Military Review

Faster sound - the feat of Ivan Ivaschenko

14
Faster sound - the feat of Ivan Ivaschenko



February 1 1950, the fighter MIG for the first time reached the speed of sound

Speed ​​is one of the key qualities of a combat aircraft. In this case, the "arms race" becomes a race in the truest sense of the word. Whoever is faster is closer to victory.

The rivalry of the speeds of combat aircraft was constantly from the moment of their appearance. Shortly after the end of World War II, the first jets approached the speed of sound - about 1191 km per hour. In October, 1947 was the first to break the sound barrier of Americans on an experimental Bell X-1 jet aircraft. A year later, the Soviet Union, destroyed by the recent war, caught up with rich Americans - our experimental jet aircraft La-176 in a dive for the first time exceeded the speed of sound.

From now on, the task arose of bringing to the speed of sound not only experimental, but also army jet Aviation. The first serial jet aircraft in the USSR was the MiG-15 fighter, created in 1947 at the design bureau of Mikoyan and Gurevich. Two years later, the combat vehicle went into mass production, and at one of the government meetings on aviation, Stalin personally ordered all further work to improve jet fighter aircraft on the basis of this particular aircraft. “We have a good MiG-15, and there is no sense in the near future to create new fighters, it is better to follow the path of modernization of the MiG ...”, the leader of the Soviet country said then.

One of the tasks of the MiG modernization was the issue of overcoming the sound barrier. The serial MiG-15 only approached this task and reached the maximum speed of 1042 km / h. The new experimental MiG received the name SI-1 and the swept wing located at an angle 45 degrees to the body of the aircraft.

The first flight of the prototype took place on January 14 1950 of the year at the airfield near Moscow in Zhukovsky (this experimental airfield is still working today). Test Hero of the new aircraft was appointed Hero of the Soviet Union, Lieutenant Colonel Ivan Timofeevich Ivashchenko.


Ivan Ivaschenko. Photo: wikipedia.org

The first departure of Ivan Ivashchenko 14 on January 1950 of the year on the experimental SI-1 fighter was successful. The new aircraft on the 40 km / h exceeded the speed of the most recent modifications of the serial MiG-15. 1 February 1950 of the year in the next flight Ivashchenko at an altitude of 2200 m dispersed the plane to speeds above 1100 km / h, reaching the speed of sound. Then this speed was demonstrated at a height exceeding 10 kilometers. It was a major success in the “arms race”, the race of speeds and the qualities of the newest combat aircraft.

However, for such success had to pay lives, as in this battle. The fact is that when the speed of sound is reached, the so-called “wave crisis” occurs - a change in the airflow pattern of the aircraft, which leads to the appearance of previously unknown vibrations and other effects on the body, wings and empennage of the aircraft.

At that time, these features of the “wave crisis” at the speed of sound have not yet been investigated and are thoroughly known. 17 March 1950, the test pilot Ivashchenko's plane in a steep dive, was literally destroyed by a “ripple effect” - from previously unknown vibrations at new super-speeds, the aircraft’s tail unit could not stand.

Experimental SI-1 crashed, Ivaschenko died. At the cost of his life, he, a real combat pilot, gained new knowledge critical to the "arms race". The future MiG-17 received a different tail, a new design from new materials.

Already in 1951, this most modern fighter at that time went into mass production. The aircraft received at a high price turned out to be very successful, it was in service for almost 20 years, successfully fought against the newest US aircraft in the skies of Korea and Vietnam.

This fighter was produced not only in the USSR, but was also produced under license in China, Poland and Czechoslovakia - in total, over 11 thousands of MiG-17 copies of all modifications were produced. In total, this fighter was in service with more than forty states, and in most of these countries he had the opportunity to participate in hostilities - this MiG-17 is unique among all combat aircraft in the world.
Author:
Originator:
http://rusplt.ru/wins/byistree-zvuka--podvig-ivana-ivaschenko-21059.html
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. svp67
    svp67 6 February 2016 06: 53
    +5
    Yes, that’s how the history of aviation was made and alas, but on the way of its development, there are too many graves along the sidelines, and it’s good that we do not forget about these people.
    1. vyinemeynen
      vyinemeynen 6 February 2016 09: 46
      +3
      Eternal memory to the peasants who died for their homeland at military posts!
  2. Amurets
    Amurets 6 February 2016 07: 51
    18
    I do not agree with the author that the MiG-15 is the first serial jet fighter. What to do with 280 Yak-15 fighters and 602 MiG-9 fighters, or is it piece production? Or prototypes. Many thanks to I.T. Ivashchenko. A. Kochetkov, I. Ivashchenko, and a whole galaxy of the best test pilots went through the unknown to the achievements of modern aviation. Stefanovsky's books were correctly titled "Three hundred unknowns" and Gallay "Through invisible barriers." The testers of that time, risking their lives, went through flutter , pulling into a dive, a sound barrier to modern aviation.
    1. svp67
      svp67 6 February 2016 17: 36
      +2
      Quote: Amurets
      .There are 280 YAK-15 and 602 MiG-9 fighters, or is it piece production

      Well, for that matter, the 430 Yak-17 and Yak-17UTI will be recorded where, because for the frequent reason it was thanks to the Yak-17UTI that the pilots were retrained on the MiG-15
    2. veteran66
      veteran66 6 February 2016 20: 11
      0
      Quote: Amurets
      I do not agree with the author that

      Is MiG-17 fought in Korea?
      1. svp67
        svp67 6 February 2016 20: 41
        +2
        Quote: veteran66
        Is MiG-17 fought in Korea?

        It is not clear why your question is. In general, "17" has a rich combat life, he was noted in the Middle East in Vietnam, and in neighboring countries, and in Cuba, not to mention all sorts of Africa
        And the DPRK MiG17 arrived after the end of active hostilities, let me remind you that there is still no peace treaty between the DPRK and the ROK, and "17" had to fight the same, for example:
        April 15, 1969 two MiG-17 air forces of the DPRK shot down a long-range radar detection aircraft EU-121 US Navy. A plane with 31 troops on board crashed into the Sea of ​​Japan

        And today they are still in service. Take a closer look at them in the background
        1. veteran66
          veteran66 8 February 2016 20: 56
          0
          Quote: svp67
          What is your question is not clear.

          if you don’t take the question out of the context of the conversation, then an intelligent person will understand that it was a conflict of 50-53 years, and there weren’t there (MiG-17)
  3. thinker
    thinker 6 February 2016 09: 42
    +3
    There is a good film of that time and the conquest of speed, about Pilots.
    1. Aleksandr1959
      Aleksandr1959 6 February 2016 14: 57
      +2
      It's a pity you can't find the second film "Beyond the Horizon" anywhere on the Internet. No matter how much I looked, I did not find it. And the movie is great.
    2. svp67
      svp67 6 February 2016 15: 55
      +3
      Quote: thinker
      There is a good film of that time and the conquest of speed, about Pilots.

      Thank God there are a lot of such films, and this one is almost worse than the one you proposed
  4. RomanS
    RomanS 6 February 2016 12: 22
    +5
    The author put a minus for the article. The topic of the article is not disclosed. Historical data is vanishingly small. How to write texts is taught in the third grade of high school (section: working with text). The conclusion is unprofessional.
  5. wow
    wow 6 February 2016 18: 14
    +3
    Dad flew on the MiG-17PF in the mid-50s. The glory of God is still alive. Then on the MiG-21 many modifications, but the 17th still remembers and, only with the kindest word.
    1. veteran66
      veteran66 6 February 2016 20: 15
      +2
      Quote: yo-mine
      Dad flew on the MiG-17PF

      mine too, then I switched from a flashlight to a Su-9 ... "chizhalo", the designer is dry, the technician is thin, the plane is damp, and the pilot is wet. And on the flashlights it was good to misbehave, since he served in DalVO.
  6. vasilev
    vasilev 6 January 2017 20: 47
    0
    About this MiG 17 in the song "phantom" is sung. "... I see a white line in the sky, this is a MiG 17 on the tail ..."

Быстрее звука — подвиг Ивана Иващенко

Быстрее звука — подвиг Ивана Иващенко


1 февраля 1950 года истребитель МИГ впервые достиг скорости звука

Скорость — одно из ключевых качеств боевого самолета. Именно в этом случае «гонка вооружений» становится гонкой в прямом смысле этого слова. Кто быстрее, тот и ближе к победе.


Соперничество скоростей боевых самолетов шла постоянно с момента их появления. Вскоре после окончания Второй мировой войны первые реактивные самолеты приблизились к скорости звука — около 1191 км в час. В октябре 1947 года первыми преодолели звуковой барьер американцы на экспериментальном реактивном самолете Bell X-1. Через год разрушенный недавней войной Советский Союз догнал богатых американцев — наш экспериментальный реактивный самолет Ла-176 в пикировании впервые превысил скорость звука.

Отныне встала задача приблизить к скорости звука не только экспериментальную, но и армейскую реактивную авиацию. Первым серийным реактивным самолетом в СССР стал истребитель МиГ-15, созданный в 1947 году в конструкторском бюро Микояна и Гуревича. Через два года боевая машина пошла в серийное производство, а на одном из правительственных совещаний по авиации Сталин лично распорядился все дальнейшие работы по совершенствованию реактивных истребителей вести на базе именно этого самолета. «У нас есть хороший МиГ-15, и нет смысла на ближайшее время создавать новые истребители, лучше идти по пути модернизации МиГа...», — сказал тогда вождь Советской страны.

Одной из задач модернизации МиГа стал вопрос преодоления звукового барьера. Серийный МиГ-15 лишь приблизился к этой задаче и достигал максимальной скорости 1042 км/ч. Новый экспериментальный МиГ получил наименование СИ-1 и стреловидное крыло, расположенное под углом 45 градусов к корпусу самолета.

Первый полет опытной машины состоялся 14 января 1950 года на подмосковном аэродроме в Жуковском (этот экспериментальный аэродром работает и в наши дни). Летчиком-испытателем нового самолета был назначен Герой Советского Союза подполковник Иван Тимофеевич Иващенко.

Быстрее звука — подвиг Ивана Иващенко

Иван Иващенко. Фото: wikipedia.org

Первый вылет Ивана Иващенко 14 января 1950 года на экспериментальном истребителе СИ-1 прошел успешно. Новый самолет на 40 км/ч превысил скорость самых последних модификаций серийного МиГ-15. 1 февраля 1950 года в очередном полете Иващенко на высоте 2200 м разогнал самолет до скорости выше 1100 км/ч, достигнув скорости звука. Затем эту скорость новая машина продемонстрировала и на высоте, превышающей 10 километров. Это был крупный успех в «гонке вооружений», гонке скоростей и качеств новейших боевых самолетов.

Однако за такие успехи приходилось платить жизнями, как в настоящем бою. Дело в том, что при достижении скорости звука происходит так называемый «волновой кризис» — изменение характера обтекания летательного аппарата воздушным потоком, что приводит к появлению ранее неизвестных вибраций и иных воздействий на корпус, крылья и оперение самолета.

В то время эти особенности «волнового кризиса» на скорости звука еще не были исследованы и досконально известны. 17 марта 1950 года самолет летчика-испытателя Иващенко в крутом пикировании был буквально разрушен «волновым эффектом» — от ранее неизвестных вибраций на новых сверхскоростях не выдержало хвостовое оперение самолета.

Экспериментальный СИ-1 разбился, Иващенко погиб. Ценой своей жизни он, настоящий боевой летчик, добыл новые знания, критически важные для «гонки вооружений». Будущий МиГ-17 получил иное хвостовое оперение, новой конструкции из новых материалов.

Уже в 1951 году этот самый современный на тот момент истребитель пошел в серийное производство. Полученный дорогой ценой самолет оказался очень удачным, он состоял на вооружении почти 20 лет, с успехом воевал против новейших самолетов США в небе Кореи и Вьетнама.

Данный истребитель выпускался не только в СССР, но и по лицензии производился в Китае, Польше и Чехословакии — в общей сложности было выпущено свыше 11 тысяч экземпляров МиГ-17 всех модификаций. Всего же этот истребитель состоял на вооружении более чем сорока государств, причем в большинстве этих стран ему довелось участвовать в боевых действиях — в этом МиГ-17 уникален среди всех боевых самолетов мира.
Автор: Алексей Волынец
Первоисточник: http://rusplt.ru/wins/byistree-zvuka--podvig-ivana-ivaschenko-21059.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13
  1. svp67 6 февраля 2016 06:53
    Да, вот так и делалась история авиации и увы, но на пути её развития, слишком много могил по обочинам, и хорошо, что мы не забываем об этих людях.
    1. vyinemeynen 6 февраля 2016 09:46
      Вечная Память мужикам погибшим за Родину на боевых постах!
  2. амурец 6 февраля 2016 07:51
    Не согласен с автором в том что МиГ-15-первый серийный реактивный истребитель.Куда девать 280 истребителей ЯК-15 и 602 истребителя МиГ-9 или это штучная продукция?Или опытные экземпляры.За то что вспомнили И.Т.Иващенко большое спасибо.А.Кочетков,И.Иващенко,да целая плеяда лучших лётчиков-испытателей шли через неизвестное к достижениям современной авиации.Правильно назвали свои книги Стефановский "Триста неизвестных" и Галлай "Через невидимые барьеры".Испытатели той поры,рискуя жизнью,шли через флаттер,затягивание в пикирование,звуковой барьер к современной авиации.
    1. svp67 6 февраля 2016 17:36
      Цитата: амурец
      .Куда девать 280 истребителей ЯК-15 и 602 истребителя МиГ-9 или это штучная продукция

      Ну уж если на то пошло то и 430 Як-17 и Як-17УТИ куда записывать будем, ведь за частую именно благодаря Як-17УТИ происходило переучивание летчиков на МиГ-15
    2. veteran66 6 февраля 2016 20:11
      Цитата: амурец
      Не согласен с автором в том что

      а разве МиГ-17 в Корее воевал?
      1. svp67 6 февраля 2016 20:41
        Цитата: veteran66
        а разве МиГ-17 в Корее воевал?

        Не понятен к чему Ваш вопрос. У "17" вообще то богатая боевая жизнь, он и на Ближнем Востоке отметился и во Вьетнаме, и в соседних с ним странах, и на Кубе, не говоря уж про всякие Африки
        А в КНДР МиГ17 поступили уже по окончанию активных боевых действий, напомню,что мирного договора между КНДР и РК нет до сих пор, и "17" пришлось то же повоевать к примеру:
        15 апреля 1969 г. два МиГ-17 ВВС КНДР сбили самолёт дальнего радиолокационного обнаружения ЕС-121 ВМС США. Самолёт с 31 военнослужащими на борту упал в Японское море

        И они сегодня еще на вооружении. Присмотритесь их видно на заднем плане
        1. veteran66 8 февраля 2016 20:56
          Цитата: svp67
          Не понятен к чему Ваш вопрос.

          если не вырывать вопрос из контекста беседы, то умному человеку будет понятно, что речь шла о конфликте 50-53 годов, а там их (МиГ-17) не было
  3. мыслитель 6 февраля 2016 09:42
    Есть хороший фильм том времени и покорении скорости, о Лётчиках.
    1. Александр1959 6 февраля 2016 14:57
      Жаль нигде в сети нельзя найти второй фильм "Там за горизонтом". Сколько не искал, не нашел. А фильм отличный.
    2. svp67 6 февраля 2016 15:55
      Цитата: мыслитель
      Есть хороший фильм том времени и покорении скорости, о Лётчиках.

      Слава Богу их много таких фильмов и вот этот не чуть не хуже предложенного Вами
  4. RomanS 6 февраля 2016 12:22
    Автору за статью поставил минус. Тема статьи не раскрыта. Исторические данные исчезающе малы. Как писать тексты учат в третьем классе средней школы(раздел: работа с текстом). Вывод- непрофессионально.
  5. ё-моё 6 февраля 2016 18:14
    Батя летал на МиГ-17ПФ в середине 50-х годов. Жив слава Богу до сих пор. Потом на МиГ-21 многих модификаций, но 17-й вспоминает до сих пор и, только самым добрым словом.
    1. veteran66 6 февраля 2016 20:15
      Цитата: ё-моё
      Батя летал на МиГ-17ПФ

      мой тоже, потом с мигаря на Су-9 пересел... "чижало", конструктор - сухой, техник - худой, самолёт - сырой, а лётчик мокрый. А на мигарях хорошо было похулиганить, благо в ДальВО служил.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня