Military Review

Heavy "Cargo": the death and the search for the minesweeper T-403

11
The minesweeper “Gruz” was a modest workhorse of the Black Sea all the way up to his death fleetas they say, "plowman of the sea." But the work that these ships did was hard to overestimate, especially when the kriegsmarine were bombarded with sea mines. And, given that the unusual tasks fell on the shoulders of these inconspicuous ships during the war, they are worth more than just a mention.


The future minesweeper "Gruz" was laid at the Sevastopol Marine Plant (soon GCC No. 201 named after Sergo Ordzhonikidze) in March 1934. It was built on the project 3 (type "land mines"), the first Soviet project base minesweepers, originating in the 1930 year. A whole team of designers, G. Verakso, L. Dikovich, F. Muragin, worked on the future base minesweeper.

The works were carried out taking into account the experience of creating minesweepers of a pre-revolutionary type of “Klyuz”, so that the first pancake would not come out lumpy. But, of course, in comparison with the senior colleague in the 3 project, the “Explosive” type had more advanced trawling armament (two paravan-trawls, Schulz’s 1 trawl, 1’s snake-like trawl), reinforced artillery (100-mm B-24, 2 or B-3 trawl 12,7 45-mm machine gun, 21-mm gun 37-K, 20-mm anti-aircraft gun), was installed anti-submarine armament in the form of depth bombs (about 27) and bomb spreaders, and also installed devices for receiving and setting mines (from 30 to XNUMX ).

Heavy "Cargo": the death and the search for the minesweeper T-403


Minesweeper Shield of the same type with “Cargo” in Novorossiysk

The engines were two diesel engines with a total horsepower 3000. Full speed reached 18 nodes. Displacement - 500 tons. Length - 62 meters, width - 7,2 m, draft - 2,2 m.

Later, the 3 project became the prototype for the creation of a whole series of base minesweepers for the Soviet Navy — the 53, 53У and 58 project. It was at the Sevastopol plant that the 4 minesweeper of the 3 project (Т-401 - Т-404) was built.

Gruz launched the 21 on September 1935, the flag was raised in the 37 year, and in the 1939 the minesweeper was assigned the tactical number T-403 (BTSCH-403). Since July, the 1940 of the T-403 has been used as an experienced vehicle for testing new mine-control methods and systems.

From the very first days of the war, BGT-403 "Cargo", like all its 3 brothers, born on CVD No. 201, "Tral", "Minrep" and "Shield", took an active part in minefield fences at Odessa, Anapa, Novorossiysk, in the Danube Delta and so on. In addition, minesweepers were used to cover the operations of large forces. Of course, not counting their main function of trawling mines and carrying watch at Sevastopol. Soon the minesweepers set a new task - escorting transports.

But after Odessa, Sevastopol fell, despite all the efforts of the Red Army and Red Navy men. The fleet went to the ports of the Caucasus, where he performed the old and increasing number of new tasks. Finally, the enemy was stopped on the frontiers of Novorossiysk, and soon the legendary bridgehead “Malaya Zemlya” was formed, which quickly proved to the Nazis that it was only a dream to move south along the Black Sea coast.



"Trawl"

The entire severity and, consequently, the danger of evacuating the wounded, the transfer of fresh troops, provisions and ammunition needed for the bridgehead fell on the Black Sea Fleet. True, there were attempts to supply the landing party with food and ammunition with the help of aviation. But either our Air Force simply could not break through to the desired discharge point, or the dumped supplies fell into the sea, and sometimes worse, they fell to the enemy.

In the very first month of the existence of “Malaya Zemlya”, T-403 “Gruz” was included in the group of ships connecting the “continent” and the bridgehead. 27 February 1943, another group of ships headed towards Myskhako. The minesweeper T-403 was loaded with ammunition, food and had armed fighters on its board before 250-270. The ship anchored in the 3,5 cable from the Myskhak shore at a depth of 15 meters.

In 23: 25 the ship was attacked by a group of torpedo boats of the 1 flotilla of the cornette-captain George Christiansen. There was a roll up to 30 degrees on the left side and trim aft with the flow of water into the feed compartments. The explosion dissolved some sheets of plating up to 15 cm apart, but the edges of these sheets were curved upwards. Trawl, crane, 45-mm and 37-mm anti-aircraft gun thrown overboard.

To level the list, the commander ordered the group of fighters with cargo to go to starboard. Despite all the efforts, the water continued to flow into the feed rooms. A landing craft and a schooner came up to transfer the remaining fighters on the dying ship. As a result of the evacuation of personnel roll began to increase rapidly. The struggle for the survival of the ship continued until midnight. The words of the dying minesweeper flew on the air - “send tugs”. But the effort was in vain. After midnight, the sinker of the minesweeper “Cargo” disappeared under dark night water.

So ended one историяand another began. A few months ago, publications appeared in the press with loud enough headlines telling how the cargo minesweeper Lost was discovered earlier. And interspersed in the text - "finally", "after a long search," etc. - I was even more surprised, because it looked, to put it mildly, incorrectly.

Firstly, it was quite logical to ask what was the long search at the depth of 15 meters less than a kilometer from the coast? But let's leave these disputes to divers and divers.





Secondly, and most importantly, the 37-mm automatic anti-aircraft gun, thrown overboard on the tragic February night of 43, safely stands in the memorial exposition "Weapon and military equipment of the Great Patriotic War 1941-45 '. The gun was lifted up right in the 1973 year! Along with the gun, the ship’s bark with the inscription “Cargo” was also raised.



Thirdly, on the site of Novorossiysk company “RTK Diver” in the section of wreck diving (diving on wrecks) is listed as an object among many and T-403 “Cargo”.

Therefore, the only reasons why the word “discovered” can somehow appear here can only be the fact of the complete destruction of the hull and dispersal of its parts, as well as the dashing 90s. After all, it was then that there was almost no one to preserve the history of the war, and of his own country as a whole, but nobody remembered about the coordinates of some minesweeper and those divers who raised the gun, martens and other war artifacts.







Marking of ship screws

One way or another, the “missing” minesweeper was “found”. And they did not just find, but also lifted the X-NUMX-mm gun B-100 from the sunken T-24 “Gruz” and installed it in front of the monument to the “Unknown Sailor” in Novorossiysk. This instrument, which has also become a monument, is of particular value in the sense that there was practically nothing left of the entire series of minesweepers of the 403 project, except for memories and photos. So this is perhaps the only opportunity to touch the material history of a whole series of the first basic sweepers in the Union, the modest "plowmen of the sea" who forged the great Victory.



Author:
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Amurets
    Amurets 10 November 2017 15: 21 New
    +6
    Thank you. Interesting.
  2. Some kind of compote
    Some kind of compote 10 November 2017 15: 33 New
    20
    The fate of the ship as the fate of man
    Fine good
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 10 November 2017 16: 13 New
    +4
    Ships, ships as people, are born, live, die, and fates are different for people .. Thank you, the author ...
    1. antivirus
      antivirus 10 November 2017 21: 21 New
      +2
      gaining "relics" will be? put in the "museum"? or another 40 years silent?
      can clear and lovers will be let down there for a fee?
  4. Aviator_
    Aviator_ 10 November 2017 18: 31 New
    +1
    Good note. To the author - respect. Waiting for new publications.
  5. Yarik
    Yarik 10 November 2017 18: 49 New
    +1
    It was always interesting why the useless 45-mm 21-K gun was completely installed. The sense is zero.
    1. hohol95
      hohol95 10 November 2017 23: 20 New
      0
      Do you have any other proposals for anti-aircraft artillery of small ships of THAT TIME?
      1. Yarik
        Yarik 11 November 2017 11: 31 New
        0
        There are, of course. Automatic machines, even a 20 mm would be better, even 12.7 DShK.
        1. Yarik
          Yarik 12 November 2017 09: 51 New
          0
          Imagine a schnellbot with 45-heels. Sadly.
    2. Amurets
      Amurets 11 November 2017 06: 56 New
      0
      Quote: Yarik
      It was always interesting why the useless 45-mm 21-K gun was completely installed.

      "Yes, because there was nothing. Plant number 8 could not do better.
      Plant # 8 also produced artillery for the fleet. In Podlipki, we developed and manufactured all artillery mounts of calibers coming to the Red Army up to 85 mm inclusive. The most numerous of them in terms of the number of released turned out to be a semi-automatic 45-mm 21-K cannon gun, an analogue of the 19-K anti-tank gun and a tank
      20-K. When taken into service, it was considered mainly as anti-aircraft and, as such, was installed on the vast majority of surface ships and almost all types of Soviet submarines. "Http://nvo.ng.ru/history/1999-12-03/5_ksign.html
      Details of anti-aircraft guns of the USSR. TiV Magazine No. 10 for 1996.
  6. vadivm59
    vadivm59 19 November 2017 18: 00 New
    +2
    and not a bargain, but a ship's bell.

Тяжёлый «Груз»: гибель и поиски тральщика Т-403

Тральщик «Груз» всю войну вплоть до своей гибели был скромной рабочей лошадкой Черноморского флота, как говорится, «пахарем моря». Но ту работу, которую эти корабли сделали тяжело переоценить, особенно, когда кригсмарине заваливали морские глубины минами. А, если учесть, что на плечи этих неприметных кораблей во время войны легли и несвойственные им задачи, они стоят более чем просто упоминания.

Будущий тральщик «Груз» был заложен на Севастопольском морском заводе (вскоре ССЗ №201 им. Серго Орджоникидзе) в марте 1934 года. Он строился по проекту 3 (тип «Фугас»), первому советскому проекту базовых тральщиков, берущему начало в 1930 году. Над будущим базовым тральщиком работала целая команда конструкторов – Г. Вераксо, Л. Дикович, Ф. Мурагин.

Работы велись с учётом опыта создания тральщиков ещё дореволюционной постройки типа «Клюз», чтобы первый блин не вышел комом. Но, разумеется, по сравнению со старшим коллегой по классу проект 3 тип «Фугас» имел более совершенное тральное вооружение (два параван-трала, 1 трал Шульца, 1 змейковый трал), усиленную артиллерию (100-мм орудие Б-24, 2 или 3 12,7-мм пулемёта, 45-мм орудие 21-К, 37-мм зенитное орудие), было установлено противолодочное вооружение в виде глубинных бомб (около 20) и бомбосбрасывателей, а также были установлены устройства приёма и установки мин (от 27 до 30).


Тяжёлый «Груз»: гибель и поиски тральщика Т-403


Однотипный с "Грузом" тральщик "Щит" в Новороссийске

Двигателями служили два дизеля общей мощностью в 3000 лошадиных сил. Скорость полного хода доходила до 18 узлов. Водоизмещение – 500 тонн. Длина – 62 метра, ширина – 7,2 м, осадка – 2,2 м.

Позже проект 3 стал прототипом для создания целой серии базовых тральщиков ВМФ СССР – проект 53, 53У и 58. Именно на Севастопольском заводе всего построили 4 тральщика проекта 3 (Т-401 – Т-404).

«Груз» спустили на воду 21 сентября 1935 года, флаг был поднят в 37-м году, а в 1939-м тральщику присвоили тактический номер Т-403 (БТЩ-403). С июля 1940-го года Т-403 использовался как опытный корабль для испытания новых способов и систем минного дела.

С первых же дней войны БТЩ-403 «Груз», как и все его братья проекта 3, рождённые на ССЗ №201, «Трал», «Минреп» и «Щит», принимал активное участие в постановках минных заграждений у Одессы, Анапы, Новороссийска, в дельте Дуная и так далее. Кроме этого тральщики использовались для прикрытия операций крупных сил. Конечно, не считая их основной функции траления мин и несения дозора у Севастополя. Вскоре тральщикам поставили новую задачу – конвоирование транспортов.

Но вслед за Одессой пал Севастополь, не смотря на все усилия красноармейцев и краснофлотцев. Флот ушёл в порты Кавказа, где исполнял прежние и всё возрастающее количество новых задач. Наконец противника удалось остановить на рубежах Новороссийска, а вскоре образовался легендарный плацдарм «Малая Земля», быстро доказавший нацистам, что о продвижении по черноморскому побережью на юг теперь остаётся только мечтать.



"Трал"

Вся тяжесть и, соответственно, опасность эвакуации раненных, переброски свежих войск, провизии и боеприпасов, необходимых для плацдарма, легла на Черноморский флот. Были, правда, попытки снабжения десанта продовольствием и боеприпасами с помощью авиации. Но либо наши ВВС просто не могли пробиться в нужную точку сброса, либо сброшенные припасы падали в море, а порой и хуже – попадали к врагу.

В первый же месяц существования «Малой Земли» в состав группы кораблей, связующих «континент» и плацдарм, был включён и Т-403 «Груз». 27 февраля 1943 года очередная группа кораблей отправилась в сторону Мысхако. Тральщик Т-403 был загружен боеприпасами, продовольствием и имел на своём борту до 250-270 вооружённых бойцов. Корабль встал на якорь в 3,5 кабельтовых от мысхакского берега на глубине 15 метров.

В 23:25 корабль подвергся нападению группы торпедных катеров 1-й флотилии шнелльботов корветтен-капитана Георга Кристиансена. Возник крен до 30 градусов на левый борт и дифферент на корму с поступлением воды в кормовые отсеки. Взрыв распустил некоторые листы обшивки до 15 см друг от друга, края же этих листов были загнуты вверх. Тральная лебёдка, кран, 45-мм и 37-мм зенитное орудие выбросило за борт.

Чтобы выровнять крен, командир приказал группе бойцов с грузом перейти на правый борт. Несмотря на все усилия, вода продолжала поступать в кормовые помещения. Для переброски оставшихся на погибающем корабле бойцов подошёл десантный бот и шхуна. В результате эвакуации личного состава крен начал быстро увеличиваться. Борьба за живучесть корабля продолжалась вплоть до полуночи. В эфир летели слова гибнущего тральщика – «выслать буксиры». Но усилия были тщетны. После полуночи форштевень тральщика «Груз» скрылся под тёмной ночной водой.

Так закончилась одна история, и началась другая. Несколько месяцев назад в прессе появились публикации с достаточно громкими заголовками, повествующими, как был обнаружен потерянный ранее тральщик «Груз». А вкраплённые в текст – «наконец», «после долгих поисков» и т.д. – меня ещё более удивили, потому как выглядело это, мягко говоря, некорректно.

Во-первых, вполне логично было спросить, что за долгие поиски на глубине 15 метров в менее чем в километре от берега? Но оставим эти споры водолазам и дайверам.





Во-вторых, что главное, 37-мм автоматическое зенитное орудие, выброшенное за борт трагической февральской ночью 43-го, благополучно стоит в мемориальной экспозиции «Оружие и боевая техника Великой Отечественной войны 1941-45 годов». Орудие было поднято аж в 1973 году! Вместе с орудием к тому же была поднята и корабельная рында с надписью «Груз».



В-третьих, на сайте новороссийской компании «РТК Дайвер» в разделе рэк-дайвинга (погружение на затонувшие корабли) значится в качестве объекта в числе многих и Т-403 «Груз».

Поэтому единственными причинами, по которым здесь может хоть как-то фигурировать слово «обнаружили», могут быть лишь - факт полного разрушения корпуса и рассредоточенности его частей, а также лихие 90-е годы. Ведь именно тогда сохранять историю войны, и собственной страны в целом, было почти некому, а про координаты какого-то тральщика и тех аквалангистов, что подняли орудие, рынду и прочие артефакты войны, вовсе никто не вспоминал.







Маркировка корабельных винтов

Так или иначе, всё же «пропавший» тральщик «нашли». И не просто нашли, но и подняли 100-мм орудие Б-24 с затонувшего Т-403 «Груз» и установили его напротив памятника «Неизвестному матросу» в Новороссийске. Особую ценность это орудие, ставшее ныне также памятником, представляет в том плане, что от всей серии тральщиков проекта 3 тип «Фугас» не осталось практически ничего, кроме воспоминаний и фото. Так что это едва ли не единственная возможность прикоснуться к материальной истории целой серии первых в Союзе базовых тральщиков, скромных «пахарей моря», ковавших великую Победу.



Автор: Восточный ветер


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 11

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. амурец (николай) 10 ноября 2017 15:21
    Спасибо.Интересно.
  2. Какой-то Компот (Невесть кто) 10 ноября 2017 15:33
    Судьба корабля как судьба человека
    Отлично good
  3. parusnik (Алексей Богомазов) 10 ноября 2017 16:13
    Корабли, суда как люди, рождаются, живут , умирают и судьбы как у людей разные..Спасибо, автору...
    1. антивирус 10 ноября 2017 21:21
      обретение "мощей" будет? в "музей" поставят? или еще 40 лет молчок?
      может расчистят и любителей туда спускать будут за плату ?
  4. Авиатор_ (Сергей) 10 ноября 2017 18:31
    Хорошая заметка. Автору - респект. Жду новых публикаций.
  5. Yarik (Ярослав) 10 ноября 2017 18:49
    Всегда было интересно, зачем 45-мм орудие 21-К бесполезные совершенно устанавливали? Толку - нуль.
    1. hohol95 (Алексей) 10 ноября 2017 23:20
      У ВАС есть иные предложения по зенитной артиллерии малых кораблей ТОГО ВРЕМЕНИ?
      1. Yarik (Ярослав) 11 ноября 2017 11:31
        Есть, конечно.Автоматы, даже 20-мм были бы лучше,даже 12.7 ДШК.
        1. Yarik (Ярослав) 12 ноября 2017 09:51
          Воображаю себе "шнелльбот" с 45-пятками.Грустно.
    2. амурец (николай) 11 ноября 2017 06:56
      Цитата: Yarik
      Всегда было интересно, зачем 45-мм орудие 21-К бесполезные совершенно устанавливали?

      "Да потому,как не было ничего. Завод №8 не мог лучшего делать.
      Завод # 8 выпускал и артиллерию для флота. В Подлипках разработали и производили все поступавшие в Красную Армию артустановки калибров до 85 мм включительно. Самым многочисленным из них по числу выпущенных оказалось полуавтоматическое 45-мм тумбовое орудие 21-К, аналог противотанковой пушки 19-К и танковой
      20-К. При принятии на вооружение его рассматривали преимущественно как зенитное и в этом качестве установили на подавляющем большинстве надводных кораблей и почти на всех типах советских подводных лодок." http://nvo.ng.ru/history/1999-12-03/5_ksign.html
      Подробности о зенитных автоматах СССР. Журнал ТиВ №10 за 1996год.
  6. vadivm59 (вадим) 19 ноября 2017 18:00
    и не рында,а корабельный колокол.
Картина дня