Canada is preparing to conduct large-scale military exercises in the Arctic

Canada is preparing to conduct large-scale military exercises in the ArcticCanadian Defense Minister Peter McKay announced his country's plans to arrange the large-scale Nanook military exercises in August 2011 in the Arctic in August. As noted by Zman, the goal of the exercise is to strengthen Canada’s military presence in the Arctic.

He assured that these will be the largest exercises in stories countries, they will be attended by more 1000 soldiers and officers. Also, besides infantry, CF-18 “Hornet” fighters and other aircraft of the Canadian Air Force and ships of the Canadian fleet will be involved in the exercises. Inuit reservists will also take part in the exercise (the Inuit call themselves Eskimos) from the fifth Canadian Ranger patrol.


It clarifies the channel "Vesti", the exercise will be held in several stages on Baffin Island, as well as in the area of ​​Ellesmere Island - the northernmost of the islands of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago.
About who is the likely opponent of Canada in these Arctic exercises, it was not said. Meanwhile, we recall, Russian Defense Minister Anatoly Serdyukov announced in early June that Russia intends to create two military brigades in the Arctic with a deployment in Murmansk and Arkhangelsk.

In addition to the Nanook exercises, the Canadian Department of Defense annually conducts Nunakput maneuvers in the Western Arctic and Nunalnut in the High North.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Канада готовится провести масштабные военные учения в Арктике

Канада готовится провести масштабные военные учения в АрктикеМинистр обороны Канады Питер Маккей объявил о планах своей страны устроить в августе 2011 года в Арктике масштабные военные учения «Nanook». Как отмечает Zman, цель учений — усиление военного присутствия Канады в Арктике.

Он заверил, что это будут самые крупные учения в истории страны, в них примут участие больше 1000 солдат и офицеров. Также, кроме пехоты, в учениях будут задействованы истребители CF-18 «Хорнет» и другие самолеты ВВС Канады и корабли канадского флота. В учениях примут участие и инуиты-резервисты («инуитами» сами себя называют эскимосы) из пятой патрульной группы канадских «рейнджеров».


Как уточняет канал «Вести», учения пройдут в несколько этапов на Баффиновой Земле, а также в районе острова Элсмир — самого северного из островов канадского арктического архипелага.
О том, кто является вероятным противником Канады на этих арктических учениях, сказано не было. Между тем, напомним, министр обороны России Анатолий Сердюков заявил в начале июня о намерении России создать в Арктике две военные бригады с дислокацией в Мурманске и Архангельске.

Помимо учений «Nanook», министерство обороны Канады ежегодно проводит маневры «Нунакпут» в Западной Арктике и «Нуналивут» на Крайнем Севере.
Первоисточник:
http://www.rosbalt.ru/main/2011/07/03/865392.html
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти