Military Review

Russia enters Bahrain’s arms market

5
Russia enters Bahrain’s arms market Russia for the first time begins deliveries of arms to Bahrain - after France and Great Britain imposed sanctions on the kingdom for repressions against the opposition. This was reported yesterday by Bloomberg, citing an unnamed source close to the Russian defense ministry. The source said that the contract for the delivery of the AK-103 assault rifles (grenade launchers) of grenade launchers and ammunition, the cost of which is estimated at tens of millions of dollars, is already in force.


Meanwhile, in February 2011, France and the United Kingdom banned national manufacturers from supplying products that could be used to quell unrest to Bahrain.

“Bilateral relations between Russia and Bahrain are rapidly strengthening,” said Bahrain’s government spokesman Abdulaziz bin Mubarak Al-Khalifa. “We look forward to working with Russia in the trade and technical areas. One of such promising areas is the supply of light and small weapons". He refused to disclose the details of MTC with Russia.

In response to the agency’s request, Rosoboronexport escaped with the general wording: “The states of the region are interested in Russian air defense systems, aircraft industry products and armaments for the ground forces.”

According to the ROE, a mutually beneficial partnership with Bahrain is intended to strengthen Russia's position in the market of the Gulf monarchies associated with close allied relations with the United States.

During the exhibition of weapons and military equipment in the capital of Bahrain, Manama in 2010, the head of state, King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa, climbed into the cockpit of the Russian fighter Su-27. According to the representative of the country's government, “the king’s interest in this extremely famous aircraft in the world means a lot - in particular (the fact of recognition by the king) that Russia is one of the world leaders.”

Russia opposes the US draft resolution of the UN Security Council on Syria, reminds Bloomberg. The cost of arms contracts in Russia and Syria is estimated by the Moscow Center for Analysis of Strategies and Technologies, at least at 3 billion dollars, the agency reminds. These include anti-ship missiles, MiG-29 fighters and Pantsir air defense systems.

P. 2 is experiencing some bewilderment: it is unlikely that Iranian and Libyan contracts can be considered an adequate price for the praise of the Bahraini kingside Russian fighter. Something is wrong here.

ROE, undoubtedly, makes maximum efforts to promote Russian defense products to the markets of the region, however, the foreign policy initiatives of the head of Russia seem to be not in the slightest degree consistent with the interests of the state intermediary and the industry.

Strictly speaking, if Russia were a great power and stand at its head as a shrewd leader, one could try playing foreign idealism and, indeed, abandon military-technical cooperation and support for the most odious, anti-people and inadequate regimes in the region - Saudi Arabia, Libya, Iran, perhaps Syria We will not wait for any pro-Russian orientation or at least elements of pro-Russian policy from their current leadership. Hypocritical pragmatism in the spirit of "this is our son of a bitch (Bahrain and Saudi), and this is not our son of a bitch (Libya and Syria)" can be left to the authors of this stupid aphorism - they are already completely bogged down in their cynical calculations, as happened with bin Laden, eg.

Obviously, there is a huge demand in the region for a new, more frank, honest and fair vision. Regimes - both secular military and religious monarchist - are bursting at the seams, and the West, not from great foolishness, is now crammed into adventures like the Libyan one. The USA, France and Britain, apparently, are trying not to miss the initiative, to act, albeit erroneously, but dynamically - they lead, if I may, with reconnaissance in force.

Convulsive initiatives of Russia in the person of its president (according to the Constitution, the president determines the foreign policy of the Russian Federation, and the government and the foreign ministry are mostly executors), who then runs ahead of the locomotive, toughening the UN resolution regarding Iran, then passively surrenders Libya, then defends Syria now it supplies the rifle to Bahrain, which is not going to stand on ceremony with its opposition, these initiatives are neither logical, nor intelligible, nor far-sighted.

It would be appropriate and, in the end, politely, if we were finally told - what are the interests of Russia in the region? That is, we will not sell the means of protection against external aggression to Iran, but will we sell automatic weapons and ammunition for reprisals against Bahraini oppositionists? Arithmetically - unprofitable, strategically - not clear.

Here is the thought that comes to mind. Iran, as is known, is a Shiite country. Internal instability in Bahrain is also a consequence of the unrest of the Shiites, who constitute the majority of the country's population, but are severely constrained by the ruling Sunni elite. It is also known that Shiites in the Gulf clearly and secretly support Iran. Maybe the Russian leadership has some kind of secret allergy to Shiism or a related injury? Maybe the Saudi spies came to the helm?
Author:
Originator:
http://periscope2.ru/?digest_id=41799
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. zczczc
    zczczc 28 August 2011 16: 50 New
    +4
    "The convulsive initiatives of Russia in the person of its president ... seem neither logical, nor intelligible, nor far-sighted." - this is to the question of who makes decisions ...
  2. voin-xnumx
    voin-xnumx 28 August 2011 17: 14 New
    +3
    It just feels like our foreign policy in this region is scooter and no one defines it. They wanted to sign an agreement, they wanted to turn their backs. And tomorrow, even a flood, if we can always have fun, we will not get used to our wheels.
  3. AleksUkr
    AleksUkr 28 August 2011 19: 10 New
    0
    We are not always consistent in our actions and this is our misfortune. That is, we catch every word and try to predict even the wishes of "friends", we are slightly spoiled for them. In a word, the dog barks, but the caravan still goes. We are glad that the next king climbed into our military equipment, as if there were few who wanted to steer their own kings. And the leaders - we already have two of them, and both consider themselves very shrewd
  4. Marat
    Marat 29 August 2011 00: 17 New
    +3
    Quote "If Russia was a great power and stood at the head of a shrewd leader, one could try to play foreign political idealism and, indeed, abandon the military-technical cooperation and support the most odious, anti-people and inadequate regimes in the region - Saudi Arabia, Libya, Iran, perhaps Syria "

    I believe that if Russia were a great power - on the contrary, it would support Syria itself without Iran’s help. And Iran would support. And if she had decided that it was necessary to bomb, she would have done it herself - but would not have allowed pendos aggression at her very borders

    And yet - the lexicon of the article is podpendosovskiy - they have Syria and Iran are "inadequate odious regimes" - of course! And the author forgot to add Cuba to Venezuela Belarus
  5. cabin boy
    cabin boy 29 August 2011 00: 57 New
    +3
    Ruslan Aliyev can you and "the key to the apartment where the money is"?
    Alas, the USSR was a great power and even the Foreign Minister turned out to be an agent of US influence, and after these Shevarnadzey and Kozyrev there is such a viper that even the clever Lavrov sometimes looks confused, but he does well, for which I respect him very much.

Россия выходит на рынок вооружений Бахрейна

Россия выходит на рынок вооружений Бахрейна Россия впервые начинает поставки вооружений Бахрейну — после того, как Франция и Великобритания наложили на королевство санкции за репрессии в отношении оппозиции. Об этом вчера сообщило агентство Bloomberg со ссылкой на неназванный источник, близкий к российскому минобороны. Источник сообщил, что уже действует контракт на поставку Бахрейну автоматов АК-103, (подствольных) гранатометов и боеприпасов, стоимость которого оценивается в десятки миллионов долларов.

Между тем в феврале 2011 г. Франция и Великобритания запретили национальным производителям поставлять Бахрейну продукцию, которая может быть использована для подавления волнений.

«Двусторонние отношения России и Бахрейна стремительно укрепляются», — заявил агентству представитель правительства Бахрейна Абдулазиз бин Мубарак Аль-Халифа. «Мы рассчитываем на сотрудничество с Россией в торговой и технической сферах. Одно из таких перспективных направлений — поставки легкого и стрелкового оружия». Раскрыть подробности ВТС с Россией он отказался.


Рособоронэкспорт в ответе на запрос агентства отделался общими формулировками: «Государства региона заинтересованы в российских системах ПВО, продукции авиапрома и вооружениях для сухопутных войск».

По мнению РОЭ, взаимовыгодное партнерство с Бахрейном призвано укрепить позиции России на рынке монархий Залива, связанных тесными союзническими отношениями с США.

В ходе выставке вооружений и военной технике в столице Бахрейна Манаме в 2010 г. глава государства король Хамад бин Иса Аль Халифа залез в кабину российского истребителя Су-27. По словам представителя правительства страны, «интерес короля к этому чрезвычайно известному в мире самолету означает очень много — в частности (факт признания королем того), что Россия является одним из мировых лидеров».

Россия выступает против американского проекта резолюции Совбеза ООН по Сирии, напоминает Bloomberg. Стоимость оружейных контрактов России и Сирии оценивается московским Центром анализа стратегий и технологий по меньшей мере в 3 млрд долл., напоминает агентство. Сюда входят противокорабельные ракеты, истребители МиГ-29 и комплексы ПВО «Панцирь».

П. 2 испытывает некоторое недоумение: вряд ли иранские и ливийские контракты могут считаться адекватной ценой за похвалы бахрейнского царька российскому истребителю. Что-то тут не так.

РОЭ, несомненно, прикладывает максимум усилий к продвижению российской ПВН на рынки региона, однако внешнеполитические инициативы главы России, кажется, с интересами госпосредника и отрасли не согласованы ни в малейшей степени.

Строго говоря, будь Россия великой державой и стой во главе нее прозорливый лидер, можно было бы попробовать поиграть во внешнеполитический идеализм и, действительно, отказаться от ВТС и поддержки наиболее одиозных, антинародных и неадекватных режимов в регионе — Саудовской Аравии, Ливии, Ирана, возможно, Сирии. Никакой пророссийской ориентации или хотя бы элементов пророссийской политики мы от их нынешнего руководства не дождемся. Лицемерный прагматизм в духе «это наш сукин сын (Бахрейн и Саудия), а это не наш сукин сын (Ливия и Сирия)» можно оставить авторам этого бестолкового афоризма — они уже вполне завязли в своих циничных расчетах, как это случилось с бин Ладеном, например.

Очевидно, что в регионе назрел колоссальный спрос на новое, более откровенное, честное и справедливое видение. Режимы — как секулярные военные, так и религиозные монархические — трещат по швам, и Запад не от большой дурости сейчас влезает в авантюры, подобные ливийской. США, Франция и Британия, по всей видимости, пытаются не упустить инициативу, действовать пусть ошибочно, но динамично — ведут, если позволите, разведку боем.

Судорожные же инициативы России в лице ее президента (по Конституции внешнюю политику РФ определяет именно президент, а правительство и МИД в большей степени являются исполнителями), который то бежит впереди паровоза, ужесточая резолюцию ООН в отношении Ирана, то пассивно сдает Ливию, то защищает Сирию, то теперь поставляет стрелковку Бахрейну, который со своими оппозиционерами церемониться не собирается, — эти инициативы ни логичными, ни внятными, ни дальновидными не представляются.

Было бы уместно и, в конце концов, вежливо, если бы нам, наконец, сообщили — каковы интересы России в регионе? Т. е. средства защиты от внешней агрессии мы Ирану не продадим, а автоматы и боеприпасы к ним для расправ с бахрейнскими оппозиционерами — продадим? Арифметически — невыгодно, стратегически — непонятно.

Тут вот какая мысль в голову приходит. Иран, как известно, страна шиитская. Внутренняя нестабильность в Бахрейне тоже является следствием волнений шиитов, которые составляют большинство населения страны, но жестко ущемляются правящей суннитской верхушкой. Известно также, что шиитов в Заливе явно и тайно поддерживает Иран. Может, у российского руководства какая-то тайная аллергия на шиизм или связанная с ним травма? Может, к рулю пробрались саудовские шпионы?
Автор: Руслан Алиев
Первоисточник: http://periscope2.ru/?digest_id=41799


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. zczczc 28 августа 2011 16:50
    "Судорожные же инициативы России в лице ее президента ... ни логичными, ни внятными, ни дальновидными не представляются." - это к вопросу о том, кто решения принимает...
    zczczc
  2. voin-72 28 августа 2011 17:14
    Просто такое ощущение что наша внешняя политика в этом регионе идет самокатом и никто ее не определяет. Захотели подписали договор захотели повернулись задом. А завтра хоть потоп, если что всегда отбрехаться сможем, нашим рулям не привыкать.
    voin-72
  3. AleksUkr 28 августа 2011 19:10
    Мы не всегда последовательны в своих деяниях и это наша беда.То мы ловим каждое слово и пытаемся предугадать даже пожелания "друзей", то им же слегка гадим. Словом, собака лает, а караван все равно идет. Мы рады, что очередной король залез в нашу боевую технику, будто бы своих царьков мало желающих даже слегка порулить. А лидеры - у нас их аж два, и оба считают себя очень даже прозорливыми
  4. Marat 29 августа 2011 00:17
    Цитата " будь Россия великой державой и стой во главе нее прозорливый лидер, можно было бы попробовать поиграть во внешнеполитический идеализм и, действительно, отказаться от ВТС и поддержки наиболее одиозных, антинародных и неадекватных режимов в регионе — Саудовской Аравии, Ливии, Ирана, возможно, Сирии"

    Я считаю что будь Россия великой державой - наоборот она бы поддержала Сирию сама и без помощи Ирана. И Иран поддержала бы. А если бы решила что надо побомбить - то сделала бы это сама - но не допустила бы агрессии пендосов у самых своих границ

    И еще - лексикон статьи подпендосовский - у них Сирия и Иран это "неадекватные одиозные режимы" - ну конечно! И еще забыл автор добавить Кубу Венесуэлу Белоруссию
    Marat
  5. юнга 29 августа 2011 00:57
    Руслан Алиев может вам и "ключь от квартиры где деньги лежат"?
    Уж на что СССР был великой державой и то в МИДе аж министр иностранных дел оказался агентом влияния США, а после этих Шеварнадзей, Козыревых такой гадюшник, что даже умничка Лавров иной раз выглядит растеряным, но держится молодцом, за что я его очень уважаю.
    юнга

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня