IAEA accuses Syria of illegal nuclear development

IAEA accuses Syria of illegal nuclear developmentWestern countries suspect Syria of being involved in prohibited activities in the development of nuclear weapons. This issue will be considered at a meeting of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna, starting on Monday. The results of the meeting and the conclusions of the commissions will be transmitted for consideration by the UN Security Council.

The IAEA Director General, Yukiya Amano, last week presented two progress reports, according to which Tehran and Damascus are working together to enrich uranium. The reports also noted that Iran continues to store low-enriched uranium at its nuclear facilities, despite a number of UN sanctions.


At the same time, the main accusation against Damascus is the construction of a nuclear reactor in one of the remote areas of the country and the prohibition of access to IAEA representatives for any information regarding the purpose of the constructed nuclear facility, which contradicts the norms and agreements on the development and use of enriched uranium.

Recall that this is not the first object that Syria builds in the desert. For example, in September 2007, Israeli military aircraft destroyed a facility in the Al-Kibar desert, which, according to IAEA experts, was a nuclear uranium enrichment center.

The United States, with the support of London and Paris, in particular, points out non-compliance with international obligations by Syria and requires the UN Security Council to adopt a resolution against Damascus, which, according to Washington, is crucial for maintaining confidence in the IAEA safeguards agreements.

At the moment, the position of Russia and China regarding this issue remains unknown, but Syria has pledged to ensure full cooperation with representatives of the IAEA. The official authorities of Syria are well aware that the refusal to cooperate can lead to irreversible consequences, including military invasion, which today is extremely dangerous for this Middle Eastern state.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

МАГАТЭ обвиняет Сирию в незаконных ядерных разработках

МАГАТЭ обвиняет Сирию в незаконных ядерных разработкахЗападные страны подозревают Сирию в причастности к запрещенной деятельности в разработке ядерного оружия. Данный вопрос будет рассмотрен на заседании Международного агентства по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ) в Вене, начиная с понедельника. Результаты заседания и выводы комиссий будут переданы для рассмотрения на Совете Безопасности ООН.

Генеральный директор МАГАТЭ Юкия Амано на прошлой неделе предоставила два доклада о ходе исследований, согласно которым Тегеран и Дамаск ведут совместные работы по обогащению урана. Также в докладах отмечено, что Иран по-прежнему хранит на своих ядерных объектах низкообогащенный уран, несмотря на ряд санкций ООН.


В то же время основное обвинение, которое предъявляется Дамаску, это постройка ядерного реактора в одном из отдаленных районов страны и запрет доступа представителям МАГАТЭ к какой-либо информации касательно предназначения построенного ядерного объекта, что противоречит нормам и договорам о разработке и использовании обогащенного урана.

Напомним, что это не первый объект, который Сирия строит в пустыне. Так, в сентябре 2007 года израильские военные самолеты уничтожили в пустыне Аль-Кибар объект, который, по мнению экспертов МАГАТЭ, представлял собой ядерный центр по обогащению урана.

США при поддержке Лондона и Парижа, в частности, указывают на несоблюдение международных обязательств Сирией и требуют от Совета Безопасности ООН принятие резолюции против Дамаска, что, по мнению Вашингтона, имеет решающее значение для сохранения доверия к соглашениям о гарантиях МАГАТЭ.

На данный момент неизвестной остается позиция России и Китая касательного этого вопроса, но сама Сирия обязалась обеспечить полное сотрудничество с представителями МАГАТЭ. Официальные власти Сирии прекрасно понимают, что отказ от сотрудничества может привести к необратимым последствиям, вплоть до военного вторжения, что на сегодняшний день крайне опасно для этого ближневосточного государства.
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти