The United States will respond to a hacker attack from other countries with air strikes on them.



The new strategy of the Pentagon allows to qualify attacks in cyberspace as military operations.


The US Department of Defense is preparing the first formalized cyber strategy, the non-classified part of which (12 pages from 42) will be presented to the public next month. Fragments of the document fell into the hands of the Wall Street Journal journalists. In accordance with the plans of the American command, the army (for the first time in stories) will be authorized to respond with the use of military force to hacker attacks carried out from other countries and threatening the work of strategic facilities, such as nuclear reactors, subways and oil and gas pipelines.

The Pentagon began to engage in the formalization of the cyberwar strategy after successful attacks on its own servers. The digital component of the confrontation of America and its enemies had a famous example of implementation in Iran, when the Stuxnet virus blocked the nuclear program of this state.

Probably, after the strategy is publicized, the military will have to engage in debates on issues such as the reliability of determining the location of the hacker, and the criteria for the severity of the threat, which the decision is made to answer by the army. The next step of the Pentagon should be the coordination of actions in cyberspace with its allies, primarily with the NATO countries.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

США будут отвечать на хакерскую атаку из других стран авиаударами по них.



Новая стратегия Пентагона позволяет квалифицировать атаки в киберпространстве как военные действия.


Министерство обороны США готовит первую формализованную киберстратегию, незасекреченная часть которой (12 страниц из 42) будет представлена публике в следующем месяце. Фрагменты документа попали в руки журналистов Wall Street Journal. В соответствии с планами американского командования, армия (впервые в истории) получит полномочия отвечать применением военной силы на хакерские атаки, осуществляемые из других стран и угрожающие работе объектов стратегического назначения, таких как ядерные реакторы, метро и нефте-и газопроводы.

Формализацией стратегии кибервойны Пентагон начал заниматься после удачных атак на его собственные серверы. Цифровая составляющая противостояния Америки и ее врагов имела известный пример реализации в Иране, когда вирус Stuxnet блокировал ядерную программу этого государства.

Вероятно, после обнародования стратегии военным придется вступить в дебаты относительно таких вопросов, как надежность определения места, откуда атакует хакер, и критерии серьезности угрозы, по которым принимается решение об ответе силами армии. Следующим шагом Пентагона должно стать согласование действий в киберпространстве с союзниками, прежде всего со странами НАТО.
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти