Military Review

The Elusive Avery: The Story of the Luckiest Pirate

17
Englishman Henry Avery was called one of the most successful buccaneers and gentlemen of luck. He hunted in the waters of Africa and South Asia, where he managed to seize unprecedented for those times prey, taking aboard the ship "Gang-i-Sawai." In addition to money and precious stones, Avary went to Fatima, daughter of the Great Mongol. For the first time Daniel Defoe told about the life of the sea robber in the “Universal stories piracy. The book was published in London in 1724 year.
The Elusive Avery: The Story of the Luckiest Pirate


On the road to fame and fortune

If you believe the Dutchman Van Brook, who visited the ship of the pirate as a hostage, Henry once opened up with him. In a heart-to-heart conversation, the pirate confessed that his last name was made up. In fact, the robber is called Henry Bridgeman. And he had to hide his real name for one reason - Henry did not want to expose his relatives to the blow. True or not, it is hardly possible to find out. In addition, Brooke said that Henry was the son of the captain of a merchant ship, so he fell in love with the sea as a child. Growing up, he served on several warships. And in his life, everything went well, down to one incident. Henry changed wife. He was unable to forgive her and decided to start life from scratch by recruiting his first assistant on the 46 gun ship “Karl II”. Captain Gibson commanded the ship.

The ship commissioned by the Spaniards had to deliver weapons to America to fight pirates. But in the port of La Coruna, the frigate, as they say, was stuck for a long eight months. All this time, the sailors did not receive a salary. Captain Gibson reacted aggressively to the indignation of his subordinates and in no way tried to resolve the situation. All this led to the fact that at the beginning of May 1694, the team of "Karl" rebelled. Henry Avery stood at the head of the rebellion.

The captain and several of his supporters surrendered. They were put in a boat and sent to the shore. After that, Avery renamed the frigate “Charles II” to “Imagination” (according to another version - to “Fantasy”), raised a pirate flag and headed for the shores of West Africa. Here, the newly-made pirate and his crew hoped to improve their plight by trading ships. And their expectations were not deceived. In the waters of the islands of Cape Verde "Imagination" captured several British ships. In addition to provisions and weapons nine British joined the Avery team.

A little later, already in the waters of the Gulf of Guinea, Henry managed to capture a couple of Danish ships. Mining pleased. The share of each pirate was about nine ounces of gold. In addition, the number of teams increased by fourteen Danes who wanted to stand under the pirate flag.

According to some researchers, it is possible that Avery was the captain of a slave ship that smuggled black slaves illegally from Africa to America. This assumption is confirmed by the memories of Captain Phillips, who commanded the ship "Hannibal." He wrote that after the visit of Long-Had Ben (this is one of Avery’s nicknames) on the coast of Guinea, it was impossible to find at least one black man.

After Madagascar, the path of the robbers ran past the island of Anjouan (the second largest of the Comoros). Avery smiled luck again. He captured the gourab (sailboat-sailing ship) and a team of forty French freebooters. And they became part of the team of Henry.

But just a couple of days later, three ships of the East India Company approached Anjouan: the Benjamin, the Mokka and the Tonkin. Avery knew perfectly well that it was pointless to get involved in a bloody confrontation with the enemy. Therefore, he ordered his men to anchor and sail away without even entering into negotiations with the captains of the enemy ships. On the bank, Avery had to leave “one person from his company who had fallen ill before; his name was William May. ”

After wandering around, Avery made the decision to return to the island. There he recruited more than a dozen French and only after that left Anjouan.

Imagination, heading for the Red Sea, was a formidable force, and the number of Avery's international teams was about one hundred and seventy. On the way to the intended goal, Imagination met a couple of English pirate ships. Dolphin was commanded by Captain Richard Went. He was subordinate to about six dozen people. Joseph Faro Captain of Portsmouth Adventure. Under his command there were about the same number of pirates. After short negotiations, Went and Faro agreed to join Avery, who, of course, became the main one over the whole newly made flotilla.

In June 1695, the pirate ships appeared near the island of Perim, located at the entrance to the Red Sea. There, three more robber vessels joined Avery: Susanna, Pearl and Amity, under the command of Thomas Wake, Wilma Mays and Thomas Tew respectively. These ships had six guns in their arsenal, and the teams consisted of thirty to fifty people.

Thomas Tew shared valuable information with Avery: a flotilla with Indian pilgrims who were heading for Mecca was soon to appear in the Red Sea. Henry belonged to the category of such people who do not need to repeat twice. And soon a flotilla of six ships entered the Red Sea. However, in a short time the number of vessels decreased. One ship was destroyed because of its low speed, the second one got lost and fell behind.

Golden Jack

Four pirate ships were opposed by twenty-five Indian. Despite the numerical superiority of the enemy, the flotilla under the command of Avery managed to capture the Fat Mahmamadi, the second largest vessel. But the main goal - "Gang-i-Sawai" - managed to slip away.

Pirates rushed in pursuit. Henry did not want to trade for other ships. He was well aware that the capture of the largest ship of the empire of the Great Mongols would make him fabulously wealthy both himself and his crew.

There were not only ordinary pilgrims aboard the Gang-i-Savaya. Pilgrimage to Mecca on it was made by several high-ranking officials and, most importantly, the daughter of the Great Mongol. The pirates, of course, did not know about such a "load". Yes, and did not immediately know. Because mining surpassed all expectations: "They took so much gold and money in currency and in vessels on this ship that, together with the previously seized, the share of each person increased to 1000 pounds." This "earnings" could allow each of the robbers to not need anything until the end of their days.

For a week the pirates robbed the ship and its passengers. With women, of course, no one stood on ceremony. Therefore, some young Muslim women either threw themselves overboard or killed themselves with daggers. Avery did not hold back his people, afraid to cause a riot. After all, a huge booty stupefying had an effect on everyone without exception. As the captain of the entire pirate flotilla he got the main prize "Gang-i-Sawaya" - the daughter of the Great Mongol Fatima. First, Avery took her as a VIP hostage, hoping to get a solid ransom for her. But then he officially married Fatima. True, there is another version, more prosaic. So, according to some researchers, there was no marriage at all. Avery did to her just as the pirates did to ordinary captives: raped, and then killed. In general, the situation with Fatima is very vague. There is no reliable information about her fate after meeting with the pirate.

After the robbery of the flotilla, Avery stopped on Bourbon Island. Here "all the Danes and all the French were landed on land with their share of production reaching the 970 pounds per person." It seemed that they were waiting for only a happy and serene life. But ... a daring attack on the Mongolian ship could not just get it off their hands. In this episode, the pirates showed themselves to be absolutely not farsighted people, whose prey was overshadowed by common sense.

While the robbers were enjoying life with might and main and boasting of victory over the pilgrims, the bloodless and plundered Gang-i-Sawai managed to get to the port of Surat, located in western India. The sailors and passengers who survived after meeting with the pirates told the authorities about everything. So the Great Mongols and the British learned about the torture, rape and murder of pilgrims. Muslims reacted very painfully to what happened. They laid siege to the English trading post, wanting to make a mob over foreigners. More than six dozen employees of the East India Company were chained and imprisoned. Here they spent almost a year.

Behind the pirates of Avery flotilla began the hunt. Some wanted to avenge the pilgrims, others wanted to take the loot away. For the head of Henry, a reward of five pounds was announced. Great Mongol promised the same amount to the one who delivered the pirate to him. And it does not matter, alive or dead. Almost all the robbers from the Avery flotilla were captured. Those who are lucky, settled in New England, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Bermuda. How was their life in the future, we can only guess. Most likely, they took for themselves other names and surnames to cover their tracks. Therefore, nothing is known about their life after the grand capture of the Indian ship. He managed to escape from his pursuers and the archipirate himself. This nickname he received after the seizure of the Indian ship. It is known that he moved to North America, but he did not work out there.

In search of Avery

New life Avery wanted to start in Boston. But first he came under the suspicion of the local governor, and then the bounty hunters came to his trace. The award in 500 pounds from London and the same from Mongol has not been canceled. Avery had to drop everything and move to Ulster in Ireland. But here he failed to escape. Therefore, Avery tried to get lost in Scotland, spreading rumors about possible routes of his journey. And, despite the efforts of numerous sleuths and simply greedy agents, no one managed to find Henry Avery. After Scotland, his trail is completely lost.

Of course, the complete disappearance of such a well-known pirate gave rise to many myths and legends about him. According to one version, Avery returned to America. Here he tried to sell his treasures, but was deceived. And the rest of his life spent in poverty. According to another, he settled on some islands and led a quiet, carefree life. On the third - Avery died on the way to America. Whether he was mowed down by some kind of disease, or he was killed in a fight. In general, there are many versions. You can choose for every taste.

By the way, some researchers believe that the hero of the book The Life and Adventures of the Glorious Captain Singleton, written by Daniel Defoe, is the prototype of Henry Avery. And then Charles Johnson created the comedy "Lucky Pirate" on its basis. Avery was called lucky and lucky, because he managed to grab a huge jackpot, putting not so much effort into it.
Author:
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Curious
    Curious 8 November 2017 15: 17 New
    +8
    Dear author! "Great Mongols" never existed. Were "GREAT MOGOLS".
    Baburids or the Great Mughals - the dynasty of the Padishahs of the Mughal empire (1526-1857), founded by the descendant of Emir Timur, Emir Zahir ad-din Babur.
    The Mughal Empire is a Timurid state that existed on the territory of modern India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and southeastern Afghanistan.
    The ship "Gang-i-Sawai" belonged to the Great Mughal Aurangzeb.
    Mining from the Gang-i-Sawai ranged, according to various estimates, from 325,000 to 600,000 pounds, including 500,000 gold and silver coins.
    1. Bashibuzuk
      Bashibuzuk 8 November 2017 16: 56 New
      +1
      He laughed softly - Fatima, daughter of the Great Mongol.
      And the pirate Evry is the son of a poor English sailor .... funny.
      .
      Well, what, an interesting marine life - stole, drank, to prison .... oh, this is not from here.
      Break the jackpot, so that later the rest of your life run rat, from place to place .... you will not envy.
      But actually, there are too many inconsistencies. For example, they landed the French and Danes, who, apparently, were more than the rest - and at the same time shared "according to concepts"? I won’t believe it forever.
      Rather, the Danes and the French unloaded their prey ashore, they stayed, and the rest were told, "good luck gentlemen," bring it down ... to the West Indies, away from sin. That’s why Evry Man didn’t have any money left. Not at all.
  2. soldier
    soldier 8 November 2017 16: 09 New
    16
    some researchers believe that the protagonist of The Life and Adventures of the Glorious Captain Singleton, written by Daniel Defoe, is the prototype of Henry Avery.

    All of life
    No need to invent anything
  3. San Sanych
    San Sanych 8 November 2017 16: 56 New
    +1
    Fifteen people on a dead man's chest, yo-ho-ho, and a bottle of rum ... drinks laughing
  4. Cartalon
    Cartalon 8 November 2017 17: 23 New
    0
    But this story is not invented from beginning to end? Why did they "Ganges and Sawai" let it go?
  5. parusnik
    parusnik 8 November 2017 17: 53 New
    0
    And so, if the robber’s life is not easy to figure out, it seems he grabbed the jackpot, but he had to hide, to be an “underground millionaire” .. that would not open ...
    1. Curious
      Curious 8 November 2017 18: 38 New
      +2
      He simply “took the wallet” of a very respected person. In principle, nothing has changed since then.
    2. Settlement Oparyshev
      Settlement Oparyshev 8 November 2017 19: 14 New
      +2
      Interestingly, hiding all over the world turned out to be very difficult. The bugs drove him like a hare into the field.
  6. Astapan
    Astapan 8 November 2017 19: 16 New
    +1
    "A reward of five pounds has been announced for Henry's head."
    Not enough?
    and right there:
    “The £ 500 award from London and the same amount from Mongol has not been canceled.”
  7. Antares
    Antares 8 November 2017 21: 44 New
    +1
    He was not a privateer, he took what was impossible. Further predictably - caught by the whole world. Life is interesting, but then wealth is of little use, if there is no quiet harbor.
    Thanks for the story.
    I won’t heroize the pirates (despite Captain Blood’s Odyssey’s novel) they raped, killed, and lots of women and men ...
    Better he didn’t touch someone else’s Fatima ...
  8. Bashibuzuk
    Bashibuzuk 8 November 2017 22: 13 New
    +2
    No, guys, whatever you want, but it’s Avery’s personality that attracts me. Every, in English, reads like Evry ..... heuristic, for example.
    Lead a sailing team that rebelled against the captain .... I'll tell you what you need to be instigator all this. And bury for the time being. For the English fleet of negligence does not forgive - three times under the keel .... kicks out all the crap completely.
    So the man was very circumspect. Originally.
    It seems to me that all this entourage, with a change of name, an attack on the Great Mughals ... which, incidentally, Her Majesty, the Queen of England, etc., etc., could not miss by, was an obvious adventure of people who, in their time, About fifty years ago, they entered into a coalition in Francis, our, unforgettable Drake.
    That’s why such spreading “ears” ... couldn’t climb, he was running ... and his comrade Henry Benjamin himself lived quietly and calmly in London. Taking advantage of the loot and protection of Daniel Defoe, the principal of English intelligence and counterintelligence, at that time.
    And the whole calico. The English when they ate DESA the dog ... when Arthur began to be extradited for his own.
    And here, they give out the SON of an English captain for a pirate. A pirate, like a plague, shies from one operating pool to another. Nowhere, mind you, do not weld production - what kind of pirate is this?
    Then it drags not where — a thread, but carefully into the Red Sea ... the estate of Turetschina and India. And there he meets a lot of ships, which are clearly burning with a desire to replenish his team. Nooo, that doesn't happen.
    From there, his romantic halo ... from Naglia .... guys sometimes flirt. Philby isn’t enough for them.
  9. Freeman
    Freeman 8 November 2017 22: 25 New
    +1
    An engraving of 1878 depicts the pursuit of the pirate captain Henry Avery for the ship of the Great Mogul.
    Presumably, the ship "Ganj-i-Sawai" ("Immeasurable Treasure" ?? looked like this ?? what )
    1. Bashibuzuk
      Bashibuzuk 8 November 2017 22: 36 New
      +1
      The ships of the Great Mughal Empire clearly could not look like the Golden Galleons of the Spanish Empire.
      Not that empire, not that style, not that tree, not those masters.
      Unless Augarangzeb bought a couple of galleons from the Spaniards, which I strongly doubt.
      Pure, third-party action, one state against another. The landing of the French and Danes is another evidence in mo. side. These friends, for some reason, were against ... they were handed over - under the knife. First.
      1. Freeman
        Freeman 8 November 2017 23: 33 New
        0
        Bashibuzuk Today, 22: 36
        The ships of the Great Mughal Empire clearly could not look like the Golden Galleons of the Spanish Empire.

        I am not special, but judging by the images of the galleons, the distinctive feature of their sailing weapons was the "Latin sail" on the mizzen mast (Latin mizzen).
        The front vessel in engraving (presumably "Gang-i-Sawai") - "direct" sailing weapons, even in the mizzen.
        Threat. Although the imagination of the artist has not been canceled.
      2. Curious
        Curious 8 November 2017 23: 57 New
        0
        "Unless Augarangzeb bought a couple of galleons from the Spaniards, which I strongly doubt."
        After the accession of Jacob II, the powers of the British East India Company were seriously expanded: now it could declare war on the Indian princes and publish its own charters on Indian lands. The company's fleet has acquired a military hierarchy.
        In 1686, the company unleashed a war with the padishah of the Mughal empire. The goal was to gain trading privileges. Clashes between the British and local merchants led to the fact that English ships staged a bombardment of the port of Hoogley.
        It turned out that the ruler of the state Aurangzeb sent a fleet that unexpectedly was able to capture Bombay and drove the British into the fortress. From there, they were forced to send parliamentarians to the padish, promising to pay indemnities and not take hostile actions against the Mughal empire.
        So there was clearly more than a pair of galleons from Spain.
  10. Doliva63
    Doliva63 8 November 2017 23: 06 New
    +7
    A typical representative of Europe - robbed, raped, killed. "And these people will forbid me to pick my nose ?!" (c) belay
    1. Freeman
      Freeman 8 November 2017 23: 54 New
      +3
      Quote: Doliva63
      A typical representative of Europe - robbed, raped, killed. "And these people will forbid me to pick my nose ?!" (c) belay

      Yeah. And Novgorod earflaps are “white and fluffy”. But Stenka Razin was fishing on the Volga, and did not go to the Persians "for zipun".
      There was a time like this - no one suffered from pacifism with humanism.

Неуловимый Эвери: история самого удачливого пирата

Англичанина Генри Эвери прозвали одним из самых успешных буканьеров и джентльменов удачи. Он промышлял в водах Африки и Южной Азии, где сумел захватить неслыханную по тем временам добычу, взяв на абордаж корабль «Ганг-и-Савай». Кроме денег и драгоценных камней Эвери досталась Фатима, дочь Великого Монгола. Впервые о жизни морского разбойника рассказал Даниэль Дефо в «Всеобщей истории пиратства». Книга была опубликована в Лондоне в 1724 году.
Неуловимый Эвери: история самого удачливого пирата

На пути к славе и богатству

Если верить голландцу Вану Бруку, который побывал на корабле пирата в качестве заложника, Генри однажды с ним разоткровенничался. В разговоре по душам пират признался, что его фамилия – выдуманная. На самом деле разбойника зовут Генри Бриджмен. А скрыть свою настоящую фамилию ему пришлось по одной причине – Генри не хотел подставлять под удар своих родственников. Правда это или нет, выяснить уже вряд ли удастся. Кроме этого Брук рассказал, что Генри был сыном капитана торгового корабля, поэтому в море влюбился еще в детстве. Повзрослев, он служил на нескольких военных кораблях. И в его жизни все шло хорошо, вплоть до одного инцидента. Генри изменила жена. Простить ее он не смог и решил начать жизнь с чистого листа, завербовавшись первым помощником на 46-пушечный корабль «Карл II». Судном командовал капитан Гибсон.


Корабль по заказу испанцев должен был доставить в Америку вооружение для борьбы с пиратами. Но в порте Ла Корунья фрегат, что называется, застрял на долгих восемь месяцев. Все это время моряки не получали жалования. Капитан Гибсон на возмущение своих подчиненных реагировал агрессивно и никак не пытался урегулировать ситуацию. Все это привело к тому, что в начале мая 1694 года команда «Карла» взбунтовалась. Во главе мятежа встал Генри Эвери.

Капитан и несколько его сторонников сдались. Их посадили в шлюпку и отправили берегу. После чего Эвери переименовал фрегат «Карл II» в «Воображение» (по другой версии - в «Фантазию), поднял пиратский флаг и направился к берегам Западной Африки. Здесь новоиспеченный пират и его команда надеялись поправить свое бедственное финансовое положение за счет торговых кораблей. И ожидания их не обманули. В водах у островов Зеленого Мыса «Воображение» захватило несколько английских кораблей. Помимо провизии и оружия к команде Эвери присоединилось девять британцев.

Чуть позже, уже в водах Гвинейского залива, Генри сумел захватить пару датских кораблей. Добыча радовала. Доля каждого пирата составила порядка девяти унций золота. Кроме этого, численность команды увеличилась на четырнадцать датчан, захотевших встать под пиратский флаг.

По мнению некоторых исследователей, возможно, Эвери был капитаном работоргового судна, которое нелегально перевозило чернокожих невольников из Африки в Америку. Подтверждением этому предположению служат воспоминания капитана Филлипса, командовавшего кораблем «Ганнибал». Он писал, что после визита Долговязого Бена (это одно из прозвищ Эвери) на побережье Гвинеи невозможно было найти хоть одного чернокожего человека.

После Мадагаскара путь разбойников пролегал мимо острова Анжуан (второй по величине из Коморских островов). Эвери снова улыбнулась удача. Он захватил гураб (парусно-весельное судно) и команду из сорока французских флибустьеров. И они стали частью команды Генри.

Но буквально через пару дней к Анжуану подошли три корабля Ост-Индской компании: «Бенджамин», «Мокка» и «Тонкин». Эвери прекрасно понимал, что ввязываться в кровопролитное противостояние с противником бессмысленно. Поэтому приказал своим людям сняться с якоря и уплыть, даже не вступая в переговоры с капитанами кораблей противника. На берегу Эвери пришлось оставить «одного человека из своей компании, который до этого заболел; его звали Уильям Мэй».

Побродив по округе, Эвери принял решение вернуться на остров. Там он завербовал еще более десятка французов и только после этого покинул Анжуан.

«Воображение», взявшее курс на Красное море, представляло собой грозную силу, а численность интернациональной команды Эвери составляла примерно сто семьдесят человек. На пути к намеченной цели «Воображение» встретило пару английских пиратских судна. «Долфином» командовал капитан Ричард Уэнт. У него в подчинении находилось примерно шесть десятков людей. Джозеф Фэро капитанил «Портсмутом адвенчур». Под его началом было примерно столько же пиратов. После непродолжительных переговоров Уэнт и Фэро согласились присоединиться к Эвери, который, конечно, стал главным над всей новоиспеченной флотилией.

В июне 1695 года пиратские корабли показались близ острова Перим, располагающегося у входа в Красное море. Там к Эвери присоединились еще три разбойничьих судна: «Сусанна», «Перл» и «Амити», под командованием Томаса Уэйка, Уильма Мэйса и Томаса Тью соответственно. Эти корабли имели в своем арсенале по шесть орудий, а команды насчитывали от тридцати до пятидесяти человек.

Томас Тью поделился с Эвери ценной информацией: в Красном море скоро должна была появиться флотилия с индийскими паломниками, которые направлялись в Мекку. Генри принадлежал к категории таких людей, которым ненужно повторять дважды. И вскоре флотилия из шести кораблей вошла в Красное море. Правда, через короткое время численность судов уменьшилась. Один корабль уничтожили из-за его тихоходности, второй заблудился и отстал.

Золотой куш

Четырем пиратским кораблям противостояло двадцать пять индийских. Несмотря на численный перевес противника, флотилия под командование Эвери сумела захватить «Фат-Махмамади», второе по величине судно. Но главная цель - «Ганг-и-Савай» - сумел улизнуть.

Пираты бросились в погоню. Генри не хотел размениваться на другие корабли. Он прекрасно понимал, что захват крупнейшего судна империи Великих Монголов сделает сказочно богатым и его самого, и его команду.

На борту «Ганг-и-Савайя» были не только простые паломники. Паломничество в Мекку на нем совершили несколько высокопоставленных чиновников и, самое главное, дочь Великого Монгола. Пираты, конечно, не знали о таком «грузе». Да и не сразу узнали. Потому что добыча превзошла все ожидания: «Они взяли на этом корабле столько золота и денег в валюте и в сосудах, что вместе с захваченным раньше доля каждого человека возросла до 1000 фунтов». Этот «заработок» мог позволить каждому из разбойников ни в чем не нуждаться до конца своих дней.

Целую неделю пираты грабили корабль и его пассажиров. С женщинами, понятно, никто не церемонился. Поэтому некоторые молодые мусульманки либо бросались за борт, либо убивали себя кинжалами. Эвери не сдерживал своих людей, боясь вызвать бунт. Ведь огромная добыча одурманивающе подействовала на всех без исключения. Как капитану всей пиратской флотилии ему достался главный приз «Ганг-и-Савайя» - дочь Великого Монгола Фатима. Сначала Эвери взял ее в качестве вип-заложника, надеясь получить за нее солидный выкуп. Но потом официально женился на Фатиме. Правда, есть и другая версия, более прозаичная. Так, по мнению некоторых исследователей, никакого бракосочетания не было и в помине. Эвери поступил с ней точно также как поступали пираты с обычными пленницами: изнасиловал, а потом убил. В общем, ситуация с Фатимой весьма туманна. О ее дальнейшей судьбе после встречи с пиратом нет никакой достоверной информации.

После грабежа флотилия Эвери остановилась на острове Бурбон. Здесь «все датчане и все французы были высажены на сушу со своей долей добычи, доходившей до 970 фунтов на человека». Казалось, их ждет только счастливая и безмятежная жизнь. Но… дерзкое нападение на корабль Монголов не могло просто так сойти им с рук. В этом эпизоде пираты проявили себя абсолютно не дальновидными людьми, у которых добыча затмила здравый смысл.

Пока разбойники вовсю радовались жизни и кичились победой над паломниками, обескровленный и разграбленный «Ганг-и-Савай» сумел все-таки добрался до порта Сурата, расположенного на западе Индии. Выжившие после встречи с пиратами моряки и пассажиры обо всем рассказали властям. Так Великий Монгол и англичане узнали о пытках, насилии и убийствах паломников. Мусульмане очень болезненно отреагировали на произошедшее. Они осадили английску факторию, желая устроить над иностранцами самосуд. Более шести десятков служащий Ост-Индской компании были закованы в цепи и посажены в тюрьму. Здесь они провели почти год.

За пиратами флотилии Эвери началась охота. Одни хотели отомстить за паломников, другие – отобрать добычу. За голову Генри было объявлено вознаграждение в размере пяти фунтов стерлингов. Такую же сумму Великий Монгол пообещал тому, кто доставит к нему пирата. Причем неважно, живого или мертвого. Почти все разбойники из флотилии Эвери были схвачены. Тем, кому повезло, осели а Новой Англии, Северной Каролине, Пенсильвании и Бермудских островах. Как сложилась их жизнь в дальнейшем, можно лишь догадываться. Скорее всего, они взяли себе другие имена и фамилии, чтобы замести следы. Поэтому об их жизни после грандиозного захвата индийского корабля ничего неизвестно. Сумел скрыться от преследователей и сам архипират. Это прозвище он получил после захвата индийского судна. Известно, что он перебрался в Северную Америку, но там у него не сложилось.

В поисках Эвери

Новую жизнь Эвери хотел начать в Бостоне. Но сначала он попал под подозрение местного губернатора, а потом на его след вышли охотники за головами. Награду в 500 фунтов стерлингов от Лондона и столько же от Монгола никто не отменял. Эвери пришлось все бросить и перебраться в Ольстер, что в Ирландии. Но и здесь ему не удалось скрыться. Поэтому Эвери попытался затеряться в Шотландии, распространяя слухи о возможных маршрутах своего путешествия. И, несмотря на усилия многочисленных ищеек и просто алчных агентов, отыскать Генри Эвери так ни у кого и не получилось. После Шотландии его след окончательно затерялся.

Конечно, бесследное исчезновение столь известного пирата породило множество мифов и легенд о нем. По одной версии, Эвери вновь вернулся в Америку. Здесь он попытался сбыть свои сокровища, но был обманут. И остаток жизни провел в нищете. По другой, он поселился на каких-то островах и вел тихую, беззаботную жизнь. По третьей – Эвери погиб по пути в Америку. То ли его скосила какая-то болезнь, то ли он был убит в драке. В общем, версий много. Можно выбрать на любой вкус.

Кстати, некоторые исследователи считают, что герой книги «Жизнь и приключения славного капитана Сингльтона», написанной Даниэлем Дефо, является прототипом как раз Генри Эвери. А затем Чарльз Джонсон на ее основе создал комедию «Пират-счастливчик». Эвери называли счастливчиком и везунчиком, ведь он сумел урвать огромный куш, приложив к этому не так уж много усилий.
Автор:
Павел Жуков
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

17 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Curious Онлайн
    Curious (Victor) 8 ноября 2017 15:17
    +8
    Уважаемый автор! "Великих Монголов" никогда не существовало. Были "Великие МОГОЛЫ".
    Бабуриды или Великие Моголы — династия падишахов Могольской империи (1526—1857), основанная потомком эмира Тимура эмиром Захир ад-дином Бабуром.
    Империя Великих Моголов - тимуридское государство, существовавшее на территории современных Индии, Пакистана, Бангладеш и юго-восточного Афганистана.
    Корабль "Ганг-и-Савай" принадлежал Великому Моголу Аурангзебу.
    Добыча с Ганг-и-Савая составила, по разным оценкам, от 325,000 до 600,000 фунтов, включая 500,000 золотых и серебряных монет.
    1. Башибузук Офлайн
      Башибузук (Игорь Владимирович) 8 ноября 2017 16:56
      +1
      Посмеялся тихонько - Фатима, дочь Великого Монгола.
      И пират Эври - сын нищего англичанина-моряка....забавно.
      ...
      Ну, а что, интересная морская жизнь - украл, выпил, в тюрьму....ой, это из не отсюда.
      Сорвать куш, чтобы потом остаток жизни бегать крыской, с места на место....не позавидуешь.
      А вообще-то, многовато нестыковок. Например, высадили французов и датчан, которых, судя по всему, было больше остальных - и при этом поделились "по понятиям"? Да вовек не поверю.
      Скорее, датчане с французами, сгрузили добычу на берег, сами остались, а остальным "джентльменам удачи" сказали - валите...в Вест-Индию, от греха подальше. Оттого у Эври-мэна и деньжат не осталось. Нисколько.
  2. солдатъ Офлайн
    солдатъ (Федор Иванович) 8 ноября 2017 16:09
    +16
    некоторые исследователи считают, что герой книги «Жизнь и приключения славного капитана Сингльтона», написанной Даниэлем Дефо, является прототипом как раз Генри Эвери.

    Все из жизни
    Ничего придумывать не надо
  3. Сан Саныч Офлайн
    Сан Саныч (Олег Андреев) 8 ноября 2017 16:56
    +1
    Пятнадцать человек на сундук мертвеца, йо-хо-хо, и бутылка рома... drinks laughing
  4. Cartalon Офлайн
    Cartalon (Михаил) 8 ноября 2017 17:23
    0
    А эта история не выдумана с начала до конца? Зачем они "Ганг и Савай" отпустили то?
  5. parusnik Офлайн
    parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 8 ноября 2017 17:53
    0
    А так если разобраться не легка жизнь разбойника, вроде и куш отхватил, а пришлось скрываться, быть "подпольным миллионером"..что бы не раскрыться...
    1. Curious Онлайн
      Curious (Victor) 8 ноября 2017 18:38
      +2
      Просто он "взял за кошелек" очень уважаемого человека.В принципе, с тех времен ничего не изменилось.
    2. п-к Опарышев Офлайн
      п-к Опарышев (Алексей Голубов) 8 ноября 2017 19:14
      +2
      Что интересно,спрятаться во всём Мире, оказалось очень трудно.Ищейки загоняли его как зайца в поле
  6. AstapAN Офлайн
    AstapAN (Антон) 8 ноября 2017 19:16
    +1
    "За голову Генри было объявлено вознаграждение в размере пяти фунтов стерлингов."
    Не маловато ?
    и тут же:
    "Награду в 500 фунтов стерлингов от Лондона и столько же от Монгола никто не отменял."
  7. Антарес Онлайн
    Антарес (Антарес) 8 ноября 2017 21:44
    +1
    Не был капером, взял то что нельзя было. Дальнейшей предсказуемо--ловили всеми миром. Жизнь интересная, но от богатства тогда мало толка-если нет тихой гавани.
    Спасибо за рассказ.
    Героизировать пиратов не буду(несмотря на роман Одиссея Капитана Блада) насиловали убивали, делили на жребий женщин и мужчин...
    Лучше он не трогал чужую Фатиму...
  8. Башибузук Офлайн
    Башибузук (Игорь Владимирович) 8 ноября 2017 22:13
    +2
    Не, ребяты, вы как хотите, но меня привлекает именно личность Эвери. Every, по-английски, читается, как Эври.....эвристика, например.
    Возглавить команду парусника, восставшую против капитана....я вам скажу, что нужно быть зачинщиком всего этого. И хорониться до поры до времени. Ибо английский флот небрежности не прощает - три раза под кИлЁм....вышибает всякую дурь напрочь.
    Значит, человек был весьма осмотрителен. Изначально.
    Сдается мне, весь этот антураж, с изменением имени, нападением на Великих Моголов...что, кстати, не могла пропустить мимо Ёе величество, королева Англии и пр. и пр. и пр. было явной авантюрой лиц, которые в свое время, лет пятьдесят назад, вошли в коалицию в Френсисом, нашим, незабываемым Дрейком.
    Оттого-то и такие развесистые "уши"... не моглинайти, бегал... а сам товарищ - Генри Бенджамен, жил тихо и спокойно себе в Лондоне. Пользуясь награбленым и защитой Даниэля Дефо, принципатом английской разведки и контрразведки, в то время.
    И весь коленкор. Англичане собаку на ДЕЗЕ еще когда съели...когда Артура за своего стали выдавать.
    А тут, выдают СЫНА английского капитана за пирата. Пират, как чумной,шарахается от одного операционного бассейна до другого. Нигде,заметьте, добычи не наваривает - это что за пират такой?
    Потом тащится не куда-нить, а ажно в Красное Море...вотчину Туретчины и Индии. И встречает там там массу пароходов, которые явно горят желанием пополнить его команду. Нееееее, так не бывает.
    Оттуда же и романтический ореол его...от Наглии....ребяты иногда заигрываются. Филби на них не хватает.
  9. Вольнопёр Онлайн
    Вольнопёр (Алексей) 8 ноября 2017 22:25
    +1
    Гравюра 1878 года изображает погоню пиратского капитана Генри Эвери за кораблём Великого Могола.
    Предположительно так выглядел корабль "Ganj-i-Sawai" ( "Безмерное Сокровище"?? what )
    1. Башибузук Офлайн
      Башибузук (Игорь Владимирович) 8 ноября 2017 22:36
      +1
      Корабли Империи Великого Могола ну явно не могли выглядеть, как Золотые Галеоны Испанской империи.
      Не та империя, не тот стиль, не то дерево, не те мастера.
      Если только Аугарангзеб не купил у испанцев парочку галеонов, в чем я сильно сомневаюсь.
      Чистая, сторонняя акция, одного государства против другого. Высадка французов и датчан - еще одно свидетельство в мо. сторону. Это друзья, отчего-то, были против...их и сдали - под нож. Первыми.
      1. Вольнопёр Онлайн
        Вольнопёр (Алексей) 8 ноября 2017 23:33
        0
        Башибузук Сегодня, 22:36
        Корабли Империи Великого Могола ну явно не могли выглядеть, как Золотые Галеоны Испанской империи.

        Я не спец, но судя по по изображениям галеонов, отличительной особенностью их парусного вооружения был "латинский парус" на бизань-мачте ( латинская бизань ).
        У переднего судна на гравюре ( предположительно «Ганг-и-Савай» ) - "прямое" парусное вооружение даже на бизани.
        ЗЫ. Хотя фантазию художника никто не отменял.
      2. Curious Онлайн
        Curious (Victor) 8 ноября 2017 23:57
        0
        "Если только Аугарангзеб не купил у испанцев парочку галеонов, в чем я сильно сомневаюсь".
        После воцарения Якова II были серьезно расширены полномочия Британской Ост-Индской компании: теперь она могла объявлять войны индийским князьям и издавать собственные хартии на индийских землях. Флот компании обзавелся военной иерархией.
        В 1686 году компанией была развязана война с падишахом Могольской империи. Целью было получить торговые привилегии. Стычки англичан с местными торговцами привели к тому, что английские корабли устроили бомбардировку порта Хугли.
        Закончилось тем, что правитель государства Аурангзеб отправил флот, который неожиданно смог захватить Бомбей и загнал англичан в крепость. Оттуда они были вынуждены послать к падишаху парламентеров, пообещав выплатить контрибуцию и не предпринимать враждебных действий против империи Великих Моголов.
        Так что там было явно больше, чем пара галеонов из Испании.
  10. Doliva63 Офлайн
    Doliva63 (Валентин) 8 ноября 2017 23:06
    +7
    Типичный представитель Европы - грабил, насиловал, убивал. "И эти люди будут запрещать мне ковыряться в носу?!"(с) belay
    1. Вольнопёр Онлайн
      Вольнопёр (Алексей) 8 ноября 2017 23:54
      +3
      Цитата: Doliva63
      Типичный представитель Европы - грабил, насиловал, убивал. "И эти люди будут запрещать мне ковыряться в носу?!"(с) belay

      Угу. А новгородские ушкуйники - "белые и пушистые". А Стенька Разин на Волге рыбу ловил, а не к персам "за зипуном" ходил.
      Время такое было - пацифизмом с гуманизмом никто не страдал.
Картина дня