Military Review

Lebanon has gained a president

7



Of course, the US presidential election was one topic that overshadowed many others. But during this time an event occurred that was rather favorable for the Syrian Arab Republic and, therefore, for Russia supporting it. In neighboring Lebanon with Syria, after much agony, they finally elected a president — the Maronite Christian Michel Aoun. Yes, the events in Lebanon strongly influence what is happening in the SAR, and vice versa. And not only because of the common border.

The head of state in Lebanon is elected by parliament. According to the established tradition, the president of the country is a Christian, while the Sunni Muslim becomes the prime minister and the Shiite is the speaker of the parliament. Such a disposition, in theory, should reflect the confessional diversity of Lebanese society. In practice, it turns out that interfaith differences, especially aggravated during the Syrian conflict, entails considerable costs.

In May 2014, the authority of the previous Lebanese President Michel Suleiman was completed. Since then, parliament has tried 45 once to choose a new leader of the country. But the very discord, sown by the "Arab spring" in Syria, could not but affect Lebanon. Only if in Syria external forces provoked the war, then in Lebanon this resulted in a protracted political crisis that lasted almost two and a half years.

And it's not just about the confrontation between the Sunnis, on the one hand, and Christians and Shiites, on the other. In Lebanon, there was a fierce struggle between the two main political forces - the 8 March Coalition and the March 14 Coalition. True, the religious factor here also plays a role, since the first block is represented mainly by Shiites and Christians, and the second by Sunnis. But it is impossible to reduce the political opposition solely to religion. The fact is that the 8 March bloc is patriotic, and the 14 March bloc is both pro-Western and pro-Saud (maybe it sounds weird, but it is).

All the time, while the bloody conflict in Syria lasts, the forces of “14 March”, first of all - “Al-Mustaqbal” - support anti-Syrian terrorists. Without this support, the latter, in particular, it would be difficult to kindle a war in one of the key provinces - Homs. This province borders on the north of Lebanon, and from there the militants constantly received money, weapon, prodpayk and other help from Saad Hariri - a figure known for his ardent anti-Syrian position.

Saad Hariri’s father Rafik was assassinated on February 14 of 2005 in Beirut in a terrorist attack. He was a former prime minister who at the time headed the opposition. First of all, he advocated the withdrawal of Syrian troops from Lebanon (which were introduced there after the civil war as peacekeepers). In his death, the West hastily and without proof accused Syria and Bashar Al-Assad personally. This was beneficial, above all, the United States, which had already made the ATS among the "rogue states." The so-called “cedar revolution” broke out in Lebanon, international pressure was exerted on Syria (in which, alas, the Russian Federation also took part), and Damascus withdrew its troops. At the same time, Saad Hariri was raised.

On the other hand, the Shiites actively opposed the withdrawal of Syrian troops from Lebanon. And they were right - a little less than a year passed, and the country was subjected to Israeli aggression, which would hardly have been possible if Syrian forces remained there.

Among Christians there was no single position on the issue of Syrian troops. General Michel Aoun was among the long-time opponents of the Syrians in Lebanon. He even had to fight for the so-called "independence of Lebanon" and emigrate to France after the defeat. The Cedar Revolution gave him the opportunity to return to his homeland. However, today, despite all this, Aung is one of those who can be called a Syrian politician. In all his statements, he clearly and consistently supported the legitimate authority in Damascus, for the defeat of anti-Syrian terrorists and for the establishment of peace in the SAR.

So, here are two politicians who have reason to oppose Syria. Hariri Jr. throughout the war in the neighboring country supported the militants, as if avenging for the murder of his father (although the fault of Syria is very, very doubtful). Michel Aoun, despite all personal insults, on the bitter emigrant share - managed to rise above it all and actively supports the suffering country, condemned by the West and the Arab reactionary monarchies to destruction.

The confrontation between key political forces after the departure of Michel Suleiman led to the actual paralysis of the work of parliament, to its inability to elect a president. Most often, as soon as the parliament met for this purpose, deputies of one or the other forces left the hall.

The breakthrough occurred on 21 in October of the current year, when the head of the 14 March coalition, Saad Hariri, finally decided not to stand up and prevent the election of Michel Aoun. Shortly before that, he visited Russia (where, apparently, relevant consultations were held with him). In return, Saad Hariri received the post of prime minister, so the standoff will continue.

The election of Michel Aoun to the presidency of Lebanon was very warmly received in the Islamic Republic of Iran (IRI). Iranian President Hassan Rouhani first congratulated Aoun on the victory, and Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif called the incident a victory for all Lebanese.

The new president of Lebanon was also congratulated by the head of the Syrian state, Bashar Al-Assad. On November 8, SAR representative Mansur Azzam on behalf of B. Assad visited Lebanon and met with Aoun. This was the first visit of an official representative of Syria in six years (the last time a neighboring state visited Bashar al-Assad personally in 2010, before the outbreak of the war). After the meeting, Azzam expressed hope for a "new era in relations between fraternal countries."

In any case, the pro-Western and pro-Saud bloc “14 of March” can no longer use the political vacuum for its own purposes. We should expect an increase in the fight against terrorism in Lebanon, which will lead to a weakening of the support of terrorists in Syria. This is particularly important in the ongoing Syrian war.

In addition, an important outcome of the resolution of the political crisis in Lebanon is that they did not manage to push another country into bloody chaos, although this was beneficial to the same forces that continue to fuel the Syrian war.
Author:
7 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Starik72
    Starik72 14 November 2016 14: 11
    +1
    Thank you Elena Gromova for the article, which describes in simple terms the circumstances of the election of the President of Lebanon !!!
  2. Sergey-8848
    Sergey-8848 14 November 2016 14: 24
    +3
    For the author. Dear Elena, everyone knows in which tangle the ties, interests and intentions of many states, organizations, forces, and even individuals in the Middle East are intertwined. Please note - it so happened that temporarily everyone (even France) was not up to Lebanon. And then there are elections in the country with the prospect of settling down. Not everyone will like the possibility of normalizing the situation.
    Little Lebanon completely sought to distance itself from the batch (“Hezbollah” here either does not count itself, or Lebanon does not count when Hezbollah is remembered). Let's hope that this is a sign (message) for everyone to calm down, sit on the benches, count assets and liabilities. And not to fight further in any case.
    1. Gray brother
      Gray brother 14 November 2016 15: 39
      +3
      Quote: Sergey-8848
      "Hezbollah" here either does not count itself, or Lebanon does not count when people remember Hezbollah

      Syria. Hezbollah cuts through the Lebanese M-113.
      1. Sergey-8848
        Sergey-8848 14 November 2016 18: 17
        0
        If anything, then this is the American M113
        1. Gray brother
          Gray brother 14 November 2016 18: 50
          +3
          Quote: Sergey-8848
          If anything, then this is the American M113

          There were American, and then became Lebanese. Not the point.
  3. kitamo
    kitamo 14 November 2016 14: 25
    0
    However, to date, despite all this, Aun is one of those who can be called a pro-Syrian politician.


    I’m directly surprised that they didn’t * call * pro-Russian * ... * pro-Russian presidents * now in a trend ... lol
  4. krops777
    krops777 14 November 2016 16: 17
    +3
    According to established tradition, the president of the country is a Christian, while the Sunni Muslim becomes the prime minister, and the Shiite is the speaker of the parliament. Such a layout, in theory, should reflect the confessional diversity of Lebanese society. In practice, it turns out


    As in Krylov's fable "swan, cancer and pike", in my opinion, if a country is multi-confessional, then the state should be secular.

Ливан обрел президента



Конечно, выборы президента США были той темой, которая затмила многие другие. А ведь за это время произошло событие, довольно-таки благоприятное для Сирийской Арабской Республики и, следовательно, для поддерживающей ее России. В соседнем с Сирией Ливане, после долгих мучений, наконец-то избрали президента – христианина-маронита Мишеля Ауна. Да-да, события в Ливане сильно влияют на происходящее в САР, и наоборот. И не только из-за общей границы.

Глава государства в Ливане избирается парламентом. По сложившейся традиции, президентом страны является христианин, при этом премьер-министром становится мусульманин-суннит, а спикером парламента – шиит. Такой расклад, по идее, должен отражать конфессиональное многообразие ливанского общества. На практике же получается, что межконфессиональные разногласия, особо обострившиеся во время сирийского конфликта, оборачивается немалыми издержками.


В мае 2014 года завершились полномочия предыдущего ливанского президента Мишеля Сулеймана. С тех пор парламент пытался 45 раз выбрать нового лидера страны. Но та самая рознь, посеянная «арабской весной» в Сирии, не могла не сказаться и на Ливане. Только если в Сирии внешние силы спровоцировали войну, то в Ливане это выразилось в затяжном политическом кризисе, который длился почти два с половиной года.

И дело тут не только в противостоянии между суннитами, с одной стороны, и христианами и шиитами, с другой. В Ливане шла ожесточенная борьба между двумя основными политическими силами – коалицией «8 марта» и коалицией «14 марта». Правда, религиозный фактор тут тоже играет роль, так как первый блок представлен, в основном, шиитами и христианами, а второй – суннитами. Но сводить политическое противостояние исключительно к религии невозможно. Дело в том, что блок «8 марта» - патриотический, а блок «14 марта» - одновременно прозападный и просаудовский (может, это звучит странно, но это именно так).

Все время, пока длится кровопролитный конфликт в Сирии, силы «14 марта», прежде всего – «Аль-Мустакбаль» - поддерживают антисирийских террористов. Без этой поддержки последним, в частности, было бы сложно разжечь войну в одной из ключевых провинций – Хомс. Эта провинция граничит с севером Ливана, и оттуда боевикам постоянно приходили деньги, оружие, продпайки и другая помощь от Саада Харири - деятеля, известного своей ярой антисирийской позицией.

Отец Саада Харири Рафик был убит 14 февраля 2005 года в Бейруте в результате теракта. Он являлся бывшим премьер-министром, который на тот момент возглавлял оппозицию. Прежде всего, выступал за вывод из Ливана сирийских войск (которые были введены туда после гражданской войны в качестве миротворцев). В его смерти Запад поспешно и бездоказательно обвинил Сирию и лично Башара Аль-Асада. Это было выгодно, прежде всего, США, которые уже тогда внесли САР в число «стран-изгоев». В Ливане вспыхнула так называемая «кедровая революция», на Сирию было оказано международное давление (в котором, увы, приняла участие и РФ), и Дамаск вывел свои войска. Тогда же произошло возвышение Саада Харири.

С другой стороны, шииты активно выступали против вывода сирийских войск из Ливана. И были правы – прошло чуть менее года, и страна подверглась агрессии со стороны Израиля, что вряд ли было бы возможно, если б там остались сирийские силы.

Среди христиан не было единой позиции по вопросу о сирийских войсках. Генерал Мишель Аун был в числе давних противников нахождения сирийцев в Ливане. Ему даже пришлось повоевать за так называемую «независимость Ливана» и эмигрировать во Францию после поражения. «Кедровая революция» дала ему возможность вернуться на родину. Однако на сегодняшний день, несмотря на все это, Аун – один из тех, кого можно назвать просирийским политиком. Во всех своих заявлениях он четко и последовательно выступал в поддержку законной власти в Дамаске, за разгром антисирийских террористов и за установление мира в САР.

Итак, вот два политических деятеля, у которых есть основания выступать против Сирии. Харири-младший на всем протяжении войны в соседнем государстве поддерживал боевиков, как бы мстя за убийство отца (хотя вина Сирии весьма и весьма сомнительна). Мишель Аун, несмотря на все личные обиды, на горькую эмигрантскую долю – сумел возвыситься над всем этим и активно выступает в поддержку страдающей страны, приговоренной Западом и арабскими реакционными монархиями к уничтожению.

Противостояние между ключевыми политическими силами после ухода Мишеля Сулеймана привело к фактической парализации работы парламента, к его неспособности выбрать президента. Чаще всего, как только парламент собирался с этой целью – депутаты то одной, то другой силы покидали зал.

Прорыв произошел 21 октября текущего года, когда глава коалиции «14 марта» Саад Харири, наконец, решил «не артачиться» и не препятствовать избранию Мишеля Ауна. Незадолго до этого он посетил Россию (где, видимо, с ним были проведены соответствующие консультации). Взамен Саад Харири получил пост премьер-министра, так что противостояние будет продолжаться.

Избрание Мишеля Ауна на пост президента Ливана весьма тепло восприняли в Исламской Республике Иран (ИРИ). Президент ИРИ Хасан Роухани первым поздравил Ауна с победой, а глава МИД Ирана Мохаммад Джавад Зариф назвал произошедшее победой всех ливанцев.

Нового президента Ливана поздравил и глава сирийского государства Башар Аль-Асад. 8 ноября представитель САР Мансур Аззам по поручению Б.Асада посетил Ливан и встретился с Ауном. Это был первый визит официального представителя Сирии за шесть лет (последний раз соседнее государство навещал лично Башар Аль-Асад в 2010 году, до начала войны). После встречи Аззам выразил надежду на «новую эру в отношениях между братскими странами».

В любом случае, прозападный и просаудовский блок «14 марта» уже не сможет пользоваться политическим вакуумом в своих целях. Следует ожидать усиления борьбы с терроризмом на территории Ливана, что приведет к ослаблению поддержки террористов в Сирии. Это особо важно в условиях продолжающейся сирийской войны.

Кроме того, важным итогом разрешения политического кризиса в Ливане является то, что не удалось спихнуть еще одну страну в кровопролитный хаос, хотя это и было выгодно тем же силам, которые продолжают подпитывать сирийскую войну.
Автор: Елена Громова


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Starik72 14 ноября 2016 14:11
    Спасибо Елена Громова за статью,где простым языком обрисовано обстоятельства избрания президента Ливана !!!
  2. Сергей-8848 14 ноября 2016 14:24
    Для автора. Уважаемая Елена, всем известно, в какой клубок переплетены связи, интересы и намерения многих государств, организаций, сил, и даже отдельных лиц на Ближнем Востоке. Обратите внимание - так получилось, что временно всем (даже Франции) оказалось не до Ливана. И тут же в стране выборы с перспективой устаканивания. Не всем понравится вероятность возможность нормализации ситуации.
    Маленький Ливан всецело стремился дистанцироваться от замеса ( "Хезболла" тут то ли сама не в счёт, то ли Ливан не в счёт, когда вспоминают "Хезболлу"). Будем надеяться, что это знак (посыл) на то, чтобы - угомониться бы всем, сесть по лавкам, посчитать активы и пассивы. И не воевать дальше ни в коем случае.
    1. Серый брат 14 ноября 2016 15:39
      Цитата: Сергей-8848
      "Хезболла" тут то ли сама не в счёт, то ли Ливан не в счёт, когда вспоминают "Хезболлу"

      Cирия. "Хезболла" рассекает на ливанских М-113.
      1. Сергей-8848 14 ноября 2016 18:17
        Если что, то это - американские М113
        1. Серый брат 14 ноября 2016 18:50
          Цитата: Сергей-8848
          Если что, то это - американские М113

          Были американские, а потом стали ливанские. Не суть важно.
  3. kitamo 14 ноября 2016 14:25
    Однако на сегодняшний день, несмотря на все это, Аун – один из тех, кого можно назвать просирийским политиком.


    я прям удивлен, что не *проросийским* обозвали... *проросийские президенты* нынче в тренде... lol
  4. krops777 14 ноября 2016 16:17
    По сложившейся традиции, президентом страны является христианин, при этом премьер-министром становится мусульманин-суннит, а спикером парламента – шиит. Такой расклад, по идее, должен отражать конфессиональное многообразие ливанского общества. На практике же получается


    Как в басне Крылова "лебедь, рак и щука", на мой взгляд если страна многоконфессиональная то государство должно быть светским.
Картина дня