Superheavy tank "K-Wagen" ("Colossal")

2
Superheavy tank "K-Wagen" ("Colossal")


In May 1918, an Italian officer, an apologist for the military aviation J. Douai planned to publicize his views in the form of the science-fiction novel “Winged Victory”. In the book he "supplied" Germany with two thousand "colossal tanks A group of 4000 tons (!) In weight, with 6 diesel engines of 3000 hp. (2 of them spare), at a speed of 4 km / h, spraying incendiary liquid over a semicircle with a radius of 100 m ... the crew is only 2 people. ” Such monsters were needed by the Douai solely in order to overshadow the power of the “inter-allied air army” that he proposed, crushing the German and Austrian armies in the novel with blows to the rear communications. Of course, in fact, they did not intend to build such monsters in Germany, but the idea of ​​a "mobile fortress" nevertheless found its extreme expression in the form of the first superheavy tank embodied in metal.

Already at the end of March 1917, the Headquarters of the High Command issued demands for a “supertank” weighing up to 150, t. Volmer received a corresponding task from the Inspectorate of Automotive Forces. The War Department approved the K-Wagen project (Kolossal-Wagen or simply Kolossal) 28 of June 1917 of the year. It was assumed that the tank would have 30-mm armor, two or four 50 caliber guns - 77 mm, four machine guns, two flamethrowers, 18 crew, two 200 engines - 300 HP, can overcome the moor width up to 4 m. project design and construction of the first sample was taken a year, but the High command to shorten this period to eight months. The program looked solid - construction 100 tanks with an initial order for 10. The estimated cost of such a machine - not less than 500 thousand Reichsmarks.. The designers had a difficult task - most of the components and parts had to be developed anew.



The scheme of the "K" in general, borrowed from the British: the caterpillars covered the hull, and the weapons - 4 guns and machine guns - were installed in wide sponsons and in the embrasures. However, the mutual arrangement of the branches was similar to the A7VU: the control and combat departments were in front, the engine-transmission section was behind. At the same time fighting compartment without sponso-new and power pack takes approximately an equal volume of the body. The crew was again a record - 22 person.

In the department of management placed two drivers. In the front of the tank, a cylindrical control room (turret) was mounted on the roof of the tank, with perimeter viewing slots and a roof hatch. The cabin was intended for the tank commander and artillery officer.

Housing tank going from large rolled sheets are fastened to the frame of rivets and bolts. Removable sponsons had a complex shape. In the oblique front and rear walls of the broadened part of the sponson, there were gun embrasures in which an 77-mm caponier gun with a semi-automatic shutter was installed. The swinging part of the gun was mounted on a swivel pedestal with a semi-cylindrical shield and a fencing breech. To the left of the fence was the seat of the gunner. For pickup he used a telescopic sight and coaxial flywheels. The front wall located at the corner sponsons MG.08 installation gun. The same machine gun installations were in the narrow rear part of the sponson, in the sides and front sheet of the control compartment.



The fire from the rear machine guns had to lead mechanics, whose main responsibility was to monitor the state of the engine and transmission. Installation of weapons met all the same requirements of a circular attack - in any direction the tank "K" could concentrate fire of approximately equal density. On the roof of the sponsons there were vents.

Already design weight of the tank made to look more powerful engines. For powerplant group selected two engine "Daimler" in 650 hp Exhaust pipe with silencers and radiators to be displayed on the roof at the rear of the housing. Gasoline inventories was 3000 liters. The originality of the design differed in the chassis: skating rinks with flanges were not fastened to the tank body, but to the tracks of the tracks. The hull on each side was covered by rail guides, along which the tracks “ran in”. Trucks assembled with bolts and rivets. The drive wheel is of a rear location. The upper branches of the tracks with front and rear descending branches were covered with armor-roof, which turned into curved armored screens.



It was planned to equip the communications tank - a place for a radio operator was taken in front of the engine compartment. For transport by rail "K" can be disassembled into 15 - 20 parts. It was rather difficult to understand how it was supposed to carry out the combat use of such colossi. Obviously, the command believed that it was possible to break through the front of the allies in several places (remember the fantastic “Kaiser machine”) with the help of mobile fortresses — an idea that had arisen in those years in all the belligerent countries. However, already 18 of October 1917, the Experimental Division of the Inspectorate of the Automobile Forces, recognized that a tank of type "K" is suitable only for positional warfare. Armament "K" was a artillery and machine gun batteries installed in one "mobile forte." Large dead space in the field of view from the cockpit controls were tolerated only for the "position" of the tank.

The contract for the construction of five copies of “K” was concluded with the Ribe ball bearing plant in Berlin-Weissensee, and for the other five with the Vagonfabrik Wegman in Kassel. Tank construction began in April 1918-th. By the end of the war, one tank was almost completed on the Ribe; an armored hull and a set of basic units and assemblies, except for engines, were ready for the second. After the defeat of the Germans and the conclusion of the Treaty of Versailles, all this went down for scrap.

Note that after a quarter of a century, two of the heaviest tanks, the 180-ton Maus, were also built in Germany, which also did not take part in any battle. It is curious that in both world wars, after the turn of events was not in their favor, the German military leadership issued assignments and allocated resources to the “supertanks”. Both times, the designers laid a number of original ideas and solutions into these monsters, and both times the colossi found themselves in the role of a stillborn child.
    Our news channels

    Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

    2 comments
    Information
    Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
    1. 9991
      0
      March 16 2012
      Here it is what Iron Kaput bully
    2. TeR
      TeR
      0
      December 22 2014
      But. It turns out that the "gloomy genius" did not appear in the Second World War, but earlier.
    3. +15
      October 29 2017
      And who is the author, I don’t understand?

    "Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

    “Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Сверхтяжелый танк "K-Wagen" ("Колоссаль")

Сверхтяжелый танк "K-Wagen" ("Колоссаль")


В мае 1918 года итальянский офицер, апологет военной авиации Дж.Дуэ задумал обнародовать свои взгляды в форме фантастического романа «Крылатая победа». В книге он «снабдил» Германию двумя тысячами «колоссальных танков Круппа по 4000 т (!) весом, с 6 дизелями по 3000 л.с. (из них 2 запасных), со скоростью 4 км/ч, разбрызгивающих на площади полукруга радиусом в 100 м зажигательную жидкость, ...экипаж — всего 2 человека». Такие монстры понадобились Дуэ исключительно для того, чтобы оттенить мощь предлагаемой им «межсоюзнической воздушной армии», сокрушающей в романе германскую и австрийскую армии ударами по тыловым коммуникациям. Разумеется, на самом деле подобных чудовищ в Германии строить не собирались, однако идея «подвижной крепости» все же нашла свое крайнее выражение в виде первого воплощенного в металл сверхтяжелого танка.

Уже в конце марта 1917 года Ставка Главного командования выдала требования на «сверхтанк» весом до 150 т. Фольмер получил от Инспекции автомобильных войск соответствующее задание. Военное министерство утвердило проект «K-Wagen» (Kolossal-Wagen или просто Kolossal) 28 июня 1917 года. Предполагалось, что танк будет иметь 30-мм броню, две или четыре пушки калибра 50 — 77 мм, четыре пулемета, два огнемета, экипаж 18 человек, два двигателя по 200 — 300 л.с, сможет преодолевать ров шириной до 4 м. На разработку проекта и создание первого образца отвели год, но Ставка Главного командования сократила этот срок до восьми месяцев. Программа выглядела солидно — постройка 100 танков при первоначальном заказе на 10. Расчетная стоимость одной такой машины — не менее 500 тыс. рейхсмарок. Перед конструкторами стояла сложная задача — большинство узлов и деталей приходилось разрабатывать заново.


Сверхтяжелый танк "K-Wagen" ("Колоссаль")


Схему танка «К» в целом заимствовали у англичан: гусеницы охватывали корпус, а вооружение — 4 пушки и пулеметы — устанавливалось в широких спонсонах и в бортовых амбразурах. Однако взаимное расположение отделений было аналогично A7VU: отделения управления и боевое — впереди, моторно-трансмиссионное — позади. При этом боевое отделение без спонсо-нов и моторно-трансмиссионное занимали примерно равный объем корпуса. Экипаж вновь оказался рекордным — 22 человека.

В отделении управления помещались два водителя. На крыше танка в передней части монтировалась цилиндрическая рубка управления (башенка) со смотровыми щелями по периметру и люком в крыше. Рубка предназначалась для командира танка и артиллерийского офицера.

Корпус танка собирался из больших катаных листов, крепившихся к каркасу заклепками и болтами. Съемные спонсоны имели сложную в плане форму. В скошенных передней и задней стенках уширенной части спонсона имелись орудийные амбразуры, в которые устанавливалась 77-мм капонирная пушка с полуавтоматическим затвором. Качающаяся часть орудия крепилась на поворотной тумбе с полуцилиндрическим щитом и ограждением казенной части. Слева от ограждения находилось сиденье наводчика. Для наводки он пользовался телескопическим прицелом и соосными маховиками. В передней стенке спонсона у угла располагалась установка пулемета MG.08. Такие же пулеметные установки имелись в узкой задней части спонсона, в бортах и лобовом листе отделения управления.

Сверхтяжелый танк "K-Wagen" ("Колоссаль")


Огонь из задних пулеметов должны были вести механики, основной обязанностью которых являлось наблюдение за состоянием двигателя и трансмиссии. Установка вооружения отвечала все тому же требованию кругового обстрела — в любом направлении танк «К» мог сосредоточить огонь примерно равной плотности. На крыше спонсонов имелись вентиляционные решетки.

Уже проектный вес танка заставил искать более мощные двигатели. Для моторной группы выбрали два мотора «Даймлер» по 650 л.с. Выхлопные трубы с глушителями и радиаторы выводились на крышу в задней части корпуса. Запас бензина составлял 3000 литров. Оригинальностью конструкции отличалась ходовая часть: катки с ребордами по типу железнодорожных крепились не к корпусу танка, а к тракам гусениц. Корпус по бокам был охвачен рельсовыми направляющими, по которым и «обкатывались» гусеницы. Траки собирались с помощью болтов и заклепок. Ведущее колесо — заднего расположения, Верхние ветви гусениц с передними и задними нисходящими ветвями прикрывались броне-крышей, переходившей в изогнутые бронеэкраны.

Сверхтяжелый танк "K-Wagen" ("Колоссаль")


Планировалось оснастить танк средствами связи — место для радиста отвели перед двигательным отсеком. Для перевозки по железной дороге «К» мог разбираться на 15 — 20 частей. Как предполагалось осуществлять боевое применение таких колоссов, понять довольно трудно. Очевидно, командование верило в возможность прорвать в нескольких местах фронт союзников (вспомним фантастическую «машину кайзера») с помощью подвижных крепостей — идея, возникавшая в те годы во всех воюющих странах. Однако уже 18 октября 1917 года Опытное отделение Инспекции автомобильных войск признало, что танк типа «К» пригоден только для позиционной войны. По вооружению «К» представлял собой артиллерийскую и пулеметную батареи, установленные в одном «подвижном форте». Большое мертвое пространство в поле обзора из рубки управления было терпимо только для «позиционного» танка.

Контракт на постройку пяти экземпляров «К» заключили с шарикоподшипниковым заводом «Рибе» в Берлин-Вайсензее, на пять других - с «Вагонфабрик Вегман» в Касселе. Постройку танков начали в апреле 1918-го. К концу войны на «Рибе» почти достроили один танк, для второго были готовы бронекорпус и комплект основных агрегатов и узлов, кроме двигателей. После поражения немцев и заключения Версальского мира все это пошло на слом.

Заметим, что спустя четверть века в Германии снова были построены два самых тяжелых танка— 180-тонные «Маус», также не принявшие участия ни в одном бою. Любопытно, что в обе мировые войны, уже после перелома хода событий не в свою пользу, немецкое военное руководство выдавало задания и выделяло ресурсы на «сверхтанки». Оба раза конструкторы закладывали в эти монстры ряд оригинальных идей и решений, и оба раза колоссы оказывались в роли мертворожденного дитя.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1. 9991 16 марта 2012 20:36
    Вот он какой Железный Капут bully
    9991
  2. TeR 22 декабря 2014 10:29
    Однако. Оказывается "сумрачный гений" не во вторую мировую проявился, а раньше.
    TeR

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня