Military Review

Fought as for Russia

7
Narev operation allowed Russian army to retreat in an organized manner from Poland


The Narev operation 10 – 20 July 1915 of the year is almost unknown to the domestic reader. But in a strategic aspect, this battle decided the fate of Warsaw. So what was it - victory or defeat?

After the end of the Third Battle of Prasnysh, Russian troops in north-eastern Poland were able to withdraw and gain a foothold at the turn of the Narew, a right tributary of the Vistula.

Strategically, the Narew operation was one of the links in the enemy’s second Strategic Summer Cannes stage - on the northern flank of the Polish ledge. In the case of the rapid advance of the German troops and the success of the enemy armies on the southern flank of the "Polish balcony", our group in central Poland was surrounded. Moreover, a huge breach in the center of the Russian front could have the most adverse operational and strategic consequences and lead to a curtailment of the country's participation in a world war.

On both sides

The general of artillery M. von Galvits, realizing the tasks set by the front command, directed the main blow of his grouping to the positions of Russian troops in the cities of Rozhany (Ruzhin) and Pultusk. Under the cover of this maneuver, the German troops were to force the Narev above and below Rojan, taking advantage of the woodland in the valley of the river.

Our task was to sustain the defense of our positions in order to gain time needed to withdraw the formations of the 2 and part of the 4 armies from central Poland. The central group of the North-Western Front included 12, 1, 2 army and the Osovets fortress. The first two bore the brunt of the Narev operation.

The primary period of the battle was characterized by fierce battles for bridgeheads. The left flank of the German 8 Army (1 and 11-I land divisions) was constrained by the actions of the Osovets Fortress. Her heroic garrison pulled over an entire enemy corps.

The strike force of the 8 Army (10-I landver and 75-I reserve divisions) led the offensive between Lomzhe and Ostrolenka. Considering the fact that the Russian troops (the 5 Army Corps and the 9 Siberian Rifle Division) had a strong position on the right bank of the river, the Germans made four-day artillery training. The enemy’s hurricane fire destroyed the Russian trenches and field fortifications, but despite this, enemy attacks invariably fought back.

At the combat site of Ostroleka - Rozhany, there was a lull until July 12. But on the night of the 12, the German troops crossed the Narew below Ostrolenka along the ford found by the scouts - the summer of the 1915 was so hot that the river became shallow. The German infantry was entrenched on the left bank, on the right was a strong artillery grouping that allowed the enemy to hold the bridgehead. But Russian troops counterattacks did not allow him to expand.

Fought as for RussiaThe Russian rozhansky bridgehead was attacked on the night of July 10. The suddenness of the attack forced our units to withdraw to the second line of defense. Germanic sources point out the surprising persistence of the Russian troops. Only the crossing of the enemy below Rozhan, which threatened them with a tactical environment, forced them to retreat to the left bank of the Narew.

On July 12, the Germans, taking advantage of the stretched position of the 21 Army Corps, with the hurricane support of artillery of all calibers, attacked its right flank with considerable forces. At the same time, the enemy launched an offensive in the northeastern direction along the River Oge and hit the bridgehead at Pultusk. The 30 and 40 units of the infantry divisions heroically repelled the attacks of the many times superior enemy. Pultuskaya bridge position in the morning of July 10 beat off the Germans for two days, but its defenders, suppressed by the enemy’s fire and numerical superiority, slowly began to retreat to the left bank of Narew. Having secured themselves to the southeast of Pułtusk, the Russian troops stopped the enemy.

In order to guarantee the evacuation of Warsaw and to prepare the troops for withdrawal from central Poland, Russian connections on Narewa were required to hold out for several more days.

In this situation, the German command turned all its attention to the direction of Rojana - Ostrov. Here, at the junction of 1 and 12 armies, a fierce battle was fought for seven days. Both sides focused on this direction almost all the reserves. These battles are an example of the unsurpassed courage and unparalleled stubbornness of the Russian troops. A number of parts lost to 2 / 3 personnel. The Germans, possessing superiority in manpower and in technology, fiercely stormed the Russian positions day and night, repeatedly broke through the front, but the Russian troops counterattack restored the situation.

The fight in the operational direction of Rozhany-Ostrov was per each meter of territory, and during the seven days of the battle the enemy was able to advance only 18 kilometers. Germans actively used heavy artillery, airplanes and aerostats.

In other parts of the battle of Narew, fierce fighting took place on both sides of the river. Nevertheless, even by the end of the operation, Russian troops retained their bridgeheads on the right bank - on the Lomzhinskoy fortified position on the Ostrov-Serock line.

From Warsaw without defeat

During the 11 days of extremely stubborn fights, the Gulvitsa group was able to capture only a few bridgeheads on the left bank of the Narew. The forested and marshy nature of the terrain made it easier for the enemy to force the river, but at the same time made it difficult to maneuver and did not allow large troop masses to act. Instead of a ram attack, the German offensive broke up into a series of isolated advancements of varying degrees of power, but the strength of each was insufficient for a decisive result. Of particular importance for the stability of Russian troops was the fact that the flanks of the 1 and 12 armies relied on the fortress. Great influence on the course and outcome of the operation had the ability of the parties to operate with reserves and understanding of the command of their role in the modern war.

Military historian G. K. Korolkov wrote: “This battle is one of the most instructive on the Russian front. Here you can see the influence of the Osovets and Novogeorgievsk fortresses, which covered the flanks of the 12 and 1 of the Russian armies, the struggle for fortified positions at Rozhan and Pultusk, the crossing of the Narev, the struggle for random and poorly prepared rear positions and the interaction of different types of troops. ”

When on July 18 the Germans broke through the front of the 4 of the Siberian Army Corps, the situation was restored by a horse attack of the 1 separate cavalry brigade (19 of the Dragoon Arkhangelsk and 16 of the Irkutsk Husar Regiment). The Russian cavalry suffered heavy losses (the Archangelsk city lost two squadrons), but once again solved the most important tactical task - eliminated the breakthrough.

In strategic terms, the battle on the Narew decided the fate of Warsaw. The enemy was unable to achieve the main goal - to break through to Sedlec, closing the supposed “Cannes” ring from the north.

The German command of the Eastern Front was forced to state: “The operation in the east, despite the holding of the Narev strike, did not lead to the destruction of the enemy. The Russians broke out of the ticks and achieved frontal withdrawal in the direction desired for them. ” The Quartermaster General of the Eastern Front, M. Hoffman, noted: “Having crossed the Narew, the 12 Army hoped to have time to cut off some Russians from Warsaw. This hope has not been justified. ”

Russian troops left Poland to consolidate the front on the new frontiers and continue the struggle.
Author:
Originator:
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/31136
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. igordok
    igordok 2 July 2016 07: 53
    +3
    Fought as for Russia

    Strange name. Why HOW? Before the catastrophes of 1917, Poland was a province of Russia, annexed by the blood of ancestors.
    1. Nagaibak
      Nagaibak 2 July 2016 12: 23
      +3
      igordok "A strange name. Why HOW? Poland before the cataclysms of 1917 was a province of Russia, annexed by the blood of ancestors."
      I agree with you 100%))) They fought for Russia! - so the author had to write.)))
      1. xan
        xan 4 July 2016 13: 36
        0
        Quote: Nagaibak
        igordok "A strange name. Why HOW? Poland before the cataclysms of 1917 was a province of Russia, annexed by the blood of ancestors."
        I agree with you 100%))) They fought for Russia! - so the author had to write.)))

        Shaposhnikov, being the headquarters officer of the Russian troops in Poland during the start of the WWII, noted that surprisingly few Poles deviated from the mobilization of the Russian army, not more than 5%, and more than 40% were assumed. Poles are not pissed off. Gumilev, a volunteer of the Guards Cavalry, noted that the Polish local population, especially the urban poor and peasants, considered the Russian army to be their own.
    2. Sergej1972
      Sergej1972 2 July 2016 12: 50
      +3
      Rather, part of Poland. If we take the current borders of Poland, then the territory of the Kingdom of Poland is approximately 40% of the territory of modern Poland.
      Significant Polish territories were part of Austria and Germany.
  2. Kim Klimov
    Kim Klimov 2 July 2016 11: 15
    +5
    Glory to our ancestors!
  3. antivirus
    antivirus 2 July 2016 22: 46
    0
    the loss of Russian Poland and the appearance at the headquarters of German and Austro-Hungarian hangovers led to the collapse of the Romanov dynasty (the pearl in the crown - 75% of the Empire’s coal is from Lodz, etc., and politically dropped out of European salon circles)
  4. Army soldier2
    Army soldier2 3 July 2016 00: 17
    +2
    World War I must be studied in the same way as World War II. Key events should be studied in schools.
    The history of Russia's participation in the First World War is the history of feats, sacrifice and betrayal.

Бились, как за Россию

Наревская операция позволила русской армии организованно отступить из Польши

Наревская операция 10–20 июля 1915 года почти неизвестна отечественному читателю. А ведь в стратегическом аспекте это сражение решало судьбу Варшавы. Так чем же оно было – победой или поражением?

После завершения Третьего Праснышского сражения русские войска в северо-восточной Польше смогли отойти и закрепиться на рубеже Нарева, правого притока Вислы.


Стратегически Наревская операция была одним из звеньев второго этапа «Летних стратегических Канн» противника – на северном фланге польского выступа. В случае быстрого продвижения германских войск и успеха вражеских армий на южном фланге «польского балкона» наша группировка в центральной Польше попадала в окружение. Более того, огромная брешь в центре Русского фронта могла иметь самые неблагоприятные оперативно-стратегические последствия и привести к свертыванию участия страны в мировой войне.

По обоим берегам

Генерал артиллерии М. фон Гальвиц, реализуя поставленные командованием фронта задачи, основной удар своей группировки направил на позиции русских войск у городов Рожаны (Ружин) и Пултуск. Под прикрытием этого маневра германские войска должны были форсировать Нарев выше и ниже Рожан, пользуясь лесистой местностью в долине реки.

Нашей задачей была стойкая оборона занимаемых позиций с целью выиграть время, необходимое для отхода соединений 2-й и части 4-й армий из центральной Польши. Центральная группа Северо-Западного фронта включала в свой состав 12, 1, 2-ю армии и крепость Осовец. Первые две и вынесли на себе всю тяжесть Наревской операции.

Первостепенный период сражения характеризовался ожесточенными боями за плацдармы. Левый фланг германской 8-й армии (1 и 11-я ландверные дивизии) был скован действиями у крепости Осовец. Ее героический гарнизон оттянул на себя целый корпус противника.

Ударная группа 8-й армии (10-я ландверная и 75-я резервная дивизии) вела наступление между Ломжей и Остроленкой. Учитывая то обстоятельство, что на данном направлении у русских войск (5-й армейский корпус и 9-я сибирская стрелковая дивизия) на правом берегу реки имелась сильная позиция, германцы произвели четырехдневную артиллерийскую подготовку. Ураганный огонь противника разрушил русские окопы и полевые укрепления, но несмотря на это, вражеские атаки неизменно отбивались.

На боевом участке Остроленка – Рожаны до 12 июля наблюдалось затишье. Но в ночь на 12-е германские войска перешли Нарев ниже Остроленки по найденному разведчиками броду – лето 1915-го было настолько жаркое, что река значительно обмелела. Германская пехота закрепилась на левом берегу, на правом была размещена сильная артиллерийская группировка, позволившая неприятелю удержать плацдарм. Но русские войска контратаками не позволили его расширить.

Бились, как за РоссиюРожанский плацдарм русских войск был атакован в ночь на 10 июля. Внезапность нападения вынудила наши части отойти на вторую линию обороны. Германские источники отмечают удивительное упорство русских войск. Лишь переправа противника ниже Рожан, угрожавшая им тактическим окружением, заставила отойти на левый берег Нарева.

12 июля германцы, воспользовавшись растянутым положением 21-го армейского корпуса, при ураганной поддержке артиллерии всех калибров значительными силами атаковали его правый фланг. Одновременно противник начал наступление в северо-восточном направлении вдоль реки Ож и ударил по плацдарму у Пултуска. Части 30 и 40-й пехотных дивизий героически отражали атаки многократно превосходящего противника. Пултуская предмостная позиция с утра 10 июля в течение двух дней отбивала натиск германцев, но ее защитники, подавленные огневым и численным превосходством противника, начали медленно отходить на левый берег Нарева. Закрепившись к юго-востоку от Пултуска, русские войска остановили противника.

Для того чтобы гарантировать эвакуацию Варшавы и подготовить войска к отводу из центральной Польши, от русских соединений на Нареве требовалось продержаться еще несколько дней.

В сложившейся обстановке германское командование все свое внимание обратило на направление Рожаны – Остров. Здесь, на стыке 1 и 12-й армий, в течение семи дней шло ожесточенное сражение. Обе стороны сосредоточили на данном направлении почти все резервы. Эти бои – пример непревзойденного мужества и беспримерного упорства русских войск. Ряд частей потерял до 2/3 личного состава. Германцы, обладая превосходством и в живой силе, и в технике, днем и ночью яростно штурмовали русские позиции, многократно прорывали фронт, но русские войска контратаками восстанавливали положение.

Борьба на операционном направлении Рожаны – Остров шла за каждый метр территории, и за семь дней сражения противник смог продвинуться лишь на 18 километров. Германцы активно применяли тяжелую артиллерию, аэропланы и аэростаты.

На других участках Наревского сражения ожесточенные бои происходили по обе стороны реки. Тем не менее даже к концу операции русские войска сохранили плацдармы на правом берегу – на Ломжинской укрепленной позиции на линии Остров – Сероцк.

Из Варшавы без разгрома

За 11 дней крайне упорных боев группировка Гальвица смогла захватить лишь несколько плацдармов на левом берегу Нарева. Лесисто-болотистый характер местности облегчал противнику форсирование реки, но в то же время затруднял маневрирование и не позволял действовать крупными войсковыми массами. Вместо таранного удара германское наступление распалось на ряд изолированных выдвижений различной степени мощности, но сила каждого из них была недостаточна для решающего результата. Особое значение для устойчивости русских войск имело и то обстоятельство, что фланги 1 и 12-й армий опирались на крепости. Большое влияние на ход и исход операции оказали умение сторон оперировать резервами и понимание командованием их роли в современной войне.

Военный историк Г. К. Корольков писал: «Это сражение принадлежит к числу самых поучительных на русском фронте. Здесь можно видеть влияние крепостей Осовец и Новогеоргиевск, которые прикрывали фланги 12 и 1-й русских армий, борьбу за укрепленные позиции у Рожан и Пултуска, переправу через Нарев, борьбу на случайных и малоподготовленных тыловых позициях и взаимодействие разных родов войск».

Когда 18 июля у Тейска германцы прорвали фронт 4-го Сибирского армейского корпуса, положение было восстановлено конной атакой 1-й отдельной кавалерийской бригады (19-й драгунский Архангелогородский и 16-й гусарский Иркутский полки). Русская кавалерия понесла тяжелые потери (архангелогородцы потеряли два эскадрона), но вновь решила важнейшую тактическую задачу – ликвидировала прорыв.

В стратегическом аспекте сражение на Нареве решало судьбу Варшавы. Противник не смог добиться главной цели – прорваться к Седлецу, замкнув с севера кольцо предполагаемых «Канн».

Германское командование Восточного фронта было вынуждено констатировать: «Операция на востоке, несмотря на проведение Наревского удара, не привела к уничтожению противника. Русские вырвались из клещей и добились фронтального отхода в желательном для них направлении». Генерал-квартирмейстер Восточного фронта М. Гофман отмечал: «12-я армия, перейдя Нарев, надеялась успеть еще отрезать часть русских у Варшавы. Надежда эта не оправдалась».

Русские войска уходили из Польши, чтобы консолидировать фронт на новых рубежах и продолжить борьбу.
Автор: Алексей Олейников
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru/articles/31136


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. igordok 2 июля 2016 07:53
    Бились, как за Россию

    Странное название. Почему КАК? Польша до катаклизмов 1917года была провинцией России, присоединенной кровью предков.
    1. Нагайбак 2 июля 2016 12:23
      igordok"Странное название. Почему КАК? Польша до катаклизмов 1917года была провинцией России, присоединенной кровью предков."
      Согласен с Вами на все 100%))) Бились за Россию!- так надо было автору написать.)))
      1. xan 4 июля 2016 13:36
        Цитата: Нагайбак
        igordok"Странное название. Почему КАК? Польша до катаклизмов 1917года была провинцией России, присоединенной кровью предков."
        Согласен с Вами на все 100%))) Бились за Россию!- так надо было автору написать.)))

        Шапошников, будучи штабным офицером русских войск в Польше во время начала ПМВ, отмечал, что на удивление мало было отклонившихся от мобилизации в русскую армию поляков, не более 5%, а предполагалось более 40%. Поляки не ссыкуны. Гумилев, доброволец гвардейской кавалерии, отмечал, что польское местное население, особенно городская беднота и крестьяне, считало русскую армию своей.
        xan
    2. Sergej1972 2 июля 2016 12:50
      Скорее часть Польши. Если брать нынешние границы Польши, то территория Царства Польского составляет примерно 40% территории современной Польши.
      Значительные польские территории входили в состав Австрии и Германии.
  2. Ким Климов 2 июля 2016 11:15
    Слава нашим предкам!
  3. антивирус 2 июля 2016 22:46
    потеря русской Польши и появление в штабах германских и Австро-венгерских прихлебателей привела к крушению династии Романовых( жемчужина в короне- 75% угля Империи оказывается из Лодзи и т п, и политически выбыли из европейских салонных кругов)
  4. армеец2 3 июля 2016 00:17
    Первая мировая война должна быть изучена как же, как и Вторая мировая. Основные события должны изучаться в школах.
    История участия России в Первой мировой - история подвигов, самопожертвования и предательства.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня