting to leave the country. If this does not happen, it is likely that there will be an accusation against the regime of Colonel Muammar Gaddafi, who has thrown "a challenge to the world community" and used this circumstance as an incidental belli to start military intervention.

The UN Security Council adopted Resolution 1973, which, in addition to creating a no-fly zone, allows the use of "all necessary measures" for the final settlement of the conflict in Libya.

German Chancellor Angela Merkel Steffen Seibert, spokesman for Germany, said on Friday that German troops "will be available for a humanitarian mission." “If there is a similar request from the UN, we naturally will not shy away from our responsibility,” said German Foreign Minister Guido Westerwelle at a meeting of the Bundestag last Friday.

Last week, the commander of the US African Command and the commander of the military operation in Libya until the transfer of this function to NATO forces, General Carter Ham, speaking at a hearing in the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, warned that a ground operation in Libya would create a hostile attitude in Africa. Unlike France, Italy and Qatar, Washington has not officially recognized the opposition as the legitimate government of Libya and today refuses to arm the rebels. After the transfer of operational command of the operation to NATO forces, the US armed forces reduced their naval presence in the conflict area from 11 to three warships, and the number of aircraft participating in the operation was reduced from 170 to 90.

The head of the African Union, President of Equatorial Guinea, Teodoro Obiang Nguema (Teodoro Obiang Nguema) expressed open support for Gaddafi and demanded that foreign interference in the internal Libyan conflict be stopped. “I believe that problems in Libya should be solved within the country, and not through foreign intervention, which at first glance would be similar to a humanitarian action. We have already seen this in Iraq, ”Nguema said.

It is also reported that the first tanker under the flag of Liberia, which departed from a port controlled by Libyan rebels with one million barrels of oil on board worth $ 112 million, headed for China. Former Libyan Energy Minister Omar Fathi Ben Shatwan, who fled to Malta, said that in the long run, Russia and China, which did not support the rebel government, lost the opportunity to participate in the development of oil and gas fields in Libya. "The new Libyan democracy will cooperate with those countries that helped it," said the cursory minister.
Originator:
http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:http://www.wsws.org/articles/2011/apr2011/liby-a11.shtml
2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. datur
    datur April 11 2011 20: 14
    0
    jackals sensed blood. Oh well.
  2. datur
    datur April 12 2011 13: 29
    0
    young-soldiers there and Georgians. and it will be their joy !!!

Евросоюз готовится послать сухопутные войска в Ливию

Евросоюз готовится послать сухопутные войска в ЛивиюЕвропейский Союз стремится использовать гуманитарную операцию, которую планируется развернуть в осажденном войсками Каддафи городе Мисурате, как предлог использовать наземные силы для урегулирования конфликта в этой африканской стране. Операция может начаться в ближайшие несколько дней. Канцлер Германии Ангела Меркель (Angela Merkel) изменила свою прежнюю позицию, заявив, что военные силы должны играть ведущую роль в этом конфликте.

1 апреля Евросоюз создал свою военную миссию (EUFOR) якобы для оказания гуманитарной помощи. Похоже, первым пунктом развертывания этой операции станет третий по величие ливийский города Мисурата. Масштабы операции могут быть легко расширены. В течение нескольких недель город страдал от интенсивных обстрелов. В прошлой неделе в город поступили более 600 т продовольствия от Всемирной продовольственной программы (World Food Program), что достаточно для снабжения более 40 тысяч человек в течение месяца. Турция уже начинает меры по эвакуации гражданских лиц.

EUFOR имеет в Риме свою штаб-квартиру под командованием итальянского контр-адмирала Клаудио Гаудоси (Claudio Gaudosi). ЕС имеет две боевые группы численностью 1500 человек, которые могут быть переброшены в Ливию в течение нескольких дней.


7 апреля комиссар ЕС по внешней политике Кэтрин Эштон (Catherine Ashton) официально уведомила генерального секретаря ООН Пан Ги Муна (Ban Ki-moon), что ЕС «готов действовать». Это призыв к ООН, чтобы эта международная организация попросила ЕС принять участие в урегулировании ливийского конфликта. Другой чиновник ЕС сказал, что «все знают, что в ближайшие дни нужно что-то делать, и можно ожидать быстрой мобилизации усилий международного сообщества».

Сегодня должно состояться заседание министров иностранных дел стран Евросоюза в Люксембурге, который обсудит план, принятый на совещании глав внешнеполитических ведомств стран НАТО в Берлине.

ООН призвала к «временному прекращению военных действий» в Ливии, чтобы эвакуировать иностранных рабочих и ливийцев, желающих покинуть страну. Если этого не произойдет, вероятно, последует обвинение в адрес режима полковника Муаммара Каддафи (Muammar Gaddafi), что тот бросил «вызов мировому сообществу» и использовать это обстоятельство как казус-белли для начала военной интервенции.

Совет Безопасности ООН принял резолюцию 1973, которая, кроме создания бесполетной зоны, разрешает использование «всех необходимых мер» для окончательного урегулирования конфликта в Ливии.

Пресс-секретарь канцлера Германии Ангелы Меркель Штеффен Зайберт (Steffen Seibert) в пятницу заявил, что немецкие войска «будут доступны для проведения гуманитарной миссии». «Если будет аналогичный запрос от ООН, мы, естественно, не будем уклоняться от своей ответственности», заявил министр иностранных дел Германии Гидо Вестервелле (Guido Westerwelle) на заседании Бундестага, прошедшем в пятницу.

На прошлой неделе командующий Африканским командованием США и занимавший пост командующего военной операцией в Ливии до момента передачи этой функции силам НАТО генерал Картер Хэм (Carter Ham), выступая на слушаниях в комитете по международным отношениям в Сенате предупредил, что наземная операция в Ливии породит враждебное отношение в Африке. В отличие от Франции, Италии и Катара Вашингтон официально не признал оппозицию в качестве законного правительства Ливии и на сегодняшний день отказывается вооружать повстанцев. После передачи оперативного командования операцией силам НАТО вооруженные силы США сократили свое военно-морское присутствие в районе конфликта от 11 до трех военных кораблей, а количество самолетов, участвующих в операции, сокращено от 170 до 90.

Глава Африканского Союза, президент Экваториальной Гвинеи Теодоро Обианг Нгуема (Teodoro Obiang Nguema) выразил открытую поддержку Каддафи и потребовал прекратить иностранное вмешательство во внутренний ливийский конфликт. «Я считаю, что проблемы в Ливии должны решаться внутри страны, а не через иностранное вмешательство, которое на первый взгляд будет похоже на гуманитарную акцию. Мы уже видели это в Ираке», заявил Нгуема.

Также сообщается, что первый танкер под флагом Либерии, отчаливший от порта, контролируемого ливийскими повстанцами с одним миллионом баррелей нефти на борту стоимостью 112 млн долл, взял курс в Китай. Бывший министр энергетики Ливии Омар Фатхи Бен Шатван (Omar Fathi Ben Shatwan), бежавший в Мальту, заявил, что в долгосрочной перспективе Россия и Китай, не поддержавшие правительство повстанцев, потеряли возможность участвовать в разработке нефтяных и газовых месторождений в Ливии. «Новая ливийская демократия будет сотрудничать с теми странами, которые помогали ей», заявил беглый министр.

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. datur 11 апреля 2011 20:14
    шакалы почуяли кровь. ну ну.
  2. datur 12 апреля 2011 13:29
    младонатовцев туда и , грузинцев.и будет им радость!!!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня