Lepanto without galleys




Today, October 20, marks the anniversary of the naval battle in Navarinskaya Bay, in honor of which Pavel Chichikov, as you know, ordered himself a coat-colored "Navarinsky smoke with flame." In this last major coalition battle of the sail epoch, the combined fleet of Christian states in the Russian, English and French squadrons once again defeated and destroyed the fleet of the "Shiny Ports".

It is curious that after 26 years after Navarin, the British and French fought on the side of Turkey against Russia, however, the Russian fleet could not be drowned because ours outwitted them and flooded it themselves. The Turks did not think of such a military trick, and as a result, they lost not only the ships, but also their crews, and then their opponents recorded another victory for themselves.

Apparently, the future Sevastopol admirals Nakhimov, Kornilov and Istomin, still in the ranks of lieutenant, midshipman and midshipman, participated in the Navarin battle, remembered her well and made the correct conclusion from the mistake of the Turkish naval commander Ibrahim Pasha, due to self-confidence and overestimation of her forces.

But the Ottomans did not make a correct withdrawal, so the next battle of the Russian and Turkish fleets at Sinop was almost an exact copy of Navarin, only on a greatly reduced scale. The Turks were trapped in the bay and, despite the opposition of the coastal batteries, were methodically shot. But for them it was already commonplace.



The scheme of the initial and final phases of the Battle of Navarino. With the enormous numerical superiority of the Turks (78 warships against twenty-two), the Allies had a decisive advantage in battleships (ten against three). This, as well as the higher proficiency of Russian, English and French sailors, decided the outcome of the case. The Turks lost from 60 to 70 ships exploded, burned, sunk or washed onto the shore, and their opponents - not one.



Commanders of the opposing squadrons:
Russian Admiral Ludwig Sigismund Gustav von Heyden (aka Login Petrovich Heyden);
English Admiral Edward Codrington, who carried out general leadership of the Allied fleet;
French Admiral Henri Gautier Daniel de Rygny;
Ottoman (Egyptian) Admiral Ibrahim Pasha.



The flagship of the Russian squadron is the 74-gun battleship "Azov".



Damage to the nose of the "Azov", received in the battle of Navarino. The battle was fought at the "pistol" distances, so there was virtually no blunders. The ship withstood 153 (according to other data - 164) Turkish cores, including seven - in the underwater part. On the "Azov" 24 killed the sailor, which amounted to almost half of the casualties of our fleet. Replaced during repair fragments obshchivki gray. The battleship itself drowned five Turkish ships, including the flagship battleship Ibrahim Pasha.





Shipboard artillery and ammunition used in the Battle of Navarino: a bronze cannon on the marshall of the Marshall system, cast-iron carronade and anti-flight chain cores.



Navarin battle in the picture of the English artist George Philip Reynagla.



It is the same in the picture by Aivazovsky.



Well, as a bonus - the Russian squadron battleship Navarin. It is easy to guess, he received the name in honor of the victory in the Battle of Navarino.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik 24 October 2015 07: 27 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    The commander of the "Azov" MP won the highest praise in the Navarino battle. Lazarev.
    In his report of the battle, the commander of the Russian detachment, L.P. Heiden wrote: “The undaunted captain of the 1st rank Lazarev controlled the Azov movements with composure, art and courage exemplary.” The battle of Navarino also had results: the Turks requested peace and agreed to fulfill the demands of the Allies. This suited the British government: it was not at all interested in continuing the war with Turkey, for a significant weakening of this state would mean a strengthening of Russia, which was contrary to the interests of England.
  2. cth; fyn 24 October 2015 09: 06 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    How did the Turks blow it? mdya, it’s obvious that the naval commanders are useless, and the gunners too.
  3. kvs207 24 October 2015 09: 55 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Strange serve. What does it mean "It is curious that, 26 years after Navarin, the British and French were already fighting on the side of Turkey against Russia, however, they could not drown the Russian fleet, since ours outwitted them and flooded it themselves." I think that this was a necessity, by no means, not a trick.
    The battle of Navarino, of course, is very significant and decides the outcome of the war. The author forgot to mention the ships bearing the name "Memory of Azov" and the fact that these ships passed the stern flag of St. George, which was the first time in the history of the Russian fleet, the Azov itself was awarded.
  4. Alex 24 October 2015 10: 05 New
    • 5
    • 0
    +5
    Under Sinope, Nakhimov recalled Navarin. He feared that the Turks would not remove part of the guns from the unarmed sides (many ships were anchored) and did not strengthen the coastal batteries. And the rest, in general, everything is correct: superiority in the quality of ships, and powerful artillery, and excellent training of crews, and the unsurpassed talent of the naval commander.

    Navarin is a glorious victory, one of the brightest in the history of the Russian fleet.
  5. Aleksander 24 October 2015 11: 55 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Today, October 20, marks the anniversary of the naval battle in the Bay of Navarino,


    This year, and another glorious date- 225 years of the capture of Ishmael by Suvorov. As a result of that war, the Novorossiysk Territory forever went to Russia.
  6. Kazakh 24 October 2015 12: 27 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    In the portrait, it’s not IBrahim at all, but the Ukrainian Ivanko stolen by the Turks from childhood in the childhood. Any Ukrainian historian will prove this to you. laughing
    1. visitork67 24 October 2015 21: 10 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Definitely and unconditionally.
    2. KakoVedi 24 October 2015 23: 28 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Then lower, in red pants, Ostap and Andriy ... After the bursa! But see you with daddy ...
  7. Denimax 25 October 2015 01: 20 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Some drawings are not clear to me: Did the sailors have a green uniform? As far as I know, even the infantry was all colored, except for the rangers.
    Against the background of the wooden-sailing fleet, were the guns already steel carriages?
    Figure of the second gun, some technical misunderstanding: On board there is clearly a rotary mechanism, the barrel itself rests on two wheels (not even a center) and all this is connected by ropes. what
  8. Turkir 27 October 2015 18: 19 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Today, October 20, marks the anniversary of the naval battle in the Bay of Navarino, ...

    The battle of Navarino took place on October 20, 1827, and not a year ago, as they might think, and, in fact, served as the beginning of the Russian-Turkish war of 1828-1829.
    By the time the article, but year a historical event must always be present. After all, this article should arouse the interest of young people in the study of their own history.
    An unfortunate mistake. But still, thanks for the reminder.
    ---------
    Anniversary, hazing .. dull words.

Лепанто без галер

Лепанто без галер


Сегодня, 20 октября, отмечается годовщина морского сражения в Наваринской бухте, в честь которого Павел Иванович Чичиков, как известно, заказал себе фрак цвета "наваринского дыму с пламенем". В этом последнем крупном коалиционном сражении эпохи паруса объединенный флот христианских государств в составе русской, английской и французской эскадр в очередной раз разгромил и уничтожил флот "Сиятельной Порты".

Любопытно, что через 26 лет после Наварина англичане и французы воевали уже на стороне Турции против России, правда, русский флот им утопить не удалось, поскольку наши их перехитрили и затопили его сами. Турки же до такой военной хитрости не додумались, а в результате потеряли не только корабли, но и их команды, ну а их тогдашине противники записали себе в актив еще одну победу.


Видимо, будущие севастопольские адмиралы Нахимов, Корнилов и Истомин, которые еще в званиях лейтенанта, мичмана и гардемарина участвовали в Наваринской баталии, хорошо ее запомнили и сделали правильный вывод из ошибки турецкого флотоводца Ибрагима-паши, обусловленной самоуверенностью и переоценкой своих сил.

А вот османы правильного вывода не сделали, поэтому следующее сражение русского и турецкого флотов при Синопе было почти точной копией Наварина, только в сильно уменьшенном масштабе. Турок зажали в бухте и, несмотря на противодействие береговых батарей, методично расстреляли. Но для них это было уже привычным делом.

Лепанто без галер


Схема начальной и заключительной фаз Наваринской битвы. При огромном численном превосходстве турок (78 боевых кораблей против двадцати двух), союзники обладали решающим перевесом в линкорах (десять против трех). Это, а также более высокая выучка русских, английских и французских моряков, решило исход дела. Турки потеряли от 60 до 70 кораблей взорванными, сожженными, потопленными или выбросившимися на берег, а их противники - ни одного.

Лепанто без галер


Командующие противоборствующих эскадр:
русский адмирал Людвиг Сигизмунд Густав фон Гейден (он же Логин Петрович Гейден);
английский адмирал Эдвард Кодрингтон, осуществлявший общее руководство союзным флотом;
французский адмирал Анри Готье Даниэль де Риньи;
османский (египетский) адмирал Ибрагим-паша.

Лепанто без галер


Флагман русской эскадры - 74-пушечный линкор "Азов".

Лепанто без галер


Повреждения носовой части "Азова", полученные в Наваринском бою. Бой велся на "пистолетных" дистанциях, поэтому промахов фактически не было. Корабль выдержал попадания 153 (по другим данным - 164) турецких ядер, в том числе семи - в подводную часть. На "Азове" погибло 24 матроса, что составило почти половину людских потерь нашего флота. Серым цветом помечены замененные при ремонте фрагменты общивки. Сам линкор утопил пять турецких кораблей, в том числе флагманский линкор Ибрагима-паши.

Лепанто без галер


Лепанто без галер


Корабельная артиллерия и боеприпасы, применявшиеся в Наваринском бою: бронзовая пушка на лафете системы Маршала, чугунная карронада и противотакелажные цепные ядра.

Лепанто без галер


Наваринское сражение на картине английского художника Джорджа Филиппа Рейнагла.

Лепанто без галер


Оно же на картине Айвазовского.

Лепанто без галер


Ну и в качестве бонуса - русский эскадренный броненосец "Наварин". Как несложно догадаться, название он получил в честь победы в Наваринском сражении.
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: http://vikond65.livejournal.com/402238.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 10
  1. parusnik 24 октября 2015 07:27
    Самую высокую оценку заслужил в Наваринском бою командир "Азова" М.П. Лазарев.
    В своем донесении о битве командующий русским отрядом Л.П. Гейден писал: "Неустрашимый капитан 1-го ранга Лазарев управлял движениями "Азова" с хладнокровием, искусством и мужеством примерными".У Наваринского сражения были и итоги: турки запросили мира и согласились выполнить требования союзников. Это вполне устраивало английское правительство: оно вовсе не было заинтересовано в продолжении войны с Турцией, ибо значительное ослабление этого государства означало бы усиление России, что противоречило интересам Англии.
  2. cth;fyn 24 октября 2015 09:06
    Как турки продули? мдя, видно флотоводцы из них никудышные, и артиллеристы тоже.
  3. kvs207 24 октября 2015 09:55
    Странная подача. Что значит "Любопытно, что через 26 лет после Наварина англичане и французы воевали уже на стороне Турции против России, правда, русский флот им утопить не удалось, поскольку наши их перехитрили и затопили его сами". Думаю, что это была необходимость, отнюдь, не хитрость.
    Наваринское сражение, безусловно, очень значимое и решившее исход войны. Автор забыл упомянуть про корабли, носившие название "Память Азова" и то, что этим кораблям передавали кормовой георгиевский флаг, которым был впервые в истории русского флота, награждён сам "Азов".
  4. Алекс 24 октября 2015 10:05
    При Синопе Нахимов вспомнил Наварин. Он опасался, как бы турки не сняли часть орудий с нестрелявших бортов (многие корабли стояли на якорях) и не усилили береговые батареи. А в остальном, в общем, всё правильно: и превосходство в качестве кораблей, и мощная артиллерия, и отменная выучка экипажей, и непревзойдённый талант флотоводца.

    Наварин - славная победа, одна из самых ярких в истории российского флота.
  5. Aleksander 24 октября 2015 11:55
    Сегодня, 20 октября, отмечается годовщина морского сражения в Наваринской бухте,


    В этом году и другая славнейшая дата- 225 лет взятия Суворовым Измаила. В результате той войны Новороссийский край навечно отошел к России.
  6. казах 24 октября 2015 12:27
    На портрете вовсе не ИБрагим а украинец Иванко украденный турками в детстве из сечи.Это Вам любой украинский историк докажет. laughing
    1. visitork67 24 октября 2015 21:10
      Однозначно и безусловно.
    2. KakoVedi 24 октября 2015 23:28
      Тогда ниже, в красных штанах, Остап и Андрий... После бурсы! Но до встречи с папенькой...
  7. Денимакс 25 октября 2015 01:20
    Мне некоторые рисунки непонятны: У моряков была униформа зеленого цвета? Насколько знаю, даже пехота была вся цветная, кроме егерей.
    На фоне деревянно-парусного флота, были у пушек уже стальные лафеты?
    Рисунок второго орудия, какоето техническое недоразумение: На борту явно поворотный механизм, сам ствол покоится на двух колесиках (даже не поцентру) и все это связывается канатами. what
  8. Turkir 27 октября 2015 18:19
    Сегодня, 20 октября, отмечается годовщина морского сражения в Наваринской бухте,...

    Наваринское произошло сражение 20 октября 1827, а не год назад, как могут подумать, и, фактически, послужило началом русско-турецкой войны 1828-1829.
    Ко времени статья, но год исторического события присутствовать должен всегда. Ведь эта статья должна вызвать интерес молодых людей к изучению собственной истории.
    Досадный промах. Но всё равно, спасибо, за напоминание.
    ---------
    Годовщина, дедовщина.. унылые слова.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня