Military Review

Right-handed cutter

4
Recently, for “Military Review”, I wrote a material about how the gingerbreads that worked in the “Old Tula” factory (at that time it was called the Artel “Disabled Person’s Work”) helped the front. But, talking about what I know, I lost sight of history carver Pavel Ignatievich Veresov. This man is my countryman, a native of Novoulyanka village, Usmansky district of the Lipetsk region. And his story is one of many examples of courage to be known about.


Right-handed cutter


You can say, printed gingerbread begins with birch. Because it is from this tree that the forms are cut out. Birch is not suitable for everyone, but only "at the age of" about thirty years. And only the lower part of the trunk is suitable. First, it must be cut into boards with a thickness of about five centimeters. And then dry them at a natural temperature of five to twenty years! And only after that the carver applies a drawing on the future shape.

In the old days, good carvers, as well as good pastry chefs, were given special respect. There is a case in which the peasant woman-gingerbread brought the boards in the form of various fish to the queen Evdokia Lukyanovna, grandmother of Peter the Great. On that day, the empress was ill, but ordered to let the craftswoman. And granted her a gift already three cows!

Today, boards for gingerbread, as in the old days, are cut by hand, with the help of a knife and sewed. Therefore, in the entire history of the Tula confectionery factory (which is about a century and a half), only about a thousand boards were created. The author of about seventy of them is Pavel Ignatievich Veresov. In the Tula museum are stored several gingerbread, "printed" in the sixties of the last century in its forms.

When the Great Patriotic War began, Pavel Ignatievich was about thirty years old, he was already known as an excellent master carver. Almost the whole Artel accompanied him to the front. Soldier Veresov was assigned to the infantry, he got on the Volkhov front, and after its liquidation he participated in all the battles of the Karelian front. Pavel Ignatievich fought for Kirishi and MGU, broke through the blockade of Leningrad, liberated Novgorod. By the beginning of 1945, several medals “For Courage” and the Order of the Patriotic War of the second degree shone on his chest. And 30 April 1945, the trouble happened to him: it hit a mine. Doctors in the hospital without any understatement fought for the right hand of Veresov. But the battle was lost: the hand had to be taken away.

The carver, who loved his business unconsciously, was left without the most important tool ... There, in the hospital, seeing a pitiful cult, Pavel Ignatievich did not want to live. But to his happiness, in the same ward lay an elderly soldier, whose name I, unfortunately, do not know. This soldier lost both hands, and before the war he worked as a tailor. And he, seeing the state of Veresov, said something like these:

- Our grief with you is not the most terrible. As long as a person is alive, it means that everything that has fallen to him before that time can be transferred. Though I am elderly, I am not going to part with my craft. I will ask the familiar masters - the needles of large size will make me. Somehow I’ll adapt to keep their remaining elbows. And you have one whole hand. Don't disgrace, man! Do not be fainthearted! Imagine if this was your wife or mother who wanted to deprive herself of her life because of such a loss. Would you understand her, forgive her? ..

Pavel Ignatievich cried all night. And in the morning he took himself in hand and began to live in a new way.

For more than a year, he was used to being left-handed, he learned to write, draw and cut anew. He invented and made a special fixture to the table so that the board would firmly rest on it. He fought the misfortune for himself, and fought the same way as he had not so long ago - against the fascists: desperately, to the last. And won.

More than thirty years of life gave the master favorite business. He cut the last board, being already retired. At this time, Pavel Ignatievich developed hyperopia. He clearly saw distant objects, but could not read or write. Even the faces of people standing close saw him formless pancakes. The glasses did not really help him, they could not be picked up so that they would immediately fit in both eyes, one would certainly begin to ache and water.
The carver came up with such a technique: retreated to the far corner of the room, looked at his work, memorized all the flaws and outlined future lines. And then cut almost to the touch.

For many years Pavel Ignatievich is dead. And in the Tula Museum on Oktyabrskaya Street there are several gingerbreads, “printed” from the master’s forms.
Author:
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. magician
    magician 2 March 2016 07: 07
    +5
    Tula has always been famous for artisans.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 2 March 2016 07: 42
    +6
    You can say the Tale of the real man-2, in a somewhat condensed form, but about the same thing, about the strength of spirit .. Thank you ..
  3. guzik007
    guzik007 2 March 2016 09: 36
    +6
    We have a boy living in Kazan without both hands. Yes, and parents refused. So in the orphanage he himself learned to play the piano. Yes, so that he became a celebrity. Look in YouTube. Thank goodness the kid now has a foster family.
  4. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 2 March 2016 18: 50
    +1
    Insightful Soul Article! Thank!

Резчик без правой руки

Недавно для «Военного обозрения» я написала материал о том, как пряничницы, работавшие на фабрике «Старая Тула» (в ту пору она называлась Артелью «Труд инвалида»), помогали фронту. Но, рассказывая о том, что мне известно, я упустила из виду историю резчика Павла Игнатьевича Вересова. Этот человек — мой земляк, уроженец села Новоуглянка Усманского района Липецкой области. А история его — один из многих примеров мужества, о котором надо знать.

Резчик без правой руки


Можно сказать, печатный пряник начинается с берёзы. Потому как именно из этого дерева вырезают формы. Берёза подходит не каждая, а только «в возрасте» около тридцати лет. Причём годится лишь нижняя часть ствола. Сначала её нужно разрезать на доски толщиной около пяти сантиметров. А потом сушить их при естественной температуре от пяти до двадцати лет! И только после этого резчик наносит на будущую форму рисунок.


В старину хорошим резчикам, как и хорошим кондитерам, оказывали особое уважение. Известен случай, когда царице Евдокии Лукьяновне, бабушке Петра Великого, крестьянка-пряничница принесла доски в виде разных рыб. В тот день государыня была больна, однако велела впустить мастерицу. И пожаловала ей за подарок аж три коровы!

Сегодня доски для пряников, как и в старину, вырезают вручную, при помощи ножа и шила. Поэтому за всю историю существования тульской кондитерской фабрики (а это примерно полтора века) досок было создано только около тысячи. Автор примерно семидесяти из них – Павел Игнатьевич Вересов. В тульском музее хранятся несколько пряников, «отпечатанных» в шестидесятых годах прошлого века в его формах.

Когда началась Великая отечественная война, Павлу Игнатьевичу было около тридцати лет, он уже слыл отличным мастером-резчиком. На фронт его провожала почти вся Артель. Солдата Вересова определили в пехоту, он попал на Волховский фронт, а после его ликвидации участвовал во всех боях Карельского фронта. Павел Игнатьевич бился за Кириши и Мгу, прорывал блокаду Ленинграда, освобождал Новгород. К началу 1945 года на его груди сияло несколько медалей «За отвагу» и Орден Отечественной войны второй степени. А 30 апреля 1945 года случилась с ним беда: подорвался на мине. Врачи в госпитале без преуменьшения сражались за правую руку Вересова. Но сражение проиграли: руку пришлось отнять.

Резчик, который без памяти любил своё дело, остался без самого главного инструмента... Там, в госпитале, увидев жалкую культю, Павел Игнатьевич не хотел жить. Но на его счастье, в той же палате лежал уже пожилой солдат, имени которого я, к сожалению, не знаю. Этот солдат лишился обеих рук, а до войны работал портным. И он, увидев состояние Вересова, сказал примерно такие слова:

- Наше с тобой горе — не самое лютое. Пока человек жив, стало быть, всё, что выпало до той поры ему на долю, он перенести может. Я хоть и пожилой, а со своим ремеслом расставаться не собираюсь. Попрошу знакомых мастеров — сделают мне иглы большого размера. Уж как-нибудь приспособлюсь держать их оставшимися локтями. А у тебя вообще одна рука целая. Не позорься, парень! Не малодушничай! Представь, если бы это твоя жена или мать хотела себя жизни лишить из-за такой потери. Понял бы ты её, простил бы?..

Всю ночь проплакал Павел Игнатьевич. А утром взял себя в руки и начал жить по-новому.

Больше года он привыкал быть левшой, заново учился писать, рисовать и вырезать. Придумал и сделал специальный крепёж к столу, чтобы доска прочно на нём держалась. Он боролся с бедой за себя, и боролся так же, как ещё не так давно — с фашистами: отчаянно, до последнего. И победил.

Больше тридцати лет жизни отдал мастер любимому делу. Последнюю доску он вырезал, будучи уже на пенсии. В это время у Павла Игнатьевича развилась дальнозоркость. Он чётко видел далёкие предметы, но не мог ни читать, писать. Даже лица стоящих близко людей виделись ему бесформенными блинами. Очки ему толком не помогли, их так и не смогли подобрать, чтобы подходили сразу на оба глаза, один непременно начинал болеть и слезиться.
Резчик придумал такой приём: отходил в дальний угол комнаты, разглядывал свою работу, запоминал все изъяны и намечал будущие линии. А потом вырезал практически на ощупь.

Уже много лет Павла Игнатьевича нет в живых. А в тульском музее на улице Октябрьской хранится несколько пряников, «отпечатанных» с форм мастера.
Автор: Софья Милютинская


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 4
  1. кудесник 2 марта 2016 07:07
    Тула всегда славилась мастеровым людом.
  2. parusnik 2 марта 2016 07:42
    Можно, сказать Повесть о настоящем человеке-2, в несколько сжатом варианте, но о том же, о силе духа..Спасибо..
  3. guzik007 2 марта 2016 09:36
    У нас в Казани живет мальчишка без обеих кистей.да еще и родители отказались. Так вот в детдоме сам научился играть на пианино.Да так,что стал знаменитостью.Смотрите в ютубе. Слава богу,у пацана сейчас есть приемная семья.
  4. казак волгский 2 марта 2016 18:50
    Проникновенная Душевная статья! Спасибо!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня