European Commissioner: CIA secret prisons work in Poland


Polish television journalists managed to get information confirming that secret CIA prisons are working in the country. The announcement of this was made on public television TVP1 in the program Panorama.

An exclusive interview in this program was given by the European Commissioner for Human Rights Thomas Hammarberg. He claims that it is already known exactly what persons were held in these prisons and what methods were used during interrogations. The Commissioner informed the Polish Foreign Minister Radoslav Sikorski about the information collected and asked him for diplomatic assistance.


According to Hammarberg, the secret CIA prisons in Poland have been operating since December 2002 and in September 2003. In Poland, there were two of the most important prisoners - Abd al Rahim al-Nashiri and Abu Zubaydah. According to some reports, they were tortured during interrogations.

The Commissioner stressed that it is only necessary to fight terrorism with legal methods, since, violating human rights, the judges themselves begin to use the same methods as the terrorists, reports DELFI.

Earlier, the human rights organization Amnesty International called on Lithuania to complete the investigation of the alleged CIA secret prison for terrorists in the country.

As stated in the statement of AI, "Lithuania should not hide behind considerations of" state secrets "and thus prevent proper investigation into the facts of the disappearance of people and inhuman treatment of them."

Julia Hall, an expert at Amnesty International on counter-terrorism issues in Europe, said that human rights activists have new information on 2004-2005 flights from the capital of Morocco to Vilnius aircraft that participated in the secret CIA program for the transportation of prisoners. Then a Palestinian could be delivered to the capital of Lithuania, who was mistakenly considered one of the leaders of al-Qaeda.

The Lithuanian Prosecutor’s Office noted that it would “carefully study” the information provided by human rights defenders.
Originator:
http://www.rosbalt.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Еврокомиссар: В Польше работают секретные тюрьмы ЦРУ


Журналистам польского телевидения удалось раздобыть информацию, подтверждающую, что на территории страны работают секретные тюрьмы ЦРУ. Сообщение об этом прозвучало на общественном телевидении TVP1 в программе Panorama.

Эксклюзивное интервью в этой программе дал комиссар Евросоюза по правам человека Томас Хаммарберг. Он утверждает, что уже известно, какие именно лица содержались в этих тюрьмах и какие методы были применяемы во время допросов. Комиссар проинформировал главу МИД Польши Радослава Сикорского о собранной информации и попросил у него дипломатической помощи.


По словам Хаммарберга, секретные тюрьмы ЦРУ в Польше работали с декабря 2002 года и в сентябре 2003. В Польше содержались двое самых важных заключенных – Абд аль Рахим аль-Нашири и Абу Зубайдах. По некоторым данным, их пытали на допросах.

Комиссар подчеркнул, что бороться с терроризмом нужно лишь законными методами, так как, нарушая права человека, судьи сами начинают пользоваться такими же самыми методами, как и террористы, передает DELFI.

Напомним, ранее правозащитная организация Amnesty International призвала Литву довести до конца расследование о, предположительно, находившейся на территории страны секретной тюрьме ЦРУ для террористов.

Как говорится в заявлении AI, "Литва не должна прикрываться соображениями "государственной тайны" и тем самым препятствовать должному расследованию фактов исчезновения людей и бесчеловечного обращения с ними".

Эксперт Amnesty International по вопросам борьбы с терроризмом в Европе Джулия Холл сообщила, что правозащитники располагают новой информацией о полетах в 2004-2005 годах из столицы Марокко в Вильнюс самолетов, которые участвовали в секретной программе ЦРУ по перевозке заключенных. В столицу Литвы тогда мог быть доставлен некий палестинец, ошибочно считавшийся одним из лидеров "Аль-Каиды".

Прокуратура Литвы отметила, что "внимательно изучит" представленную правозащитниками информацию.
Первоисточник:
http://www.rosbalt.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти