Military Review

Oman for "special" relations with Iran

11
Oman for "special" relations with Iran The Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (GCC), despite a clear trend towards integration, with the dominance of Saudi Arabia, and now Qatar is still not a homogeneous organization. In this respect, the example of the Sultanate of Oman is indicative.

This absolute monarchy is located in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula, bordered by Yemen, Saudi Arabia. The territory is washed by the waters of the Arabian Sea and the Gulf of Oman. The population is quite small - 3 million people, including 0,6 million foreigners (according to 2010 of the year). Almost 80% are Arabs, some have a Negroid impurity. The state religion is Ibadism, which is different from both Sunni and Shi'ism. The followers of Ibadism consider themselves to be “true Muslims” and stand out with fanaticism and intolerance towards the Gentiles. The Sultan of Oman is not only the head of state, but also the spiritual head of the Ibadites - the imam.

The basis of the economy - oil production, in addition, the country sells metals, fish, fruits and vegetables. Since the proven reserves of “black gold” tend to decrease, the Omani authorities are working to reorient the economy towards the extraction of natural gas, the development of the metallurgical industry and the tourism sector. The country buys industrial equipment, vehicles, food and consumer goods.

The Sultanate has a special relationship with the de facto official enemy of the GCC, Iran. The rapprochement of Oman with the Islamic Republic is due to a number of reasons. First, it should be noted the geographical position of the two Islamic countries that control the so-called. "Oil gates" of the Persian Gulf - exit from the Strait of Hormuz. These are zones of strategic interests not only of Tehran and Muscat, but also of many other powers. Through this strait passes, according to various estimates, from one third to 40% of the transportation of the planet's oil.

Secondly, Oman wants to preserve a certain independence (in many respects this is determined by the course of Islam, which prevails there) from Riyadh. And Iran is perfect for this purpose, the two countries do not have serious contradictions. Oman does not have a large Shiite community that could destabilize the situation and spoil relations between the two countries. In 2009, Sultan Qaboos visited Iran, showing the importance of relations with the Islamic Republic for Muscat.

Thirdly, it was Iran that at one time provided military support to Sultan Qaboos I bin Said when an anti-monarchist uprising was going on there (1965 — 1976). The “Front for the Liberation of Dhofar” (FOD) led an armed struggle in the southern Omani province of Dhofar to create an independent state. The Iranian Shah sent a punitive corps (more than 1972 thousand soldiers) and representatives of the Ministry of State Security (SAWAK) to Oman to suppress the uprising in Oman. It should be noted that then Iran acted in alliance with the United States and Britain.

Currently, Tehran and Muscat are planning to revive military cooperation. Plans are being developed for military exercises that are directed against a third country. Apparently, this is Yemen, given the difficult situation in this Arab country. The revolution in Yemen can cause unrest in the Sultanate, especially in Dhofar.

Fourth, Oman and Iran have good trade, economic ties, common projects for the development of hydrocarbon deposits. So, at the end of September 2011 appeared newsthat the Iranian authorities plan to begin exporting natural gas to Oman and India via an undersea pipeline. A representative of the National Iranian Oil and Gas Company Hossein Bidarmazh said that the Indian side is ready to lay a gas pipeline on the seabed to the fields of the Islamic Republic. The same gas pipeline is going to be connected with Oman. The Iranian side has pledged to supply natural gas to Omani enterprises that produce liquefied gas. According to publicly available information, the pipeline is going to be laid from the South Pars field, which is located in the Persian Gulf, in the territorial waters of Iran and Qatar. According to the International Energy Agency, South Pars blue fuel reserves are estimated at 50,97 trillion cubic meters. m. in the deposits themselves plus about 50 billion bbl. condensate.

The fact that various Iranian companies operate in Oman is also taken into account, the trade turnover between the countries is constantly growing. Iran is important to Muscat as a possible transit country for goods from Central Asian states.

In addition, we must not forget the fact that Iran and Oman have more than a thousand years история Ongoing interaction, the Omani territory was several times a part of the Persian state.
Author:
11 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergh
    Sergh 19 November 2011 07: 14
    +1
    Well, if they are against it or will be vyё..sya, will drop a couple of "dad" bombs (volumetric explosion) on Muscat. They are all there, like, diggers with a Kalash.
  2. Anatoly
    Anatoly 19 November 2011 08: 19
    +1
    Amused the country's population - 3 million. wink Compare with the area and population of the same St. Petersburg. lol
    1. Vadivak
      Vadivak 19 November 2011 10: 39
      +4
      Union can bring a lot of crap out of the bay, read control the so-called "Oil gate" of the Persian Gulf - exit from the Strait of Hormuz.
  3. dred
    dred 19 November 2011 12: 19
    -1
    Oilmen are always together.
    1. datur
      datur 19 November 2011 15: 27
      0
      for the time being -livia is an example.
    2. APASUS
      APASUS 20 November 2011 21: 53
      0
      Quote: dred
      Oilmen are always together.

      If the chief permits! And the main Oman will not allow! Too big bets in the game against Iran and once again the US Abasrazza will be scared !!!
  4. CARTRIDGE
    CARTRIDGE 19 November 2011 12: 31
    0
    Pindos apparently want to become gate controllers
  5. mitrich
    mitrich 19 November 2011 13: 13
    -5
    Another pipiska reported that she has her own opinion. I will know now what he is - the great and terrible OMAN!
    1. mitrich
      mitrich 19 November 2011 13: 50
      0
      I want to explain the unknown minus.
      Our strategic ally in the Middle East is the Syrian Arab Republic. It must be protected by all available and unpublished means. Iran has never been our ally. I repeat - never. If you think differently, then you don’t know a damn story, and the current state of things, too. Iran must be helped with weapons, of course, and the possibility of American aggression against Iran is not a gut, but it is not our ally, it was not and will not be.
      1. Anatoly
        Anatoly 19 November 2011 21: 23
        -1
        The enemy of my enemy is my friend.
      2. Andrey77
        Andrey77 20 November 2011 17: 41
        0
        Our strategic ally in the Middle East is Iran. There are no others left. Sorry, but Syria, with all due respect, cannot be an ally. Especially strategic, what are you talking about here.
  6. sedoj
    sedoj 20 November 2011 23: 16
    +1
    Iran has never been our ally

    After the civil war, they wanted to make Iran a union republic.
  7. dobrik10
    dobrik10 21 November 2011 14: 35
    0
    Just like in a fairy tale "and they lived happily ever after"
    Until the evil star-striped uncle came ...

Оман за "особые" отношения с Ираном

Оман за "особые" отношения с Ираном Совет сотрудничества арабских государств Персидского залива (ССАГПЗ), несмотря на явную тенденцию к интеграции, при доминировании Саудовской Аравии, а теперь и Катара всё же не является однородной организацией. В этом отношении показателен пример Султаната Омана.

Эта абсолютная монархия расположена на юго-востоке Аравийского полуострова, граничит с Йеменом, Саудовской Аравией. Территория омывается водами Аравийского моря и Оманского залива. Население довольно небольшое – 3 млн человек, в том числе 0,6 млн иностранцев (по данным 2010 года). Почти 80% - это арабы, часть имеют негроидную примесь. Государственная религия – ибадизм, который отличается и от суннизма, и от шиизма. Последователи ибадизма считают себя «истинными мусульманами» и выделяются фанатизмом и нетерпимостью к иноверцам. Оманский султан является не только главой государства, но и духовным главой ибадитов — имамом.


Основа экономики – нефтедобыча, кроме того, страна продаёт металлы, рыбу, фрукты и овощи. Так как разведанные запасы «чёрного золота» имеют тенденцию к уменьшению, оманские власти ведут работу по переориентации экономики на добычу природного газа, развитие металлургической промышленности и туристической сферы. Страна закупает промышленное оборудование, транспортные средства, продовольствие и потребительские товары.

Султанат имеет особые отношения с фактически официальным врагом ССАГПЗ, Ираном. Сближение Омана с Исламской республикой обусловлено целым рядом причин. Во-первых, надо отметить географическое положение двух исламских стран, которые контролируют т.н. «нефтяные ворота» Персидского залива - выход из Ормузского пролива. Это зоны стратегических интересов не только Тегерана и Маската, но и многих других держав. Через этот пролив проходит, по разным оценкам, от трети до 40% транспортировки нефти планеты.

Во-вторых, Оман хочет сохранить определённую самостоятельность (во многом это определяется течением ислама, которое там преобладает) от Эр-Рияда. А Иран отлично подходит для этой цели, у двух стран нет серьёзных противоречий. В Омане нет большой общины шиитов, которая бы могла дестабилизировать обстановку и испортить отношения между двумя странами. В 2009 году султан Кабус посетил Иран, показав важность отношений с Исламской республикой для Маската.

В-третьих, именно Иран оказал в своё время военную поддержку султану Кабусу I бен Саиду, когда там шло антимонархическое восстание (1965—1976 гг.). «Фронт освобождения Дофара» (ФОД) вел в южной оманской провинции Дофаре вооружённую борьбу за создание независимого государства. Иранский шах в 1972 году направил в Оман для подавления восстания карательный корпус (более 30 тыс. солдат) и представителей Министерства госбезопасности (САВАК). Надо заметить, что тогда Иран действовал в союзе с США и Великобританией.

В настоящее время Тегеран и Маскат планируют возродить военное сотрудничество. Разрабатываются планы военных учений, которые направлены против третьей страны. Видимо, это Йемен, учитывая непростую обстановку в этой арабской стране. Революция в Йемене может вызвать волнения и в султанате, особенно в Дофаре.

В-четвёртых, Оман и Иран имеют хорошие торговые, экономические связи, общие проекты по освоению месторождений углеводородов. Так, в конце сентября 2011 года появилась новость, что иранские власти планируют начать экспорт природного газа в Оман и Индию по подводному трубопроводу. Представитель Национальной иранской нефтегазовой компании Хоссейн Бидармаж рассказал, что индийская сторона готова проложить газопровод по морскому дну к месторождениям Исламской республики. Этот же газопровод собираются соединить с Оманом. Иранская сторона обязалась поставлять природный газ на оманские предприятия, которые производят сжиженный газ. По имеющейся в открытом доступе информации, трубопровод собираются проложить от месторождения Южный Парс, которое расположено в Персидском заливе, в территориальных водах Ирана и Катара. Согласно данным Международного энергетического агентства, запасы голубого топлива Южного Парса оценивают в 50,97 трлн куб. м. в самих залежах плюс около 50 млрд барр. конденсата.

Учитывается и тот факт, что в Омане работают различные иранские компании, товарооборот между странами постоянно растёт. Иран важен для Маската как возможный транзитёр грузов из государств Центральной Азии.

Кроме того, не надо забывать того факта, что у Ирана и Омана есть более чем тысячелетняя история постоянного взаимодействия, оманская территория несколько раз была частью державы персов.
Автор:
Самсонов Александр
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

11 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти