Military Review

"Have a handshake!"

12
"Have a handshake!"



16 January 1969, the Soviet cosmonauts conducted the world's first docking of manned spacecraft in earth orbit
After the first manned space flight, carried out in the USSR 12 on April 1961, space programs in the Soviet Union and in the United States began to develop at an enormous pace. The number of annual manned flights grew, but at the same time the danger lurking astronauts grew. One of the most serious was the risk of permanently remaining in orbit due to the failure of control systems or to be plugged in a faulty spacecraft.

The only way to provide assistance to an astronaut who has fallen into such a catastrophic situation was the development and implementation of spacecraft docking systems in near-earth orbit. It was also needed in order to move from the first stage of space exploration — long flights of single ships with a limited life-support resource — to long-term work at orbital stations.

The first step in testing the docking systems in real space conditions was 30 October 1967 in the USSR. On this day, unmanned spacecraft Cosmos-186 and Cosmos-188 docked in orbit in automatic mode. In fact, they were two ships of the Soyuz series, but uninhabited. The next step was to become a manned docking, but it fell through due to a malfunction. At the Soyuz-23 spacecraft, which launched 1967 on April 1, which was controlled by cosmonaut Vladimir Komarov, one of the solar panels did not open, and the flight was decided to be interrupted. As a result, it completely ended in tragedy: April 24 during the descent did not open the main parachute of the descent vehicle, and Colonel Komarov was killed.

The second attempt of manned docking, undertaken on October 26 1968 of the year, ended in failure. The cosmonaut Georgy Beregovoy on the Soyuz-3 spacecraft was supposed to dock with the unmanned unmanned alliance 2 that was flying in automatic mode. However, he could not do this: when approaching the docking, he made a mistake in the orientation of his ship on a roll, turning it practically "upside down", and could not dock the ships.

After only two and a half months, the third docking operation ended in success. This time it was decided that both ships would be piloted: this allowed to avoid such mistakes as that of the Soyuz-3 commander. It is probably for this reason that the cosmonauts Vladimir Shatalov and Boris Volynov became the understudy and reserve of the Beregovoi commanders of the ships participating in the flight. At the same time, the cosmonaut, who was preparing for the first docking with Komarov, entered the crew of the latter: in 1967, Alexey Yeliseyev was supposed to fly aboard the Soyuz-2 in the year. The third member of the Volynov crew was cosmonaut Yevgeny Khrunov.

Three astronauts went on a flight on the Soyuz-5, which started from Baikonur at seven in the morning on 15 in January of 1969. The day before, at half past seven in the morning on January 14, the Soyuz-4 ship, piloted by Vladimir Shatalov, went into orbit. The Quartet was an active ship, along which the Five was guided and docked.


Vladimir Shatalov shows mock-up stages of the Soyuz-4 and Soyuz-5 docking. Photo: chaltlib.ru

The spacecraft met in orbit around eight in the morning on January 16. Up to the distance of 100 meters between them they were led by automatics, and the commanders, Volynov and Shatalov, completed the docking. It was Shatalov, when the ships docked, could not resist a cry of delight: "There is a handshake!"

After the "Unions" docked, it was time to accomplish the second main mission of the flight: working out the transfer of astronauts from ship to ship through open space. At Eliseev and Khrunov, with whom Volynov helped put on the spacesuits and left in the orbital compartment, behind a manned manhole, the transition took 37 minutes. During this time, both came out of Soyuz-5, going over the handrail (it was impossible to step on the trim covered with sensors), got to Soyuz-4 and entered its orbital compartment, where they were sealed after pressure sealing and equalization Shatalov. By the way, the last minutes before the cosmonauts came out, the Soyuz-5 commander hesitated whether to give them a go-ahead for exit: the medical telemetry of both showed that their excitement was too high for pressure and pulse, but this quickly passed.

The transition process from one docked ship to another was watched live by thousands of Soviet television viewers: it was broadcast on the central channel. But the docking in the USSR could not be seen: the ships made it over South America, from where the signal passed badly. And all the viewers could watch how Khrunov, barely leaving the hatch, suddenly stopped and stopped moving. It turned out that the cosmonaut did not have a ventilation and cooling system, and it took a few minutes to figure out: the cause of the malfunction was just the toggle switch that was not turned on.

In the docked state, the ships spent four and a half hours in orbit, after which they “parted”. The crew members of the Five, who had switched to Soyuz-4, went back to Earth on this ship, and their commander piloted the returning Soyuz-5 alone. And almost died. At first, the compartment separation system did not work, and the descent module entered the atmosphere with a “trailer” that threatened to destroy it. But in the end, overload while decreasing worked as a failed pyrosystem, tearing off the extra compartments. Instead, he was late with the opening of the main parachute, in which, when he did open, the lines were also messed up. As a result, Boris Volynov made a very hard landing, which cost him the broken roots of the upper teeth and withdrew from the cosmonaut corps for five years: he returned to flying only in 1976 year.
Author:
Originator:
http://rusplt.ru/wins/est-rukopojatie-20760.html
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Infinity
    Infinity 19 January 2016 18: 30 New
    +5
    Quite an important event in terms of the development of space technology!
  2. dmi.pris
    dmi.pris 19 January 2016 18: 35 New
    +6
    A very interesting article, while the details of the docking were not reported, especially the problems .. Well done guys, what can you say ..
  3. Dezinto
    Dezinto 19 January 2016 18: 44 New
    +9
    Backward scoop. Oaths by the Communists.

    The first man in space. The first spacewalk. Robots on the moon and Venus.
    1. Blondy
      Blondy 19 January 2016 19: 08 New
      +6
      Quote: DEZINTO
      Backward scoop. Oaths by the Communists.

      The first man in space. The first spacewalk. Robots on the moon and Venus.

      That's it, while we use the Soviet achievements. The current projects led by effective managers, despite all the PR, look against this background as a kind of intellectual and technological masturbation.
  4. stonks
    stonks 19 January 2016 19: 01 New
    +8
    The astronaut is a very dangerous profession.
    The astronauts have extraordinary courage and a sense of duty.
    I respect the astronauts.
  5. Temer
    Temer 19 January 2016 19: 04 New
    +4
    Here they must be called HEROES !!!!! Eternal glory to these people !!!
  6. avia1991
    avia1991 19 January 2016 19: 16 New
    +3
    As a result, Boris Volynov made a very hard landing, which cost him the broken roots of his upper teeth and removed him from the cosmonaut squad for five years: he returned to flying only in 1976.
    How many events in one flight! Glory to God - ALIVE remained! .. And how many similar events do we not know? .. Space obeyed dearly. GLORY TO OUR COSMONAUTES, SCIENTISTS AND EVERYONE WHO "TRAINED" THIS ROAD!
  7. Mercenary
    Mercenary 19 January 2016 22: 51 New
    +2
    First docking 1969 And overly programmatic and prudent Americans in the same year "landed" on the moon? Is it like a demon of support, a demon of cover, a demon of a fallback? Without the possibility of docking and the possibility in an extreme situation to return. They were not on the moon - definitely!
    1. Wheel
      Wheel 19 January 2016 23: 57 New
      +1
      Quote: Mercenary
      They were not on the moon - definitely!

      Shhhh ...
      Only Kaptsov do not talk about it! laughing
    2. kugelblitz
      kugelblitz 20 January 2016 20: 30 New
      0
      The Americans were stirring something with Gemini and supposedly docking with Agena. Although their exploits are much doubtful.
  8. mishastich
    mishastich 20 January 2016 09: 00 New
    +1
    Whatever the managers we have in Power, Cosmos is our ticket to the future, we are obliged to develop it.
  9. kugelblitz
    kugelblitz 20 January 2016 20: 27 New
    0
    By the way, these flights actually worked out the docking module and the docking system itself for ... Soyuz-LK. Those. flight to the moon, as well as full compliance with the transition of the astronaut from the lander to the orbital module.

«Есть рукопожатие!»

«Есть рукопожатие!»


16 января 1969 года советские космонавты провели первую в мире стыковку пилотируемых космических кораблей на околоземной орбите
После первого пилотируемого полета в космос, осуществленного в СССР 12 апреля 1961 года, космические программы что в Советском Союзе, что в США стали развиваться колоссальными темпами. Число ежегодных пилотируемых полетов росло, но вместе с тем росла и опасность, подстерегавшая космонавтов. Одной из самых серьезных стал риск навсегда остаться на орбите из-за отказа систем управления или оказаться закупоренным в неисправном космическом корабле.


Единственным способом обеспечить помощь космонавту, попавшему в такое катастрофическое положение, была разработка и воплощение систем стыковки космических кораблей на околоземной орбите. Она же была нужна и для того, чтобы перейти от первой стадии освоения космоса — продолжительных полетов одиночных кораблей с ограниченным ресурсом жизнеобеспечения — к длительной работе на орбитальных станциях.

Первый шаг в отработке систем стыковки в реальных условиях космоса был сделан 30 октября 1967 года в СССР. В этот день на орбите в автоматическом режиме состыковались беспилотные космические аппараты «Космос-186» и «Космос-188». По сути это были два корабля серии «Союз», но необитаемые. Следующим шагом должна была стать уже пилотируемая стыковка, но она сорвалась из-за неисправности. На стартовавшем 23 апреля 1967 года космическом корабле «Союз-1», которым управлял летчик-космонавт Владимир Комаров, не раскрылась одна из панелей солнечных батарей, и полет решено было прервать. В итоге он и вовсе закончился трагедией: 24 апреля во время спуска не раскрылся основной парашют спускаемого аппарата, и полковник Комаров погиб.

Неудачей закончилась и вторая попытка пилотируемой стыковки, предпринятая 26 октября 1968 года. Космонавт Георгий Береговой на корабле «Союз-3» должен был пристыковаться к летавшему в автоматическом режиме беспилотному «Союзу-2». Однако сделать этого он не смог: при подходе на стыковку он ошибся в ориентации своего корабля по крену, развернув его фактически «вверх ногами», и не смог состыковать корабли.

Только через два с половиной месяца третья операция по отработке стыковки закончилась успехом. На сей раз решено было, что пилотироваться будут оба корабля: это позволяло избежать таких ошибок, как у командира «Союза-3». Вероятно, именно потому командирами кораблей, участвовавших в полете, стали дублер и резерв Берегового — космонавты Владимир Шаталов и Борис Волынов. При этом в экипаж последнего вошел и космонавт, готовившийся к первой стыковке с Комаровым: Алексей Елисеев в 1967 году должен был лететь на корабле «Союз-2». Третьим членом волыновского экипажа был космонавт Евгений Хрунов.

Трое летчиков-космонавтов отправились в полет на корабле «Союз-5», который стартовал с Байконура в семь утра 15 января 1969 года. За сутки до этого, в полвосьмого утра 14 января оттуда же на орбиту отправился корабль «Союз-4», который пилотировал Владимир Шаталов. «Четверка» была активным кораблем, по которому наводилась и к которому пристыковывалась «пятерка».


Владимир Шаталов показывает на макетах этапы стыковки «Союза-4» и «Союза-5». Фото: chaltlib.ru

Корабли встретились на орбите около восьми утра 16 января. До расстояния 100 метров между ними их вела автоматика, а завершали стыковку уже командиры — Волынов и Шаталов. Именно Шаталов, когда корабли состыковались, не удержался от возгласа восторга: «Есть рукопожатие!»

После того как «Союзы» состыковались, пришло время выполнить вторую главную задачу полета: отработку перехода космонавтов из корабля на корабль через открытый космос. У Елисеева и Хрунова, которым Волынов помог надеть скафандры и оставил в орбитальном отсеке, задраив за собой люк пилотируемого, переход занял 37 минут. За это время оба вышли из «Союза-5», перебирая руками по поручню (наступать на обшивку, покрытую датчиками, было невозможно), добрались до «Союза-4» и вошли в его орбитальный отсек, где их после герметизации и уравнивания давления встретил Шаталов. Кстати, последние минуты перед выходом космонавтов командир «Союза-5» колебался, давать ли им «добро» на выход: медицинская телеметрия обоих показывала, что от волнения у них зашкаливают давление и пульс, однако это быстро прошло.

Процесс перехода из одного пристыкованного корабля в другой в прямом эфире наблюдали тысячи советских телезрителей: он транслировался по центральному каналу. А вот стыковку в СССР увидеть не смогли: корабли совершали ее над Южной Америкой, откуда сигнал проходил плохо. И все телезрители могли наблюдать за тем, как Хрунов, едва выйдя из люка, вдруг замер и перестал двигаться. Оказалось, что у космонавта не работала система вентиляции и охлаждения, и понадобилось несколько минут, чтобы разобраться: причиной неполадки был всего лишь невключенный тумблер.

В состыкованном состоянии корабли провели на орбите четыре с половиной часа, после чего «расстались». Перешедшие на «Союз-4» члены экипажа «пятерки» так и отправились назад на Землю на этом корабле, а их командир пилотировал возвращающийся «Союз-5» в одиночку. И едва не погиб. Сначала не сработала система разделения отсеков, и спускаемый аппарат вошел в атмосферу с «прицепом», который грозил погубить его. Но в итоге перегрузка при снижении сработала как отказавшая пиросистема, оторвав лишние отсеки. Вместо этого опоздал с раскрытием основной парашют, у которого, когда он все-таки раскрылся, еще и перепутались стропы. В итоге Борис Волынов совершил очень жесткую посадку, которая стоила ему сломанных корней верхних зубов и на пять лет вывела из состава отряда космонавтов: вернулся к полетам он только в 1976 году.
Автор:
Сергей Антонов
Первоисточник:
http://rusplt.ru/wins/est-rukopojatie-20760.html
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

12 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти