Price issue

Price issueA report published by the State Department on the state of the nuclear arsenals of Russia and the United States caused a mixed reaction in the Russian media. How relevant are the lamentations about the "loss" of Russia and the implication behind them - they say, isn't it time for us to build up muscles?

The last two weeks have passed under the sign of almost forgotten Russian-American "horror stories." Statements by the military that Russian ballistic missiles would be able to intercept missile defense systems by 2015, threatening warnings that by 2020 the world would return to a new round of the arms race, a law approved by the lower house of congress limiting the terms of the authority of the President of the United States to implement START-3.


In fact, all these fears are only a rudiment of the psychology of the Cold War, for the eradication of which the "reset" should work. Obviously, over the past two years, Russian-American relations have acquired a new dynamic. This is the desire to give them a serious economic dimension, and dialogue at the level of civil society, and harmonization of actions regarding regional conflicts and policies in the post-Soviet space.

It is clear that in these conditions the hardware and political weight of certain groups is reduced. How to increase it? How to convince the country's leadership that the serious means of the state defense order should go to the usual "nuclear missile" pockets, and not to modern weapons and equipment that will make the army adapted to the challenges of the 21st century? What can you earn more - on a missile or anti-missile system or at a camp for an Arctic brigade convenient for the soldiers? On billions of space programs weapons and a "European" missile defense system that protects against a mythical threat, or on detectors to detect explosives that protect against a real threat?

Obviously, it is more convenient to build fear and distrust of each other. After all, what could be more familiar to the average Russian than the tradition to look at the United States through a gun and a conspiratorial sight? And for the American "hawks" this is a great opportunity to play on topics that Obama who was seeking re-election spent so much time on.

I want to believe that common sense will prevail. A new round of the arms race for humanity as a whole is completely inappropriate; now there are plenty of other global problems. From food shortages to ecology, from infections to radioactive releases. And in order to solve them, one must learn to think in the logic of win-win, and not zero-sum games.

Russia and the United States have been mastering this in the “reset” process for two years now. While it turns out. The main thing is to "not hang".
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Цена вопроса

Цена вопросаОпубликованный госдепом доклад о состоянии ядерных арсеналов России и США вызвал неоднозначную реакцию в российских СМИ. Насколько актуальны причитания по поводу "проигрыша" России и скрывающийся за ними подтекст — дескать, не пора ли нам наращивать мускулы?

Последние две недели прошли под знаком почти забытых российско-американских "страшилок". Заявления военных о том, что к 2015 году системы ПРО смогут перехватывать российские баллистические ракеты, грозные предостережения, что к 2020 году мир вернется к новому витку гонки вооружений, одобренный нижней палатой конгресса закон, ограничивающий рядом условий полномочия президента США по выполнению СНВ-3.


На самом деле все эти опасения лишь рудимент психологии холодной войны, на искоренение которой должна работать "перезагрузка". Очевидно, что за последние два года российско-американские отношения приобрели новую динамику. Это и стремление придать им серьезное экономическое измерение, и диалог на уровне гражданского общества, и гармонизация действий в отношении региональных конфликтов, политики на постсоветском пространстве.

Понятно, что в этих условиях аппаратный и политический вес определенных группировок снижается. Как его повысить? Как убедить руководство страны, что серьезные средства государственного оборонного заказа должны идти в привычные "ракетно-ядерные" карманы, а не на современные вооружения и оборудование, которые сделают армию приспособленной к вызовам XXI века? На чем можно больше заработать — на ракетном или противоракетном комплексе или на удобном для солдат лагере для арктической бригады? На миллиардных программах космического оружия и "европейской" ПРО, защищающей от мифической угрозы, или на детекторах для выявления взрывчатки, защищающих от угрозы реальной?

Очевидно, что удобнее нагнетать страхи и недоверие друг к другу. Ведь что может быть привычнее для среднего россиянина, чем традиция смотреть на США через прицел — оружейный и конспирологический? Да и для американских "ястребов" это отличная возможность поиграть на темах, которым добивающийся переизбрания Обама уделял столько времени.

Хочется верить, что здравый смысл возобладает. Новый виток гонки вооружений для человечества в целом совсем некстати — сейчас хватает других глобальных проблем. От дефицита продовольствия до экологии, от инфекций до радиоактивных выбросов. А чтобы их разрешать, надо учиться мыслить в логике win-win, а не игр "с нулевой суммой".

Россия и США осваивают это в процессе "перезагрузки" уже два года. Пока получается. Главное, чтобы "не зависло".
Автор:
Дмитрий Поликанов, вице-президент ПИР-Центра
Первоисточник:
http://www.kommersant.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти